check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!

64 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Pahala Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

TURTLE HUT II: a spacious Polynesian-style bungalow for your dream vacation in Hawaii! Our repeat guests agree that we offer the very best LOCATION and CLIMATE and AFFORDABILITY, as reflected in our 5 Star ratings and guest reviews. We would love to reserve YOUR stay, and have

another opportunity to show you why we've earned nearly twice as many 5 Star ratings than any other condo in our resort.

Our location on the southeastern unspoiled coastline of Hawaii's Big Isle, is virtually mid-way between the attractions of both Kona and Hilo.......and with many unique places to explore along the way! We're also a scant half-hour drive to the Volcanoes National Park and Madame Pele's spectacular eruption shows. Nestled on a bluff overlooking Ninole Bay in the middle of 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, this small Polynesian style condo resort and golf course blend seamlessly into their natural tropical setting.

We are also blessed by the prevailing tradewinds, a factor which keeps our air quality fresh and clean, unlike the Kona coast, and our temperatures are also cooler both day and night! You will love to lounge on the pool deck at night and watch the night sky for falling stars, as there is no cleaner air on planet earth.

Of course, we also have the very best amenities for our guests, right here in the resort! Many of our guests choose to spend mornings with breakfast on the lanai, feeding our tame cardinals a taste of papaya or toast, then off to the pool and spa or golf or tennis until noon; touring in the afternoon, and finishing the day with a great fish BBQ on the pool deck with new friends! Some spa time, anyone?

There is so much to see and explore nearby: within a 30 minute drive, our magnificent GREEN Sands Beach is not to be missed; Kula kai Caverns in Ocean View has several guided tours tailored to your physical abilities and interests; South Point's fishing ladders, natural history and ocean blow holes; Wood Valley's Shangri-La environment offers a BuddhistTemple; the recently opened Ka'u Coffee Mill & Museum, where you may sample international award-winning local coffee brands and learn all about coffee farming, from picking 'cherry' to final roasting; shopping the quaint nearby villages of Volcano Village, Pahala, a former sugar cane plantation town, Naalehu, site of our famous Punalu'u sweet breads bakery, and Ocean View, boasting the largest at subdivision in the USA, atop the slopes of Mauna Loa Volcano.....all of these options whenever you can bear to leave our beautiful black sand beach and snorkelling with the turtles!

Finally, affordability matters to everyone these days. And with airfares climbing to ridiculous levels, we've lowered our rates as low as we possibly can to attract and keep a clientele of discerning guests for all of our properties. A full house at low rates is certainly better than one half full, at our former much higher ragtes!

Be sure to read the 'Travelers Reviews' Tab above to see the wonderful things virtually ALL of our guests have said about their stays with us! They consistently rave about the location, and amenities, and having all the comforts of home, in paradise! We are very proud of our 100% positive record, and work very hard to achieve and maintain that level of service to our pampered guests.

The Hut's 'great room' runs the entire width of the unit, and has soaring vaulted wooden beamed ceilings, with ceiling fans in both the full sized living room and dining rooms. The full kitchen has brand new stainless steel range and over-the-range micro-hood, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, and even a washer and dryer. Of course, we also stock all the small kitchen appliances you would hope for: coffee maker and grinder; blender; rice cooker; toaster, and so on.

We always strive to spoil our guests as we would wish to be, so we also stock top quality beach chairs, beach umbrella, mats and coolers; high thread count sheets and custom towels; and high end and comfortable furnishings. We are always happy to furnish our guests with insider recommendations on best & worse restaurants, activities & attractions and our own 'do not miss' list! It's all part of the 'aloha spirit' which we strive to convey and which showers our business with a very high repeat and referral rate!

Please note that our Hut II is a "true" one bedroom condo, not a studio unit masquerading to be one! It's virtually twice the size as a studio unit, and has two full levels: level one includes the foyer and bedroom, and double bath; level two is the "great room" with the living room,dining room, full kitchen, and full-length lanai, for even more relaxing island lifestyle! We have two beautiful teak dining tables with seating for four on the lanai.

Keywords: BEST Beach & Golf & Location & Climate & Unspoiled, Exotic Hawaii at affordable rates! See our former Guest Reviews, and see why we have earned more than double the number of FIVE STAR ratings than any other condos in our resort!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

Barbara Rushton
Member since: 2003
Speaks: french, Je parle un peu de francais ?!?
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Barbara Rushton

At long last, and as many of our guests have requested, we're now thrilled to offer our second property, Turtle Hut II. This one is a large, full one bedroom model, in the style of a Polynesian bungalow with high vaulted, wood-beamed ceilings in the 'Great Room'. Thanks to the success and loyalty of our clientele, we were able to purchase this lovely unit for families desiring lots of space and a full kitchen with such amenities as dishwasher and washer/dryer, GREAT for long stays!

Barbara Rushton purchased this condo in 2006

Why Barbara Rushton chose Ka'u District

Barb purchased our first condo at Colony I at Sea Mountain way back in 2003. If you've never seen this piece of paradise, you're missing out on what most visitors agree is truly an idyllic oasis, not found anywhere else in Hawaii! Nestled on a bluff overlooking Ninole Bay along 90 miles of pristine, undeveloped coastline, this small Polynesian-style complex blends perfectly into its natural, tropical landscaping. It offers all you'd expect of a modern resort right on the premises to keep you contented all day long, and is also located perfectly for visiting attractions in either Kona, Hilo or Volcano.

What makes this condo unique

Our favorite day whenever we have the chance to stay here ALWAYS begins with coffee and bits of fruit and toast to feed our local cardinal and finch families! Many come to our screened door if we're even a tad late to call us out! and we've named several of our favorites through the years.

We also LOVE the huge volcano-style spa at night, gazing up at the unbelievably clear night skies to spot the constellations and catch a falling star or more! After a long day at the beach or golf or hiking, there's no more relaxing and beautiful place on earth!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed EVERYTHING, and especially the Farmers Market & getting introduced to strawberry papayas, amazing! will miss them at home. Loved Hawaiian Tropical Gardens & smoothies at What's Shakin' & Akaka Falls. We hiked Volcanoes Natl Park several top it all off, turtles all over your beach...amazing.

We will pass along this great find to anyone who asks about a place to stay on the Big Island!
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 44


based on 64 traveler reviews

Turtle Hut II at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach! More Five Star Ratings! Reviews!!
average rating of 4.78125 based on 108 reviews
Mt. Horeb, WI

Beautiful view, great breeze...

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Turtle Hut II was fantastic. We were greeted by the housekeeper due to us arriving earlier than expected (time changed messed us up). She was very pleasant and proceeded to tell us about all of the opportunities in the area. She did not shoo us away, as she easily could have as we were hours early! The condo met all of our needs. My daughters loved the geckos and the turtles, OH My, so many turtles! My husband saw an octopus when he was snorkeling off the black sand beach. We managed the drive to many places and beaches. The view from the pool is exactly as the picture shows only much, MUCH more spectacular. I loved sitting out by the pool, reading and looking up to see the ocean view. Wonderful place to see and visit. Barbara has wonderful suggestions as to where to by groceries and to eat! Mahalo for a wonderful stay, LeaAnn~Mt. Horeb, WI.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, LeaAnn and Ohana, and WOW! it sounds like your stay included some really rare moments! Your hubby saw an octopus? while snorkelling at our beach?!? Now, that's a first! to my knowledge! You'll definitely have to come back during WHALE season, when you can watch literally dozens of whales in the bay, pool - front!, as they breach and blow and play with their babies! OR, make it back during turtle hatching season! when thousands of turtle hatchlings break open their egg shells and try to waddle their way into the ocean for the first time......BOTH very magical experiences! Our housekeeper Lizzy fell in love with your girls, too! and always loves to meet and greet the guests she is preparing the condo for, and of course all of us lucky enough to live in paradise also love to share our lists of favorite places. We'd love to have you all back, whenever the spirit moves you, LeaAnn! Mucho mahalos for taking the time to write such a detailed and beautiful review of your stay! We're very grateful! Always with aloha, Barb, Dina & Lizzy
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Miss it already

  • 5 of 5

Turtle Hut is home away from home for us. Cozy, comfortable, very clean and equipped with all the amenities you need. Barbara is lovely to communicate with and very accommodating. Can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not to good to be true at all! :)

  • 5 of 5

Turtle hut II.....

Can't even sum it up into words. I gotta admit, due to the price & pictures it seemed way to good to be true. Not the case at all! It was everything we expected and MORE. We work really hard and only vacation once a year at different locations. This spot was so more then perfect and rejuvenating that we decided this will be our spot for years to come :) Turtle hut II is equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. So cozy that we didn't wanna leave at all lol. We did explore tho, really good restaurants not far from the hut at all. Turtle hut was the perfect go to spot after a really good meal, some sight seeing, beautiful romantic walks on several beaches and some drinks. Every time we walled into our room it was like we had A.C in the whole unit. The breeze and fans make it a super cool spot to be in for days. We really, really enjoyed ourselves and are counting the days till we return. Mahalo Barbara for the perfect get away. Thanks for putting so much thought into everything, its greatly appreciated. Until next time... A Hui hou!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh my dear can't imagine how it felt to wake up this morning and find your glorious review! Honestly, we've received a great number of lovely reviews thru the years, but I truly can't remember even one that touched my heart as much as yours.......and it's guests like YOU, who work hard and save their money for a long time to take a Hawaiian vacation, that we always have in mind! We always have you in mind when we try to go the extra mile: things like communicating well in advance with lots of detailed info to make your trip everything you've dreamed of!; stocking your home-away-from-home with extras you don't usually find in vacation rentals to make your stay extra comfortable; choosing the most beautiful and comfortable furnishings to spoil you every day; presenting the condo in sparkling clean condition when you arrive, and whenever possible, having freshly picked fragrant tropical flowers and/or fruits from my own garden to greet you, too! It's really a very simple philosophy: you've trusted us by choosing our place above all others offered, so we owe it to you to treat you as if you are our ONLY guest, before your arrival and throughout your entire stay! Cyerra, I'll be so proud to pass on your comments to the entire Turtle Hut team, who work so hard to accomplish these things for you! We'll all be looking forward to the day when I again see your name on the next reservation request form.......until then, Malama pono and a hui Hou, pumehana! Roughly translated, that's "Take good care, friend, until we meet again!" Always with aloha, Barb
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

Nice condo, but two stars withheld; lowest, smallest toilet in captivity and were disappointed condo location was in secondary row with minimal ocean view. We would also recommend searching, finding, and eliminating wasps that congregate in front balcony area.

We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and our 18 holes of golf.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Helga, and Mahalos for your lovely comments about the peace and quiet of our place! However, I must confess to being somewhat shocked to see your overall rating of only 3 Stars, the lowest rating we've received in 13 years!?! We do not claim to have anything more than a "peek-a-boo" view of the ocean from our lanai in our listing, although many of our guests say we are are underestimating that! Our meticulous housekeeper found absolutely NO wasp nests on our lanai when she cleaned after your departure BUT she did find a wasp nest on the lanai next door! If only you had called her? she would have immediately investigated the issue and promptly eliminated the problem for you. Funny thing you mentioned the toilet size? We've not had a complaint about its size or height in 13 years, but our housekeeper found it completely plugged up, running and overflowing onto the floor upon your departure! It would have been a great courtesy for you to have called to notify her about that problem, rather than leaving a review like this in "defense".
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

I was born in Pahala, which is 10 minutes away from The a turtle hut. I currently live in San Diego and was visiting family during our stay. I have never stayed in the Punaluu condos and my experience brought back childhood memories very dear to me.

Overall our experience was awesome. No air conditioning was a surprise but a pleasant one due to all the fans throughout the house. The amazing ocean breeze made for a restful sleep at night. We went during hurricane season and the added wind was great.

Thank you Barbara for providing a wonderful place for us to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Super nice

  • 5 of 5

We want to thank you Barbra for making your condo available, we really enjoyed our stay really enjoyed the view from the Lani watching all the bird's come right up to you and your place was so quiet and we really enjoyed the pool area.

We were amazed that you thought of everything in your condo .

Just want to say we thank you for your thoughtfulness and we recommend this condo and we hope to return some day!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Turtle Huts at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Punaluu Black Sand Beach Park
Honu'apo (Whittington) Park
Uncle Abel's Surfing Beach
Kula Kai Caverns
Papakolea Green Sand Beach
"Yes, really, GREEN sand, formed by the volcanic eruptions eons ago and pounding ocean surf! ..."
Wood Valley Temple Retreat & Guest House
"Wood Valley's Buddhist Temple is open to the public, and its surrounding green fields of cof..."
Clouds' Rest Ka'u Coffee Stand
"If you love great coffee, don't miss a stop at Lisa & Jimmy Dacalio's "Clouds' Rest John Bul..."
Village of Na'alehu Farmers Market
"Farmers Market every Wednesday & Saturday morning, 8:00 am til pau. Fabulous fruits, veggie..."
Na'alehu Village
"My own sweet hometown! Na'alehu is a quaint, former sugar plantation/beef & dairy cattle to..."
Punaluu Bake Shop and Visitor Center
"Dozens of tour buses stop here daily, for very good reason: da BEST MALASADAs (Hawaiian sty..."
Ka'u Coffee Cafe
"Newly opened next to the Union 76 Gas Station right on hwy. 11, this is a DON'T MISS on my l..."
The Lava Zone Restaurant & Bar
"Just when you think the lunar landscape surrounding Ocean View will never end, here you'll f..."
Hana Hou Cafe & Restaurant
"Definitely my favorite place in town, Hana Hou is. DON'T MISS on my list, always! Owners Pa..."
Union 76 Gas Station STORE
"As gas stations go, this one is fine! But the enterprising owners recently added a HUGE sel..."
South Point
"For an interesting day's adventure, drive down South Point Road off Hwy. 11, thru amazingly ..."
Sea Mountain
"Beautiful vaulted wooden beamed ceilings give the feeling you've landed in Bora Bora! Airy ..."
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Kona or Hilo
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Shaka's in Naalehu
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Sea Mountain Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Hwy. 11
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Hana Hou Cafe, Shaka's, Punaluu Bakery, Ka'u Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Turtle Hut III Large Polynesian Bungalow at Colony I at Sea
Nearest Point of Interest
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Turtle Huts at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Uncle Abel's Surfing Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Honu'apo (Whittington) Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Village of Na'alehu Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Hana Hou Cafe & Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Kula Kai Caverns
Nearest Point of Interest
Na'alehu Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Green Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Wood Valley
Nearest Point of Interest
Clouds' Rest Ka'u Coffee Stand
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Kula Kai Caverns
Car: recommended

Ideally located mid-way between the towns of Kona and Hilo, and only 30 minutes to the spectacular Volcanoes National Park, our resort is truly the best spot on the island! Away from the crowds, traffic and vog, the natural wonders of the Ka'u district and 90 miles of unspoiled coastline along the southeastern shore, Colony One beckons travelers from all over the planet who seek to find the REAL Hawaii. You won't want to miss the Na'alehu, Volcano Village, and Ocean View Farmers' Markets every Wed. & Sat. morning for fresh fruits, veggies & local coffee and an amazing array of art and crafts from our local craftsmen. Also, Kula Kai Caverns in nearby Ocean View; Green Sands Beach, 20 minutes drive; Zip-Line in Mountainview; Buddhist Temple and new Ka'u Coffee Museum & Mill in Wood Valley; the ancient fishing ladders and petroglyph fields, and sacred heiau in South Point; unlimited hiking opportunities including portions of the historic Ala Kahakai Trail fronting our resort; and even Lomilomi Massage for anyone? Just call our highly recommended local massage therapist(s) and they'll set up the massage table right on the lanai for you! This is also GOLFERS paradise, with both Sea Mountain Golf Course (adjacent to our resort!), and nearby Volcanoes Country Club G.C., where 18 Holes & your cart cost only $25.00.......and we provide clubs with bag inside the master bedroom closet!


Rates & Availability

Pahala Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Season
Sep 19 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
High Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping Fee $80
Tax Rate 13.25%

The Turtle Huts at Punalu'u : Registered Hawaii Business License # W176504 since 2003. We are proud to say we collect and transmit 100% of the taxes our guests pay to the state of Hawaii.
Turtle Huts at Punalu'u is also a proud member of the Hawaii Visitors & Convention Bureau, Pualani, since 2009, and
Turtle Huts at Punalu'u is a dedicated contributor to the Wounded Warriors Project, paying forward both the Aloha Spirit and profits monthly to this very important program.

We off a generous Refund Policy of 100% of Deposit when a written notice of cancellation is provided (email is fine), within 60 days of arrival; within 60 days, we offer either a pro-rated refund of the days we are able to re-book to another party, and/or full credit for a future visit. In our 15 years of operation, we have always come to a happy resolution for our guests in their times of need......

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Pahala Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1Recently remodelled with double walk-in tiled shower! featuring, of course, a large turtle mosaic made of rainforest marble! Double sink vanity, fully equipped with comforts of home including a hair dryer
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) Tempur-Pedic Pillow Top Luxor Queen Bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen-size Sleeper Sofa
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
4 Tennis Courts & Sea Mountain & Volcano Golf Courses under $25 for 18 Holes w/cart! Art Galleries Farmers Markets Wine Tasting Gourmet Restaurants Hike Historic Kings Trail Visit Nearby Green Sands Beach Explore Kula Kai Caverns in Nearby Ocean View Ride the Zip Linel in Nearby Mountain View Visit Punaewa Zoo Akuasawa Orchid Farm Puna Hot Ponds Lava Tree State Park Champagne Pond Volcanoes National Park....and so much more!

Partner Offers