Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

We Still Have Vacancy for July and August!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Full Baths, Sleeps 8---wheelchair accessible

You know summer's just around the corner and you want to stay someplace where the kids can spread out and not drive everyone crazy. The dog gets to come this time. You can sit back and read that book you bought last summer and mealtime becomes family time again with a large kitchen where everyone can gather and pitch in and you don't go broke eating out every night of your vacation!

You landed at the right place! We offer as much nature as you want. Teach your kids to fish...fill up the bird feeders and see how many birds you can identify. Build a campfire and show the kids how to make S'mores...we supply the firewood and the goodies to make your treats! Have an adult beverage on the porch in the evening and enjoy the absence of mosquitos as you listen to the sounds of crickets, frogs and cicadas. Wake up to a mountain morning with a cup of coffee and watch the sun come up and view the sheep and donkey at the pasture and the ducks on the pond.

And as you rock on the porch and smell the clean air, you realize you havent even checked your cell phone once!

We are the place to experience this and more!

***************************************************************************

Secluded and picturesque, the Family Cabin at Preston's Thicket is nestled on 10 acres in a gorgeous natural setting. It is approx. 1580 sq. feet with a fully equipped kitchen and all modern appliances including w&d and dishwasher.

There is a large screened in porch with a dining table, lots of rockers and a porch swing that overlooks a stocked fishing pond (fishing equipment included) and a view of the pasture with Pedro our friendly donkey and our flock of sheep, hoping for a rub on the head.

This cabin is designed for rest and relaxation: ceiling fans in every room of the house; new appliances, new central air/heat; furnished in tasteful antiques and farmhouse decor. TV, wi-fi available, music and reading area, coffee and tea provided.

Outside features include a fenced pasture for your horses, a stocked pond and waterfall, wooden bridge, wooden steps down to pond, gardens in side and backyard. Food supplied for the fish encourage you and the kids to interact with nature!

In this unique country setting, you will see our ducks and pond fish. Our wildlife abounds with songbirds, turtles, deer, turkey, yes, sometimes even a snake might be sighted in the woods, or a fox or raccoon! Our property is a natural wildlife habitat protected from hunting. And although our wildlife keep their distance from the cabin, keep your eyes open and you may catch a glimpse of nature during your stay!

HAVE HORSES? WE HAVE A FENCED PASTURE with 2 gates and locks so you can turn out your horses and go sightseeing, or saddle up and ride this rural community! We also have stables just steps away from the cabin.

More Details

Owner
Cheryl Preston, Owner, Preston's Thicket Vacation Rental Cabins
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Cheryl Preston, Owner, Preston's Thicket Vacation Rental Cabins

My husband and I purchased this property as our own vacation/retirement home. We made the decision to turn this into a vacation home to share with other travelers and are proud to say we have wonderful guests with well behaved children and pets and have been steadily booking our home since 2009!

Cheryl Preston, Owner, Preston's Thicket Vacation Rental Cabins purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Cheryl Preston, Owner, Preston's Thicket Vacation Rental Cabins chose Asheville Area

This property affords the privacy and natural setting to allow guests to get back in touch with the natural world. We have equipped the cabin with food for wildlife, binoculars and guide books, and tips on how to co-exist with our wildlife friends. We keep our pond stocked with fish for you to catch and release, and we have free range ducks and chickens that will no doubt entertain you, and a donkey and small flock of sheep in the pasture. A huge screened in porch allows nature viewing from a comfortable rocker or porch swing and a firepit which allows for magical times in the evening! We also have wi-fi available for a small fee, and free satellite TV and phone service as well as modern appliances for everyone's convenience!

What makes this cabin unique

Front porch views of farm animals (ducks, donkey, sheep)

Wi-fi (available at $10 addl)

Land line with free local and long distance

Washer and Dryer with detergent provided

Dishwasher with detergent provided

Coffee maker and tea kettle with coffee/condiments and tea provided

Spice cabinet

Local farm fresh Eggs and homemade butter in the frig

A Complimentary Welcome Basket with goodies and a souvenir of your stay!

Enough room to host a family reunion

Parking for up to 3 cars

Fenced in pasture for horses

Pet-friendly

Smoking area on deck

Wheelchair ramp

2 high chairs

Games for kids and adults

Small reading library

Amenities

Lake Lure Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • PRIOR TO LEAVING: 1) Trash put in cans at end of driveway 2) Housekeeping fee left in envelope provided 3) No cigarette butts thrown in garbage
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , All toiletries provided
    Downstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , handicap accessible; handheld shower; tub seat
  • Each bathroom has a full sized tub. 1 roll of toilet paper and sample size toiletries are provided. Upstairs bathroom also has a skylight. Handicap accessories available upon request (raised toilet seat with handles, tub bench, tub handle.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Duck Room - 1 king , Downstairs-2 windows-adjoins bathroom
    French Room - 1 queen , Upstairs-2 windows
    Bunny Room - 1 double , Upstairs-1 windows
    Antique Room - 1 double , Downstairs-2 windows
  • All bedrooms have: * Additional comforters, blankets and pillows * High-quality sheets, mattresses and pillows * Ceiling fans * Duck Room adjoins to bathroom and has TV and phone *
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Courtyard
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
High Speed Wi-fi Large flat screen TVs with Dish Network; Skylights, porch swing, rocking chairs, outdoor tables and chairs on screened porch and on deck; Complimentary Welcome Basket upon arrival; Tankless hot water heater, fresh spring water (PUR filter installed offers option of filtered water) Gas stove Side by Side New Frig, dishwasher, front load washer and dryer, all detergents supplied; strawberry patch and flower garden in Secret Garden; Bird feeders and bird feed supplied Duck/Rooster feed supplied Pond fish food supplied (koi, bass, brim, catfish) Coffee bar includes: coffee maker, coffee bean grinder, selected assortment of teas, creamer, sugar, eggs and Amish butter. Dinnerware to serve up to 25 people

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

We Still Have Vacancy for July and August!
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
3

Loved the antiques.

  • 3 of 5

Very comfortable, and quiet. We enjoyed feeding the fish and birds. We were thankful for wi-fi because none of our phones had signal in the mountains. The only disappointment was it seemed everything was extra and not included in the price of rental. The Wi-Fi was extra, the cleaning fee was extra.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These were great guests to start out with, but before they had even arrived, there were complaints. When one of the party members called to demand a refund because the cabin was too far from their venue I had to let them know of our no-refund policy. Wanting to keep good customer relations, I investigated with HomeAway and kearned the location of the cabin was not precise on the VRBO site. I offered a substantial credit to the guest and they seemed satisfied with the credit. The fees mentioned are additional to allow a guest to decide if they want the option of internet ($10) or to bring a pet ($25). It wouldn't be fair to charge guests for services they don't want. The housekeeping fee, although not an ootion, is based solely on number of bedrooms used. It is also an honor system to leave the fee when you check out. We don't charge as much to clean if a couple stays in one bedroom as we do if all 4 bedrooms are used. We have been in business for 8 years and have never had complaints about the fees. I ask for feedback by leaving a survey form at the cabin. Even after crediting $390 off their $700 bill, these guests left a survey and still complained about the location of the cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Fantastic for kids, dogs, and all nature lovers!

  • 5 of 5

Preston's Thicket is like going back to a simpler time (without giving up Wi-Fi, thank goodness). The spaciousness surprised me, from the huge front porch to the large kitchen/living area. It's bigger than it seems when you see it from outside. It was like visiting my grandmother and my great-grandmother, with much of the warmth I felt in those homes.

I'd guess that additions have been built onto the original house, or perhaps it was even a barn back in the day? Regardless, it has all of the character of an old home which for me is a positive trait. If you like brand new and shiny, don't go here- there are many impersonal vacation homes out there that you'd probably enjoy more, but for me, this is truly a home away from home. I could honestly imagine retiring to a beautiful place like this and being completely happy.

Cheryl has decorated with a fascinating collection of antiques that are both unique and functional. Just walking around appreciating the decor made me smile.

And that's just the inside!

Outside- WOW. Feeding treats to Pedro and the sheep, as well as the fish, ducks, and songbirds, provided endless entertainment for the kid in me and I'm sure that most (other?) children will love this place! If you want to fish, I challenge you to NOT catch the huge Bass that's waiting to be fed. Don't worry, he'll show up close to the shore so you can get a good look (and feed him).

Speaking of fishing, there is access to Cove Creek within an easy walking distance. Creek is an understatement, in my opinion, as it seemed almost as wide as the Broad River. I don't know the fishing laws so be sure you're compliant, or just go down there and enjoy the view. I had no idea we'd be that close to yet another source of water until we arrived.

Broad River Gems is the closest business to Preston's Thicket (I believe), and it is as much a museum of rocks and fossils as it is a "gem mine."

Ingles Market, the local grocery store, was just 15 minute drive, and getting to and from Chimney Rock was very easy, though I wasn't so eager to spend time in crowded areas after I enjoyed the peace and quiet of the "thicket."

Cheryl was as conscientious as any property owner could be, and has made some nice upgrades in the month since we went there. I can't wait to go back and enjoy those as well.

Thanks for the memories, Cheryl!

-Sharon

Charlotte, NC

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow.. I have no words, only tears of gratitude...it has been my dream to share my home for guests like you, and your review validates my desire to continue. From my heart, thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderfully relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Good location. Centrally located to everything that Lake Lure has to offer. Enjoyed watching ducks in the pond and Pedro (donkey) and the sheep. I was able to slow down and relax. Screened porch was very nice.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great country home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the house over Christmas, it was very cute and the area is beautiful. We loved the sheep ans Pedro the donkey, although Pedro did seem to love our dogs:). The house is very well stocked since we cooked Christmas dinner there and the owner went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Cheryl is quite accommodating and is super responsive. We had a great, relaxing weekend with family.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We live in Myrtle Beach, SC and wanted some place completely different. We fell in love as soon as we drove onto the property. Cheryl, who is the owner answered all questions and was so nice. The cabin is even better than I had imagined. So charming and clean. The antique room was my favorite. I felt I had stepped back in time. So many beautiful pieces of furniture. I would highly recommend and we will be returning.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Fun place to stay with kids, some cleaning issues

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying here. My kids loved fishing, loved the donkey, loved the sheep. We roasted marshmallows and had fun playing in the yard. There are a number of nice things about this house: two bedrooms and a bathroom downstairs, so we never went upstairs. It was nice to pay only for using the bedrooms we used. The house was fully stocked and did have direct tv for the one day my husband and I did need to work we were able to put on a show for them. We stocked up on food and some toys for the kids at a Walmart about 30 minutes away and didn't have to leave the house again. There was enough toilet paper, trash bags, and we had brought our own dish soap and laundry detergent, but there was some there.

I was torn on what to write in the review, because we had so much fun, but I felt we should add notes for anyone else looking at the property who may have allergies. We found out at the house my son has some mild pet hair allergies. The first day we showed up, it was almost immediately he started sneezing and coughing. When walking in the house it smelled like pets (we don't have any so it was a bit overpowering for us). We opened the windows since thankfully it was nice out. I sat on the couch with him and pet hair flew up into the air as I sat. I found a vacuum so I started vacuuming the rugs a bit more to hopefully get rid of it. I checked the beds and there was pet hair on the sheets, so I took the sheets off to wash them and saw mouse poop on them as well. So I washed the sheets we all slept to help alleviate allergies. When we opened the silverware drawer we saw more mouse poop so we washed the silverware as well. By time we left, it was better in the house because we aired it our all day long, only closing the windows at night. But I want to emphasize that we had a really good time. The kids loved the donkey and cried when we had to leave him. We had fun catching grasshoppers to use at bait for fishing and caught some giant catfish! Also, Cheryl was so wonderful answering our calls instantly and being very responsive especially since we were doing everything last minute due to Hurricane Matthew.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These were great guests so I don't take offense to what they said, but I do want to respond. The mouse droppings were a surprise to hear since we have pest extermination monthly and no reports of rodent droppings. It was a surprise that they were on the sheets also since we launder the sheets several times a week due to the influx of guests and all beds have comforters, quilts or spreads so finding mouse droppings on the sheets seems odd. The other thing I would have to mention is the pet dander. Anyone who is that sensitive to pet dander should never rent a house that is pet friendly. We have a housekeeping service that cleans the house before the guest arrives, and after the guest leaves, which includes mopping, dusting, laundering, sanitizing countertops, sinks and toilets, and wiping out frig. If I have a guest checking in on a Friday and checking out on a Sunday, housekeeping would be there the day before check in and the day after check out. If we have a guest checking in later that week, housekeeping goes back out there to freshen up the house, so that could be a third time. I will contact housekeeping about the droppings that were found in the cabinet and make sure those drawers are sanitized if she does see any droppings and ensure utensils in that drawer are washed. We don't have a mouse problem or any type of insect problem because our pest service is very thorough. I had to check my receipts, but we had the carpets cleaned (bedrooms have carpet) and the couch cleaned Sept 2 so not sure how the guest could have seen pet fur come up since these guests stayed there for the Hurricane evacuation which happened Sept 28. Again, great guests, just wanted to let future guests be aware that most of our guests DO bring their dogs, and if you have any pet allergies, you may want to select lodging that does not allow pets.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Lake Lure and Chimney Rock (multiple)
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake Lure Municipal Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 64/74A (Chimney Rock Road)
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Point of View lakeside dining
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Lake Lure beach
Car: necessary

Preston's Thicket is just a 10-minute drive to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. We are also 1-5 miles to the following:

Major grocery store, ATM,flea market, antique stores, ice cream, propane fillup, gas, golf course, horseback riding, ziplining, kayaking, marina, lakefront dining, gem and mining attraction, fly fishing stream, tubing.

We are 30 minutes to 1 hour of the following:

Hendersonville, Asheville Airport, Asheville, Biltmore Estate, I-26, vineyards, apple orchards, farmer's market, flea market, Walmart, Forest City, Rutherfordton, FENCE Equestrian Center, Flat Rock Playhouse

We are 2 hours to:

Greenville-Spartanburg airport, Boone, Hickory, Charlotte airport (70 miles), Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountain

Other Activities: Gem mining, canopy ziplining, horseback riding, tubing, antique shopping, and sunset dinner cruises are all within 5-10 minutes' drive from cabin. Annual Events include Dirty Dancing Film Festival, Lake Lure Olympiad triathlon and Fly Fishing tournaments. The Steeplechase races at Foothills Equestrian Center is 45 minutes from the cabin.

Golf: Lake Lure Municipal Course is 2 miles from cabin. Cabin provides an extra set+ of house clubs for men and women. Pasture is large enough to practice driving

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Lure Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nightly Rate
Jul 13 2017 - Jul 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jul 16 2017 - Jul 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet #1 $25
Refundable damage deposit $300
Wireless Internet-1 GB $10
Pet #2 $25
Pets Stay Free in May $0
Tax Rate 12.75%

Dog/Horse fee is a flat $25 per pet (limit 2) added to total cost.

Housekeeping is charged on a per/bedroom basis: $50 flat fee + $25 per bedroom. This is explained on the Rental Agreement.

No Refunds--Credits issued instead

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties