check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

All Cedar Home - Breathtaking Hanalei Bay and Mountain Views

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Princeville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Waterfall laced mountains and Hanalei Bay views through a tropical prism. These will be your first impressions and lasting memories of this welcoming home. The Hanalei Vista House is an all cedar home built 15 feet off the ground to enhance the spectacular views of Hanalei Bay and the adjacent mountains. A wrap around lanai is positioned to especially enhance opportunities to savor a Napali sunset while enjoying a baroque or glass of wine.

A corian countertop is the only thing separating the designated chef from enjoying the same views as other guests thru the sliding glass doors. The kitchen is modern and user friendly. The master bedroom has a tiled full bath. The second tiled bath is convenient to the other bedrooms. There are vaulted ceilings throughout and the loft provides extra space for last minute guests or the kids. A 3 to 10 minute drive brings you to golf in Princeville or one of the countless northshore beaches adjacent to Hanalei

This vacation rental is completely owner operated and has a Kaua'i County vacation rental certificate : TVNC # 1161

There is an on island representative:

S.W. Bunyan (FOR EMERGENCY PURPOSES ONLY) mahalo!

Keywords: house

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

3.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

All Cedar Home - Breathtaking Hanalei Bay and Mountain Views
average rating of 3.875 based on 8 reviews
1

rude

  • 1 of 5

stayed one week 3/16/16 to 3/23/16

The house was ok and the location is close to hanalei with plenty of space for the 3 of us. I came with my best friend and 5 year old son who started his life in hanalei. We came to scatter the ashes of his mother who has recently passed and to take some photos as a travel photographer. I have stayed in hundreds of homes all over the world as a travel photographer and since i live in hawaii.. .hundreds more in hawaii all over. I love the area and although we were not at the house much it had everything we needed. We washed our dished and left our trash out by the curb double bagged and even vacuumed the carpets before leaving. Imagine my surprise when i get home to receive this message from the owner " There were maggots , which I hope I

got all of, found them in the kitchen by trash can and on the carpet and

rug by the slider door".

This was totally unacceptable and demonstrates a lack of respect for the

house and for my cleaner. I charged you for cleaning which is the

normal charge by my cleaner for respectful, fairly diligent departing

guests. Jane"

I don't even know where to begin - there were no maggots when we left but could a fly have gotten in a house in the middle of a rainy jungle? with eggs hatching after we left? sure.

They weren't there when we left - and again we washed all the dishes and took the trash to the curb when we left. It is possible a fly got in and the eggs hatched after we left - I don't feel that is a good enough reason to be so rude. I live here - i know there are ants and bugs, gecko's, mosquitoes, and after a rain they can sometimes be a pain. I bleach my trash cans at home and keep them under the kitchen sink. ...I should have known when Jane emailed 4 times about the check coming in the mall on time even though it was mailed the fasted possible way at the post office with tracking, that she might be just in it for money with no aloha.. I run a customer service business as a nature photographer and I cant remember ever calling a customer disrespectful. ...and Jane you are all the way on the mainland so you really have less of an awareness what happened than anyone.. ...just assume the worst seems to be the case with you?

Michael

If it was my business - i would have just paid the extra small fee and cleaned the bugs.. ..maybe moved the trash in the kitchen to under the sink behind a cabinet.. done!

that was my third and last time in one of your houses.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have a 15 year vacation rental history with this house. The vast majority of my guests are wonderful, caring, respectful people. So this was an extremely rare situation for me to encounter. My cleaner of 10 years included comments to me via e mail on the presence of maggots at the rental upon her arrival to clean the house. Check out is at 10 am and she arrived shortly thereafter. Maggots did not magically appear in the short interim. I believed the recently departing guests needed to be made aware of the situation so I forwarded her exact comments to them. Obviously, they disagreed and believed I should have just glossed it over and ignored the situation and I certainly should not have been so rude as to bring it to their attention. Let us be honest: maggots are the result of people leaving organic matter ( ie trash) unaddressed for too long. PERIOD It is very sad that this guest is in complete denial and cannot accept any responsibility for the behavior that caused the situation. This is not a money issue. It is not possible to put a dollar value on carelessness which crosses the line into disrespect. Jane Helmich, owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomfield, CT
5

Perfect ! Perfect! Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Three of us, all adults, rented this beautiful cedar home with an amazing view of Hanalei and the bay. The home was just as advertised by the owner, who could not have been more helpful. No detail was overlooked. Everything was as good or better than we expected. The home was extremely clean, well maintained and stocked with plenty of necessities. The home is extremely convenient to a full service Foodland!.

We enjoy hiking, so the trek from Ke'e Beach to Hanakapia'ai Falls was a given. Little did we know, we could carve out daily short hikes from the Hanalei Vista House to the bay!

We will return and if you are thinking about this home, stop thinking and make your reservation

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
Friendswood, Texas
5

Home with nice "feel" and great views in excellent location.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a week at the Hanalei Vista. We could not have chosen a better home to rent. The location was very close to the beaches we wanted to visit and a supermarket was within half a mile. Good view of mountains and Hanalei Bay. Nice porch and garden to sit in. Home was clean, nicely furnished, and well stocked with amenities. We plan to definitely stay here again either as a couple or along with our family next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Burlington, VT
5

A beautiful home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

My adult family and I recently vacationed on Kauai and spent our two weeks at the Hanalei Vista house – OUTSTANDING! What a wonderful place all around – the home, the gardens and the views. Oh, those views! On mornings following overnight rains, waterfalls would sprout up on the mountainside. Occasionally, I'd catch a rainbow…or two. On sunny days, Hanalei Bay was visible in the distance, colored an almost "electric" blue. While pictures may be worth a thousand words, the pictures of the views just don't do this place justice; it was so beautiful, peaceful and restful. I'm an early riser and each morning I would sit on the covered lanai, rain or shine, and read…or count waterfalls…or watch birds…or watch the geckos (too darn cute!). The lanai – which is accessible via two separate sliding doors – wraps around both sides and entire front of the house was heavily used during our stay, especially for dining. The lawns surrounding the house are diverse and as well maintained as the house itself. (On a side note: There are lemon and lime trees on the north (?) side of the house and we took full advantage of these for our cooking!) The house's stained wooden architecture blends well with its environment, and the main area of the house (living/dining/kitchen) is designed to provide for nonstop views from within. The first impression upon entering is how open the space is; large windows, high ceilings with exposed beams and a hardwood floor create a very "clean and crisp" environment. The décor is a tasteful mix of "old meets new", with some great antique oak pieces contrast against uncluttered walls and modern amenities. The bedrooms – in the "rear" of the house – are quiet, private and comfortable; each of us commented on how comfortable our mattresses were. I also didn't have to worry about waking others in the house, since the master bedroom and bath were on the opposite side from the other bedrooms/bath. Hanalei Vista was one of our greatest vacation finds (and bargains!) to-date. It was our "home away from home" and was a place we looked forward to returning to every night – and are definitely hoping to return to on our next visit to Kauai. Many thanks to Jane (the owner) for the opportunity to enjoy this home!!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
VA BEACH< VA
2

NOT PARADISE

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this home for a month and were very disappointed in the cleanliness and condition of furniture. The shower curtain was full of mold, we took it down to clean, had to clean the bathroom ourselves, the owner had a cleaning woman come and reclean the place within a few days of my complaints. I had to call the owner several times during our stay, there was someone living downstairs and her friend would sleep in his car next to our bedroom window and get in and out in the wee hours of the morning waking us up. We had a couple come and stay with us the first two weeks and they could not believe what was going on and the condition, the owner was always apologetic and even offered to refund the last 10 days so we could move somewhere else. At that point we stayed on, as the downstairs guest left and we thought moving was too much a hassle at that point. There were many ants in the kitchen. It was not want we had hoped when we rented this place.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, The reviewer stayed at the house nearly 2 years ago and her critique of the house had merit for the house back at that time. I addressed her complaints as best I could and offered to give her a refund. I am not sure what purpose is served by reviewing a house after so much time has elapsed because by nature, vacation rentals are always a work in progress. There have been many changes and upgrades in the interum of nearly 2 years. The caretaker was removed, a new cleaner was hired and many upgrades to the house have been made including new bamboo flooring,some new furniture a new flatscreen tv trimming to enhance the views and more. Pests are an ongoing problem in the tropics and I have the house treated every 3 months which is as frequently as any reputable pest control company will treat a residence. However, sometimes toward the back end of the 3 months they have snuck back in. Geckos by the way are impossible to ever keep out and I ask that guests consider tham as past of the tropical experience. This house is heavily booked and is a very good value and I have had a high number of satisfied guests since the changes and upgrades were made as other more current reviews of the house indicate. Aloha nui, Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
Alexandria, VA
5

Hanalei Vista Revisited

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here in May 2011 with my family- 6 of us, all adults. We all loved the house- so warm and welcoming, and the views are stunning, as advertised. You can see the mountains ringing Hanalei Valley, as well as those towering over the bay and down to the beginnings of the Napali Coast. The yard is beautiful and well kept, with a variety of tropical fruits, flowers and ornamental trees and bushes. Photos are accurate- even more beautiful in person.

Great location, on the plateau just before descending into Hanalei Valley.

Kitchen is attractive, functional and well integrated into the floor plan. We did a fair amount of cooking and enjoyed the facilities- as well as the grill on the outdoor wraparound porch. Furniture is clean and comfy, as are the beds and bedrooms and baths.

The owner was responsive, timely and easy to work with throughout. I definitely recommend this property and have already recommended it to friends. Great value.

We enjoyed the Napali Catamaran Tours tour of the Napali Coast, which leaves out of Hanalei. Stunning...not to be missed if you can fit it in. Snorkeling included in a gorgeous spot down the coast- they're all gorgeous. We also rented kayaks from Kauai Kayak in Hanalei and enjoyed exploring the Hanalei River and the Bay. See the Hindu Monastery in the Wailua River Valley- 435 acres or so with temples, statues, amazing cultivated tropical plants. Guided or self tours. Also- the Limahuli National tropical Botanical Gardens just north of Hanalei are magical, and the McBryde and the Allerton Gardens on the south side of the island.

Also, the various farmers markets held in different locations and different days and times, are well worth attending.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Princeville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

listed rates are for a couple only in low season which is mid Sept through mid May with the exception of the 2 weeks surrounding Christmas. Larger parties and high season ( mid May-mid thru mid Sept and Christmas) need to inquiry about rates. In addition to the nightly rate, there is Hawaiian tax @ 13.416% and a security/cleaning deposit required and is dependent on the length of the stay and the number of guests in the party

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers