check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Highway One Properties

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

The Little Whaler - Beach Cottage

12 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Stinson Beach House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Located in Stinson Beach Village just 61 paces from the beach & 5 minutes stroll to town. This freshly updated Cape Cod-style house epitomizes a healthy, casual outdoor beach lifestyle; stroll the beach or retreat to the wind-protected deck. In addition to the main house, there is a charming & tastefully decorated guest cottage situated on a very large redwood deck. There are new appliances and high-end bedding and kitchenware, softwood floors, plus loads of attention to charming details. Please note that the second bedroom is a detached structure which is accessed by going outside and may not suitable for small children that are unsupervised. Dogs are allowed - Sorry, no cats. Renters bringing pets: Additional pet fee for each pet: $40/weekend stay, $100/week stay for each week.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Highway One Properties (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Highway One Properties

We here at Highway One Properties would love to help you reserve this lovely property. Please feel free to talk to anyone here at our office. The number is (415) 868-0288

Guestbook comments from the manager

Oh my, what a blast it was to spend the weekend in this sweet cottage. My friend and I rented the previous version of this cottage (1996?). We loved it here then. You have done amazing things here. It is so sentimental to be here and so amazing to enjoy all the fabulous upgrades. I'm so happy to have shared this weekend here with special friends. And my dog Coco finally go to see the beach house.
May 2011
  • 1 of 39

Reviews

4.7
based on 12 traveler reviews

The Little Whaler - Beach Cottage
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 51 reviews
5

Seaside Paradise

  • 5 of 5

First, the ocean beckons as you turn down the lane. Then, when you step through

The Little Whaler's gate, you'll catch the waves whispering: "You're here". Next - just lift the latch, and the dearest little cottage-by-the-sea opens its arms and fairly sings "Welcome Home"! "Charming perfection" is not an exaggeration. Every square inch is exactly what I'd do, if this was my beach home (and if I'd thought of it.) We felt like pampered house guests, enjoying the owner's creative and solicitous hospitality - almost too relaxed to leave our private paradise. But one should adventure into the historic and engaging small town, at least for the incredible breakfasts and enchanting book store. The Little Whaler is a big hit with us! Can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Complete delight

  • 5 of 5

All you need for a perfect stay at The Little Whaler is what you'll put on and in your body—clothes, food, and beach towels. This clean, friendly place has everything else, thoughtfully arranged in ways that make it feel like home or even better: one of the world's most comfortable beds; a kitchen fully equipped with every utensil you can think of plus plenty of flatware, china, glasses, the works; a cozy living room set up for comfort and entertainments from reading to listening to music or watching TV on the high-end a/v system, with a superb Jotul wood stove easily warming the place if the weather outside turns cool; clean, efficient bathroom; a big deck, probably larger than the cottage itself, fully set up with chaises longues, chairs, tables, two big umbrellas, yet another great wood stove, and barbecue; sparkling clean hot tub/spa near the outdoor shower and a collection of beach equipment (chairs, umbrella, surfboard, etc.). Step out through the gate, turn right, and in about 12 seconds you're on the vast dog-friendly section of Stinson Beach. Turn left and a walk only slightly longer takes you to downtown shops, park headquarters, and the Siren Canteen for a tasty snack at the south end of the beach. Not only has the owner set up the cottage perfectly for guests, the property managers at Highway One also give it meticulous care; we noticed a porch light needed a bulb and in a flash they sent Jan around to fix it. After seven relaxing, comfortable nights we—and our dog, Pippin—really, really did not want to leave. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect get away

  • 5 of 5

WOW!!!! What a place. If you are looking for a comfortable place to get away from it all, book the Little Whaler. This place is just a few steps to the beach, minutes walk to town and has all of the amenities you can imagine. The deck provides a comfortable, quiet place to relax and hang out. The owners have thought of everything including great a/v system, a big, clean hot tub, comfortable beds and a well-decorated clean home. We will be getting out to this place as often as our schedule allows! What FUN!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

So Sad

  • 1 of 5

This place has sweet light inside, great deck with an outside FP & close to the beach. Unfortunately there are mice droppings under the kitchen sink, skunks under the deck & outside sleeping shed (one night the room was filled with skunk smell so bad I woke up thinking I was being gassed), rats running across the deck, towels stink, linens are marginally clean, the shower leaks onto the floor. The place is cluttered, especially the kitchen with lots of unusable dirty stuff. It is generally filthy. I spent five plus hours cleaning and it was still visibly dirty. I had to move things out of the way to have room for food and gain access to the cooking pans. We rented for three weeks. This is the first time I've ever written a negative review. I wish I had known how bad it had gotten over the past year.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Rebecca: I am indeed sorry that your 3 week stay did not meet your satisfaction, and formally, I apologize. However, I must rebut: 1) I am disappointed that you did not alert the management company to any of this, as they are professional and prompt. The two items you did call about were rectified immediately and to your satisfaction; 2) If the house was that bad, why didn't you request to be moved? You had direct interaction with the management company during your 3 weeks, and they found you happy & content; 3) Thank you for bringing pests to our attention. We didn’t know about them, and we’ll investigate and engage natural solutions to pest removal if professionally advised to do so. I have not yet seen skunks or rats. Not surprising that you did, as one nicety of the house is proximity to Mt. Tamalpais, which is an abundant habitat for wildlife. If a skunk wasn’t just passing through, we’ll find her, offer her a ride home to the mountain and name her Rebecca in honor of your exciting discovery; 4) Issues with the cleanliness of linens, towels or kitchenware should have been brought to the attention of Hwy One immediately upon your arrival, but we’ll alert the cleaners to your comments & initiate a deep clean on the house for good measure. By pure coincidence, just after your visit, I stayed at the house and personally made the beds and put out towels with the clean ones there, as they met my standards; 5) The kitchen does contain many items, as the direct result of guest requests for useful items such as a blender, baking pans, etc. Honestly, I was dismayed to have to rearrange my entire kitchen after someone changed the locations of various cookware, roastware & the cleaning products. Hwy One would have helped if asked; 6) The cozy shower does spray, not leak, onto the bathroom floor when the door is open. If asked, Hwy One would have arranged to fix it, or simply have someone show you how to close the door. We’ll check it out. We're honestly sorry you left unhappy and wish you'd communicated. We’ve taken your feedback seriously & will fix & improve what we can, then live peacefully with what we have no control over. Sincerely, The Armstrong Family
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Belvedere, CA USA
5

A gem

  • 5 of 5

We have rented a number of places of various sizes at Stinson and this is one of our favorites. Small, but perfect for a couple or possibly a couple with one or two teenage children. It is well appointed with comfortable and attractive furniture and a fully equipped kitchen. The outdoor area is immaculate and very functional. The close-to-town location makes this the perfect beach getaway. We will return!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, CA
5

Lovely Place

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at The Whaler immensely - everything we needed was there & was so nice and clean. The back porch was a great place to relax and it is completely blocked from the wind - loved going to the beach and coming back to this wonderful home. We hope to return on another vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ashley, we're so glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come visit again.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Surfers love Stinson and Bolinas, nearby are Mount Tamalpais State Park, Point Reyes National Seashore and Point Reyes Station (cute town), Bolinas town and tide pools, Slide Ranch, Muir Woods and Muir Beach. Olema and Tomales Bay (great oysters) are a short drive north.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Stinson Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Fully updated with colorful glass-tiled floor, full shower, granite-topped vanity sink, 2 linen hutches and Cape Cod style wainscoting.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 2 Queen beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
Fully remodeled, steps from the beach, huge outdoor deck with firepit, large hot tub, outdoor shower, kid and dog friendly, this is beach living at its absolute finest.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties