check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chuck and Diane Elliott

Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Moonglow: Forest tranquility..private hot tub..aquarium passes

31 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Carmel-by-the-Sea Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Nestled into a beautiful forest setting overlooking Hatton Canyon, you will find our rustic guest cottage perfect for your Carmel getaway. Moonglow is a unique oasis for those that enjoy the tranquility of the forest, yet want to be minutes away from Carmel’s beautiful white sand beach and many artistic shops and restaurants.

A gorgeous deck surrounds the cottage with plenty of seating, a barbecue for outdoor enjoyment and a heater for cool evenings. The patio has a table and 4 chairs for outdoor dining. Steps lead to the upper deck where a wonderful private outdoor hot tub awaits for special evenings under the stars.

For the active traveler Moonglow offers equipment for hiking, biking, kayaking, tennis, golf and the beach. Walk or bike out the door to unspoiled Hatton canyon.

The beautiful bedroom has a double bed with a great mattress. If you need a queen or king, that may not be the best choice for you.

Moonglow has a newly remodeled bathroom with lovely tile shower, kitchenette and living room with a welcoming corner fireplace. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room (converts to a queen bed) plus a bistro table with 2 chairs, a dresser with drawers, and a rocking chair.

The HDTV and Blu-ray player stream Netflix and other Apps seamlessly via the fast Comcast Wi-Fi.

Two complimentary passes to the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium are included.

Moonglow is smoke free. No pets, please.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Chuck and Diane Elliott (Owner)
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Chuck and Diane Elliott

Our romance began in 1961 when Diane came to Carmel to be a 4th grade teacher at Carmel River School. She met Chuck who had just left the Navy's Blue Angels and was enrolled in the Naval Postgraduate School. In 1964 we were married and began a life together. Through the years, as a Navy family, we lived many places, but always returned to Carmel to visit our old friends and to bask in the beauty of the area. Of course, we always wished we had bought a place when we first lived here, and never really thought we would ever live in Carmel

Chuck and Diane Elliott purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Chuck and Diane Elliott chose Central Coast California

In 2004 we fell in love with Sundance, a rustic and secluded home on a half acre overlooking Hatton Canyon. We immediately bought it, sold our home in Del Mar, and became Carmelites. We love it here and have never looked back. Our family and friends enjoyed staying in the guest cottage, and after our son built a magnificent deck around it we christened it 'Moonglow' and decided to offer it as a vacation rental. As you can see from the guestbook, it has been very popular.

What makes this cottage unique

Moonglow is close to everything in Carmel, the Monterey Peninsula, Carmel Valley and Big Sur, yet secluded and quiet.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you Chuck & Diane - what a sweet & serene place this is. We loved the artistic details of the architecture and the garden. The trees are very peaceful and beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 97

Reviews

4.7
based on 31 traveler reviews

Moonglow: Forest tranquility..private hot tub..aquarium passes
average rating of 4.677419 based on 128 reviews
4

Beatiful location

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was very nice quiet location, about 10- 15 minute drive to the Carmel beach, and convenient to Monterey. The small kitchen is adequate for drinks, snacks and sandwich fixings. Unfortunately, the hot tub is no longer working. As that was one of the primary reasons for selecting this location, we were rather disappointed. Even so, it is a nice, affordable location, easily accessibly (just beware of local traffic).

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, the hot tub stopped working while these folks were here. It has now been repaired and is working perfectly. Chuck and Diane Elliott
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, cozy, serene.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Moonglow. It is so close to the village of Carmel and has every amenity you could want. It's quaint and funky, just like Carmel! We loved sitting in the hot tub and relaxing on the deck in the sunshine.

Chuck and Diane even left us a little note and a bottle of wine to get our weekend started. We really felt welcomed. Thank you!

My only suggestion is for a light near the hot tub (for night tubbing - and maybe there is one we couldn't find), and the wood planks near the back side of the hot tub are starting to get soft.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Treehouse Atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

We loved the quiet surroundings among the trees. We particularly enjoyed being off the beaten path, away from downtown, but within a 5 minute drive. The apt. was delightfully decorated, comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. Diane and Chuck were gracious, hospitable hosts. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a personal note and chilled local wine. The hot tub and aquarium passes were particularly appreciated and everything about our stay was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this special place. Hopefully we can return and put the bikes and kayaks to use. We've recommended this rental to our family and friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
5

Magical get-away in the trees!

  • 5 of 5

Moonglow is a true find -- it's in a lovely setting, has charming decor, an efficient lay-out, and is cozy through and through! Awaiting us upon our arrival was a welcome note and bottle of wine from Chuck and Diane. So kind! Moonglow is both close to downtown Carmel and just far enough away to seem like a real country get-away. The biggest problem we faced was having to leave! Thank you! We plan to be back again!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Donna. We enjoyed meeting all of you. Chuck and Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice cozy place

  • 5 of 5

The place is great for 2 people. It was easy to check in and so close to town.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful

  • 5 of 5

A very special cottage in a forest setting. Very nicely decorated, cozy and all the amenities you could want/need in a kitchenette. Very workable small space for reheating food. Living room area is separated from bedroom/kitchenette with french doors. A nice touch. Electric fireplace provides heat and bedroom area has baseboard heat which is more effective. Very relaxing and close to town, although not within walking distance for me!! Love the area.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review. We enjoyed having you as a guest so much, and would love for you to return. Have a wonderful New Year. Sincerely, Diane and Chuck Elliott
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Monterey
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Pebble Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
CA 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Carmel
Car: recommended

Experience the world famous Carmel beach. Stroll through downtown Carmel- by-the-Sea. Enjoy the unparalleled art galleries, shopping and restaurants. Bike the beautiful 17 mile drive through the Del Monte Forest. Walk through Mission Trails Park to the historic Carmel Mission. Immerse yourself in the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Drive the spectacular coast highway south to the redwoods of Big Sur. Experience the stunning view from Nepenthe Restaurant. Visit the Steinbeck Museum in Salinas. Hike the magnificent trails of Point Lobos State Park. Golf the many gorgeous courses of the Monterey Peninsula. Play tennis at the public courts 2 blocks away. Enjoy one of the special events held throughout the year.

Other Activities: Aquarium, shopping, kayaking, boating, wildlife viewing, basketball

Photos

Rates & Availability

Carmel-by-the-Sea Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late summer
Aug 23 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
 
Autumn
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
 
December
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
 
Holidays
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
 
Jan, early Feb
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
 
AT&T
Feb 7 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Late Feb, March
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
 
April
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
 
Big Sur Marathon
Apr 28 2017 - May 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$220
Fri,Sat
 
 
May
May 2 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
 
Summer
May 26 2017 - Aug 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
 
Concours
Aug 15 2017 - Aug 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $60
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.5%

Moonglow is perfect for 2 people. In exceptional cases, we will consider more than 2 for an additional charge. You should be aware that there is a double bed and a sleeper sofa, one bathroom to be shared, and limited storage space for suitcases.
Rates may be higher for weekends, holidays and special events.
Moonglow is smoke free.
Sorry, we do not accept pets

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Carmel-by-the-Sea Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Tile shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper sofa converts to a queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fireplace, spacious deck, canyon view, private jacuzzi, wireless high speed Internet, HDTV, Blu-ray, Netflix, Bluetooth mobile speaker, bicycles, golf clubs, tennis racquets, tandem kayak, backpacks, ice chest, beach gear, kitchenette, microwave, cooking utensils, linens, gas grill (BBQ), 2 complimentary passes for the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Moonglow is perfect for 2 people. In exceptional cases, we will consider more than 2 for an additional charge. You should be aware that there is a double bed and a sleeper sofa, one bathroom to be shared, and limited storage space for suitcases.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties