check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Arlan Wiggins

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Flathead Valley's Premier Family Reunion spot 20% off Aug-Sept 2016!

24 Reviews
Sleeps42
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bigfork Estate Rental Photos and Description

House, 7 Bedrooms + Optional Cabin w/ 2 bedrooms (Sleeps 39 total)

Located in Bigfork, in the middle of Flathead Valley, Cougar Trail Ranch is the ideal site for large gatherings. It is perfectly designed for family reunions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Nestled in acres of paradise, Cougar Trail Ranch is surrounded by the magnificent Montana wilderness. The view of the Rockies is simply breathtaking. Close to both Whitefish Mountain Resort and Blacktail Mountain Resort for those who want to have reunions in the winter. The skiing and snowmobiling options in the area are unreal! We have the perfect lodging for your large group and the off season pricing makes it a perfect winter destination.

The Ranch Lodge

This beautiful vacation home is cozy, though very spacious (5,000 sq. ft). The Old World style woodwork and the earthy colors give it a true feeling of a home away from home. With its fully equipped kitchen and adjacent living room with fireplace, your family and friends will be able to create complete gourmet meals while enjoying the amazing view of the mountains.

It was built by the owner himself and his family. As a general contractor and carpenter, Arlan designed his dream home for his family. Now that his family is all grown up, you have the privilege of enjoying great moments in this superb home too. Each bedroom has its own style and personality. They are all named after his children and grandchildren.

The Lodge is equipped and set up as a fully furnished property that includes bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen with granite countertops and five-burner range. The 8 bedrooms include 2 King, 7 Queen, 2 Full and 7 Twin beds, as well as a sofa bed. There are 3 full bathrooms and a powder room. The Master Suite has a separate shower, and jacuzzi tub. The living room has a gas fireplace, and the kitchen area a wood stove. There is a fitness room and a theater room that has a state of the art Full 3D projection system. It includes a wireless system that is connected to Wi-Fi and has TV, Netflix, Hulu plus, Pandora, Vudu, and other movie channels free of charge as well as all hook ups for portable devices. The speaker system is set to play music in all the main rooms of the first floor and outdoors on both the front and back decks.

The Lodge features two large decks. On the front deck you will find a gas grill, tables and chairs for relaxing and dining. It is surrounded by gardens, a small pond with a fountain, a beautiful lawn and an outstanding view of the mountains. Not to mention the fire pit for roasting marshmallows! On the back deck you will find tables and chairs for relaxing or dining. Wind down the day in the spa and have fun playing a game of foosball. On demand, we can set up our volleyball net on the side lawn.

The Cabin

A perfect place for a romantic getaway or a fun trip with the kids. Enjoy the beautiful Flathead valley and Glacier National Park. Offering space and solitude, yet close to The Lodge, this is the ultimate private getaway that sleeps up to 6 people. From its front deck, you can also enjoy the spectacular view of the mountains.

The Cabin is equipped and set up as a fully furnished property that includes bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels and a fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops, 3 bar stools, a table and 3 chairs. It features a small living room, a master bedroom with a queen-size bed, a full bathroom, and a loft with a king size bed and a futon bed that sleeps 2. We have to mention that to access the loft you'll need to climb a ladder (see photos). On the front deck you will find a custom wood bench and a gas grill for BBQs.

Additional charge for renting The Cabin:

Seasonal: Oct-Apr: $175/night, $1200/week

Peak: Jun-Sept: $225/night, $1475/week

Information on the area

Located right in the middle of the Flathead Valley, Cougar Trail Ranch is surrounded by nature. You'll have access to amazing lakes, rivers and streams, mountains and wildlife. It is the perfect spot for outdoor activities and sports. From the Ranch, you can get to most activities within a few minutes.

Summer Area Activities: Golf, fishing, boating, canoeing, white water kayaking, paddle boarding, rafting, river floats, zip-lining, hiking, mountain biking, and swimming.

Winter Area Activities: Cross-country skiing, skiing and snowboarding, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and dog-sledding.

Cougar Trail Ranch is also close to cultural centers such as Kalispell, Polson, Whitefish (city), Whitefish Mountain Resort, Blacktail Ski Resort, Glacier National Park and Hot Springs. Nearby lakes are: Swan, Flathead, Echo, Loon and Horseshoe.

Concierge services

We can offer your group house cleaning and gourmet meal preparation as well as catering for special events. We can coordinate your fishing trips, snowmobile excursions and other special activities you might want to book in the area during your stay. Please call us today so we can help you plan your perfect vacation and create memories that will last a lifetime!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Arlan Wiggins (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 24 traveler reviews

Flathead Valley's Premier Family Reunion spot 20% off Aug-Sept 2016!
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews
5

Even better than it looks on website!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family of 15 (from Illinois, Arizona, Idaho, and Washington, D.C.) gathering for the first time in 3 years! Everyone had lots of space and bedroom privacy (there was even one more bedroom than we needed). The house is well taken care of and was very clean. Everything is even roomier than it looks on the website. Arlan was always available for questions & requests, but not intrusive. He set up a volleyball net upon request and even refilled the hot tub on the back porch since the evening weather was fairly cool during our week. He came over one evening and took a family photo for us. There were 6 kids ranging from 2 1/2 -14 and adults up to age 70. There are a few steps, but as a whole, the house is somewhat handicap friendly. There are 3 steps up to the large front porch. The kitchen, dining, living, & powder rooms are on the main floor as well the master suite. There are 2 short steps down to the media room, exercise room, game room, bathroom and 2 bedrooms - this level opens out to the back porch (there are also a couple of steps up to the back porch from the driveway). The weather was perfect, not to hot or cold, so we spent lots of time out on the porches visiting, playing games, and watching the kids play. The lawn extending from the front porch is beautiful and very large and the kids played ball and had a great time running around. We actually spent a lot more time all together then we did 3 years ago as the house and yard made it easy for us all to be in the same spot at the same time. We did go up to Glacier National Park one day. It is beautiful, but was very crowded. I would suggest going up very early (5:30-6 a.m.) to beat the crowds - several of the parking lots were completely filled with a line of cars waiting for spots. There are lots of closer places for wonderful hiking, fishing, and canoeing (4 of our 5 households did a number of much closer hikes, etc. The town of Big Fork had a large and well-stocked grocery store as well as a drug store, a number of restaurants, and numerous "touristy" shops. All in all we had a wonderful week and would love to go back again someday!!! Thank you, Arlan!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning Property and Incredible Host

  • 5 of 5

It's a coin flip as to whether the property or Arlan (the host) was most impressive. From the incredible communication to a fully stocked and furnished home, we could not have been more impressed with Cougar Trail Ranch. Arlan went well above and beyond what should ever be expected when it came to coordinating our week long stay AND a wedding with 180 guests.

We will be using Cougar Trail exclusively for all of our future trips to Flathead Lake, MT!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, I had a great time with your group and hope to work with you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

The property is well-maintained. Spacious, comfortable, inside and out.

We were well cared for! When we couldn't figure out the lovely (and massive) electronics system (we had laptop presentations to share and view on the big screen), there was staff nearby to assist us rather quickly, and well.

The catered meals (prepared by the owner/manager) were delicious, and there was plenty for all.

We were a group of 40 people all together, for our Family Reunion. Our eldest was 91, and she had no trouble getting around the property. This property provided 27 places to sleep (double and single beds), and there are slso places for camper hookup.

We had wonderful planned activities, and some unstructured time to together. This large home was the perfect setting for all of our gatherings - large and small.

Thank you to the host/owner and staff members for a lovely, memorable place to have our family reunion.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memorable weekend for the Mountain One girls volleyball team, coaches and parents.

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully located, this vacation rental was home to our volleyball team, coaches and parents for a weekend tournament in Kalispell! The accommodations were perfect for our large group and a truly memorable time was had by all! Located in a stunning setting and complimented by everything possibly needed for making you feel right at home!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great spot for a company ski trip!

  • 5 of 5

Awesome location for our company ski trip! Tons of room for up to 30 people even though we were a party of 18.

Arlan met us the first night and walked us through the property. Everything looked exactly like the pictures. Was a little farther from Whitefish Big Mountain then we were originally looking for but for the price and room, it was worth a little bit of a drive to ski.

Thanks Arlan, we'll see you for the next trip to Montana!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Family Christmas vacation at the ranch

  • 5 of 5

Cougar Trail Ranch exceeded our expectations for a family Christmas getaway right from the perfect turkey dinner waiting for us upon arrival to the overall warmth and character of this very spacious, well kept home. Inside we made good use the large kitchen, theater room, workout room and hot tub. the outside is breathtaking with trails for walking or sledding. Arlan was very attentive to our needs and always available if needed. I would highly recommend this property for any family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Glacier International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Rocky Mountain Roadhouse
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Eagle Bend
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Terrace
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Whitefish Mountain Resort
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Cross Country Skiing, Snowmobiling, Racquetball, Kayaking, Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Basketball Court, Snowboarding, Wildlife Viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bigfork Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
May 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
$795
$5,495
 
 
Winter 2017
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$425
$2,925
 
 
Summer 2017
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$795
$5,495
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$795
$5,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.2%

All holidays and weddings are charged peak rates.
Cancellations will be refunded on re-booking.
Additional charge for renting The Cabin:
Seasonal: Oct-Apr: $175/night, $1200/week
Peak: Jun-Sept: $225/night, $1475/week
Note: Rates are subject to change without notice.

*Credit Cards Accepted:
* Visa
* MasterCard
* PayPal
Dates available: Year Round
We reserve the right to cancel a booking.

50% deposit and balance due within 90 days of booking date.
Fully refundable on rebooking prior to the 90 day period. No refunds after.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bigfork Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Grey Water System
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • "Bathroom 5" is a description of the Cabin Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 42
  • Bedroom 1 : Serafina - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 : Olivia - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 : Austin - 1 king , 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 : Kristina - 2 double
    Bedroom 6 : Onika - 2 queen
    Bedroom 7 : Madix - 2 queen
    Bedroom 9 : Cabin : Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 10 : Cabin : Loft - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 : Brandon - 1 queen , 1 double , 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 8 : Foyer - 2 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Minimum Age Limit for Renters. Pet Friendly: Must be determined in advance - absolutely no cats.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties