check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Julie Moore

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distance to Rock City Gardens

29 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lookout Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1 sleep sofa, sleeps 8

Easy to locate next to Rock City Gardens - quiet and private. This two story tudor is near Historical Parks, Civil War Battlefields, Ruby Falls, Golf, Hang Gliding, Rock Climbing, walk to Rock City and Grandview, just minutes from historical downtown Chattanooga. The home has hardwood floors, fireplace, top of the line kitchen and baths. Very private and comfortable with fountain garden. Three bedroom and a sleep sofa sleeps a total of 8.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Julie Moore (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We just returned home from our wonderful week-end stay at your charming home on Lookout Mt. It was the perfect place for us to be to fully enjoy our son's wedding at the Fairyland Club. So much nicer than staying in a hotel in town! We would love to come back when our week-end is freer to take in all of the sights. Thank you for sharing it with us."
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.3
based on 29 traveler reviews

Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distance to Rock City Gardens
average rating of 4.275862 based on 34 reviews
5

Lovely home very close to Rock City

  • 5 of 5

The house was adorable. We all had a very nice stay. The location cannot be beat. So close to Rock City. Totally worth staying there if only to walk to Starbucks in the morning and watch the traffic you don't have to hassle with.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The interior had water damage. Trash under sink and sheets were unchanged/found phone charger in bed

  • 3 of 5

Needs repairs. Concerned about water damage/air quality. Rate was very reasonable.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay on Lookout Mountain!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I enjoyed staying here. The property is well represented by the pictures on the website. It was a roomy house and it had everything we needed. The included linens was a helpful touch! We were able to walk across the street and enjoy Rock City as well as take a short drive down the mountain into Downtown Chattanooga. The property owner was very easy to contact and quick to answer my questions. She was also very accommodating regarding arrival and departure times. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, quiet and private

  • 4 of 5

The house was clean when we arrived, and when Wi-Fi didn't work upon our arrival, caretaker Chastity came right over to fix it. She was friendly and responsive to our needs. Everything in the kitchen worked, and we found the house a good central location for our sightseeing in the Chattanooga area. I would say though, that the house sleeps six comfortably, the number in our party. There were a number of good restaurants nearby, both on the mountain and just below in St. Elmo's. While we were there, a new thermostat was installed, and the hot water heater was turned up.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful area. Great location.

  • 4 of 5

I had my 80 yr old parents and 3 teenaged kids with me - there was plenty of room for all of us. The location was great - we walked to Rock City Gardens - very cool! And really close to the Lookout Mtn incline railway and Ruby Falls. St Elmo area was neat. Beautiful location and comfortable accommodations. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed it so much! My family and I took a quick holiday trip home to visit with friends who live on Lookout and nearby. The five of us had plenty of room to spread out and the kids loved being able to get outside to throw the football and run out some energy. We all joked about everyone coming over to "our" house for dinner and a visit. And let's not forget the added bonus of the city view right across the street and a Starbucks within walking distance.

The only thing I would mention is that this is not your typical "vacation" home. The televisions aren't "game system ready", there is some mustiness upstairs from being an older home, and the furniture is on the older side. We had a couple of issues with the water temp/pressure as well. None of those things bothered any of us, including my 3 children, but they are worth mentioning.

Thank you for opening your home to renters. We certainly plan to be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: necessary

Next door to Rock City Gardens, minutes from Ruby Falls and 10 minutes from Historical Downtown Chattanooga

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lookout Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee and Taxes $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lookout Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom on the first floor with full bath. Two bedrooms on second level to share the full bath. Available a sleep sofa for 2 in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers