check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Maxine Spohn

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spectacular 3BDRm/3Bath Oceanfront Villa on Kiawah

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kiawah Island Villa Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 6. condo and villa

Sixth floor 3 bedroom / 3 bathroom penthouse with incredible ocean views and elevator access. The only beachfront villa on Kiawah to be awarded a 100 RATING, PLATINUM PLUS level. Vaulted ceilings and skylights create an exquisite ambiance. This villa boasts gorgeous marble and granite baths with plenty of storage. Kitchen has purified water, floor to ceiling pantry with pull out drawers, soft closure cabinets, warming drawer, a pull out spice rack with spices provided and all the utensils you would have at home. Beautiful art, comfortable and modern furnishings. Pure luxury at the beach.

The first level features two master bedrooms. Each master has it's own large HD television and large compartmented closets for generous storage. The master bathrooms each have double bowl sinks with gorgeous marble and granite finishes and lots of built in storage including two counter to ceiling hidden storage cabinets for toiletries.The upstairs bedroom has two twin beds, a 27'TV with VHS player and a library of family movies. The third bedroom bath is very large and well appointed. There is a separate laundry room with sink, washer and dryer and lots of cabinets for storage. Other amenities include a premium TV channel for uninterrupted movie viewing and a small stereo.

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Maxine Spohn (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Maxine Spohn

Growing up in Dallas, Texas (Highland Park), there was not much opportunity of water related vacations. I knew the ocean restored and renewed me and I began to search for my place. When I purchased on Kiawah, I wanted my home to reflect how I chose to live my life...in a beautiful place with comfort and amenities. I also decided to rent my home to those who wanted the same level of amenities..'the best of the best'. My guests are so wonderful and delightful that they have become friends and we both look forward to their return visits to Kiawah. I currently live in Atlanta, Ga.

Maxine Spohn purchased this villa in 2009

Why Maxine Spohn chose South Carolina

. I have traveled the world and visited many beaches and when I discovered Kiawah, I knew that I was finally HOME. I was overwhelmed with the beauty of the island, animal and thriving marine life, beautiful amenities and accommodations, and warmth of the people. The nearby proximity of Charleston was a major plus.

What makes this villa unique

Upon opening the front door, what struck me was the sweeping panoramic view of the ocean. There is a 4 story building restriction on Kiawah passed after my building was completed. The view from the balcony of the beach, dunes, and ocean are unsurpassed on the island.

Guestbook comments from the owner

May 29-June 4, 2011



WOW! What a place, so exquisitely appointed. This is our first time visiting Kiawah and we will be back. Your villa is so comfortable with every amenity. We lacked for nothing!! We have traveled the world and rank this as one of our favorite abodes-lovely in every way. Even though the breathtaking sunrise called us to action each morning, we had difficulty getting out of your "heavenly bed". Thank you for all of your restaurant suggestions and the bottle of wine. Delightful! We will be back to 5141 Windswept next year for Spoleto Festival in Charleston.
May 2011
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Spectacular 3BDRm/3Bath Oceanfront Villa on Kiawah
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
Ann Arbor, MI
5

Perfect villa on the beach with amazing host

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed in Maxine's villa for Spring Break this year. My review is late, but the memories are still vivid! The vacation was a dream even before we left home. Maxine provided spot-on tips and recommendations for restaurants and activities so that we were well prepared when we arrived. Angel Oak Restaurant and Fat Hen were highlights! The villa is in a perfect location on Kiawah, and it is in impeccable condition. Everything was clean and comfortable--and elegant. Beach items like chairs, towels, toys, and boogie boards were provided and very welcome. The kitchen had everything we needed for our stay. The layout of the villa is also fantastic--with each bedroom providing a great deal of privacy and enough room for everyone to spread out, and the main living area roomy enough for all to hang out. We love to stay beachfront, and this is an ideal beachfront property with an easy walk down the boardwalk to a wide and sandy stretch of gorgeous beach. We would love to return! Thanks, Maxine!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kristen and Michael for this lovely review. I know I must have done "something right" when a you had a lingering feeling that you wanted to write a review and then you followed through. It is really never to late to do something that gracious. I am grateful that you let me share in facilitating your memorable family time at the beach. It was fun for me to help you with plans and make sure that you have everything you wish. I would love to have you return. anytime.. Maxine Spohn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berea, KY
5

Fantastic Property

  • 5 of 5

My family just returned from a perfect beach vacation. We have rented homes several times on Kiawah and love the island. This trip was made especially wonderful because the villa owner, Maxine, went out of her way to be sure we were comfortable in her property. I've never experienced such care from any other private owner! She provides her renters with directions, suggestions of activities, and a long list of restaurants both on and off the island. Maxine is clearly very knowledgeable about Kiawah and Charleston so her advice can be trusted 100%.

The villa itself is beautiful and very comfortable. It was great to have 2 master suites since my daughter, her husband, and their 2 year old daughter were with us. Everyone had their own space and bathroom. Being on the beach was especially nice with a small child. But my granddaughter probably said it best for all of us on the morning we had to leave - "I want to stay! I don't want to go home!"

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Pam, for your glowing testimonial. It was special for me to contribute in any way to your memorable family experience on Kiawah. You were so charming to work with and it was a pleasure to provide for your needs. When a two year old doesn't want to go home, then I know I've done something right! It's hard to describe the allure and beauty of Kiawah, isn't it? I too am looking forward to your return. Maxine Spohn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

True luxury relaxation

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent two weeks at Maxine's spectacular pent house Condo on Kiawah Island. Maxine insisted that we feel at home and that we did. We cooked most of our meals in her fully furnished kitchen. It was not because we didn't want to eat at the many outstanding restaurants she recommended in the area. Rather we opted not to leave the breathtaking ocean view while enjoying our intimate private dining. I for one find it difficult to completely relax on vacation without a fly rod in my hand, but here on Kiawah, at this beautifully accommodated condo, with the peace and tranquility of the Island, I felt relaxed and refreshed. We hope to return. Your friends, Bert and Yvonne

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Bert and Yvonne, I have said so many times and I believe totally that I have the "most wonderful guests anyone could have". You both are yet another reason why I feel this way. Getting to meet you in person and spending quality time with you was just an extra bonus. You are wonderful guests and I would be privileged to have you again anytime. Thank you for your wonderful sentiments and taking the time to write a review. Please come back soon and bring your fishing rod!! Maxine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Knoxville, TN
5

A Bijou

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful "little jewel" this condo turned out to be. The interior was very contemporary and was perfect for the four of us. The designer kept the "jewel" theme throughout with both color choices and finishes. The condo had everything needed to make for a great winter break. The kitchen was well stocked with all of the tools and conveniences and we needed nothing additional. The location was equally fabulous and offered an unobstructed view of the ocean. Waking up each morning to such an awesome view was a real bonus.

The owner was delightful, and one of the best parts of this trip was her very helpful list of tips and recommendations for restaurants along with her very candid reviews. They were "spot on." She also took the time to check in with us while we were there to make sure everything met our expectations.

We definitely look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect place to stay on Kiawah Island

  • 5 of 5

This condo is fabulous. We have rented over 30 apartments in Europe and the US and this is one of the nicest. It is exactly as pictured except the ocean view is even better. It is in a great location on the Island. It is well furnished and the kitchen has everything you need to prepare meals. The beds are really comfortable. The artwork really adds to the atmosphere. We were two couples and were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this condo and we will rent again when we return to Kiawah. Maxine is a joy to work with-very responsive. Her recommendations on restaurants were very helpful. It is also really nice to have an elevator to get your luggage, groceries, etc to the 6th floor. I can't say enough good things about this property. You will not regret staying here.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I shouldn't brag and I sound like a broken record when I say "I have the best guests on the planet". You and John were a wonderful couple to work with and share my home. I ordered up that perfect 80 degree weather just for you . I have a heart full of gratitude to know that I had a small part in your vacation being a memorable experience. Kiawah is a very special place!! Thank you for being so appreciative of my recommendations for restaurants and activities. You are welcome in any of my villas whenever you can get to Kiawah. Have a wonderful New Year filled with bountiful blessings and good health. COME BACK SOON. Maxine Spohn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spectacular accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

This place is fabulous with every detail considered and provided! With it's spectacular oceanfront view and location steps away from the beach, some of my favorite things provided in this thoroughly updated and immaculately maintained condo: a welcome bottle of wine (really nice touch!), full barware, spices and plenty of cookware, an assortment of start-up food items like coffee and peanut butter (helpful for late arrivals), baggies and foil (so handy), purified drinking and hot water dispenser, a warming drawer, even a salad spinner, beach towels and chairs, top quality bath towels and linens, 3 way mirrors in bathrooms, and an abundance of storage and space which are often in short supply in vacation rentals. It's like being in your own home, only better! Plus the owner provides firsthand, trustworthy recommendations on restaurants and activities. I'll be back for sure!!!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is heartwarming to know guests have enjoyed my wonderful villa as much as you and your family. My intent is to anticipate the needs of my guests and to meet them. When I hit the mark, I get so happily excited because I know you have had a fun, memorable and great experience on Kiawah. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement and recognition. You were a pleasure to have and work with. I am delighted you will be returning and I hope it will be soon. You are always welcome in my home!! Maxine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Having a glass of wine while enjoying the ocean views and spectacular sunsets from this top floor penthouse unit (on the only 6 story bldg. on Kiawah) is not only memorable but truly the way to vacation. Therefore a complimentary bottle of wine will be waiting for you!

Other Activities: pool is nearby

Golf: Kiawah is KNOWN for it's 5 outstanding golf courses. There are many golf discounts available through this villa.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kiawah Island Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 14 2016
5 night minimum stay
$678
$3,390
 
 
Fall
Oct 15 2016 - Nov 18 2016
5 night minimum stay
$543
$2,714
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Dec 2 2016
5 night minimum stay
$711
$3,557
 
 
Early Winter
Dec 3 2016 - Dec 16 2016
5 night minimum stay
$543
$2,714
 
 
Christmas
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$711
$3,557
 
 
Winter
Jan 7 2017 - Feb 10 2017
5 night minimum stay
$396
$1,982
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.5%

There is a 4% Resort Fee for a direct rental with the owner. All other rental agencies on Kiawah charge a resort fee ranging from 8% to 10%. This is in addition to the tax. If you book here, you will save the 6% and can spend it on other delightful adventures on Kiawah.

Please contact Owner Maxine at 404-760-8882 or 404-229-5024 for any addition information or questions about reservations

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kiawah Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large marble shower with seat, 2 sink vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tub & shower are marble
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Beautiful tiled shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , built in dresser
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , built in dresser
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , built in storage
  • Crib and high chair rental available
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
All drawers in kitchen are soft closure and there is a floor to top of cabinet pantry with pull out drawers

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties