expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

The Little Whaler - Beach Cottage

Stinson Beach, CA, USA
  • House
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

This updated Cape Cod-style house epitomizes a healthy, outdoor lifestyle. You can stroll the beach or retreat to the comfortable wind-protected deck. In addition to the main house, there is a small guest cottage situated off the large redwood deck. There is high-end bedding and kitchenware, wood floors, and lots of attention to charming details. Please note that the second bedroom is in a detached structure which is accessed by going outside and may not suitable for small children. Can be rented as a 1 Bedroom in the off season. Dogs are allowed. Renters bringing pets: Additional pet fee for each pet: $25/night capping out at $150 per week for longer stays, $50 extra cleaning fee, $500 pet security deposit. Bed Configuration: 2 Queen beds

Pricing:

- Weekly: $2,500

- Additional Night: $360

- Weekend: $895

- Summer Week: $2,600

- Summer Additional Night: $370

- Holiday Week: $2,700

- Holiday Extra Night: $385

- Cleaning Fee: $150

Property Manager

Highway One Properties

Member Since 2009
Response time:
within one hour
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 21, 2018
About Highway One Properties

We here at Highway One Properties would love to help you reserve this lovely property. Please feel free to talk to anyone here at our office. The number is (415) 868-0288

Amenities

    • Pets Welcome
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
        • 2 Queen beds

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom
          • Fully updated with colorful glass-tiled floor, full shower, granite-topped vanity sink, 2 linen hutches and Cape Cod style wainscoting.

          General

            • Clothes Dryer
            • Washing Machine
            • Wood Stove

              Kitchen

                • Dishwasher

                  Entertainment

                    • DVD Player
                    • Satellite / Cable

                      Outside

                        • Deck / Patio
                        • Outdoor Grill

                          Pool / Spa

                            • Hot Tub

                              Notes

                                • Fully remodeled, steps from the beach, huge outdoor deck with firepit, large hot tub, outdoor shower, kid and dog friendly, this is beach living at its absolute finest.

                                  House Rules

                                  Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                  Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                  12 Reviews

                                  Excellent4.7/5

                                  Latest reviews

                                  Seaside Paradise

                                  Sally K.

                                  First, the ocean beckons as you turn down the lane. Then, when you step through

                                  The Little Whaler's gate, you'll catch the waves whispering: "You're here". Next - just lift the latch, and the dearest little cottage-by-the-sea opens its arms and fairly sings "Welcome Home"! "Charming perfection" is not an exaggeration. Every square inch is exactly what I'd do, if this was my beach home (and if I'd thought of it.) We felt like pampered house guests, enjoying the owner's creative and solicitous hospitality - almost too relaxed to leave our private paradise. But one should adventure into the historic and engaging small town, at least for the incredible breakfasts and enchanting book store. The Little Whaler is a big hit with us! Can't wait to return.

                                  Complete delight

                                  Katherine P.

                                  All you need for a perfect stay at The Little Whaler is what you'll put on and in your body—clothes, food, and beach towels. This clean, friendly place has everything else, thoughtfully arranged in ways that make it feel like home or even better: one of the world's most comfortable beds; a kitchen fully equipped with every utensil you can think of plus plenty of flatware, china, glasses, the works; a cozy living room set up for comfort and entertainments from reading to listening to music or watching TV on the high-end a/v system, with a superb Jotul wood stove easily warming the place if the weather outside turns cool; clean, efficient bathroom; a big deck, probably larger than the cottage itself, fully set up with chaises longues, chairs, tables, two big umbrellas, yet another great wood stove, and barbecue; sparkling clean hot tub/spa near the outdoor shower and a collection of beach equipment (chairs, umbrella, surfboard, etc.). Step out through the gate, turn right, and in about 12 seconds you're on the vast dog-friendly section of Stinson Beach. Turn left and a walk only slightly longer takes you to downtown shops, park headquarters, and the Siren Canteen for a tasty snack at the south end of the beach. Not only has the owner set up the cottage perfectly for guests, the property managers at Highway One also give it meticulous care; we noticed a porch light needed a bulb and in a flash they sent Jan around to fix it. After seven relaxing, comfortable nights we—and our dog, Pippin—really, really did not want to leave. We will be back.

                                  Perfect get away

                                  Brian O.

                                  WOW!!!! What a place. If you are looking for a comfortable place to get away from it all, book the Little Whaler. This place is just a few steps to the beach, minutes walk to town and has all of the amenities you can imagine. The deck provides a comfortable, quiet place to relax and hang out. The owners have thought of everything including great a/v system, a big, clean hot tub, comfortable beds and a well-decorated clean home. We will be getting out to this place as often as our schedule allows! What FUN!!!

                                  So Sad

                                  Rebecca S.

                                  This place has sweet light inside, great deck with an outside FP & close to the beach. Unfortunately there are mice droppings under the kitchen sink, skunks under the deck & outside sleeping shed (one night the room was filled with skunk smell so bad I woke up thinking I was being gassed), rats running across the deck, towels stink, linens are marginally clean, the shower leaks onto the floor. The place is cluttered, especially the kitchen with lots of unusable dirty stuff. It is generally filthy. I spent five plus hours cleaning and it was still visibly dirty. I had to move things out of the way to have room for food and gain access to the cooking pans. We rented for three weeks. This is the first time I've ever written a negative review. I wish I had known how bad it had gotten over the past year.

                                  Owner's Response:

                                  Dear Rebecca:

                                  I am indeed sorry that your 3 week stay did not meet your satisfaction, and formally, I apologize. However, I must rebut: 1) I am disappointed that you did not alert the management company to any of this, as they are professional and prompt. The two items you did call about were rectified immediately and to your satisfaction; 2) If the house was that bad, why didn't you request to be moved? You had direct interaction with the management company during your 3 weeks, and they found you happy & content; 3) Thank you for bringing pests to our attention. We didn’t know about them, and we’ll investigate and engage natural solutions to pest removal if professionally advised to do so. I have not yet seen skunks or rats. Not surprising that you did, as one nicety of the house is proximity to Mt. Tamalpais, which is an abundant habitat for wildlife. If a skunk wasn’t just passing through, we’ll find her, offer her a ride home to the mountain and name her Rebecca in honor of your exciting discovery; 4) Issues with the cleanliness of linens, towels or kitchenware should have been brought to the attention of Hwy One immediately upon your arrival, but we’ll alert the cleaners to your comments & initiate a deep clean on the house for good measure. By pure coincidence, just after your visit, I stayed at the house and personally made the beds and put out towels with the clean ones there, as they met my standards; 5) The kitchen does contain many items, as the direct result of guest requests for useful items such as a blender, baking pans, etc. Honestly, I was dismayed to have to rearrange my entire kitchen after someone changed the locations of various cookware, roastware & the cleaning products. Hwy One would have helped if asked; 6) The cozy shower does spray, not leak, onto the bathroom floor when the door is open. If asked, Hwy One would have arranged to fix it, or simply have someone show you how to close the door. We’ll check it out. We're honestly sorry you left unhappy and wish you'd communicated. We’ve taken your feedback seriously & will fix & improve what we can, then live peacefully with what we have no control over.

                                  Sincerely, The Armstrong Family

                                  A gem

                                  Kathleen P.Belvedere, CA USA

                                  We have rented a number of places of various sizes at Stinson and this is one of our favorites. Small, but perfect for a couple or possibly a couple with one or two teenage children. It is well appointed with comfortable and attractive furniture and a fully equipped kitchen. The outdoor area is immaculate and very functional. The close-to-town location makes this the perfect beach getaway. We will return!

                                  Lovely Place

                                  AshleySan Francisco, CA

                                  We enjoyed our stay at The Whaler immensely - everything we needed was there & was so nice and clean. The back porch was a great place to relax and it is completely blocked from the wind - loved going to the beach and coming back to this wonderful home. We hope to return on another vacation!

                                  Owner's Response:

                                  Dear Ashley, we're so glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come visit again.

                                  Location

                                  Stinson Beach, CA, USA

                                  Surfers love Stinson and Bolinas, nearby are Mount Tamalpais State Park, Point Reyes National Seashore and Point Reyes Station (cute town), Bolinas town and tide pools, Slide Ranch, Muir Woods and Muir Beach. Olema and Tomales Bay (great oysters) are a short drive north.

                                  Availability

                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                  Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

                                  $367avg/night
                                  12 Reviews
                                  Excellent 4.7/5
                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                  Instant Confirmation
                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                  Property # 251549vb

                                  x