Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Log Cabin on Lake near Longwood University - Home of VP Debate 2016

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, kitchen and dining rooms, 2 porches sleeps 8

October 4, 2016 - Longwood University in Farmville VA will host the 2016 Vice Presidential Debate. Longwood is approximately 7 minutes from Cabin on the Lake.

Wake to birds singing and morning doves calling their mates, fall asleep to the sound of the nearby creek, laugh out loud at the antics of scampering squirrels while enjoying a leisurely cup of java on the patio, curl up with a good book in the swing on the porch overlooking the lake, the porch rocker or the oversized leather chair by the fireplace, take a walk around the lake or just enjoy the peaceful and relaxing setting. Golf next door at The Manor Resort or visit one of the areas colleges, shops, state parks, or winter sports resorts. Whether you desire some quality downtime, visiting historic sites, nature sports, or fun activities, you will find it here. Cabin decor of 'rustification' exudes warmth, comfort, relaxation, and convenience. Every season at this historic cabin nature offers up a bounty from Spring's showy azaleas and dogwoods, Fall's fiery colors and cool mornings, Summer's lazy days under a tree canopy to Winter's full moons over the lake that are pure magic.

Relax or Entertain: The cabin abounds in relaxing comfort both inside and outside and is a great place to entertain. So plan a romantic candlelight dinner for two on the front porch by the creek or a barbecue for the family and friends on the back patio overlooking the gardens and woods. Outside seating for 8-16 provided. Gather around the firepit on the back patio on a cool fall evening and roast marshmallows or make s'mores while watching the full moon rise to play peek-a-boo with the trees while the crickets and frogs provide a nightly serenade. Enjoy one of the property's three major outdoor areas with seating or relax in the hammock by the creek in season. Even a rainy day is welcome and is the perfect excuse to enjoy a 'porch and swing' day listening to the raindrops drip from the cabin eaves and spatter on the tree leaves.

Golf, Resorts, and Area Attractions: This property adjoins The Manor Resort - Golf, Spa and Residential which was named in the top 4 of the best new courses in the nation in 2007 by Golf Digest and it has only gotten better. The resort accommodations are in planning/construction stage so the cabin offers the perfect place to call home after a day on this beautifully designed course. Located just beyond the tree lined back of the cabin property, The Manor clubhouse is 5 minutes from the cabin. This resort is destined to become one of Virginia's finest so be sure and check it out when you visit. Farmville culture includes Longwood University and Hampden Sydney College, the Moten Museum, Longwood Fine Arts Center in downtown Farmville, quaint shops, quality antiques and the nationally famous Green Front Furniture offering quality furnishings and accessories at reasonable prices in over 700,000 sq. ft. of retail space in old warehouses and factories on the north end of town.

Day Trips and Historic Attractions: Richmond, Charlottesville, Lynchburg, and South Boston Speedway are a 1 hr. drive. Wintergreen Resort and Massanutten Resort are less than 2 hrs and offer winter sports and year round activities for the family. Fishing enthusiast will appreciate the close proximity of Briery Creek lake and Sandy River Reservoir. Bring your boat; there is room to park it. This area is home to six state parks within an hours drive, Appomattox National Park with its Civil War history only 30 minutes away, Richmonds' historic district and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and UVA are great educational and fun trips. Natural Bridge and historic Lexington, the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway, Skyline Drive, Peaks of Otter, or D-Day Memorial in Bedford, Va are all about 2 hours drive. Amelia offers Winterham Plantation about 30 minutes away. Washington DC, King's Dominion, Williamsburg offering historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and outlet shopping are day trips.

More Details

Sharon Campbell
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 30, 2017

About Sharon Campbell

I'm a Mom and grandmother and professional facilities manager, who enjoys family, friends, nature, decorating, gardening, arts & crafts, antiquing, reading and music. For many years I dreamed of owning a log cabin. In 1996, I was able to purchase "Cabin on the Lake". I've made many improvements to the property and while I am happy most anywhere, I'm most at home at "Cabin on the Lake" and I hope my guest will be too.

Sharon Campbell purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Sharon Campbell chose Central Virginia

Owning a log home has always been a dream of mine and I feel blessed to be the caretaker of this wonderful Virginia home. I grew up at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Amherst County about an hour away and many of my ancestors lived in log cabins in the mountains of Virginia. Over the years my career has taken me to Mississippi, North Carolina and then home to Virginia in 1991 when I moved to Farmville and worked at Longwood University. I saw this property when I first moved to Farmville and fell in love with the setting and the potential beauty in a "diamond in the rough" that had been lovingly neglected. I was able to purchase the property and 5 acres in 1996 and slowly as time and funding allowed, I started restoring it while I made it my home. In 1999, my career took me away from Farmville to Staunton, VA and I rented the cabin to long term renters until August 2008 when I started a year long renovation which included both interior and exterior areas. At that time, I didn't plan to turn it into a vacation/short term rental, but as the renovation progressed and my life circumstances changed (I was facing a job change and didn't know where I would end up living), God continued to plant the idea in my head that I should share this with others. With a lot of prayer and gratitude, I started to see how sharing this place with others might be an opportunity for me to cover the expenses and still be able to enjoy it every so often with my family. I proceeded on faith and it has been a blessing to me and I hope to others to have a place to come to that is as special to me as is my humble "Cabin on the Lake." My plans are to continue to work on it and love and care for it the very best I can.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your comfortable, cozy cabin's location was perfect for our trips to and from our son's Hampden Sydney College (HSC) basketball tournament. So close!......

A perfect ending to our stay took place right in the greatroom where we watched the UNC football team defeat VT in their bowlgame in double overtime. This was the game of the year, so we were particularly grateful you offered all those TV channels. Lifesaver!.....

We did not use the kitchen for cooking because we were on the run, but the well stocked kitchen, grill, fire pit, though, are inviting us back in warmer times, we hope......

We loved the view of the frozen lake..something we never get to see in NC.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 1


Farmville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Town
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathrooms have tub with combination shower, sink. Lush towels and bath mats provide a spa feel.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Can be converted to 2 singles
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Extra linens and blankets provided. Two (comfortable) air mattresses are available and sleeping for 10 can be negotiated at booking. One bedroom has additional TV (Satellite).
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 15 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • water tubing
WiFi and fax available, bring your laptop. This is a wonderful place for children offering a natural setting with deer, scampering squirrels, leaping frogs, butterflies, birds, and of course fireflies for fun evening activity. Ask owner about accessibility for those with physical challenges. The backyard firepit offers a special place to gather for conversation, marshmallow roasting or s'mores while watching the moon rise through the trees. There are wonderful views from both inside and outside the cabin of a 12 acre private lake adjacent to the property that is owned by a neighbor who has it posted so lake privileges are not currently offered as part of the rental. The lake is a good fishing lake but not designed for swimming. There are several nearby lakes within a 10 - 15 minute drive that do offer fishing, boating and one that offers public swimming for your use. Please ask the owner for more info if you are interested in those recreation areas.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Log Cabin on Lake near Longwood University - Home of VP Debate 2016
average rating of 4.84375 based on 33 reviews
North Chersterfield

Weekend in the Woods

  • 4 of 5

We loved our time at the Cabin on the Lake. Everything was clean and worked beautifully. We were attending a BIG family reunion in the Farmville area and we were very busy with all of those activities, so we did not get to spend as much time in the cabin as we would have liked. We look forward to having another chance to stay at the cabin in the future. The write up did say 2 kings, 1 queen, a full, and a blow up.  We did not find the queen, and the fulls were very small. One of my sons and his family were unable to stay, which turned out to be a good thing, because had he stayed, some of us would have had to check into a motel. Other than that, we were very pleased, and since he couldn't stay overnight, all was GREAT! Thanks for sharing your cabin in the woods!!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Margaret, Thanks for the review and I'm sorry the beds were an issue. The bed in the yellow room with the blue and yellow quilt is a queen bed and is the normal queen size. The white metal frame bed with the tan and red quilt is a full and a normal full size as full the sheets always fit well on both mattresses for those sizes. I'm glad everything else worked out for your family reunion week-end and I do hope you will return again when you have more time to enjoy the cabin. If I can make you more comfortable on your next stay, please let me know. Thanks for leaving a review about your stay and do come back soon. Sharon Campbell, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chesapeake Beach

We had a wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, comfortable cabin! The location is convenient and has a beautiful view of the lake.

I loved the back porch.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lilibeth and family, Thank you so much for your kind words and I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time there. I hope you will continue to think of Cabin on the Lake when you need lodging in the Farmville, VA area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Media, PA

Great Location to H-SC - Owner very communicative

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cabin for drop-off weekend at H-SC. It was a perfect place to stay. We were able to have a family dinner before our final send off of our son.

My mom was with us and has mobility issues, but had no problem getting around the cabin.

Lots of space, both indoor and out. The front porch has great views of the lake, and the brick fire pit out front too. Having two bathrooms was nice to have with 6 of us in the house.

A couple of minor issues with the cabin, nothing earth shattering. The freezer wasn't working to well, so we bought ice. One of the satellite dishes was on the blink, but we had a severe thunderstorm while we were there that caused the problem.

For anyone visiting their son at H-SC, or a student at Longwood, the cabin is the place to stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and I 'm glad you enjoyed the property and your stay. The satellite issue has been corrected, but sometimes in a heavy rainstorm, the service is interrupted. The freezer seems to be working fine, but you do need to check to make sure the ice maker lever is down. If it gets stuck in the up position when ice builds up, it will stop making ice until the lever is reset. Thanks again for your feedback, it is appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chesapeake, VA

Hollaway's Thanksgiving Visit

  • 5 of 5

Mrs Sharon's Cabin in the Woods is an awesome place to spend family time, to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Sitting outside with a cup of coffee looking across the lake is one of the most relaxing things to do in the woods. We fell in love with the cabin and property. My grandchildren and children enjoyed the nightly fires out back around the fire ring, and taking my grandson's hiking in the yard through the pine straw trails we made, made the art of making memories at its best. The cabin is well furnished, beds are very comfy, and the cabin main room is historic, rustic and woodsy. We will come back grandson Peyton is already asking PaPa Bear when are we going to return to the cabin.!!! :)

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mike and all your family. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the cabin and it was a pleasure to get to meet you and your family. I hope you will be able to return again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

How Could Others Rate This Five Star?

  • 2 of 5

Several family members rented this cabin to attend a family wedding at Twin Lakes State Park. Oh, where do I begin?

The great room was...great. That is where it ended. The four bedrooms were crammed with personal belongings. The closet door in one room could be opened only about nine inches and it was crammed with "stuff". Every dresser drawer had the owner's personal belongings in them so there was no drawer space available. The top of the dresser had a TV and other "stuff" on top of it, so no room there either. And there was more "stuff" poking out from under the bed. All bedrooms appeared to be in about the same condition. One of the bedrooms had a shelf unit - wrapped in shrink wrap. Could not put anything on the shelf. In a third bedroom the closet was full of the owner's belongings. And the bedrooms were not the worst of it.

In the main bath you could not regulate the water temperature. The bathroom sink did not drain properly. And the linen closet was laoded with the owner's personal belongings. Wallpaper was peeling. The bathroom was in need of a good cleaning and the room was in need of a face lift. Oh, and there was mold on the bath mat. The second bath was much better but had mold on the bathmat as well.

The kitchen was also very dirty. The dishwasher - moldy inside. Pots and flatware needed to be washed before using. And the refrigerator? Lots of stuff left by owner or other renters stuff. In the dining room, again, nicknacks and more stuff on the sideboard and credenza with little space to place things. On the patio – another set of shelves with more stuff just tossed on to it. It looked like these items had not been used for some time and covered with grime.

I have stayed in other homes rented through VRBO and never came across a home in this condition. How could anyone think this deserves 5 stars?

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sandra and other family, I am very sorry that the accommodations were not what you were expecting. I try with the description and pictures on my VRBO and Homeaway to let people know this is not a large place (1600 sq. ft. with 4 bedrooms) and is an older cabin that has been authentically restored, which most people appreciate, but does not offer some of the luxuries of newer built cabins or houses. Storage is limited and bedrooms are small and I do understand if you were part of a wedding party with formal wear that need special hanging to keep clothes wrinkle free etc, especially since you were a large party of 8, that the space may not have met your needs. The things stored in the closets and dressers are extra bed linen, blankets etc. for the convenience of my guests. I do keep a few personal clothes in one closet in one bedroom for when I visit unexpectedly as I live a few hours from my cabin. if you had let me know they were a problem, I would have made arrangements to temporarily move them although they have not been a problem with other guests. I am concerned though that you felt like the bathrooms and kitchen were not cleaned, but did not report that to me or my housekeeper as requested so we could correct the situation so your stay would be more enjoyable. I will follow up on your concerns and assure you if they had been reported, they would have been take care of as quickly as possible. I do try to keep the decor in the cabin simple except at Christmas, which is really special to me as my family and I spend our Christmas's there and I do go all out with the decorating as that is my favorite holiday. I do try to add a special touch during the Fall and I am sorry you could not appreciate my efforts. I am planning to redo the bathroom with new paint or wallpaper; however the cabin has been in constant use this fall as it is very popular with parents and friends of the local colleges in Farmville. Usually, the winter is the only time, I have availability to do projects at the cabin. I do appreciate your letting me know your concerns and would have been able to address them responsively had I known about them during your stay. I can appreciate how busy a wedding event can be and perhaps that didn't allow you time to speak with me about your concerns. I have added some language to guest info to let them know storage is limited in hopes that this will avoid future issues if this is a priority for guests. My apologies!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the Cabin on the Lake! We rented the cabin, along with my parents, four weekends this past fall, to enjoy our son's/grandson's last football season at Hampden-Sydney. Hampden-Sydney is right up the road. The Cabin had everything we needed. Plenty of room for entertaining, sleeping and relaxing. We spent every night out by the fire pit! Other than tailgating at HSC football games, we enjoyed the Fishing Pig restaurant. We highly recommend this "Slice of Heaven - Cabin on the Lake"! Thank you, Sharon, for being so accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Terry and family for your Cabin on the Lake review and recommendation. I'm so glad this made the senior year at HSC more memorable. I look forward to you and the family returning as HSC alumni family. Congratulations on your son's December graduation and wish him well for me.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Charley's Waterfront Cafe
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
The Manor Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US Rt. 460
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Fish n Pig
Car: necessary

Best of Virginia small towns offering scenic lakes, parks, railway walking trail, fabulous shopping, art and music festivals (two colleges) and the Heart of Virginia festival in May. Close to many historic and scenic Virginia attractions and a great getaway or 'city escape'.


Rates & Availability

Farmville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
HSC Family Week-end
Sep 8 2017 - Sep 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
New Years Holiday
Dec 28 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
College Commencements
May 7 2018 - May 21 2018
4 night minimum stay
Memorial Day Weekend
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $120
Damage Insurance Premium $60

Credit card payments accepted through PayPal with 3% service charge fee. Lake access and use of the lake is not included in the rental as the owner of the cabin is not the owner of the lake and it is private and posted. There are public lakes nearby for fishing, swimming and boating recreation. Owner does not book more than a year ahead and will take waiting list for Hampden Sydney and Longwood Commencements with acceptance of reservations after March 1st on the year prior to the Commencement year (March 1, 2017 for 2018 commencement reservations. First to commit on waiting list and pay deposit gets the reservation. Reservation for graduation periods require 4 night rentals and deposit is 50% of rental fee. Standard rental agreement cancellations apply.

PayPal if using credit card. $250 deposit with balance due 45 days prior to rental unless within 60 days of rental and then the full rental is due upon reservation. Personal checks accepted up to within 20 days of rental start date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties