Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Kolea 5* Luxury 2 Bed /2bath Penthouse Special $289

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,273 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Kolea 5* Luxury 2 Bed /2bath Luxury PENTHOUSE $289


$289 + tax special rate ( excludes Kolea Resort Fee $10 a night).Any questions - please contact me at(949) 689. 0810

REGULAR RATE $340 a night. Now special rate of $289 a night (equivalent to one FREE NIGHT with min 7. nights booked ). plus $10 a night Kolea Resort Fee . Total $299 a night.


PLEASE READ OUR REVIEWS. Exquisite, beautiful, best. VRBO ever, everything you ever need, clean, clean and clean, more clean!

Relax or tour from our highly rated home Villla HANALEI Enjoy the best of Hawaii.


Gorgeous penthouse condo in the private exclusive beachfront resort of Kolea with beautiful mountain and peek-a-boo ocean and lagoon view from the deck, master bedroom and living room.

Our 2 /2 bath unit is almost new, has many upgrades, and is beautifully decorated. Now with a king in the master and in Bedroom 2 a choice of two twins or. joined together they make a second king. The Kitchen is fully fitted and equipped. Flat screen TVs in LR and both bedrooms. Internet with wireless. Original art helps complete the quality of the living quarters. Washer and dryer too! Alll kept clean by great local management

Push back the disappearing African mahogany sliding doors onto the lanai--and enjoy a BBQ using the Viking outdoor kitchen--with the scent of plumerias drifting through the air in the ocean breeze. This is Hawaii at its best! Uniquely for a 2 bedroom in Kolea both a dining table and 2 loungers are provided.

Our location is terrific--a short walk (200 yards approx.)to the private Beach Club that sits 50 yards off the beach at Anaeho’omalu Bay (shared with the Marriott next door). We provide beach towels, cooler and umbrella as well as a number of beach toys for children and adults.

The Club has a beautiful pool, a kiddy pool complete with waterfalls, a pebble-bottom spa that looks over the beach and bay, a work-out room with great views of the ocean, a kitchen facility you can use, fresh towels for your use, etc.

A short walk in the other direction gets you to shopping and dining at the Kings Shops, and just beyond are the new Queen's Shops. You'll never need to get in your car while on your vacation if you'd like to stay put and relax--it's all there, it's all new, and it's all right next to the warm Pacific Ocean--the reason we go to Hawaii!

(Kolea is the only residential resort within Waikaloa that has direct BEACH ACCESS--and 'A' Bay has lots of turtles and is a protected by a reef.)

If you're new to the Big Island, Kolea is in the larger community of Waikaloa Beach Resort, just 25 minutes from the Kona International Airport. It has great golf, shopping, dining, etc., and it's minutes from other beautiful beaches and activities along the Kohala Coast. We provide beach chairs, umbrella, mats, cooler, towels and some beach toys for the days you can drag yourself out of Kolea.

Along with top notch local management you can be assured you will have a fabulous vacation

More Details

Alan Oakes
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 31, 2017

About Alan Oakes

My wife and I enjoy traveling all around the world but enjoy kicking back in the peace and tranquility of Hawaii a short hop from our home in Southern California and our busy lives

Alan Oakes purchased this condo in 2011

Why Alan Oakes chose Kohala Coast

After visiting Waikoloa for several years, we came, we stayed and we purchased. We wanted a location with great access to the beach and restauarants and Kolea was the only property that met that requirment. Immaculately kept and managed it just felt right as we came through the gates. The penthouse apartments with easy elevator access enjoy high celings and openess.

What makes this condo unique

Having stayed in many condos the past years we wanted to create a true home from home not only for ourselves but also our guests. We have furnished the condo with attention to detail and comfort and flair. better equipped that most and we have tried to think of all you need on a vacation

Guestbook comments from the owner

Edited from guestbook:

We love this place here. Thanks for making your home feel like ours.
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 31


Waikoloa Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1273 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) or maybe combined as a king
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Viking BBQ and cooking center on lanai Condo completely painted and refurnished for 2012 Hawaiian Dream home


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Kolea 5* Luxury 2 Bed /2bath Penthouse Special $289
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 49 reviews

10th Anniversary Trip

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this condo when we went to Hawaii for our 10th anniversary with our two children. We arrived a little early and the place was still being cleaned. We'd stopped at Costco to get food while down in Kona and they graciously let us stop by early and put our food in the refrigerator so it didn't go bad in the hot car. The space was awesome. It was always so nice to come back to a clean, cool condo. Pool area was great. We spent a lot of time there. The beach was close, as were a number of amenities. Hapuna Beach and Beach 69 were our favorites, and were just down the road. Our booking agent was super nice and helpful throughout the process. While we were there, two hurricanes hit the island. She called to make sure we knew they were coming and had enough water/food on hand. (That side of the island really didn't get hit much, so it wasn't really an issue.) It was nice to have the washer and drier in the unit, keeping our towels fresh and our kids clothes clean. Absolutely no complaints from us. We are looking at booking this unit again this year. I highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for spending your 10th anniversary with us. So many of our guests are celebrating birthdays or anniversaries with us that we are honored you choose us. Mahalo. I am so sorry that you were here with the potential of hurricanes but glad nothing bad happened and glad Wendee followed up with you. She is such a great asset for us. Again glad I you enjoyed our home and so happy you will be back this weekend ear. Mahalo Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5


Our family had a great time while staying in your property. It was just like the description in the listing. Location was great and close to most anything you would want. Other family members were in another unit close by so it was a great trip to Kona. Came for granddaughters wedding so there were lots of friends there from the "mainland". Grooms family was from Kona and Maui. Wedding was at the Mauna Kea which is a great place to view Manta Rays in the evening. two other restaurants that stood out were the Lava Lava Beach club and Sansie Seafood Restaurant.

Would recommend your condo to all. It was a pleasure.

Michael & Sharon

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael, Sharon Thanks so much for your review-- extremely appreciated. So glad you had what sounds a great family trip and happy our unit was exactly as presented. Our future guests will also appreciate your tips. Hope to see you back in the future Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bucks County, PA

Our third trip to the BI and this condo is THE best so far!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for two weeks in late July and although it was El Nino and the hottest trip to Hawaii that we have experienced, we really enjoyed this condo. It was WONDERFUL! Everything you need to have a relaxing time. Working with Wendee was great, seamless, and because it was hot, we had to use the AC and the elevator a bit more than usual and glad we had both. These owners have thought of everything, and the "penthouse" was extremely quiet and had those gorgeous views for sunrises and sunsets. The kitchen was stocked with the essentials to get started, and we so appreciated this. Also, the beautiful decor, the well-stocked kitchen and the awesome master bath is truly what you see in the photos.

Even though it was hot and humid we spent a lot of time on the lanai. Sliding those doors back in the morning when it was cool made the coffee taste better (even being Kona Coffee!) and the table and chairs were wonderful. In the later evening after being at A Bay or Mauna Kea beach, using the chaise lounges to relax with a glass of wine and then cook steaks on your own grill was a treat. (Our last place literally had a line at the grill :-( so having the summer kitchen was really worth it!). For the first time ever, we DID spend quite a few nights in the condo.

And everything you would want for the beach is there, including a cooler. We have bought many chairs and coolers on our six trips to Hawaii. This was the first year we didn't have to!!!! I also want to say that this is convenient to the beach, pool, and you can walk to the Shops if you want. We also went to the Tropics Ale House (great mai tais!) and Lava Lava Club, Quinn's, Don the Beachcomber and Orchid Thai in Kona. We also tried Monstera for the first time, and it was awesome (a must if you like sushi).

Thank you to the owners for sharing this beautiful condo!

So, I would like to recommend this place to others, but I really want to keep it a secret so we can get our dates for next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Crista thank you so much for the great review and so pleased you will enjoy your stay. I will let Wendee know as well For legal reasons we tend to downplay the views but they are indeed lovely and open( as many units are not). And yes we got so fed up on our travels of not having or missing stuff that we do try to provide everything you need to be able to USE our home and not feel the need to have to go out every night FYI. Monstera is one of our favorites too Hope to see you back in the future Mahalo Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States

Second stay even better than the first - LOVE this place

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time my husband and I stayed at this unit in Kolea. I always rent apartments on vacation and frankly most have worn out furniture, kitchen accessories and are generally "tired." This is one is like vacationing in a model home that was just opened for the first time. It has every possible kitchen gadget, comfortable furniture and the location can't be beat. I can't recommend this place enough...and I agree with the other reviewer that the pictures don't begin to do justice to the apartment or the location. It is so much better...and that rarely happens.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words and very happy to have had you as our guests again. We continue to add to what we offer so appreciate your comments. Great that you had another great vacation and look forward to seeing you back in the future Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hilo, Hawaii

Absolutely 100% perfect, too perfect...

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay at Kolea and we have stayed in many condos along the Kohala Coast and this one was the nicest we have ever stayed at. The pictures do not do the villa justice. A few things that a renter may want to know, the pictures do not do the view justice. At Kolea there are many units that face other units in the complex and have no view to speak of, this unit is on the second floor and faces the beach and hotel pool next door. The view is quite amazing and even though there is a photo in this listing it really is much better in person. The covered parking is close by and if you have visitors there is ample additional parking. The complex is very well run and picture perfect. The beach club was nice and not crowded, we were able to get a cabana or sit next to the pool each time we went. Access to the beach is great as well, there is also a gate that is a very short walk to the hotel property next door that is great if you want to get a meal or pay to use their pool. We did use the resort pool next door once, they give you a room for the day and it cost $99.00 for the entire family. This unit is very well equipped, clean and decorated nicely. The bedding is top of the line and the beds themselves are very comfortable. The air conditioning works ice cold, although we had it turned off often and just opened the pocket doors and enjoyed the cool weather. There are ample towels, beach supplies and kitchen items. The management company is great and responds to any issues in a timely manner. We loved this unit so much that we extended our stay two days. Our only disappointment is that the unit was booked in March for spring break and we will have to stay somewhere else. Thank you again for a great time and great unit.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Reed, Reed, thank you so much for taking the time to review and your very generous comments that I have also forwarded to Wendee who keeps it all going in our absence. I am pleased you had such a great stay and very sorry we are booked for your other dates. You are right about the view, it is a very peaceful view that we love. So hope to see you back soon. Mahalo Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Memphis TN

couples vaycay

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely amazing condo and visit. Everything was perfect.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reana Thanks so much for the review. Very much appreciated. We are happy that you had a great vacation. We are packing our bags and fly there tomorrow and cant wait to get back! Mahalo Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
A beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Kolea Resort Fee included in rate
For stays of less than 7 days please contact owner. Normal rate is $325
Special holiday rates apply

Hawaii TAX ID W57891217-01

Payment terms will be sent in reply to your enquiry. There is an initial small deposit with the balance due 60 days from date of arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing