check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Bethany Mousadi, Owner/Manager

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

2/1 Riverfront! Cabin-Fireplaces-Balcony-Nature-Fishing-Gulf of Mexico

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


North Central Florida Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)

Our rustic-style cabin is set on a beautifully treed double lot with the Steinhatchee River its main attraction. Upstairs balcony is built right over the river, for enjoyable views of the river, along with the conservation area across from the home, which makes for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Bring a small fishing boat, kayak or canoe, or rent one from the many marinas in the area, and spend some hours on the Steinhatchee River. Upstream is Steinhatchee Falls, a historic sight, and downstream is the Gulf of Mexico, known for its off-shore fishing and scalloping. We are located on the upper section of the river, where small boats are fine, but it is not deep water all the way to the Gulf.

We call our cabin 'The Riverfront Rustic'. It has solid wood walls and flooring, plain wood furniture, a great bar area with bar stools. It sits on the most lovely wooded lot overlooking the river. It is not fancy or elegant, just plain and simple with ordinary but comfortable furnishings. It is a old cabin, nothing fancy at all, but has all the basics.

'Old Florida' Getaway!: The entire setting reminds one of 'Old Florida'. The lot is a located on a dead-end road, several miles from town. With no-thru traffic, you have the peace and quiet of nature. The cabin used to be an old hunting camp, so it has several kennels located on the property. And it is up on stilts, so under the cabin is a concrete pad great for grilling, relaxing, sitting and looking at the River. Great spot for getting away from the hectic grind of regular life!

The cabin set-up: The cabin has two bedrooms, one with a queen bed, and the other with double-double bunks (kids can use the top, but adults not so good). Living room has a fireplace, and LOTS of windows viewing the River. Across the River is a nature conservation, with lots of wildlife--deer, wild pigs, turkeys, owls, eagles, etc. Also the River is full of life--otters, manatees have been scene, as well as a great spot for fishing.

The cabin is fully furnished, with all kitchen equipment and utensils, linens and bedding. Nothing fancy, just plain simple accommodations.

Location - Location - Location: Cabin located off Highway 51, down dead-end dirt road, which is perfect for a quiet and peaceful vacation. There is a small camp located on the property next to ours, but it is vacant about 95% of the time.

Main features of the cabin are the fireplaces. One fireplace upstairs in the living room, for an enjoyable and cozy evening. A second fireplace is downstairs in the large concrete area open to outdoors, great for cooking marshmallows and watching the wildlife and River.

Our little cabin is old, but our family loves the peace and quiet and nature of this area. If you don’t mind an old rustic cabin, and want some quiet time in the woods, this might be what you are looking for.

Please read my description of our property closely, as I try to describe it exactly as it is so people can decide if this is the right vacation cabin for them. We are a cabin in the woods in Florida, so be prepared for nature up close--including, unfortunately, bugs and creepy crawlers. We try our best to keep everything out of the cabin, but sometimes they come in :/.

Also, we are not deep water all the way to the Gulf. We are about 4-5 miles up river. Kayaks, canoes, and small fishing boats are great!

Larger boats need to dock in town to have close access to the Gulf. The marinas in town are clean, and safe and secure places to dock your boat, and much closer to the Gulf for getting out on the water faster for more Fun in the Sun!!

The River is regulated by the tides and it is not guaranteed a boat can make it to the cabin in low tides. And also the River can flood over the banks. It is rare but it does happen during periods of intense rain that falls in a short period of time. If flooding happens, the road may be impassible, and if this happens I do refund, reschedule or work with you on the reservation.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bethany Mousadi, Owner/Manager (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bethany Mousadi, Owner/Manager

We are the Mousadi Family - there are 5 of us, and we love the Steinhatchee 'Old Florida' area. This is our get-a-way cabin on the River. We bring our kayaks and spend a lot of time on the water. We also bring our boat, and dock it at River Haven Marina where we are minutes from the Gulf of Mexico for scalloping, snorkeling, fishing and enjoying the water!

We have a nice 'family friendly' cabin that we hope you will enjoy, too!

Bethany Mousadi, Owner/Manager purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Bethany Mousadi, Owner/Manager chose North Central Florida

This 'cabin in the woods' is our favorite choice for a family vacation. The kids can run and play in the big yard, ride bikes up and down the dead-end road, kayak on the water. We can enjoy the BBQ grill and the fireplace, roasting marshmellows in the evenings. We love the peace and quiet of the area, the wildlife, and the water.


based on 10 traveler reviews

2/1 Riverfront! Cabin-Fireplaces-Balcony-Nature-Fishing-Gulf of Mexico
average rating of 3.9 based on 10 reviews

Great Rental for Paddlers!

  • 4 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our family vacation and first trip to Steinhatchee. We loved the location and rural setting for canoeing and kayaking. The trip from Steinhatchee Falls to the cabin is a great short trip, about 1-1.5 hours and heavily wooded most of the way. We saw deer and turkey on the trip and crossing the road to the cabin in the evenings. The kids caught catfish from the dock while we watched from the upper deck. Fanning and Manatee Springs are only 30 and 45 minutes away and provide excellent swimming and paddling opportunities also.

The cabin is clean, well stocked and has all the essentials. Bring your own water if you're opposed to well water. Absolutely no complaints and we will stay there again soon hopefully.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

The term the owner uses to describe this property is "rustic". "Rundown" would be a better choice of words. There were numerous problems that we encountered with this property that could easily be fixed but there doesn't seem to be much attention paid to this property by the owner. In fact, on the day of check in, we had to call the owner because the property hadn't been cleaned by the check in time. The owner didn't even know who we were and asked what property we were renting. Issues abound. The front screen door has no handle so it can't be closed. The sliding doors don't have locks and are "secured" by a piece of wood at the base. In the kitchen, the cabinet doors don't close because the clasps or magnets have simply worn out or fallen off. One had to be careful not to bang their heads while cooking. My favorite malfunction was in the bathroom where a note tells you how to flush the toilet and hold the handle in such a way that the tank can refill. That didn't work every time so I found myself ( on my vacation) taking off the toilet tank lid and pushing the flapper down so that the tank would refill. Only two Adirondack chairs (one is broken) are on the premises so if you have more than two guests, you need to bring your own chairs. The mattresses seem to be from World War II; very creaky and uncomfortable. The owner requests that you adjust the thermostat to 80 degrees before you leave the property. That's quite okay, if you can get to the thermostat. But it is located behind the breakfast bar where bar stools block your way to the thermostat. Obviously, we won't be staying here again. There are too many other choices in Steinhatchee.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, comfortable, and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Do not let the "rustic" references concern you - we found this property to be clean and in good shape with everything working. The cabin is well furnished with a nice lay out, and the owner provides plenty of reference material and instructions. We booked hoping that we could use the fireplaces over a cool Christmas weekend, but Mother Nature decided to keep things unseasonably warm. No doubt the temperatures affected the wildlife, but we still fed fish and turtles in the river from the overlooking deck and were sung to sleep on two nights by owls close by. This location ended up being not only a place to relax, but also a convenient base of operations for day trips; a canoe or kayak trip on the river is recommended!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Not as expected

  • 1 of 5

At first I thought this was nice getaway dream house on a large property but it turned out that the house next door is no more more 50 yard away. The house is ok but the near by houses look trashy. There is not much privacy. If u hang out in the back, near by neighbors can see you easily. The river is black hardly any fish or wildlifes.the worst part is that there is no place to dispose garbage and the owner would charge extra for garbage removal if u don't take all the trash with you.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This hunting group was happy with their vacation, until we charged them for cleaning up their garbage they left. The garbage this group left was DEAD ANIMAL REMAINS --- imagine the disgusting mess we had to clean up here in Florida -- 4 LARGE garbage bags filled with ROTTING PUTRID animal parts here in hot Florida, left for at least 3 or more days in 80+ degree weather! We've had hunting parties before, of course, but the difference is most hunters clean up after themselves, and leave no evidence behind. This group cleaned the animals on our concrete, and piled dirt on top of the clean-up area, and then left us to clean up the discarded decaying animal remains. This was SO DISGUSTING, so of course we charged them additional fees. Thus the reason they left us this negative review because of the additional charges for cleaning up after them. Not only did we have to clean up their dead animal remains, we had to kill hundreds of flies that filled our cabin because of the decaying animal remains, and we had to rectify the PUTRID ODOR and clean up the concrete mess. This group did not deserve any of their security deposit back, but we did refund a portion of it. They are complaining because we didn’t refund the entire deposit. We do ask that guests remove their own trash, and we do provide address and driving instructions for a free garbage drop off location a few miles away. We have stated in our Rental Agreement and the check-out list that this is a requirement, and we also have this posted in the cabin. This hunting group chose to ignore the instructions. In addition, they didn’t follow the other clean-up departure instruction – leaving a dish of meat in the microwave, which drew more flies into the cabin. As far as their being close neighbors, that is untrue, no one lives next door. There is an older vacant mobile home next door, which has been unlived in for over a decade and is being removed (that is most likely why he says it looks "trashy" because it has been prepared for removal. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Best place ever!!!!

  • 5 of 5

The owner is a nice person, all in the cabin was amazing

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary

1 hour from Gainesville

About 2 hours from Ocala

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Scalloping (during season; July 1 - Sept. 10)


Rates & Availability

Steinhatchee Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Summer Season
Jul 1 2016 - Sep 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
Fall Season
Sep 16 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Sec Deposit $100 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $55 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Not all fees apply -- please inquire as to an custom quote for your group.
For reservations over 30 days, an additional security deposit if $150.00 applies.
Guests can choose to purchase Damage Insurance for $59 (non-refundable) instead of a refundable security deposit. Please ask.

Rates subject to change until reservation is secured/confirmed.
Cleaning fee required. Security deposit or damage insurance required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


North Central Florida Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower , Located Downstairs in Utility Room
  • The bathroom upstairs is a full bath.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , Double/Double Bunks
    Bunk Area - 2 twin/ single , 2 child bed , Single/Single Bunks
  • Bedroom #1 has a double bed; Bedroom #2 has Bunks, double on bottom, double on top. Top double bunk best for kids. The twin bunks built-in the living room also best for kids. We have a protective rail for the top bunk located in the closet for safety.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Bring your canoe or kayak or small fishing boat, and enjoy the peace and serenity on the River! Scalloping (during season; July 1 - Sept. 10)

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties