check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Log Cabin on Lake near Longwood University - Home of VP Debate 2016

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

Description

Farmville Cabin Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, kitchen and dining rooms, 2 porches sleeps 8

October 4, 2016 - Longwood University in Farmville VA will host the 2016 Vice Presidential Debate. Longwood is approximately 7 minutes from Cabin on the Lake.

Wake to birds singing and morning doves calling their mates, fall asleep to the sound of the nearby creek, laugh out loud at the antics of scampering squirrels while enjoying a leisurely cup of java on the patio, curl up with a good book in the swing on the porch overlooking the lake, the porch rocker or the oversized leather chair by the fireplace, take a walk around the lake or just enjoy the peaceful and relaxing setting. Golf next door at The Manor Resort or visit one of the areas colleges, shops, state parks, or winter sports resorts. Whether you desire some quality downtime, visiting historic sites, nature sports, or fun activities, you will find it here. Cabin decor of 'rustification' exudes warmth, comfort, relaxation, and convenience. Every season at this historic cabin nature offers up a bounty from Spring's showy azaleas and dogwoods, Fall's fiery colors and cool mornings, Summer's lazy days under a tree canopy to Winter's full moons over the lake that are pure magic.

Relax or Entertain: The cabin abounds in relaxing comfort both inside and outside and is a great place to entertain. So plan a romantic candlelight dinner for two on the front porch by the creek or a barbecue for the family and friends on the back patio overlooking the gardens and woods. Outside seating for 8-16 provided. Gather around the firepit on the back patio on a cool fall evening and roast marshmallows or make s'mores while watching the full moon rise to play peek-a-boo with the trees while the crickets and frogs provide a nightly serenade. Enjoy one of the property's three major outdoor areas with seating or relax in the hammock by the creek in season. Even a rainy day is welcome and is the perfect excuse to enjoy a 'porch and swing' day listening to the raindrops drip from the cabin eaves and spatter on the tree leaves.

Golf, Resorts, and Area Attractions: This property adjoins The Manor Resort - Golf, Spa and Residential which was named in the top 4 of the best new courses in the nation in 2007 by Golf Digest and it has only gotten better. The resort accommodations are in planning/construction stage so the cabin offers the perfect place to call home after a day on this beautifully designed course. Located just beyond the tree lined back of the cabin property, The Manor clubhouse is 5 minutes from the cabin. This resort is destined to become one of Virginia's finest so be sure and check it out when you visit. Farmville culture includes Longwood University and Hampden Sydney College, the Moten Museum, Longwood Fine Arts Center in downtown Farmville, quaint shops, quality antiques and the nationally famous Green Front Furniture offering quality furnishings and accessories at reasonable prices in over 700,000 sq. ft. of retail space in old warehouses and factories on the north end of town.

Day Trips and Historic Attractions: Richmond, Charlottesville, Lynchburg, and South Boston Speedway are a 1 hr. drive. Wintergreen Resort and Massanutten Resort are less than 2 hrs and offer winter sports and year round activities for the family. Fishing enthusiast will appreciate the close proximity of Briery Creek lake and Sandy River Reservoir. Bring your boat; there is room to park it. This area is home to six state parks within an hours drive, Appomattox National Park with its Civil War history only 30 minutes away, Richmonds' historic district and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and UVA are great educational and fun trips. Natural Bridge and historic Lexington, the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway, Skyline Drive, Peaks of Otter, or D-Day Memorial in Bedford, Va are all about 2 hours drive. Amelia offers Winterham Plantation about 30 minutes away. Washington DC, King's Dominion, Williamsburg offering historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and outlet shopping are day trips.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Sharon Campbell
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 31, 2016
Call Owner

About Sharon Campbell

I'm a Mom and grandmother and professional facilities manager, who enjoys family, friends, nature, decorating, gardening, arts & crafts, antiquing, reading and music. For many years I dreamed of owning a log cabin. In 1996, I was able to purchase "Cabin on the Lake". I've made many improvements to the property and while I am happy most anywhere, I'm most at home at "Cabin on the Lake" and I hope my guest will be too.

Sharon Campbell purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Sharon Campbell chose Central Virginia

Owning a log home has always been a dream of mine and I feel blessed to be the caretaker of this wonderful Virginia home. I grew up at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Amherst County about an hour away and many of my ancestors lived in log cabins in the mountains of Virginia. Over the years my career has taken me to Mississippi, North Carolina and then home to Virginia in 1991 when I moved to Farmville and worked at Longwood University. I saw this property when I first moved to Farmville and fell in love with the setting and the potential beauty in a "diamond in the rough" that had been lovingly neglected. I was able to purchase the property and 5 acres in 1996 and slowly as time and funding allowed, I started restoring it while I made it my home. In 1999, my career took me away from Farmville to Staunton, VA and I rented the cabin to long term renters until August 2008 when I started a year long renovation which included both interior and exterior areas. At that time, I didn't plan to turn it into a vacation/short term rental, but as the renovation progressed and my life circumstances changed (I was facing a job change and didn't know where I would end up living), God continued to plant the idea in my head that I should share this with others. With a lot of prayer and gratitude, I started to see how sharing this place with others might be an opportunity for me to cover the expenses and still be able to enjoy it every so often with my family. I proceeded on faith and it has been a blessing to me and I hope to others to have a place to come to that is as special to me as is my humble "Cabin on the Lake." My plans are to continue to work on it and love and care for it the very best I can.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your comfortable, cozy cabin's location was perfect for our trips to and from our son's Hampden Sydney College (HSC) basketball tournament. So close!......



A perfect ending to our stay took place right in the greatroom where we watched the UNC football team defeat VT in their bowlgame in double overtime. This was the game of the year, so we were particularly grateful you offered all those TV channels. Lifesaver!.....



We did not use the kitchen for cooking because we were on the run, but the well stocked kitchen, grill, fire pit, though, are inviting us back in warmer times, we hope......



We loved the view of the frozen lake..something we never get to see in NC.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Log Cabin on Lake near Longwood University - Home of VP Debate 2016
average rating of 4.866667 based on 31 reviews
Media, PA
5

Great Location to H-SC - Owner very communicative

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cabin for drop-off weekend at H-SC. It was a perfect place to stay. We were able to have a family dinner before our final send off of our son.

My mom was with us and has mobility issues, but had no problem getting around the cabin.

Lots of space, both indoor and out. The front porch has great views of the lake, and the brick fire pit out front too. Having two bathrooms was nice to have with 6 of us in the house.

A couple of minor issues with the cabin, nothing earth shattering. The freezer wasn't working to well, so we bought ice. One of the satellite dishes was on the blink, but we had a severe thunderstorm while we were there that caused the problem.

For anyone visiting their son at H-SC, or a student at Longwood, the cabin is the place to stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and I 'm glad you enjoyed the property and your stay. The satellite issue has been corrected, but sometimes in a heavy rainstorm, the service is interrupted. The freezer seems to be working fine, but you do need to check to make sure the ice maker lever is down. If it gets stuck in the up position when ice builds up, it will stop making ice until the lever is reset. Thanks again for your feedback, it is appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chesapeake, VA
5

Hollaway's Thanksgiving Visit

  • 5 of 5

Mrs Sharon's Cabin in the Woods is an awesome place to spend family time, to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Sitting outside with a cup of coffee looking across the lake is one of the most relaxing things to do in the woods. We fell in love with the cabin and property. My grandchildren and children enjoyed the nightly fires out back around the fire ring, and taking my grandson's hiking in the yard through the pine straw trails we made, made the art of making memories at its best. The cabin is well furnished, beds are very comfy, and the cabin main room is historic, rustic and woodsy. We will come back again...my grandson Peyton is already asking PaPa Bear when are we going to return to the cabin.!!! :)

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mike and all your family. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the cabin and it was a pleasure to get to meet you and your family. I hope you will be able to return again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

How Could Others Rate This Five Star?

  • 2 of 5

Several family members rented this cabin to attend a family wedding at Twin Lakes State Park. Oh, where do I begin?

The great room was...great. That is where it ended. The four bedrooms were crammed with personal belongings. The closet door in one room could be opened only about nine inches and it was crammed with "stuff". Every dresser drawer had the owner's personal belongings in them so there was no drawer space available. The top of the dresser had a TV and other "stuff" on top of it, so no room there either. And there was more "stuff" poking out from under the bed. All bedrooms appeared to be in about the same condition. One of the bedrooms had a shelf unit - wrapped in shrink wrap. Could not put anything on the shelf. In a third bedroom the closet was full of the owner's belongings. And the bedrooms were not the worst of it.

In the main bath you could not regulate the water temperature. The bathroom sink did not drain properly. And the linen closet was laoded with the owner's personal belongings. Wallpaper was peeling. The bathroom was in need of a good cleaning and the room was in need of a face lift. Oh, and there was mold on the bath mat. The second bath was much better but had mold on the bathmat as well.

The kitchen was also very dirty. The dishwasher - moldy inside. Pots and flatware needed to be washed before using. And the refrigerator? Lots of stuff left by owner or other renters stuff. In the dining room, again, nicknacks and more stuff on the sideboard and credenza with little space to place things. On the patio – another set of shelves with more stuff just tossed on to it. It looked like these items had not been used for some time and covered with grime.

I have stayed in other homes rented through VRBO and never came across a home in this condition. How could anyone think this deserves 5 stars?

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sandra and other family, I am very sorry that the accommodations were not what you were expecting. I try with the description and pictures on my VRBO and Homeaway to let people know this is not a large place (1600 sq. ft. with 4 bedrooms) and is an older cabin that has been authentically restored, which most people appreciate, but does not offer some of the luxuries of newer built cabins or houses. Storage is limited and bedrooms are small and I do understand if you were part of a wedding party with formal wear that need special hanging to keep clothes wrinkle free etc, especially since you were a large party of 8, that the space may not have met your needs. The things stored in the closets and dressers are extra bed linen, blankets etc. for the convenience of my guests. I do keep a few personal clothes in one closet in one bedroom for when I visit unexpectedly as I live a few hours from my cabin. if you had let me know they were a problem, I would have made arrangements to temporarily move them although they have not been a problem with other guests. I am concerned though that you felt like the bathrooms and kitchen were not cleaned, but did not report that to me or my housekeeper as requested so we could correct the situation so your stay would be more enjoyable. I will follow up on your concerns and assure you if they had been reported, they would have been take care of as quickly as possible. I do try to keep the decor in the cabin simple except at Christmas, which is really special to me as my family and I spend our Christmas's there and I do go all out with the decorating as that is my favorite holiday. I do try to add a special touch during the Fall and I am sorry you could not appreciate my efforts. I am planning to redo the bathroom with new paint or wallpaper; however the cabin has been in constant use this fall as it is very popular with parents and friends of the local colleges in Farmville. Usually, the winter is the only time, I have availability to do projects at the cabin. I do appreciate your letting me know your concerns and would have been able to address them responsively had I known about them during your stay. I can appreciate how busy a wedding event can be and perhaps that didn't allow you time to speak with me about your concerns. I have added some language to guest info to let them know storage is limited in hopes that this will avoid future issues if this is a priority for guests. My apologies!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

GREAT PLACE!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the Cabin on the Lake! We rented the cabin, along with my parents, four weekends this past fall, to enjoy our son's/grandson's last football season at Hampden-Sydney. Hampden-Sydney is right up the road. The Cabin had everything we needed. Plenty of room for entertaining, sleeping and relaxing. We spent every night out by the fire pit! Other than tailgating at HSC football games, we enjoyed the Fishing Pig restaurant. We highly recommend this "Slice of Heaven - Cabin on the Lake"! Thank you, Sharon, for being so accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Terry and family for your Cabin on the Lake review and recommendation. I'm so glad this made the senior year at HSC more memorable. I look forward to you and the family returning as HSC alumni family. Congratulations on your son's December graduation and wish him well for me.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect! It was simply perfect! Having lived on Farmville Lake Road for 10+ of my childhood/teenage years, I was thrilled to have the opportunity to return to the area for a stay at Cabin on the Lake. Our stay exceeded my expectations! The cabin is well appointed with everything we could possibly have needed. Sharon, the owner, is most generous with meeting the needs of her guests...and then some.

We were in town for two events, one a celebration involving numerous out-of-town family and friends, the other a memorial service for the unexpected death of a brother/brother-in-law/uncle. The cabin provided both ample space for large family gatherings and solitude for renewal and rest.

I highly recommend Cabin on the Lake for the perfect get-away place to meet your needs...whatever those needs may be!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Teresa for your many kind words and I'm so glad that Cabin on the Lake meet your needs at a time when it was much needed. I hope you and your family can return for some rest and relaxation in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cabin

  • 5 of 5

The Cabin was very comfortable. There was plenty of space everywhere but the kitchen itself. The main bathroom was amazing it has a lot of solace and the decor is beautiful. The second bathroom has a very nice shower head. The beds were all comfortable and so was the living room furniture. We spent a majority of our time outside on the front porch or back patio both are very nice. There is no grass to "play" in however shop with small kids you have to be be inventive or go top the lake or the park. There was a very lovely neighbor that allowed us to us her front yard for our volleyball net and gave us access to the college volleyball court and showed us parks and lakes. The lakes near by charge 4dollars for the car then four per person which is absolutely ridiculous. So id advice going to a public pool or ssomething else. The house overall was perfect for what we were using it for. The only issue we had was a miscommunication and the house wasn't ready at our arrival. The only other thing the house could use would be the gutters clean and the house is not ideal for small people.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for leaving feedback for my other guests. Yes, I wish the bedrooms were just a bit bigger to accommodate a crib, but alas with an older cabin, I have to live with it's limitations. I am sorry the house wasn't ready for your early check-in and glad we could make it right for you. I'm glad you were able to find things to do and my neighbor was accommodating with a place for volleyball. Thanks for choosing Cabin on the Lake for your getaway and many thanks to your husband for his great service to our country. Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Charley's Waterfront Cafe
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
The Manor Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US Rt. 460
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Fish n Pig
Car: necessary

Best of Virginia small towns offering scenic lakes, parks, railway walking trail, fabulous shopping, art and music festivals (two colleges) and the Heart of Virginia festival in May. Close to many historic and scenic Virginia attractions and a great getaway or 'city escape'.

Rates & Availability

Farmville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
New Years Holiday
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
College Commencements
May 8 2017 - May 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$190
From
$200
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Pet Fee $50

Credit card payments accepted through PayPal with 3% service charge fee. Lake access and use of the lake is not included in the rental as the owner of the cabin is not the owner of the lake and it is private and posted. There are public lakes nearby for fishing, swimming and boating recreation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Farmville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathrooms have tub with combination shower, sink. Lush towels and bath mats provide a spa feel.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Can be converted to 2 singles
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Extra linens and blankets provided. Two (comfortable) air mattresses are available and sleeping for 10 can be negotiated at booking. One bedroom has additional TV (Satellite).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 15 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • water tubing
Notes:
WiFi and fax available, bring your laptop. This is a wonderful place for children offering a natural setting with deer, scampering squirrels, leaping frogs, butterflies, birds, and of course fireflies for fun evening activity. Ask owner about accessibility for those with physical challenges. The backyard firepit offers a special place to gather for conversation, marshmallow roasting or s'mores while watching the moon rise through the trees. There are wonderful views from both inside and outside the cabin of a 12 acre private lake adjacent to the property that is owned by a neighbor who has it posted so lake privileges are not currently offered as part of the rental. The lake is a good fishing lake but not designed for swimming. There are several nearby lakes within a 10 - 15 minute drive that do offer fishing, boating and one that offers public swimming for your use. Please ask the owner for more info if you are interested in those recreation areas.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties