Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Outdoor Lovers Paradise-200ft on Broad River-Golf, Tube,Raft, Fish- Dogs LOVE US

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bath, hot tub, game room, Dish TV-Wi Fi - Free Long Distance

With over 200 feet of frontage on Broad River, nestled in the gated community of Riverbend, this is a fabulous getaway to sooth the stress & strains of everyday life! Enjoy the relaxing sounds of the Broad River from every room, all nestled against the backdrop of the beautiful mountains. This romantic, centrally located cabin will accommodate 2 guests as comfortably as 10. The hot tub is ready for your enjoyment or you can go tubing in the river, jump in for a swim, roast marshmallows at the fire pit or grab a pole and fish – all right from the backyard. If you need to connect, we also offer unlimited long distance calling and Internet access. This truly is an outdoor lover’s paradise! 13 Golf Courses within 20 minutes, tubing, fishing, hiking, hiking, antiquing, & gem hunting all around! Skiing (Boone, NC) is just one hour away! We are about 30 minutes away from the Waterfall Center of the USA –including Brevard County, Dupont state Park and Pisgah National Forest. Come Join us

- Brand new "bunk House" in basement sleeps 4 - everyone loves it and brand new Serta Mattresses for your sleeping pleasure! Our home is your home !

NEW! Just around the corner from us- experience ZIP LINE Canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing or tubing too! If you are an outdoor enthusiast- this is your place to be! ( check out under links and video)

COME TO NC AND SEE WHERE HUNGER GAMES WERE FILMED!!

'The Hunger Games' 4-Day Itinerary - all within 30 min- 1 hour from our cabin!

Ready to experience “The Hunger Games”? You’ve come to the right place. The road to Panem starts and ends in North Carolina, where the eagerly awaited movie was shot.

This four-day itinerary, which loops from Charlotte to Asheville and back, leads to film locations, choice star hangouts and sites that connect to elements of the Suzanne Collins novel. It also notes training options to learn skills a Tribute could use.

Day 1

Imagine you’re Effie, leaving the decadence of the Capitol (Charlotte), dropping by District 12 (Hildebran), then landing in a fun-loving place that makes film stars feel at home (Asheville).

Day 2

Having eaten as well as the Tributes during training, prepare to enter the Arena (DuPont State Recreational Forest between Brevard and Hendersonville).

Day 3

Journey from the heart of District 12 (Shelby) to the belly of the Capitol (Charlotte) and sense the atmospheric change from small-town warmth to urban cool.

Day 4

Explore the Capitol (Charlotte), which turns out to be Haymitch’s kind of place

Cabin Overview - 2 acre property- lots to explore!: The Main level of the home features a large and open living/dining/kitchen area with gas fireplace and great leather couches to cuddle up in! The main level also has two bedrooms ( both queen beds) and a full bathroom. The large deck that is accessed from this level wraps around the entire back and one side of the home, offering beautiful views of the Broad River and a perfect place to BBQ on the Gas Grill. The upper (loft) level of the home is a romantic, private bedroom retreat (queen bed) and has a convenient half bath as well. The lower level of the home is perfect for the kids or a second family to join you, featuring a bunkhouse that sleeps 4, a second full bath, large game/recreation room and a laundry room. You can also access the Hot Tub from here and bring a book from our library!

Ingles Market, with its full-service supermarket and pharmacy, is a 5 minute drive from the home. to make those great dinners!

The Community, Lake Lure & Riverbend has amazing 'community only' amenities for you to enjoy: canoe on Mirror Lake, build sandcastles on the Mirror Lake Beach (there's a play area for the children), have a meal at the covered picnic site that offers spectacular views, hike, bike or jog one of the many trails, or just sit and relax by the waterfall.

Use our home as your 'home-base' and go to quaint towns and villages within one hour drive, Visit Hendersonville (home of the NC Apple Festival), Asheville, the Biltmore House, Gardens and Winery, the beautiful waterfalls of Brevard, NC, Trout Fishing in the rivers, Black Mountain, Saluda, Bat Cave and Chimney Rock and of course--Lake Lure. Take a tour of Lake Lure and see why film makers have chosen our area for several famous movies!

And your Dogs will LOVE the river and frolicking in the woods- over 50% of our guests are furry!

Enjoy the Fall Leaves and Apple Season Too!: Our cabin turns into heavin in October thru November when the leaves change and the mountains and valleys light up with all the colors of the rainbow! Be sure to visit Brevard, NC to see the backdrop of waterfalls against the changing leaves! The view from Chimney Rock- just 10 minutes away during the fall can not even be captured in words that would do it justice! You have to come to appreciate! OH AND DON'T FORGET APPLES!

Hendersonville, NC is about 20 minutes away and the HEART of Apple harvests in NC- chose from over 20 varieties for your home made apple pie!

More Details

Owner
Please contact Owners via email - response within 24 hours!
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

Why Please contact Owners via email - response within 24 hours! chose Asheville Area

We fell in love with the changing leaves in NC many years ago and when our son was little, we wanted a fun place to visit and unwind and create lasting memories.

We walked into our cabin and KNEW this was the place to create those memories- especially with the river easily accessible to us too!

We hope you enjoy our home away from home as much as we have, and as much as our dog, Lefty has as well!

We welcome our furry guests with open paws!

What makes this cabin unique

We have the most accessible river access property in all of River Bend!

Hearing the rushing water is music for your soul!

Lighted stairs that are easy to maneuver make going down for a nightly marsh mellow roast in our fire pit fun!

And the cabin is decorated to give you all the comforts needed for our tree canopied retreat!

ENJOY!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

My husband and I loved the serenity and privacy! The sounds of the river can be heard from all the decks and we enjoyed sipping our coffee and listening to the birds chirp away in the morning. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a place to unwind and be one with nature! great for families or romantic weekends and our lab LOVED the river to play in! We will be back in the fall
May 2017
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Lake Lure Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , main floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , basement
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 bath in loft
  • Cabin has 2 full baths, one with shower, one with tub/shower and one 1/2 bath- as well as a full laundry room.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Romantic Loft w 1/2 bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Bunkhouse Plus extra Futon in Family area
  • The main level has two bedrooms ( 1-Double; 1-Queen Bed) .The upper (loft) level of the home is a romantic, private bedroom retreat (queen bed)The lower level of the home is perfect for the kids or a second family to join you, featuring a bedroom with a built in Bunkhouse- 4 twin beds and sectional that can provide additional sleeping space
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Non Smoking in home- you are able to smoke on outside deck. ****please note dam release from Lake Lure varies especially during summer and this can vary the level of the river call 828-625-9227**** Cabin is conveniently located in Lake Lure- 5 minutes to Chimney Rock and home of 'last of the Mohicans' and 'Dirty Dancing'Films Make sure to do day trips to: Asheville- home of the Biltmore Estate, Waynesville- home to lots of antiques and APPLES!! Brevard- Waterfall capital of the USA Grandfather Mountain Skiing in Beech Mountain or Asheville's Wolf Laurel

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
17% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
Outdoor Lovers Paradise-200ft on Broad River-Golf, Tube,Raft, Fish- Dogs LOVE US
average rating of 4.4130435 based on 51 reviews
North Carolina
3

Good location! Easy access to river! Needs some TLC!

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our overall stay but did have some issues with the maintenance of the cabin and grounds. The main level and upstairs loft were in good condition and comfortable. The basement smelled very musty when we first arrived but after talking to the owner he instructed us to turn on the dehumidifier in the basement and after a couple of days the smell was better. The bunk house appeared rather dark and dingy so our younger two kids who are 10 & 13 wouldn't sleep down there. Our oldest slept on the basement futon and couch after he arrived on day 3 but said they were not comfortable. The main deck outside had not been cleaned at all. The outdoor cushions on the deck chairs were dirty and soaked from days of rain. We suggested an outdoor storage container to keep them in. The grill was a mess and had to be cleaned the grill brush and ignition switch were broken. Grill was very worn and needs replacing. The downstairs porch was unusable. Hadn't been cleaned & had a broken railing on one side. Window over hot tub was covered in spiderwebs and other debris so we didn't use the hot tub due to lack of outdoor maintenance. Driveway on the listed exit side was covered in moss and had two large pot holes where someone had gotten stuck. My Mom's two wheel drive SUV couldn't get out and even lost traction sliding backwards onto the landing in the middle (scary but we got her down) so we were forced to use the entrance as our exit. Only 8 wash cloths provided for 9 people for 5 days and some linens were old, had holes in them, and were stained. Upstairs loft bed had no mattress pad and was not double sheeted. Lights on stairs didn't work going down to river. The stairs to the river were manageable but slick when rained on. Do not wear Crocs! Both my son and brother fell. The trees needed trimming back at entrance to river so u can see the view and playing kids more easily. We did notify Heather (caretaker) and Tim (owner)of these issues and they were very apologetic and kind. Heather had more wash cloths, kitchen towels, & a mattress pad sent over. Basically the main parts of cabin were good, bathrooms were good and the downstairs living room was good. But the inside of the cabin needs a good cleaning and outside of the cabin definitely needed some TLC! We enjoyed our trips to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure! River was fun to! Tim was very nice and understanding. But I feel like for the money the cabin should have been better prepared for guests!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Augustine
4

Misleading

  • 4 of 5

The house itself is very nice, although I would not consider it a 4 bedroom. The upstairs private bedroom has no door and the bathroom is only a sink and toilet. The basement which is considered a fourth bedroom is only good for children as it's just bunk beds, if 4 adult couples rented this house they would not like the bunk beds or the lack of full bathrooms.

The description and pictures of the house have you believe that the river runs through the yard and is easily accessible. Not the case. On one side of the house there is a very step and slippery staircase with no railings and about 55 steps. After you get down that then you have to navigate through some trees and tree roots and more slippery terrain before you reach the river, that was disappointing. There is basically no back yard until you go down all those steps. The jacuzzi is on a lower deck under the upper deck and very dark and moldy area not conducive to a relaxing location. We had a lot of rain the week I was there and the mosquitoes were so much of a problem, I never was able to sit on the porch.

The owner as well as the property manager were very kind and tried to accommodate my concerns. I'm glad it was only my husband and myself but I truly was disappointed with the whole layout of the property. As per other reviews, people loved this rental, I just wish it was a little more forthcoming.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful

  • 4 of 5

The view was beautiful! All we need to get away, nice and remote. Absolutely love waking up to the sound of water and birds!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley, I am so glad you all had a peaceful time! The sounds of the river rushing and birds chirping in the morning always make me happy too! Pls visit us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

Very nice getaway

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time and hope you can visit us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good spot

  • 5 of 5

Nice cabin that feels secluded even though it is in a community. Views from the deck of the river are beautiful. Comfortable and accomodating. Access to the fire pit and rivers edge is a bit of a work out ( but who doesn't need that!).we were there for XMas so just a little disappointed that there was no Xmas tree or wine like previous visitors had mentioned ...but we got past it. Would definetly go back, we enjoyed the peace and beauty of the place and we were SO grateful to be able to bring our dogs! They really had a great time!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying with us! the tranquility and seclusion of being in the cabin amongst the roar of the river and rustling of leaves in the winter is amazing! I am so glad that the pups had fun frolicking around! We would love to have you with us again, any time :) I am so sorry Heather didn't get the Tree out for you- it usually is front and center! Come next year and we will have 2 !! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Lake Lure zip lining and boating on the lake. Loved the small town feel! Loved being able to bring our fur babies and play in the river out back! Peaceful weekend for sure!

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

DIRECT River Front on the Broad River- amazingly stunning and private location- you can fish, swim, tube or just have fun frolicing in the water. Dogs LOVE us too! And zip lining is just next to our gated community's entrance!

Come visit where HUNGER GAMES, Last of the Mohicans and Dirty Dancing were filmed. You will fall in love with the tranquilty and beauty that awaits you here! Lake Lure is a coveted vacation destination! You get the best of both worlds- ur cabin is nestled in the trees for tranquility and seclusion- yet minutes away from all the great things Lake Lure and Chimney Rock have to offer!

Other Activities: tubing, white water rafting, gem mining, wineries, Wildlife, Casino, Indian Reservations

Golf: Over 13 Golf Courses within 20 minutes make this a great golf mountain getaway!

Tiger Woods first golf course, The Cliffs at High Carolina being built just less than an hour away!

Ski: Appalachian, Ski Beech, Sugar Mountain 7 Wolf Laurel- all within your reach from here!

Antiquing, mining for gems, fishing, fly fishing, tubing, boating- we have it all in our area for you! And try to visit during one of our annual festivals like July's Dragon Boat events and Apple Festival galore in Sept and Oct!

www.lure.lakesonline.com

www.romanticasheville.com

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Lure Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Summer -Weekly only
May 15 2017 - Sep 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Fall/Winter (except holidays)
Sep 17 2017 - May 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning fee $100
Pet Fee $100

Holiday weeks such as Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years require 7 night stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties