check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Lucy or Brian

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, polish

Charming Cottage Nestled in the Woods off the 'Beaten Path'

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New Buffalo Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 & 1/2 bath screened in porch & open patio deck

Brand new cottage tucked in the woods,1900 sq ft living space, walking or biking distance to beach, Four Winds Casino, local stores and restaurants. A short distance (10 miles ) to Michigan City's Blue Chip Casino and Lighthouse Premium Outlet Mall, for your shopping convenience. This is a charming and comfortable new 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths cottage. The master bedroom has a queen bed and private bath, the second bedroom has a queen bed, and 3 rd bedroom (in the loft) has 2 twin size beds. The Kitchen has new s/s appliances and granite counter tops. Plenty of dishes, pots and silverware. Screened deck, gas log fireplace and a log burning fire pit on the deck are only few amenities to mention, linens, bath and beach towels are also supplied.

Brand new cottage, no clutter, nestled in the woods, & surrounded by nature. We have granite counter tops all cooking utensils and pots, George Foreman Grille, no stick electric grille, coffee & tea pots, Panini grille, spices & more. Open deck with picnic table, fire Pit and charcoal grille, screened porch with seating/lounging for 6. Walk or bike to the beach or casino walking distance to the Am Track train station (1/2 mile away) to Chicago Downtown area and it's a one hour ride.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lucy or Brian (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, polish

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)
Charming Cottage Nestled in the Woods off the 'Beaten Path'
average rating of 4.85 based on 40 reviews
Toledo, OH
4

Great weekend away w/friends!

  • 4 of 5

Pros:

- Nice place overall. Well taken care of. All rooms were clean. House uncluttered.

- Loved the large screen room! Spent a lot of time in there relaxing and visiting.

- We appreciated all of the "extra", above and beyond type items provided: games, beach chairs, propane, firewood, beach towels, coffee, spices, beach parking pass, bikes, washer/dryer...etc.

- Owner was easy to communicate with.

- Convenient location to town. Probably 2 or 3 miles to restaurants, beach, grocery, gas.

Cons:

- No grass or yard for kids to play. All gravel and mulch.

- Beach isn't really walking distance. The couple days we tried to drive down there (holiday wknd), the beach parking lot was full. Only option was to park in town wherever possible and walk to beach. Typically not a huge deal but with toddlers + gear it wasn't easy.

- Checkout time of 10am is too early. Cleaning people pulled in driveway at 9:45am.

- Couldn't have as many fires as we wanted to b/c of the mosquitoes. They were aggressive and plentiful even w/ bug spray on. Area needs to be sprayed.

- No TV on main floor. We weren't there to watch TV but it would've been nice to be able to at least turn on the news in the mornings.

- Very close to neighbors on both sides.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Had everything we needed. It was beautiful and serene. The pictures dont do the priperty justice. Great stay. Just amazing to get away

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Some good things, some not so good.

  • 2 of 5

This is a beautiful home, spacious and the fully stocked kitchen was very nice. It is close to the beach and shopping and nice setting. Unfortunately, the coffee maker did not work so we had to drive to McDonald's each morning to get our coffee. This home would sleep six, but only if two of them are small children. The beds in the loft are not twin beds, they are youth beds. Two of us adults were very uncomfortable in these small beds. The carpeting in the loft was heavily stained.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The coffee maker was replaced and the beds upstairs are normal twin beds, I know this because they use normal fitted twin bedding covers
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Beautiful cottage, our 2nd stay here.

  • 5 of 5

This is our 2nd stay at this beautiful home, Great communication with the owner, everything was perfect. Thank you again.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from our second visit to "Off the Beaten Path." Once again we appreciated the cottage's convenient proximity to all that New Buffalo and the surrounding area has to offer. This cottage's outdoor living space is lovely and the cleanliness of the home will be appreciated by fellow guests. The weather during our stay was not always beach-worthy so we greatly appreciated the parking pass that allowed us to come and go from the beach as the weather permitted. In addition to the beach, visitors to New Buffalo should check out the Galien River Walk and the Wednesday evening Music in the Park events.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Very nice summer getaway!

  • 4 of 5

Great house - lots of space and great features like fully stocked kitchen, screened porch, bbq and firepit! Definitely charming and a short walk to town. The beach is also convenient with parking pass. Overall, we had a great time for a weekend getaway from Chicago.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
86 Miles
O'Hare Internatioal Air Port Chicago
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Casey's Bar & Grill 136 N. Whittaker St
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Whittaker Woods 12578 Wilson Rd
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Am Track
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-94
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Rosie's on Whittaker St
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
New Buffalo Public Beach
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Gambling, Golf, Horseback riding, Berry picking, Cycling, & Wine tasting

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Buffalo Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer II
Jul 4 2016 - Sep 1 2016
4 night minimum stay
$225
From
$300
Fri,Sat
 
 
Laborday Weekend
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 2 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
 
2017
Jan 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $95

100% refund if canceled over 30 days before arrival. Less than 30 zero refund but all monies deposited can be applied to any available future bookings. There are no penalties.
Standard arrival times are 3:00pm and departure at 10:00am in season (summer time) Departures are strictly enforced however off season & arrival times are more relaxed. When housekeeping is done it's yours.
One other note about booking inquiries they usually come in clusters of 2 & 3 at a time for approximately the same dates at the same time so I am carrying on a conversation with several people when some one in the group says "I want to book your cottage" the other people I am conversing with are informed that I have a unconfirmed booking in range of their requested dates and the conversation stops. The party who is requesting the booking has 3 days to get the deposit check to me otherwise the cottage is put back in circulation to receive inquires. PayPal is available only as a last minute pay option and you must add a 5% service fee to your booking amount when paying.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

New Buffalo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , attached to master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , 1st floor main bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Loft bathroom
  • Master Bath has a stationary shower and soaker tub, there is even bubble bath soap in the cabinet for your Convenience. The main bathroom has an oversize glass wall shower that has a hand held shower head. The linen closet has 12 bath towels at least 6 beach towels for your use. Up on the loft there is a half bath for your convenence.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Beautiful view of the woods
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Dining room table seats six. TV on the loft with a Blueray/DVD player is usable and I've even thrown in some recent movies for your enjoyment There are two beach chairs available if you want to drag them out on to the beach and plenty of beach towels too. The Casino is out on Mauden Road ( Jefferson becomes Mauden at the bend) approximately 1 & 1/2 miles from the Cottage. The Outlet Mall is 10 miles away out on route 12 in Michigan City, when you see the cooling tower it will be on your left. The golf course is just Southwest of the cottage aprox 3 miles away. Very charming themed design. It will remind you of being a kid going up to the cottage with your folks oversized Silverware & China. Roll out your own sleeping bag and sleep 1 extra and squeeze'm in at the diner table.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties