check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Shari

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

~ Chosen by ABC's 'THE BACHELOR'... Your Romantic Oasis Awaits ~

53 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Fernwood Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Twin size Sleeping Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

~ With the Hustle and Bustle of our busy lives... Now is the Perfect time of year to enjoy a day of FUN & SUN in a Vast selection of Beautiful beaches, or a long awaited ROMANTIC RETREAT (hidden in the beautiful Santa Monica mountains).

~ Chosen by the producer of 'The Bachelor / Bachelorette', our property was designed by the homeowners to evoke a Tranquil and Romantic atmosphere that is both welcoming and Inviting... A wrap around deck leads to your 'Own Private Yard' where you can relax underneath a canopy of oaks, or Soak in the JACUZZI with Surreal Views as your backdrop.

BEAUTIFUL HIKING TRAILS SURROUND THIS LOCATION ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RESOURCES FOR YOUR VACATIONING EXPERIENCE such as ' TOP Rated RESTAURANTS, SHOPPING, CINEMA, INTIMATE CAFES & Coffee shops, YOGA, ART GALLERIES, DAY SPA'S AND Much MORE.

With an abundance of outdoor activities nearby to enjoy... your ROMANTIC RETREAT AWAITS...

Guest Comments: ** Enjoy Some Guests Comments Below entered in our In-House Guest Book **

(1)

What a Lovely Home you have Shari & Bert!

Thank you for opening it up to us. Your Kindness & Hospitality did not go unappreciated. We will keep these memories of your Sweet & Tranquil Cottage close to our hearts every time we think of Nick's first Movie 'Your's Mine and Our's' also starring Renee Russo & Dennis Quaid.

Good Wishes & Much Love To Your Family-

* Tiffany, Michael, & Nicky *

(Return Guests)

(2)

1st Anniversary & Honeymoon

Hi Shari & Bert,

We don't even know where to start to say 'Thank you'...

The experience was truly above and beyond our expectations.

The cottage was a Perfect Combination of Rustic Elegance & Coziness. It really felt like we were at home.

We will never forget the hospitality you've shown us.

Much Love

* Jelo & Elise *

(3)

Sweet Shari & Bert,

Thank you so much for your Kindness & hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return very soon!!

All the best with the new baby.

* Melanie & Lou *

(4)

Hi Shari,

We enjoyed our week @ your lovely place & saw alot. It was so great to come back to a Quiet and Relaxing Atmosphere!

All our best!

* Richard & Cheryl *

Marysville, Washington

P.S. What a Great Breakfast!!

~~ Please e-mail us for additional details and any special requests.....

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Shari (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Shari,



The best part of this wonderful Treehouse Fantasy... Well the obvious, the chirping frogs in the Moonlight while soaking in the jacuzzi, the Comfort of Soft music, Candle lit terraced stairs - Solitude - and of course meeting you..



Your manner is one of Grace and Charm but always professional. I now look forward to calling you my Friend.



Peace in the New Year.



Love,

Barbara

N.Y.C.
Jan 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 53 traveler reviews

~ Chosen by ABC's 'THE BACHELOR'... Your Romantic Oasis Awaits ~
average rating of 4.8679247 based on 54 reviews
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

Me and my boyfriend spent our one year here and It was gorgeous! It was awesome we were allowed to bring my fur baby with us! It was very private and relaxing nice get away from our busy daily lives. It was clean and was stocked with things that I didn't even think of to bring like cooking utinsials! They gave us a great packet with tons of cool and great restaurants to try as well as informing us of grocery stores and attractions that were near by, every night we stayed we went on a adventure and found something awesome, not to mention how amazing the spa was! They were so nice and kind and welcoming I'm glad to be saying I will be coming back! Thank you guys for a awesome stay :)

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Such a relaxing Memorial Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend!

My 1 year old daughter, wife and dog stayed here for 3 nights over this recent Memorial weekend. Everything people have written about the parking is true. The 27 North is a busy road but their driveway had plenty of space for us to park. There are 3 small flights of stairs so pack as light as possible. Here's my review on the rental:

Inside - You're not renting this place for the inside of the unit. It's built for renters meaning the furnishings are kept well but older, small TV, etc. Kitchen is small but functional. Fridge kept a surprising amount of food. Freezer holds ONLY ice.. don't bring ice cream. Bring your own coffee! Bedroom and bathroom were fine. Again, you're not renting this place for the interior.

Exterior - AMAZING! They've had some recent upgrades to the outdoors which added so much for us having a one year old. The jacuzzi was great (maybe a little over chlorinated the first day (we got a little itchy) but the second and third nights were perfect). Backyard was great for our dog and they had lots of furniture to set up shop with a book on. The back of the yard had a path that led to a brand new gazebo that had great furniture and an outdoor flatscreen with Smarthub features (Netflix) on it. We found ourselves out there with wine most nights while our kid slept watching Netflix.

15 minutes to a place you can let your dog off leash (go to Tuna Canyon Park)

15 minutes to Whole Foods

10-15 minutes to the beach

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Friends Birthday Gettaway

  • 5 of 5

My best friend and I are separated East Coast - West Coast and can only indulge in occasional phone or face time dates. We chose this cottage as a special birthday celebration location and it was absolutely perfect for our needs!

We loaded up on groceries at Whole Foods, climbed the steps to this lovely, quiet, scenic cottage and ate and talked (with wine :-)) for 48 straight hours! Shari had set the bistro table on the deck with a white cloth and vase of roses and we enjoyed the fresh air and the mountain view sitting and chatting outside our first night. The cottage included two of the most enveloping soft white spa robes - little did I know at the beginning that we would spend so much time wrapped up in those! The kitchen was just perfect for our needs and the cottage was both bright during the day and cozy at night. The hot tub on the deck was the grand finale - nothing like bubbling away under the stars with a glass of champagne while any aches and pains melted away.

We did make one venture out to walk and sit on the beach - just a few minutes down the road.

Shari was extremely sweet and accomodating and I would definitely go back if in Southern CA again!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

One of my favorites so far

  • 5 of 5

We frequently do weekends away at VRBO sites and have for a few years. This is one of my top rentals thus far. Things to know: The cottage is not at street level. It is up about 4 sections of brick steps with spots to rest in between. Only an issue when carrying luggage in and out but well worth the climb. Once at the top, you don't want to leave. There is no freezer to speak of. Ice cream isn't what you want to bring. There is no tv in the bedroom. The coffee pot is small (I'm a big coffee drinker in the morning!). So simply be prepared for any of these that are important to you. And you'll be in HEAVEN!

The PRO's: The attention to detail is amazing. It doesn't feel like "rental" furniture. Everything you need for cooking is there (except no spices that I could find...just bring what you like). A nice grill is available on the BEAUTIFUL deck. The hot tub is delightful for two. In the evening the moon and stars are spectacular. In the morning the birds and butterflies are delightful. It is private and feels so secluded. The hosts are very accommodating but invisible.

If you, like me, want to feel removed and secluded, love nature, value a beautiful setting over a street level access and appreciate attention to detail...this is the place for you!

Enjoy

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Sweet place in the woods

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely little place mid-way up Topanga canyon--i.e., away from it all. The host was very nice, and really focused on romantic touches like tea candles to light the path, a hammock in a secluded location, and a ready and waiting clean and delightful jacuzzi. It is more simple than fancy, but it is quite enchanting. If you are driving in and are exhausted from the flight/drive, you may want to call ahead to make sure the house is ready-we weren't able to check in until 7 pm despite the stated 4 pm check-in and were fried from driving through LA. The house is clean, cute, and well cared for. The bed was not overly comfortable, but the linens and pillows and towels were all nice quality. There are 3 flights of stairs to get to the house, so be prepared for a lovely walk up. Parking is super sketchy if the driveway is full--its on Topanga canyon road, which is curvy and full of crazy rushed drivers. It is totally self catered, so bring what you need because you won't want to leave once you get there--though the host is glad to supply what she may have on hand.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome hospitality, great location, relaxing experience!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed in both cottages on this property. Topanga Canyon is a quaint little hideaway community in between Malibu and Calabasas. It has unique shops and restaurants among beautiful tree filled hills with plenty of hiking trails. We enjoyed both although our favorite was the one with the hot tub! Both cottages are clean, well decorated and fully equipped. The animals on the property - Buffalo the dog and Salem the black cat were an added treat for our 2 year old. Shari lined the stairs nightly with candles which was a nice touch! Shari and Bert were great hosts! Beaches in Malibu are a short drive away, as is Santa Monica. We will definitely stay here again as you get a relaxing experience that doesn't feel like you are in the midst of a huge city with convenient access to city attractions. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Nestled in a PARK-LIKE setting, our one bedroom, one bath, Guest Cottage is bigger than a hotel room and definitely more private... and might be just what you're looking for! A WRAP-AROUND DECK provides BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN VIEWS with a canopy of oak trees to soothe your troubles away... or... If you must work Wireless INTERNET is available!

Other Activities: Day Spa, Coffee shops, Top-Rated Restaurants,Shopping, Tennis, kayaking, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, parasailing, boating, health/beauty spa

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fernwood Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
- SUMMER
Jun 1 2016 - Oct 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,350
 
 
- FALL
Oct 2 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,350
 
 
- WINTER
Dec 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,350
 
 
- SPRING
Mar 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15
Cleaning $60

** Please inquire about HOLIDAY RATES **
* SPRING: Offered at $200/night M-TH, $225.00/Weekends, $1350/week
* SUMMER: Offered at $200/night M-TH, $225.00/Weekends, $1350/week
* WINTER & FALL: Offered at $200.00/night M-TH, $225.00/Weekends

* 2 Night Min. on all Reservations *

* Please inquire about Holiday Rates & Required Deposit
* ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF PAYMENT: C/C through Pay pal -

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fernwood Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , * QUEEN SIZE BED w/ tiny sleeping loft in bedroom
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Nestled in a Park-Like setting, our one bedroom, one bath, Guest Cottage is bigger than a hotel room and definitely more private... and might be just what you're looking for! A Wrap-Around Deck provides Beautiful Mountain Views with a canopy of oak trees to soothe your troubles away... or... If you must work Wireless Internet is available! Beautiful hiking trails surround this location along with plenty of resources for your vacationing experience.. MALIBU BEACH is just minutes away offering miles of miles of Beautiful beaches, or head South to the 'World Famous' amusement park on the Santa Monica Pier & the 3rd st. promenade. For guests staying a week or longer, there is a local dry cleaning service that also launders your clothes. Just a 2 minute drive away.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties