Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Cabin with Amazing Views! Call August/September specials!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 6 with library in the master bedroom.

Serenity Ridge is a newly renovated and beautifully decorated cabin ideally located between Cherokee and Maggie Valley and only one mile to the Soco Gap entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway, known as "America's Favorite Drive." Also, entrance to the Great Smoky National Park is just a short drive away. The entire area is surrounded by beautiful mountains, lakes, waterfalls, wildlife, hiking trails, white water rafting, horseback riding, golf courses, and gorgeous scenery -- just to mention a few..

This private setting is in Hornbuckle/Cranberry Falls only 7/10 mile off Soco Road (Route 19) between Maggie Valley and Cherokee. The well maintained gravel roads allow you to ride ATV's off your backyard to gorgeous views and waterfalls located right here in this private mountain community. The mountain views are great from the master bedroom, library, dining and great room.

This is a very clean non-smoking cabin with hardwood floors, eat-in kitchen, brand new fireplace, sleeper sofa in the living room, and new carpeting in both bedrooms. The master bedroom (queen bed) has its own bathroom and a nice sitting area/library. The second bedroom has two twin beds and an adjacent bathroom. You can barbecue off the back deck or just sit and relax in the two new indoor/outdoor rocking chairs. There is a fully equipped kitchen and convenient washer and dryer. All the rooms except the dining ( has curtains for privacy but you can open to experience the beautiful views) have wood blinds for added privacy. There are two brand new flat screen LCD television sets as well as a DVD player and a satellite dish with over 150 channels. We have provided many movies (DVD) for your enjoyment. We have just added a landline phone for your convenience.

Serenity Ridge is high in the mountains with an elevation of approximately 5,000 feet above sea level -- making it very cool with great breezes. There are ceiling fans throughout the house. Heating is provided by a brand new fireplace in the great room that warms the entire house in a matter of minutes, plus two new portable heaters when a smaller amount of heat is desired or in select areas.

There are peach trees and plum trees on the property as well as blueberry bushes. We just added a new crab apple tree and hope to have apples in the fall. The new fire pit in the backyard is for extra outdoor fun!

Serenity Ridge truly provides a relaxing experience away from it all but close to town and other attractions. There are many wonderful golf courses nearby, including the famous par 72 Sequoyah National Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr. with spectacular views of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, in nearby Cherokee. There are several other courses in Maggie Valley and nearby Waynesville.

LOCATION...LOCATION...LOCATION. Serenity Ridge itself is very inviting, but it is the special location in proximity to all the amenities that this area has to offer to visitors that sets it apart. The cabin is a one-mile drive to the entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Haywood County expansion, with its extraordinary high elevations, offers motorists breathtaking views of seemingly endless mountain ridges and picturesque vistas, as well as hiking trails. Don't be surprised to see bears, elk, wild turkeys, deer and other wildlife as you drive on the Parkway. A list of recommended hiking trails and viewpoints will be available in the Information Book at the cabin.

The entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is just a short drive from Serenity Ridge. Visit www.nps.gov/grsm. A beautiful drive through the park will end at popular Gatlinburg.

Pigeon Forge is adjacent to Gatlinburg, where Dollywood is located, as well as many other entertaining and shopping venues.

Maggie Valley boasts a rich mountain history and has everything you need, including unique shops and restaurants, parks, golf course, Cataloochee with skiing and horseback riding, Ghost Town, festival grounds, dancing, mini-golf, and elk viewing -- just to mention a few.

Cherokee is just 15 minutes away with fine restaurants, museums, Indian reservation, waterfalls, and many sources of entertainment, including the famous Harrah's Cherokee Casino. Be sure to check their website to acquaint yourself with the many restaurants, theaters, etc. as well as gambling in a convenient and beautiful atmosphere.

Downtown Waynesville (just a few miles east of Maggie Valley) is a vibrant town with fine shops, galleries, cafes and restaurants, tree-lined brick sidewalks, and many popular events.

Asheville is a little further east of Waynesville and has the closest airport. It is a large town with a lot to offer.

Our family has enjoyed visiting the Biltmore (an 8,000 acre estate in Asheville with beautiful gardens and very nice restaurants). Plan on spending several hours, and the headsets for a self-guided tour are a must. Tickets can be purchased through AAA, or call the Biltmore at 800-411-3812 for information on special fares.

Brochures and maps are available in the cabin to acquaint you with some of the extraordinary opportunities to enjoy this unique area of Western North Carolina.

SERENITY RIDGE has it all -- great views, ideal location, comfort and style -- at an affordable price. We hope you come and stay with us.

Check us out on Facebook!

Search for Serenity Ridge Cabin Rental and become a fan!

View all our photos of the cabin and the surrounding areas!

We are also on VRBO and vacationrentals.

Four Wheel drive vehicle recommended from November-March

We also have another cabin nearby. Black Bear Lodge homeaway # 3642720 is on 8 acres!

More Details

Owner
contact01
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About contact01

My husband and I fell in love with Maggie Valley about 15 years ago. We are from South Florida and always wanted a place in the mountains. We purchased this cabin and remodeled it several years ago. We started renting it so others could enjoy it as well. Our family enjoys spending time at the cabin and we try to go as often as possible. We know you will love it too.

Why contact01 chose Maggie Valley

High above Maggie Valley, 5000 ft elevation! Near the Blue Ridge Parkway. Motorcycles welcomed. No reservation fees. Extremely clean! Great for people with allergies. Hospital grade air purifier! Also wheelchair accessible which is hard to find in a cabin home!

What makes this cabin unique

Amazing views, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable, centrally located, fully equipped kitchen, extra water tank so you never run out of water, hospital air purifier, landline phone, lots of hiking paths nearby, beautiful art work and photography from local area, great neighbors but not too close:-) fruit trees with peaches, plums, blueberries and blackberries, big backyard, great wildlife, elk and deer in area, extremely clean cabin, beautiful stacked rock wall, great hammock, grill and rockers on back deck, library with lots of books in master bedroom, split bedroom plan, wheelchair accessible, house on one level, high elevation with easy access to cabin, lots of DVD's and games to keep you entertained and most importantly great owners:-)

Guestbook comments from the owner

Ana, Thank you for everything! Your cabin was very nice! Bed very comfortable! I love all your decorations! It was very peaceful and relaxing, just what we needed! Hope your house faired well with the hurricane coming your way! Keep in touch- I feel like we have known you forever!
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 30

Amenities

Cranberry Falls Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , closet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , closet
  • All baths are new with an adorable cabin decor. Master bath has a shower and second bath has a tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , plus liabrary
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , TV
  • Master bedroom has a library / sitting area to enjoy the views and reading your favorite books or magazines. Also has beautiful nature photographs and a comfortable recliner with book case. There are two night stands and a dresser with mirror. Lots of comfy quilts and throws. There is a large walk in closet and master bath as well. Guest bedroom has two twin beds, a night stand and dresser with TV. There is also a large closet and lots of nature photographs. The guest bath is next to the guest bedroom. All bedrooms have ceiling fans.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Smoking, smokers and pets not allowed due to the owners severe allergies. We have just added a hospital grade air purifier to the cabin for those with allergies. We also now have a telephone land line for you convenience. We added a new fire pit in the backyard for more outdoor fun! Please read direction given to you at arrival for safety on using fire pit. Four wheel drive vehicle recommended from November-March. Brand new Vented Fireplace for better health!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Charming Cabin with Amazing Views! Call August/September specials!
average rating of 4.860465 based on 73 reviews
5

Lana & Mike

  • 5 of 5

Choosing to stay at this amazing cabin was one of our best decisions of the year. We had never stayed in a cabin and were not quite sure what to expect, but the expectations we did have were far exceeded by what we experienced. The cabin is even more beautiful in person than in the picturese. When we walked in after a very long drive, we truly felt like we were home. It was very very clean and organized and all we had to do was choose our rooms and unpack. Our kids loved the room where they played board games (we brought our own, but the cabin has some, too), and we all loved the living room, kitchen, and outside deck. The view was absolutely breathtaking. The cabin is very well maintained and comfortably furnished, making our visit very enjoyable.The drive up from the main street gate to the cabin was kind of scary at first because we aren't used to hills and curvy roads, but we drove slowly and got used to it fairly quickly. The drive to nearby towns is about 10-15 minutes (probably faster once you're used to driving there), so we tried to get everything we needed while we were out because no one wanted to drive back out, mostly because the cabin is so cozy. I could have stayed there easily another week and just relaxed. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of day to life, unplug and enjoy the beauty of mountains this cabin is a great place to start. We highly recommend staying in this beautiful cabin. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure having you and your family stay at our cabin. We would love for you to come back soon. We will give you a discount because we love to have great renters! Thank you for the lovely review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, quiet area, good views, good for small families

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed cozy one level floor plan (good for families with small children), quiet area, sunset on the deck, proximity to hiking and Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please come back and enjoy a discount for returning renters!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wapella, Illinois
5

A piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved Serenity Cabin! It was quiet and peaceful, yet only 7/10 of a mile down the mountain when we wanted to go out and about. We visited Gatlinburg, went antiquing, went to Cherokee and Bryson City. Everything in the cabin was just like the description and pictures said it was. The cabin was tastefully done with many beautiful pictures and nice furniture. The bed was so comfortable! We loved looking out the windows in the dining room to the beautiful mountains and just standing or sitting on the deck enjoying the view! We had a wonderful time and will definitely come back again!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a joy having you there. I feel like I have known you for a long time. I really enjoyed our conversations. So happy you enjoyed your stay at Serenity Ridge. Please come back soon. We offer a discount on renters!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vero Beach
5

What a view!!!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time at this cabin. It was the perfect size for my husband and I. The home was very clean and comfortable. The views from the deck were awesome and we enjoyed our nightly campfires. No air conditioning was needed as it is quite cool because of the elevation. Yes, there is an unpaved steep road to get to the cabin, but we had no trouble going up and down every day in our Ford Escape during our week vacation. If you are looking for a secluded peaceful spot, this is the place for you. It is so conveniently located which is an extra bonus. Maggie Valley, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and the National Park are close by. Even our trip to Asheville was a breeze. The owners have obviously worked very hard to provide renters with excellent information about the area contained in a booklet inside the cabin. Go for it. You will not be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you and your husband stay at Serenity Ridge cabin! We would love for you to come back and will offer a discount to returning renters! So happy you had a great time! Come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Please Read Before Booking

  • 1 of 5

Booked on 6/29 to arrive 7/10. We were already outside of the 30 day refund period but we have never had a problem with a Homeaway so we figured it would be ok. Had to contact owner 3 times before the rental agreement and rules were finally sent on 7/6, 4 days before arrival. The email stated that the road to the house was a gravel road that could be difficult to pass during bad weather or winter. We were a little worried because we would be taking the trip in our 2wd 4-cylinder. Had we had road info in advance we would not have booked. At the time of booking it was nowhere on the listing. We have driven in the mountains numerous times in our 2wd, including going up Grandfather Mtn. which is steep and has many switchbacks. Hoped the drive in would be ok but were sadly mistaken. The road is very steep and narrow and has loose gravel. Our car slid to the side toward a drop off several times and could not get good traction. Had to stop once when we were sliding and had to use the emergency brake to get started again. Once we made it to the house we knew we would not feel safe staying. We could not safely come and go so that the kids could experience all the mountains have to offer. Listing makes property seem much better than it is. Our 6 yr old and 2yr old would not have fun cooped up in the house for 3 days. Yard was too steep for small children to play and there was only a small view of the mountains through some trees. Email sent by the owner said that the code to enter the house would be provided by phone before arrival. Never got it so we had to contact her and wait outside of the house for 45 min. When we spoke with her we told her we did not feel safe because of the road and did not want to stay. She would not take our concerns seriously and said we should have told her about our anxiety disorder when we booked. Really!? Neither of us have an anxiety disorder and even if we did would not have to disclose that. She did give us another route for getting down the mountain but it was just as bad as the 1st. We did not stay inside for more than 5 mins. Ended up driving to Boone and had a nice vacation there. Even though we were outside of the refund period we politely asked if even a partial refund would be available. Owner wrote back in bold that she would not refund any money including the cleaning fee. Save yourself the headache and have a nice vacation elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As is my process with all renters I spoke with you initially at length regarding our cabin. You were well aware our cabin is at an elevation of about 4800 ft, providing wonderful views. I sent the contract which clearly states we are not far off the highway, but on unpaved, well maintained roads.You confirmed you had read the contract and viewed the website which are very clear as to the details of our cabin, it's elevation, and access. At no time did you mention your anxiety disorder or your fear of heights. I certainly would not know this unless you had later told me. We have rented to families from many states including Florida. We have never had a situation in which someone could not endure the elevation. We gave you two different road options to access the cabin. Had you shared with me your anxiety issues and your fear of heights initially perhaps we could of had an open conversation and decided a cabin down in the valley might be better, but you did not. When you called saying you were afraid I asked if you had come in the shorter steeper route or the flatter route. You said it was the overall elevation that scared you. I offered to have a neighbor come over but you declined. When you arrived you called stating you had forgotten the lock box combination and I provided that to you again. This was the first time you shared with me your anxiety disorder and fear of heights. I spoke with you at length to help find a way you could feel comfortable. You stated the cabin and views are beautiful. I called you back later to see if you had tried the alternate route and how you were, but you said you had already left. You said that you understood that there is no refund at that point, of course. Your husband emailed me about a week later and stated that at the time you were both ok with not getting a refund but have since changed your minds. I explained again the contract language and the fact I had no opportunity to find another guest to fill those 3 days. You and/or your husband then proceeded to create fictitious and unfounded complaints because you are angry about not having your money refunded. Instead of accepting responsibility for your unique issue you have chosen to express anger and to blame someone else. All of our long list of reviews are 5 stars except for two 4 star reviews. We take great pleasure in helping other families have wonderful vacations, just as we have for many years. I am sorry you did not get to share this same experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Amazing, Clean, Great Location, Wonderful Owner!

  • 5 of 5

Our visit to Maggie Valley was made so much better with a stay here. There is nothing you are left to need. If you're a cook, all the utensils are there, a fire pit, wonderful views, a spotless cabin, and quiet area with a nice breeze. Simply put, GO!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Mountaineer
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Maggie Valley Country Club
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Bryson City/Dillsboro (sightseeing train)
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Blue Ridge Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Mountaineer
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Cataloochee - Also has Horseback riding
Car: recommended

Serenity Ridge Cabin is located in Hornbuckle/ Cranberry Falls - Only 7/10 of a mile off Route 19 between Maggie Valley and Cherokee, North Carolina. It is 5 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway, 10 minutes into town, 15 minutes from Waynesville, 10 minutes to Ghost Town and the Ski and Tubing area. Cherokee is approximately 20 minutes away along with Santa's Land for the kids, as well as Harrah's Casino for those who like to gamble. Lots of great restaurants within 5-10 minutes. There is white water rafting, horseback riding, tubing. Ride ATV's off your door step. Hiking all around the area. There are also many other attractions such as Biltmore House and Gardens, Great Smoky National Park and Railroad, the Elk in Cataloochee Valley, numerous Championship Golf courses, Cataloochee Ski Resort and Harrah's Cherokee Hotel and Casino.

Other Activities: White water rafting, gambling, elk viewing, snow tubing, llama trekking, amusement parks...

Golf: Lots of beautiful golf courses in the area. That's how I talked my husband into buying a place here:)

Ski: There is a local place to ski nearby and there are other ski places in the area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

No pets or smokers permitted. You will forfeit deposit.
Fourth of July, Labor Day, Third week of October, Thanksgiving. Christmas and New Year's are 20% more than the regular rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.