Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pet Friendly Beach/Golf/Fishing Cottage, Boat Ramp, Private Piers,

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6.

Both cottages, Crane Cottage (#250580) Beachwelcome2 or Thrush Cottage (4179937) Beachwelcome1 are three bedroom, two bath, pet friendly cottages come with large porches, large yards, and full access to our two piers, a boat ramp on the inter-coastal waterway. THREE DAY RATES ONLY AVAILABLE IF COTTAGE IS STILL NOT BOOKED ONE WEEK BEFORE THE DATES YOU WANT. Google beachwelcome to see both simultaneously. We are one mile from the main beach with well stocked kitchens and a laundry room,front and back porches, large private front and back yards, directly across from Bricks Landing Golf Course, one mile from the main beach. Crane Cottage is 500 yards from the piers and boat ramp. Thrush Cottage is two blocks from our piers and boat ramp.Check our calendar page for each cottage. If you want sheets, kayaks, fishing gear, beach gear, see reservation form on our beachwelcome website or call me


Owner
Michael Healy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Michael Healy

I am a retired Montgomery County Maryland School Teacher. I love Ocean Isle Beach for the beach, fishing, golfing and kayaking in the marshes along our inter-coastal waterway where I like to fish and take lots of photos.

Michael Healy purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Michael Healy chose Ocean Isle Beach

The community has two piers and a boat ramp which we love to use. It is surrounded by beautiful beaches and golf courses. The people are warm, friendly and helpful.

What makes this cottage unique

Great fishing off our piers, excellent boat ramp, Bricks Landing Gold Course directly across the street.

Amenities

Ocean Isle Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Both Bathrooms have a full bath and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Crane Cottage has a King Size Bed, A Full Size bed, two single beds, and a queen fold out sofa.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
visit out website www.beachwelcome.com to see lots more pictures and to get directions to the cottage

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Pet Friendly Beach/Golf/Fishing Cottage, Boat Ramp, Private Piers,
average rating of 4.631579 based on 38 reviews
5

Property is comfortable, with all we needed.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 and pets had a great time at Crane Cottage! The cottage is comfortable, and we enjoyed having the use of all the amenities. The beach at Ocean Isle is the best. This was one of our best vacations, ever! We really appreciate the hospitality.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, Thank you very much for your five star review. And thanks to Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottages looking so beautiful. We look forward to serving you again next year. thanks, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lynchburg, VA
3

October Beach Trip

  • 3 of 5

Our recent trip to OIB started out with us getting lost following the owners directions! We have been going to this beach for over 20 years. If we had been told to go to OIB road and take a left at the airport ect., it would have been a lot easier. We finally arrived and the house was hot, as the a/c was broken. We called the caretaker and she was able to get a repairman out to fix the problem. Thanks so much! The owner called the next morning to check on us, which I thought was very thoughtful. There are some things that need a bit of attention. I would consider renting again if some repairs were done. Liked the location, close to beach a few miles by car, and loved being able to take our little dog.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The google map directions and address on our beachwelcome website are correct. I asked Diane why she thought I gave her wrong directions. She said," I went left one RT 179 when I should have gone right." I said but the directions said go right there. She said I know but better directions would have been to go down to the airport like we always do and we got lost trying to go your way. I said but you didn't go my way you changed directions. She said yes but it was late and when we got there the air conditioning did not work. I explained the brand new air condoning unit costing $4700 was brand new and the brand new thermostat was faulty and had to be replaced when it failed. She said she knew that and was glad we got a man out to fix it immediately. I said Diane I called you right after the man finished reinstalling the 2nd new thermostat and asked if everything was all right and if there was anything else you needed. Diane said they really liked the cottage and everythig was fine now that the air conditioning was working. After the review came out, I reminded Diane of our conversation and asked Diane why she would give us three stars if she liked everything was very happy after the faulty new air conditioning thermostat had been re-installed so quickly She said," well you gave me poor directions and the air conditioning did not work. That's what reviews are for." I asked her if there was anything else wrong with the cottage. She said not now. I asked if she would consider writing a review that reflected that. Diane said she would think about it. I am sorry when any customer has a problem. We call on the first day of every client's stay and check to make sure that everything is working properly and that our clients are happy with their cottage. Diane's and her husband did not get in until late Saturday so we were unable to reinstall the new thermostat until Sunday at 10:30 am. I wish Diane the very best. I hope they come back using their GPS or if they choose another route than the route on our beachwelcome website that they google map the directions first.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Crane Cottage in Ocean Isle North Carolina

  • 5 of 5

We were a family of five and the house was just right for us. The house is a few years old however, the Air Conditioning worked really well and I would guess the heat would be the same.

The first Sunday we were there we went to the Brunch at Bricklanding Golf Club. I felt the cost of the meal was just a little more than going to another in-named buffet restaurant. But oh so nice. It was a great way to start our vacation. I highly recommend it.

The house has private fishing pier rights on the International Waterway.

My husband and son-in-law are avid catch-and-release fishermen. They caught Sea Bass Stripes, Blowfish, Croakers, Spot, Garfish (which they re-named the ugly fish). They even saw a porpoise cashing something down the water way. The Ocean Isle Pier is only a short distance away and they tried it out for fishing as well.

For those who like to shop there are many quaint shops and antique stores from Sunset Beach, Calabash, Supply, Ocean Isle Beach, Shallotte , and Southport.

Through out the summer many of the shore towns have live entertainment at least once a week. I'm sorry to say we didn't go to any of the concerts.However, I have heard they are very good.

Crane Cottage is in a more residential area than a tourist vacation spot. The area around the cottage is very quiet and relaxing. There are two porches with table and chairs. One in the back of the house and a screened in one in the front. Crane Cottage may be in a quite area, however, it is also in a good proximity to the more active Shore Life. The best of two worlds.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much to the excellent review. We hope to serve you again next year. And thanks to Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottages looking so beautiful. Thanks, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thank you Mike!

  • 5 of 5

Another great year! We have been at Thrush and Crane Cottage! Both have been perfect for us. The family and four legged kids are all comfy, at home. So close to the water, fishing, and golf! We will see you again next year! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ruth, Thanks to you and your family for coming back every year. We love serving you. And thanks to Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottages looking so beautiful. Thanks, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Mike the owner is very accommodating.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay w our 3 dogs. We loved being able to bring them w us on vacation.

Good location for fishing off the dock. My kids enjoyed it.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Monica, Thank you for your review. Thanks to Carolyn and Donna for keep our cottages so beautiful. We look forward to serving you again next year. Thanks, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

dirty

  • 1 of 5

The bath room knobs were falling off,bath had mold, couch back ripped all the way across covered up with a blanket, dirty towels thrown in laundry room. Cleaners left whole place dirty and old food in cabinets. Ants in kitchen.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate when a customer tells us about a problem so we can fix it right away. 1. Mrs. B said the showers handles looked old. We replaced the shower handles and shower heads in both showers. 2. Mrs.B said there were ants on a counter. We explained that when it rains at the beach we sometimes get insects trying to come inside. We sprayed the outside foundation and sprayed the inside of the cabinets. 3.Mrs. B said their was a door handle loose on the bathroom door which made it impossible to use the bathroom. We tightened the door handle screw. 4. Mrs. B said there was a tear on the couch pillow. We agreed and replaced the entire couch. 5. We gave Mrs. B a $100 refund because the cottage was not as perfect as it should have been on the first day her family arrived. 6. When her husband dropped off the keys Carolyn, our caretaker gave him the $100. Mr. B. said to Carolyn, I don't know what my wife was upset about, I thought it was a very nice cottage and we had a wonderful week." And he took the $100 with him. We are confident we did everything we could to correct any problems and look closely at our best practices to see where we can improve. We are grateful that all of our customer's five star reviews make this review the exception.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wilmington or Myrtle Beach
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Bricks Landing Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 179 Beach Drive
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Ocean Isle Beach
Car: necessary

Our pet friendly cottages are three bedroom, two bath with full access to our two piers and boat ramp on Inter-coastal waterway one mile from Ocean Isle Beach by car and 1/4 mile by boat or kayak.

Other Activities: Kayaking, pier fishing, surf fishing, surfing, hiking.Golf: Over 50 golf courses in the area. Google beachwelcome to see all activities

Ski: Good water skiing on the intercoastal waterway at the end of our pier. Visit our web site to see lots of pictures of both cottages.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

THREE DAY RATES ARE AVAILABLE ONLY IF COTTAGE IS STILL NOT BOOKED ONE WEEK PRIOR TO THE THREE DAYS YOU WANT. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Please visit my web site and click on the reservation page, copy the reservation, fill it out and email it to me. If you want any additional items like sheets, pets, kayaks, fishing gear etc. The reservation will tell me what you need and tell you if there will be any additional charges. Questions, call Mike

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties