Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SkyView Rentals "Bashful Bear" 6Br Elevator~Free WIFI~Theater~MtnView~GameRoom

Sleeps26
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Half Baths2
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Log Cabin, 6 Large Bedrooms W Bath + Sofa bed(s), (Sleeps 26)

SkyView Rentals "Bashful Bear" offers panoramic views of the Smokies from one of the most majestic peaks in Sherwood Forest. It is convenient to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg area attractions, restaurants and shopping. As you enter the warm, fully furnished lodge, on the main level you'll find a beautiful stacked stone fireplace flanked by a wall of windows. Enjoy the spectacular views while rocking on the deck or relaxing in the hot tub. Connect with your friends with our Free WIFI. Just off the fully equipped gourmet kitchen is a master bedroom with a king size bed, TV and large bathroom with a walk-in tiled shower. A short elevator ride up to the loft reveals a second master bedroom with king bed, TV, large bathroom, and huge Jacuzzi tub. Off this bedroom is a cozy game area with pool table, air hockey and foosball, and a loft deck with more fantastic views.

Ride the elevator down to the lower level to enjoy another big-screen TV and 3 other bedrooms (2 with king beds and 1 with queen-over-queen bunk beds), all with their own private bath. Here you'll find another fireplace and deck to reap those peaceful moments in your rocking chair. One more elevator ride down to the lowest level offers a wet bar, 1 more bedroom with private bath and Jacuzzi tub, and the beautiful home theater equipped with your own personal reclining theater chair! Visit with friends and family in front of another fireplace here, or enjoy the bar and deck. This cabin is sure to help you and your group relax, laugh, and enjoy a wonderful vacation at 'SkyView Rentals Bashful Bear!'

More Details

Property Manager
Earl & Sandra Martin, or Stacy Cole
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

About Earl & Sandra Martin, or Stacy Cole

Welcome to our cabin high atop the mountain. Sandra and I, plus our kids and Ginger our Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever want you to have a great time just as we do when we get the chance to stay in our cabin. We moved from the Twin Cities and settled down in a suburb of Tampa, Florida, but always loved the beauty of the Smoky Mountains as we drove between Florida and Minnesota. We always said that when we could get a place to share with our family and friends we would. We also wanted it to be a place that we could share with others. So please enjoy your stay and hope you feel refreshed and rejuvenated like we do.

Earl & Sandra Martin, or Stacy Cole purchased this cabin in 2008

Guestbook comments from the manager

There were 18 of us here this week from ages 3 to 89! We came from Seattle, Michigan, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and North Carolina. We had a great time.

The cabin was awesome with plenty of room. Morning coffee on the deck, watching the Smokies, was a great way to start our days. The week was filled with fun, food and laughter. Our families got to reunite and make more memories together. We are already making plans for our return!
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Pigeon Forge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 26
  • Max. adults: 26
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • NO PETS & NO college aged groups, fraternities, sororities or groups that do not meet the minimum adult supervision requirements are allowed to stay.
  • SkyView Rentals enforces a minimum Primary Rental Guest age of 30 and the signer must be in attendance with the group throughout the rental period.
  • Age Verification Required. Copies of Credit Card and Drivers License required. CANCELED or NO SHOW Bookings will NOT receive a REFUND.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 7 - toilet
    Bathroom 8 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
    Bedroom 6 - 2 queen , Bunk Bed
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
11% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
SkyView Rentals "Bashful Bear" 6Br Elevator~Free WIFI~Theater~MtnView~GameRoom
average rating of 4.423077 based on 33 reviews
Charleston, SC
5

Great property. We had 15 ladies and the bed and bathroom situation was great.

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean. The information prior to check in was helpful to assure we had the needed items since a store is 2 miles away. The house is set up well to allow the late night people to be up and not bother the early to bed crowd. Beautiful views.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bene, Thank you for your review and for choosing Bashful Bear for your ladies weekend. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to having you as our guests in the future. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL
5

Amazing!! One of the best vacations we have ever taken!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I decided to take our children and grandchildren (14 people) to Pigeon Forge for Thanksgiving. I found the cabin online and booked it back in the summer. The pictures did not do it justice. It was so much better. The views were amazing, the space was so open and inviting. Having so many king size beds was wonderful for all of the adults. There was room for everyone. The kids had so much fun in the game room and the theater room was the perfect spot to watch football. The hot tub was also a great plus. The only thing I can say negatively is that there is no insulation between floors so the noise went right through, especially between the main level bedroom and the one above it. This wouldn't stop us from going there again, though. Having the stairs on the outside was not a problem and having the elevator was nice for those who didn't want to take the stairs. We had plenty of refrigerator space in the kitchen. I did use the two bar refrigerators for leftovers after our Thanksgiving dinner.

The location is excellent. It was a 15 minute drive to Gatlinburg and just a few minutes to the Parkway in Pigeon Forge. There were plenty of restaurants and a nice grocery store close by. Being a holiday weekend, we left early to go to Gatlinburg to avoid the traffic and it was fine.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Bash Bear for anyone with a large group who is looking for a great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jo Ann, Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Bashful Bear. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay during Thanksgiving. I look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Property was clean and nice, I have stayed in newer, nicer cabins for this price though

  • 3 of 5

Property was fun, views were great, but for the price I have stayed in newer and nicer cabins. We Hosted a team meeting here and biggest complaint was that the beds - especially the sleeper sofas were very old and or cheap therefore not comfortable. A few little things didn't work - the Oven was the major one, the game consul had a handle stick, and pilot light went out in fireplace. Overall I would be happy to recommend but get that oven checked if you are planning to cook and should be more like $600 a night tops.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mark, Thank you for your review of Bashful Bear. I am sorry you encountered any problems during your stay and I would like to address each one of them specifically. The actual nightly rate you paid was less than $600 per night due to a special we had running. When I personally inspected the property on the day of your arrival, the oven was working, the fireplace was lit and I did not find any problems with the game console. After reading your review I thoroughly check the game console and I was unable to get any of the buttons or handles to stick. The sofa sleepers and bed mattresses are not cheap or old and have been recently updated. When I spoke with you prior to you making your reservation, you told me each member of your group would need their own individual bed. I explained to you that Bashful Bear only has 7 actual beds and the remaining sleeping spaces are made up of sofa beds. I further explained that sofa sleepers have 3” mattresses and are not designed to sleep adults and they will find them to be uncomfortable. At that time I suggested you look at booking the adjacent property to have enough actual beds to accommodate your group. You declined and told me they would be fine on the sofa sleepers. The fireplace pilot went out because a member of your group indicated to me he had turned the incoming gas line valve off and then back on. And that is why the pilot light went out. I am glad when I was made aware of it and within 30 minutes, had it going for you. It would have helped if you had mentioned the issue you were having with the oven and game system at that time. When I was notified by someone else after the departure of your group the oven was not working, I had it inspected and found it to have had some type of cooking oil spilled in it causing it to overheat and melt the wires and main circuit board and that it could not be repaired. I immediately purchased a new range and had the damaged one replaced within just a couple hours. We pride ourselves in trying to quickly handle problems when we are notified. Had you made me aware of the problems you encountered, just as I did with the fireplace they would have been immediately addressed and proper measure taken to ensure you had full use of everything in the property during your stay. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

A+ view B- house

  • 3 of 5

Being in the mountains was wonderful as was the view from Bashful Bear. The house was very segmented which works for a group that does not want to spend a lot of time together. Our Ladies group wanted to spend time together and fellowship. Our next trip I hope to find a house that has an open floor plan. Also,

there were not enough bed linens for everyone.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Angie, Thank you for your review of Bashful Bear. I am sorry you found the property did not meet the needs of your group as you would have liked for it to. In the past we have had other guests tell us the dining area and living room are large, open and worked well for their group to meet and fellowship. Again I am sorry you did not find it fit your group in the same way. I do leave enough sheets, blankets and pillows for each sofa sleeper. The sheets are normally located in one place and blankets and pillows are spread throughout the house. When you found you did not have enough for everyone if you would have called me I would have brought you any thing extra you needed. After reading your review I am taking steps to find a central location to put everything together in one place. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington DC
5

Beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

We had a family and friend reunion at his location and it was perfect! Great views comfy beds well stocked kitchen. Highly recommended

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Charles, Thank you for your review of Bashful Bear and for selecting SkyView Rentals for your stay in the Smoky Mountains. I am glad you, your family and friends enjoyed your stay with us. We do work hard to make sure the kitchen as well as the rest of the cabin is well stocked, comfortable and you have everything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. I look forward to hopefully having you as guests in the future. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Stay at Bashful Bear

  • 4 of 5

We were here for a family wedding. Beautiful area. Cabin was great. Awesome weekend! The only critiques would be that the furniture needs updating and the area around the garbage cans had a lot of litter around it.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dave, Thank you for your review of Bashful Bear. We are in the process of updating furnishings throughout the cabin. I am sorry we were not able to have them in place prior to your recent stay. We would love to have you stay with us in the future to see the exciting changes we are making. Also I would like to apologize for any liter found around the trash receptacles or property. We do try very hard to make sure this type of thing does not happen. Unfortunately liter does get blown in and around the property after it has been cleaned and inspected. I have personally inspected the area and made sure any liter has been properly taken care of and I will work towards a solution to keep it from happening again. Thank you Stacy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Knoxville Tyson Airport - TYS -
Car: necessary

Right where you want to be, that's where we are located. Just 3 miles from Dollywood, off of light #10 in Pigeon Forge. This is the last light in Pigeon Forge just before the Parkway to Gatlinburg.

Great Smoky Mountain National Park, The Great Smoky Mountains National Park (GSMNP) is the most visited in National Park system.

Dollywood, Unique as its namesake Dolly Parton, Dollywood theme park is a one-of-a-kind Smoky Mountain Family Adventure! Spanning 125 acres and nestled in the lush foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, near Gatlinburg, Dollywood is one of the most popular family vacation destinations.

Dixie Stampede, one of the most spectacular dinner and shows boasting four great locations in Branson, MO; Myrtle Beach, SC; Pigeon Forge, TN, and Orlando, FL.

Tangers Outlet Center, Shop Tanger Outlet Center in Sevierville, TN and buy direct from over 100 brand name manufacturer and designer outlet stores.

Other Activities: Shopping, Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Wildlife Viewing, Kayaking, Snowboarding, Boating, Miniature Golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Sanitize Hot Tub $49 + Tax
Cabin Cleaning $349 + Tax
Accidental Damage Ins $49
Tax Rate 12.75%

Minimum Stay:
2 Night minimum stay during non-holiday periods.
3 Nights MLK, Labor and Memorial Day. October & November.
4 Night minimum stay from Mid-June to Mid August.
5 Nights Christmas and New Years, Thanksgiving
Only our rates at our website are accurate and will be honored.
VRBO & HomeAway rental rates are estimates ONLY.
Our cabin is located in a gated community with an on-site pool.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties