check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Barbara Rushton

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: french, Je parle un peu de francais ?!?

Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!

62 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pāhala Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

TURTLE HUT II: a spacious Polynesian-style bungalow for your dream vacation in Hawaii! Our repeat guests agree that we offer the very best LOCATION and CLIMATE and AFFORDABILITY, as reflected in our 5 Star ratings and guest reviews. We would love to reserve YOUR stay, and have

another opportunity to show you why we've earned nearly twice as many 5 Star ratings than any other condo in our resort.

Our location on the southeastern unspoiled coastline of Hawaii's Big Isle, is virtually mid-way between the attractions of both Kona and Hilo.......and with many unique places to explore along the way! We're also a scant half-hour drive to the Volcanoes National Park and Madame Pele's spectacular eruption shows. Nestled on a bluff overlooking Ninole Bay in the middle of 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, this small Polynesian style condo resort and golf course blend seamlessly into their natural tropical setting.

We are also blessed by the prevailing tradewinds, a factor which keeps our air quality fresh and clean, unlike the Kona coast, and our temperatures are also cooler both day and night! You will love to lounge on the pool deck at night and watch the night sky for falling stars, as there is no cleaner air on planet earth.

Of course, we also have the very best amenities for our guests, right here in the resort! Many of our guests choose to spend mornings with breakfast on the lanai, feeding our tame cardinals a taste of papaya or toast, then off to the pool and spa or golf or tennis until noon; touring in the afternoon, and finishing the day with a great fish BBQ on the pool deck with new friends! Some spa time, anyone?

There is so much to see and explore nearby: within a 30 minute drive, our magnificent GREEN Sands Beach is not to be missed; Kula kai Caverns in Ocean View has several guided tours tailored to your physical abilities and interests; South Point's fishing ladders, natural history and ocean blow holes; Wood Valley's Shangri-La environment offers a BuddhistTemple; the recently opened Ka'u Coffee Mill & Museum, where you may sample international award-winning local coffee brands and learn all about coffee farming, from picking 'cherry' to final roasting; shopping the quaint nearby villages of Volcano Village, Pahala, a former sugar cane plantation town, Naalehu, site of our famous Punalu'u sweet breads bakery, and Ocean View, boasting the largest at subdivision in the USA, atop the slopes of Mauna Loa Volcano.....all of these options whenever you can bear to leave our beautiful black sand beach and snorkelling with the turtles!

Finally, affordability matters to everyone these days. And with airfares climbing to ridiculous levels, we've lowered our rates as low as we possibly can to attract and keep a clientele of discerning guests for all of our properties. A full house at low rates is certainly better than one half full, at our former much higher ragtes!

Be sure to read the 'Travelers Reviews' Tab above to see the wonderful things virtually ALL of our guests have said about their stays with us! They consistently rave about the location, and amenities, and having all the comforts of home, in paradise! We are very proud of our 100% positive record, and work very hard to achieve and maintain that level of service to our pampered guests.

The Hut's 'great room' runs the entire width of the unit, and has soaring vaulted wooden beamed ceilings, with ceiling fans in both the full sized living room and dining rooms. The full kitchen has brand new stainless steel range and over-the-range micro-hood, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, and even a washer and dryer. Of course, we also stock all the small kitchen appliances you would hope for: coffee maker and grinder; blender; rice cooker; toaster, and so on.

We always strive to spoil our guests as we would wish to be, so we also stock top quality beach chairs, beach umbrella, mats and coolers; high thread count sheets and custom towels; and high end and comfortable furnishings. We are always happy to furnish our guests with insider recommendations on best & worse restaurants, activities & attractions and our own 'do not miss' list! It's all part of the 'aloha spirit' which we strive to convey and which showers our business with a very high repeat and referral rate!

Please note that our Hut II is a "true" one bedroom condo, not a studio unit masquerading to be one! It's virtually twice the size as a studio unit, and has two full levels: level one includes the foyer and bedroom, and double bath; level two is the "great room" with the living room,dining room, full kitchen, and full-length lanai, for even more relaxing island lifestyle! We have two beautiful teak dining tables with seating for four on the lanai.

Keywords: BEST Beach & Golf & Location & Climate & Unspoiled, Exotic Hawaii at affordable rates! See our former Guest Reviews, and see why we have earned more than double the number of FIVE STAR ratings than any other condos in our resort!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Barbara Rushton (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: french, Je parle un peu de francais ?!?

About Barbara Rushton

At long last, and as many of our guests have requested, we're now thrilled to offer our second property, Turtle Hut II. This one is a large, full one bedroom model, in the style of a Polynesian bungalow with high vaulted, wood-beamed ceilings in the 'Great Room'. Thanks to the success and loyalty of our clientele, we were able to purchase this lovely unit for families desiring lots of space and a full kitchen with such amenities as dishwasher and washer/dryer, GREAT for long stays!

Barbara Rushton purchased this condo in 2006

Why Barbara Rushton chose Ka'u District

Barb purchased our first condo at Colony I at Sea Mountain way back in 2003. If you've never seen this piece of paradise, you're missing out on what most visitors agree is truly an idyllic oasis, not found anywhere else in Hawaii! Nestled on a bluff overlooking Ninole Bay along 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, this small Polynesian-style complex blends perfectly into its natural, tropical landscaping. It offers all you'd expect of a modern resort right on the premises to keep you contented all day long, and is also located perfectly for visiting attractions in either Kona, Hilo or Volcano.

What makes this condo unique

Our favorite day whenever we have the chance to stay here ALWAYS begins with coffee and bits of fruit and toast to feed our local cardinal and finch families! Many come to our screened door if we're even a tad late to call us out! and we've named several of our favorites through the years.

We also LOVE the huge volcano-style spa at night, gazing up at the unbelievably clear night skies to spot the constellations and catch a falling star or more! After a long day at the beach or golf or hiking, there's no more relaxing and beautiful place on earth!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed EVERYTHING, and especially the Farmers Market & getting introduced to strawberry papayas, amazing! will miss them at home. Loved Hawaiian Tropical Gardens & smoothies at What's Shakin' & Akaka Falls. We hiked Volcanoes Natl Park several days...to top it all off, turtles all over your beach...amazing.

We will pass along this great find to anyone who asks about a place to stay on the Big Island!
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 44

Reviews

4.8
based on 62 traveler reviews

Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
average rating of 4.774194 based on 106 reviews
Mt. Horeb, WI
5

Beautiful view, great breeze...

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Turtle Hut II was fantastic. We were greeted by the housekeeper due to us arriving earlier than expected (time changed messed us up). She was very pleasant and proceeded to tell us about all of the opportunities in the area. She did not shoo us away, as she easily could have as we were hours early! The condo met all of our needs. My daughters loved the geckos and the turtles, OH My, so many turtles! My husband saw an octopus when he was snorkeling off the black sand beach. We managed the drive to many places and beaches. The view from the pool is exactly as the picture shows only much, MUCH more spectacular. I loved sitting out by the pool, reading and looking up to see the ocean view. Wonderful place to see and visit. Barbara has wonderful suggestions as to where to by groceries and to eat! Mahalo for a wonderful stay, LeaAnn~Mt. Horeb, WI.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, LeaAnn and Ohana, and WOW! it sounds like your stay included some really rare moments! Your hubby saw an octopus? while snorkelling at our beach?!? Now, that's a first! to my knowledge! You'll definitely have to come back during WHALE season, when you can watch literally dozens of whales in the bay, pool - front!, as they breach and blow and play with their babies! OR, make it back during turtle hatching season! when thousands of turtle hatchlings break open their egg shells and try to waddle their way into the ocean for the first time......BOTH very magical experiences! Our housekeeper Lizzy fell in love with your girls, too! and always loves to meet and greet the guests she is preparing the condo for, and of course all of us lucky enough to live in paradise also love to share our lists of favorite places. We'd love to have you all back, whenever the spirit moves you, LeaAnn! Mucho mahalos for taking the time to write such a detailed and beautiful review of your stay! We're very grateful! Always with aloha, Barb, Dina & Lizzy
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
3

Nice

  • 3 of 5

Nice condo, but two stars withheld; lowest, smallest toilet in captivity and were disappointed condo location was in secondary row with minimal ocean view. We would also recommend searching, finding, and eliminating wasps that congregate in front balcony area.

We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and our 18 holes of golf.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Helga, and Mahalos for your lovely comments about the peace and quiet of our place! However, I must confess to being somewhat shocked to see your overall rating of only 3 Stars, the lowest rating we've received in 13 years!?! We do not claim to have anything more than a "peek-a-boo" view of the ocean from our lanai in our listing, although many of our guests say we are are underestimating that! Our meticulous housekeeper found absolutely NO wasp nests on our lanai when she cleaned after your departure BUT she did find a wasp nest on the lanai next door! If only you had called her? she would have immediately investigated the issue and promptly eliminated the problem for you. Funny thing you mentioned the toilet size? We've not had a complaint about its size or height in 13 years, but our housekeeper found it completely plugged up, running and overflowing onto the floor upon your departure! It would have been a great courtesy for you to have called to notify her about that problem, rather than leaving a review like this in "defense".
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Paradise

  • 4 of 5

I was born in Pahala, which is 10 minutes away from The a turtle hut. I currently live in San Diego and was visiting family during our stay. I have never stayed in the Punaluu condos and my experience brought back childhood memories very dear to me.

Overall our experience was awesome. No air conditioning was a surprise but a pleasant one due to all the fans throughout the house. The amazing ocean breeze made for a restful sleep at night. We went during hurricane season and the added wind was great.

Thank you Barbara for providing a wonderful place for us to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super nice

  • 5 of 5

We want to thank you Barbra for making your condo available, we really enjoyed our stay really enjoyed the view from the Lani watching all the bird's come right up to you and your place was so quiet and we really enjoyed the pool area.

We were amazed that you thought of everything in your condo .

Just want to say we thank you for your thoughtfulness and we recommend this condo and we hope to return some day!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We will always come back again

  • 5 of 5

The owner, Barbara takes the utmost care in making your arrival and stay memorable. Fresh fruit, local coffee and flowers in our room were personal touches we have now come to look forward to. This was our third stay at one of the Turtle Huts. These are perfect condos to stay at while you enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of the Big Island. We have taken other vacations to places around the world, but always find ourselves coming back here. We are already planning dates for our next visit. Over the years I have written a number of reviews and the one word they all

have in common is PERFECT!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet hidden treasure in the South, unforgettable memories

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week at the Turtle Hut II, it was truly a memorable experience. It is so quiet, we walked down to the black sand beach every night. There are many things to do in the south part of the Island including black sand beach, green sand beach, Pahala, Pahoa, volcano national park, Kau coffee, Neelehu and more. If you have never been, don't worry, the books on the living room table have all the information and more. We read these books and went along with the suggestions, it worked out well. The app had all kinds of great information in it as well, it got us very excited before we even got there. We often had dinner on the lanai at sunset and she has set up some beautiful intimate lighting out there. We also stopped by the pool and jacuzzi a couple times, it had a few friendly people at times, but was not overcrowded, and in itself seemed like a great getaway just footsteps away from the condo. We saw so many sea turtles down a path near the rocks close to where all the tourists go, but it seemed more exciting to see them swim away from the cameras than with the tourists at the beach. The Naalehu farmers market was great, the kau coffee mill was great, green sand beach was a fun ride with some locals and Hilo day trips are definitely possible. Barb thought of every detail in her place, it is all so wonderfully decorated, even her plates are beautiful pieces of art. The laundry in unit was icing on the cake. My wife and I will always treasure our visit to turtle hut 2, it is a peak experience to stay in such a wonderful place.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Turtle Huts at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Punaluu Black Sand Beach Park
Honu'apo (Whittington) Park
Uncle Abel's Surfing Beach
Kula Kai Caverns
Papakolea Green Sand Beach
"Yes, really, GREEN sand, formed by the volcanic eruptions eons ago and pounding ocean surf! ..."
Wood Valley Temple Retreat & Guest House
"Wood Valley's Buddhist Temple is open to the public, and its surrounding green fields of cof..."
Clouds' Rest Ka'u Coffee Stand
"If you love great coffee, don't miss a stop at Lisa & Jimmy Dacalio's "Clouds' Rest John Bul..."
Village of Na'alehu Farmers Market
"Farmers Market every Wednesday & Saturday morning, 8:00 am til pau. Fabulous fruits, veggie..."
Na'alehu Village
"My own sweet hometown! Na'alehu is a quaint, former sugar plantation/beef & dairy cattle to..."
Punaluu Bake Shop and Visitor Center
"Dozens of tour buses stop here daily, for very good reason: da BEST MALASADAs (Hawaiian sty..."
Ka'u Coffee Cafe
"Newly opened next to the Union 76 Gas Station right on hwy. 11, this is a DON'T MISS on my l..."
The Lava Zone Restaurant & Bar
"Just when you think the lunar landscape surrounding Ocean View will never end, here you'll f..."
Hana Hou Cafe & Restaurant
"Definitely my favorite place in town, Hana Hou is. DON'T MISS on my list, always! Owners Pa..."
Union 76 Gas Station STORE
"As gas stations go, this one is fine! But the enterprising owners recently added a HUGE sel..."
South Point
"For an interesting day's adventure, drive down South Point Road off Hwy. 11, thru amazingly ..."
Sea Mountain
"Beautiful vaulted wooden beamed ceilings give the feeling you've landed in Bora Bora! Airy ..."
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Kona or Hilo
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Shaka's in Naalehu
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Sea Mountain Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Hwy. 11
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Hana Hou Cafe, Shaka's, Punaluu Bakery, Ka'u Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Turtle Hut III Large Polynesian Bungalow at Colony I at Sea
Nearest Point of Interest
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Turtle Huts at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Uncle Abel's Surfing Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Honu'apo (Whittington) Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Village of Na'alehu Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Hana Hou Cafe & Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Kula Kai Caverns
Nearest Point of Interest
Na'alehu Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Green Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Wood Valley
Nearest Point of Interest
Clouds' Rest Ka'u Coffee Stand
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Kula Kai Caverns
Car: recommended

Ideally located mid-way between the towns of Kona and Hilo, and only 30 minutes to the spectacular Volcanoes National Park, our resort is truly the best spot on the island! Away from the crowds, traffic and vog, the natural wonders of the Ka'u district and 90 miles of unspoiled coastline along the southeastern shore, Colony One beckons travelers from all over the planet who seek to find the REAL Hawaii. You won't want to miss the Na'alehu, Volcano Village, and Ocean View Farmers' Markets every Wed. & Sat. morning for fresh fruits, veggies & local coffee and an amazing array of art and crafts from our local craftsmen. Also, Kula Kai Caverns in nearby Ocean View; Green Sands Beach, 20 minutes drive; Zip-Line in Mountainview; Buddhist Temple and new Ka'u Coffee Museum & Mill in Wood Valley; the ancient fishing ladders and petroglyph fields, and sacred heiau in South Point; unlimited hiking opportunities including portions of the historic Ala Kahakai Trail fronting our resort; and even Lomilomi Massage for anyone? Just call our highly recommended local massage therapist(s) and they'll set up the massage table right on the lanai for you! This is also GOLFERS paradise, with both Sea Mountain Golf Course (adjacent to our resort!), and nearby Volcanoes Country Club G.C., where 18 Holes & your cart cost only $25.00.......and we provide clubs with bag inside the master bedroom closet!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pāhala Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Sep 19 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$85
$595
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$630
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$85
 

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping Fee $80
Tax Rate 13.25%

The Turtle Huts at Punalu'u : Registered Hawaii Business License # W176504 since 2003. We are proud to say we collect and transmit 100% of the taxes our guests pay to the state of Hawaii.
Turtle Huts at Punalu'u is also a proud member of the Hawaii Visitors & Convention Bureau, Pualani, since 2009, and
Turtle Huts at Punalu'u is a dedicated contributor to the Wounded Warriors Project, paying forward both the Aloha Spirit and profits monthly to this very important program.


We off a generous Refund Policy of 100% of Deposit when a written notice of cancellation is provided (email is fine), within 60 days of arrival; within 60 days, we offer either a pro-rated refund of the days we are able to re-book to another party, and/or full credit for a future visit. In our 15 years of operation, we have always come to a happy resolution for our guests in their times of need......

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pāhala Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1Recently remodelled with double walk-in tiled shower! featuring, of course, a large turtle mosaic made of rainforest marble! Double sink vanity, fully equipped with comforts of home including a hair dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) Tempur-Pedic Pillow Top Luxor Queen Bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen-size Sleeper Sofa
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
4 Tennis Courts & Sea Mountain & Volcano Golf Courses under $25 for 18 Holes w/cart! Art Galleries Farmers Markets Wine Tasting Gourmet Restaurants Hike Historic Kings Trail Visit Nearby Green Sands Beach Explore Kula Kai Caverns in Nearby Ocean View Ride the Zip Linel in Nearby Mountain View Visit Punaewa Zoo Akuasawa Orchid Farm Puna Hot Ponds Lava Tree State Park Champagne Pond Volcanoes National Park....and so much more!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties