check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kathleen and Larry Goldhirsch

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights

25 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Brooklyn Heights Townhome Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 2 living rooms, sleeps 8

Charming duplex apartment with patio in landmark brownstone on quiet tree lined street. Secluded retreat where you will find peace and quiet after adventuring in the city, yet a short subway ride to Soho, Times Square theater district, Greenwich Village, and Wall Street area. Within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants from ethnic to elegant, farmers market, boutiques, bookstores, library, grocery stores and breathtaking views of Manhattan, Statue of Liberty, and Brooklyn Bridge. Family neighborhood with access to playgrounds. Beautiful new Brooklyn Bridge Park has just opened down the street, directly on the waterfront, featuring water play, sand, grassy slopes and climbing. Nearby are Brooklyn Academy of Music featuring theater, dance, cinema, Brooklyn Art Museum, Botanic Garden, and Prospect Park with its beautiful walks, delightful zoo, carousel, and winter ice skating.

Check in/out: Check out is 10 a.m. Check in is 3 p.m. Luggage may be left or deposited in the foyer outside these hours. We are flexible when conditions allow.

Owner occupied: The apartment is the lower duplex, 2 floors, in a townhouse. I live in the upper duplex.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kathleen and Larry Goldhirsch (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Kathleen and Larry Goldhirsch

We have lived here since Larry was in Brooklyn Law School. We raised our family here, and our grandchildren attend the same schools that our children did. Kathy taught at Packer Collegiate Institute just up the street.

Kathleen and Larry Goldhirsch purchased this townhome in 1970

Why Kathleen and Larry Goldhirsch chose Brooklyn

In the 70s we were part of a a contingent of young people who loved old houses, the beautiful neighborhood, and who set about refurbishing these houses by hand.

What makes this townhome unique

This is a peaceful, tree lined neighborhood where you'll see lots of children and dogs. It's very family oriented. There are all sorts of interesting shops, from supermarkets to ethnic and elegant. A plethora of restaurants. The waterfront with the most spectacular views of Manhattan imaginable.

There is a small patio adjacent to the kitchen where you can breakfast and dine al fresco, watch the world go by, enjoy a cool drink or a cup of tea. Cook out down by the waterfront on one of the grills, even kayak in New York harbor.

Reviews

4.6
based on 25 traveler reviews

Elegant duplex maisonette on secluded street in historic Brooklyn Heights
average rating of 4.64 based on 25 reviews
5

Wonderful week in NYC

  • 5 of 5

My family converged at this charming Brooklyn home for a college graduation. On the weekend we filled every bed and all said they slept comfortably. The neighborhood is gorgeous, quiet, and safe. There was a delightful street fair held on Saturday. During our stay we walked the Brooklyn bridge, visited the Brooklyn museum and botanic garden, went to a flea market in Fort Greene, attended a Yankees game, walked the Highline, bicycled in Central park, and heard live music in Greenwich Village. We had a fantastic family dinner at Chez Moi on Atlantic Avenue, then danced to a DJ across the street at a bar called the Last Exit. It was a great experience for our family. Thank you Kathleen and Lawrence!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Wonderful stay in Brooklyn Heights!

  • 5 of 5

We recently had the opportunity to stay at Willow Place for 5 nights. You cannot beat the location. Everything is close by, walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants and subway.

We loved the house. There were 4 of us (adults) and we found it very comfortable.

Yes it's old and the floors squeak, we call that CHARMING! We brought elderly in laws with us and the lower floor was easy for them to navigate..

We had some friends over and there was plenty of room to entertain.

We especially enjoyed the nearby Heights Cafe, great dinner and easy walk on Montague St.

Our son lives nearby at The Watchtower complex and we would love to stay @ Willow Place again next time we get to visit him.

The owners were very accommodating. Kathy met us the night we arrived, showed us the house, gave us some information and was very nice to work with.

I would definitely recommend Willow Place to other travelers.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Good rate in a safe, historic location

  • 3 of 5

The best thing about Willow Place is the location and it's price. The neighborhood was quaint and safe, very nice if you like historical areas. Just a few blocks walking distance to restaurant's, deli's, shopping and the subway. It's near near the Promenade along the East River where you can go for a nice walk or run, there is a view of the Manhattan skyline, the Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty. The owner was easy to work with and provided recommendations on things to do.

The main access to the apartment is through the front door which takes you to the second floor where the second bedroom and living area with sleeper sofas and TV are. The kitchen, dining area, bathroom and master bedroom are on the ground floor. There is additional outside access to the ground floor through a small fenced in patio area. Since the living area and TV is upstairs and the kitchen and bathroom are downstairs plan on going up and down the stairs a lot.

The master bedroom is a nice size with queen bed. The second bedroom is VERY tight, there is enough room for the bed and a suitcase with very little room to move around. The living area with the sleeper sofas can be separated by doors.

There are wood floors throughout the apartment. The floors creek pretty noticeably, especially when going up and down the stairs. Cleanliness is fair, NOT meticulous. We found a dirty sock in the corner of the living area which should have been easily spotted by whoever cleaned the apartment. If they don't see the dirty sock in the corner how good are they cleaning everything else? I had to wipe down the stove top before I used it, there were crumbs on the cupboard shelves, the kitchen floors could have been cleaner. It was not offensively dirty but I'd suggest having a conversation with your cleaning person or finding someone else.

This apartment is VERY basic, it provides a place to stay at a very reasonable rate for NYC. There are no special touches or decorations to make it feel warm and cozy. It could be a great apartment with a little TLC. If you're looking for a inexpensive moderate place to stay in NYC, in a safe and convenient location with no other expectations, this is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate feedback and suggestions about our apartment. As the majority of our reviews reflect, our guests have had a positive experience during their stay with us. In this instance we are sorry that our guest found things that did not meet her expectations and would have been happy to rectify any shortcomings, except of course for the creaky floors, which are a fact of life in a building that is 165 years old. We maintain the apartment to a high standard of cleanliness and when we fall short, which seems to be an aberration from that standard, we are happy to address the issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Quaint and homey, very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here on Willow Place. We loved the house, the neighborhood, the quick trip to Manhattan. The house was plenty roomy for all of us (5 adults) and a short walk to the Subway to head into Manhattan. We drove from the Midwest so we could move our daughter into college, and we were actually able to find street parking in the neighborhood! The only negative comment came from grandpa, the pull out bed seems to be lacking support and his back was hurting after the first night. He was better after moving into the twin beds. We would definitely book this property again on future trips to the city!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victor Ny
5

Great quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

we loved our stay at willow place . so cute and convenient to the wedding we attended at the Brooklyn Historical society. the apartment was very roomy and had everything we needed. we really felt at home . the neighborhood was nice and quiet .the location was amazing! 5 minutes to the subway and 5 minutes to a beautiful view of Manhatten and the Brooklyn bridge. a great neighborhood lots a good places to eat and we were lucky enough to enjoy the "Willowtown Spring Fair" on our street.

I will definitely be staying there again .

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Willow Place. It was lovely to be part of such a joyous event as the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victor Ny
5

Perfect quiet apartment!!

  • 5 of 5

we loved our stay at willow place . so cute and convenient to the wedding we attended at the Brooklyn Historical society. the apartment was very roomy and had everything we needed. we really felt at home . the neighborhood was nice and quiet .the location was amazing! 5 minutes to the subway and 5 minutes to a beautiful view of Manhatten and the Brooklyn bridge. a great neighborhood lots a good places to eat and we were lucky enough to enjoy the "Willowtown Spring Fair" on our street.

I will definitely be staying there again .

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Brooklyn Bridge
"One of the best ways to get to Manhattan is to walk over the Brooklyn Bridge. The views are..."
National September 11 Memorial & Museum
"Just across the river. A moving and inspiring site."
Chinatown
"Go here from some of the best food on the planet and also for local color. Prices are quite..."
Wall Street
"One stop away on the 2 or 3 subway line."
Brooklyn Bridge Park
"Right down the street. This gorgeous new recreational area features a water park, huge play..."
Ellis Island
"A fantastic piece of history. Very moving to explore."
Brooklyn Botanic Garden
"Glorious to visit all year round. An oasis in the heart of the city"
Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Kennedy Airport
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Liberty Island
Nearest Restaurant
River Deli
Car: not necessary

Five blocks to 2, 3, 4, 5, R subways that will take you to lower Manhattan in five minutes where you can catch the ferry to the Statue of Liberty, visit the Wall Street area and Seaport, World Trade Center site. In the immediate neighborhood are an abundance of restaurants, from the elegant River Café under the Brooklyn Bridge to the chic bistros of Smith Street. In two minutes you can stroll to the Promenade and view the Manhattan skyline, Brooklyn Bridge, and Statue of Liberty. Hop On Hop Off Water Taxi takes you around the city by boat. In 15 minutes by subway you can be in Soho, in 20 minutes midtown Manhattan, the Metropolitan Museum, Broadway, the Empire State Building and the myriad marvels of the city. Local attractions appealing to every taste include The Brooklyn Museum, Prospect Park, Brooklyn Bridge Park, Botanic Gardens, Brooklyn Academy of Music, and Coney Island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Brooklyn Heights Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100

First payment is 30% of total due upon booking. Balance is due 30 Days before arrival..

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Brooklyn Heights Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Living Room - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • One master bedroom with queen bed, one smaller bedroom with trundle bed opening to 2 side by side beds, sleep sofas in each living room divided by french doors.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Kitchen is adjacent to patio and is well equipped.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties