Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BEST location for yoga and the beach. In between Bodhi Tree & Playa Guiones

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

SPACIOUS House, 3 Bedrooms 2 1/2 Baths, (Sps 6) large salt water pool, bali bed

This beautiful house combines a short walk to Playa Guiones, or the Nosara Yoga Institute, with internet, phone, pool, a large pool deck and fully equipped kitchen in the residential K section, considered the most prestigious area in the American Project. The master (king bed) bedroom has an ensuite bath,with a large shower enhanced with Balinese river rocks to massage your feet. The second bath is a separate room with another large shower and sink. In addition there is another half bath. One bedroom has a queen bed, and the third can be twins or a king. All the bedrooms have large glass doors opening onto the pool deck and views of the treetops as well. The is a security alarm system and a separate safe in each bedroom, as well as individual ac units. Balinese furniture, beautiful textiles, upgraded linens, maid service once a week, daily pool service, very attentive owner and manager. Let us take care of you!!

Heartwaves has been a long term rental for the past two years, and we are excited to have upgraded the linens, towels, fans, kitchen items : all new for our return to the rental/ vacation market. Which has been going really really well. Thank you!!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Jane Fryer
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, so sorry, just english!!
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Jane Fryer

My love of yoga and the ocean brought me to Nosara and Heartwaves is my home which expresses that love. I teach at the Nosara Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort up the street, and the Harmony Hotel Healing Centre,

and live locally.

Jane Fryer purchased this house in 2007

Why Jane Fryer chose Guanacaste

Nosara and Playa Guiones are the best of Costa Rica with an unspoiled beach and an incredible community of surfers, yogis, nature lovers and others seeking a special experience. We have gained a global reputation as a conscious sustainable community, and love hosting people from all over the world. With recent mention in the New York Times, CNN, and National Geographic, Nosara is on the map!! this piece only continues to expand as Nosara and especially Guiones beach gains momentum and visibility around the world. This little town has indeed changed since we arrived here 20 years ago. However, the beach, which is the reason to choose us ( well, the underlying reason), is still protected. Still divine, and still 3 km of the most gorgeous waves, and sunsets you can imagine. Perfect for surfing, strolling and merging with what is Mother Nature's finest. And, we have monkeys that visit in the trees surrounding the wrap around deck.

What makes this house unique

This house is in K section, which is quiet yet close to the beach. It is a short walk to the beach, 5-7 minutes, and has telephone and internet to stay connected. It is 5 minutes from the Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort, if you are taking classes there, and is a perfect space for socializing and entertaining. There is an 'energy' at Heartwaves that is like a luxurious tree house. The monkeys chat all day long, the birds grace the skies with sweet songs. Heartwaves gardens are spectacular, and the house is always surrounded by lush greens and vibrant colors. Since the two decks surrounds the big pool, the invitation to lounge outside is ever present. A large Bali Bed sits on the porch , and it's one piece that everyone wants to take home. The furniture is mostly Balinese, and we have a lot of comfy morroccan pouffes for extra seating and more lounging options. The beds also have extra pillows for reading and your total comfort.

Amenities

Playa Guiones House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • the master bath is a full one ensuite. The second bath is split. One room has a sink and shower. The other has a toilet and sink. Bedrooms 2 and 3 share this.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2) King bed in master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in second bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) two twins in third bedroom can be made into King
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
jacuzzi in pool

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
BEST location for yoga and the beach. In between Bodhi Tree & Playa Guiones
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
5

Peaceful and welcoming!

  • 5 of 5

So much to say about this beautiful property, the welcoming owner, and friendly staff! This house is as beautiful, if not more, than depicted in the pictures. It is spacious, yet cozy. Gently sloping stairs lead to a covered terrace that overlooks the beautifully kept grounds and pool. There are multiple fans that help cool the terrace, a comfortable Bali bed for relaxing, a large grill, and a table and several chairs for al fresco dining or socializing. Inside, the house is clean and well equipped with kitchen items, towels, linens, etc. There are fans throughout the house and large screened doors and windows that allow the breeze to keep the temperature at a comfortable level. There is a/c and privacy roller shades in all of the bedrooms. The house is located in a more quiet part of Playa Guiones. The sound of monkeys, birds, and other jungle chatter woke us up for early morning surf sessions. The house is just a short walk to the beach and we made our way back to the house late morning to cool off in the pool and plan our day's adventure.

Jason, the grounds keeper, has an easy smile and manner. He tended to the property daily, made sure the pool and patio were clean, and checked in to ensure we were doing okay. The owner, Jane, and her sweet dog Charlie put us immediately at ease when she welcomed our family upon arrival. The owner stays on the grounds, but gave us plenty of space and privacy. We actually wished we would have seen her more because she has such great energy. This house provided a wonderful home base for our group of five (three adults and two teens) and we hope to come back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! so delighted that you had such a wonderful vacation at Heartwaves. Although i do stay on the property when i am in Nosara, my wonderful management company, Mango, takes care of everyone when when i travel this great wide world, which is often :*) Jason loved speaking Spanish, and remarked what a nice family you have ! All the best, Jane and Charley ~ the waves will be perfect for your return....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Acceptable but not outstanding

  • 3 of 5

My mom and aunt, and I rented this property for 7 nights, we left 3 nights early. I will give a quick list of Pros and Cons for our stay.

Pros:

~Price - off season rate for a 7 nights in a 3 bedrooms house was quite affordable for the area.

~Beach was about a 7 min walk away.

~Private Pool, above street level.

Cons:

~We left to go have breakfast and planned to come back for a swim, However, we came back to find half a tree in the pool. I thought maybe the tree had broke. But no, Jason, the gardener/pool guy, said he just needed to cut it because he could not keep the pool clean. A strange time to do this on the first morning of new guests and no notice. Anyhow, we had to wait 2-2.5hrs for them to finish cleaning up the mess.

~The living room furniture is not comfortable or functional for more than a single person or maybe a couple. Nor was the furniture under the covered patio, it does not work for 3 adults to just hang out for very long. Two people could use the outdoor bali bed but anyone else has to seat in one of the upright chairs. The furniture became an issue for us in the evenings after it was dark when we wanted to relax and hang out. We just could not get comfortable. Not an issue for us as we didn't go there to watch TV, I will note there is only one TV and it is in the master bedroom.

~There is a washer/dryer but it was kept locked up so we could not do laundry. We tried to ask the maid if we could do one load while she was there. She said no.

~Maid service, not sure if you want to call it that. I will say I don't believe the woman who 'cleaned' during our stay was the usual person. Nonetheless, a maid is still suppose to clean. She did sweep and take out the trash. We mostly stayed outside while she was there. However, 2 of us come inside twice to get something and found her just sitting on the couch in the living room. I thought maybe she was just killing time laundering the linens. Nope, nothing was washed. She did not change our sheets, only remade the beds. No fresh towels, in fact I had a dirty towel on the bathroom floor she folder and rehung on the towel bar as if it was a clean one, even though there was clearly a dirt mark on it.

~ The A/C unit in the middle bedroom makes a loud weird noise everything 10-15 mins, a bit annoying when you are trying to sleep.

~ The window blinds have metal end caps that tink against the wall when the a/c is going.

Anyhow, we decided to find somewhere else to stay and left 3 nights early

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Liz, Thanks for your comments. I will address them. But first, I gave you a five star review as a guest ( there were no problems you shared with me); and i was happy to expedite the return of your damage deposit as you requested. The pool. Jason said the pool was filled with flowers which made it hard to clean. He saw you leave for breakfast and thought you were going to the beach and he would have time to take care of the problem by trimming the tree. When you returned, he told you what was happening, and said you were fine with it, and enjoyed a clean pool after that. The maid. You are right. She was not our regular cleaning person. So, I regret that your experience with her was less than expected. The towels. Heartwaves has lots of towels for guests. Two per person in the house, one pool towel, and one beach towel. They only are laundered once a week. Same with the bed linens. In Nosara we have a consciousness around sustainability; on the beach, recycling plastic and glass, composting, and at Heartwaves that is important to us. We are not a hotel, and when you leave a towel on the floor it gets picked up. The maid should have done your personal laundry. As i mentioned, she was not our regular person. Again, you did not tell me this happened and was an issue for you and your Mom and Aunt. The furniture. Sorry it is not to your taste. In many years of sharing Heartwaves with groups of everything from six adults, to families of all sizes, we have never had one complaint. And, since your review is slightly nit picky.... I will add that the extra chairs on the deck are not "straight backed" at all. And, since our furniture is from Bali, it does require lots and lots of pillows so you can arrange them to your comfort. No, we do not have traditional sofas and loungers like perhaps your older ladies prefer. The bali bed can easily fit three people. It is the size of a queen bed, and has 15 pillows of all sizes with slanted sides and back for your comfort. The living room sofa is as wide as a single bed and as mentioned, has lots of great, newly recovered throw pillows as well. We also have a rocking chair there, and Moroccan pouffes for extra options. And, the three bar stools at the kitchen counter. The pictures reflect exactly what is available. We take great care and pride in our service at Heartwaves. If you would like to give it another try, happy to offer you a 10 % discount. Be well. Jane, Jason and Mango Property Management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Function Meets Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent the last 2 weeks at Heartwaves, and it was our little Eden in Playa Guiones!

The house was clean, the towels were fluffy, the kitchen was well-equipped, and the pool was refreshing. We found the location to be perfect for us… close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping… but far enough for quiet and privacy.

While not surfing or dining at one of Guiones’ many awesome restaurants, we spent most of our time on the lovely covered patio. I felt like a lazy princess lounging on the huge Bali bed. Perched up on the hill amongst all the palm branches we watched howler monkeys in the mornings, little lizards and iguanas (I named all of them) and enjoyed listening to the chorus of Costa Rica’s birds and frogs. The ceiling fans (3 on the patio and some in every room of the house, even the bathrooms!) gave a great breeze and chased away the mosquitos. We made dinner on the big grill several times, and ate al fresco outside at the big table.

The house is situated on a hill above one of Guiones’ dirt roads, but the gardens around the house are lush creating privacy. The road isn’t heavily traveled, however we noticed more “traffic” first thing in the morning and before dinner when people were starting and ending their day. Personally I enjoyed watching how many people the locals can fit on a motorcycle or the ingenious ways surfers carry their surf boards to the beach!

The bed was comfortable and was a true king-size mattress, with new pillows and linens. The armoire was huge so we didn’t have to live out of suitcases, which was nice. We were thankful for the AC unit at night which helped us sleep.

My husband was impressed by the internet strength (sometimes it’s the little things, ya know?).

Heartwaves has a full time gardener who takes care of the gardens and pool. Jason was polite and discreet and did a wonderful job.

The house is not brand new, but it functions very well and is priced accordingly. Jane, the owner, is a Yoga instructor with a wonderful spirit and it is reflected in the artwork and vibe of the house. We can’t wait for our next visit!!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfectly Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Heartwaves was perfect for our very active family of 6! We spent 12 days over Christmas at this beautiful jungle oasis. The house is beautifully landscaped that provides lots of privacy and set back from the road. The pool is perfect size and provides convenient place to cool off. The house is so comfortable, clean, and stocked with anything you might need. My 4 kids age in range from 7-18. We all surf and do yoga. This house is located nicely for a quick walk to both. Best surf break around, and awesome drop in yoga classes. Jane was very helpful and responsive, as were both the housekeeper and landscaper. The town provides great food options wether you want to eat out or buy local and cook at home. We fell in love with Heartwaves and Nosara and hope to return someday.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank so much for sharing your family's experience Kathleen. Really a treat to meet you and yours, and just delighted that Heartwaves contributed to such a wonderful holiday vacation. You guys did it all!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect jungle oasis

  • 5 of 5

Heartwaves 2 proved the perfect homebase for a group of five of us (two couples and one single person) who were in Nosara for a too-short trip. Jane was very responsive from the start and continued to be throughout the booking process, arrival, and our stay. The house itself is beautiful -- the perfect size for the five of us with ample patio space, plenty of room to doze off in the shade or sun in the afternoon, a pool in which to cool off, a grill for cooking dinner and dining outside. Though not in the heart of the small town of Nosara, everything was easily within walking distance, and access to the beach is especially close (five-minute walk or so). This all served to make us feel like we were truly away from it all - but there is nothing inconvenient about the location. Everything in the house is in perfect working order, including air conditioning, kitchen, security system. The kitchen is particularly well-stocked if you're the type to cook. And Jane, in addition to being so helpful and responsive, is also so lovely. When I go back to Nosara, I will absolutely try again to stay at Heartwaves.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
5

Paradise in the Jungle

  • 5 of 5

We have been so lucky to spend the past year at Heartwaves while our children attended school in Nosara. We have two kids (7 and 10) and have had plenty of visitors over the past 12 months and the house was great in every instance. It's a short walk to the beach (7 minutes) and also a short walk through the jungle path to get to the main street of Guiones. The beach is so close that we have been down there almost every day of this past year, either for early morning runs, surfing or the amazing sunsets.

We have spent many, many days relaxing on the bali bed or on the chairs by the pool and admiring the howler monkeys and iguanas that come by to visit, we also eat dinner out there every night. Our boys have spent countless hours swimming and looking out over the infinity edge pool for jungle creatures. Jane (the owner) and the property management has always been so great to work with and responsive to anything we have needed. Jane is also a fantastic resource for local activities and knowledge. The kitchen is equipped for anything you might want to make and its really nice to have two bathrooms plus a separate shower.

We did tons of research before selecting a neighborhood and we are so glad we chose section K. Its a little more quiet and residential with lots of families but its still close and easy access to everything.

Nosara is a very special place and was made so much more so because of staying at Heartwaves. We will miss it so much. Thank you Jane for everything!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

abundant yoga and massage , Nosara is all about surfing, the beach, and the overall gorgeousness of Nature. The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort up the street has nice bikes for rent. Heartwaves is halfway between Nosara Yoga Institute and Bakers Beach entrance on South Guiones.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Playa Guiones House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$275
$1,800
$6,000
 
 
Green Season
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$235
$1,500
$5,000
 
 
November to Thanksgiving
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
5 night minimum stay
$275
$1,800
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
nov 27- dec 20
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
Holidays
Dec 20 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
High Season '18
Jan 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
$350
$2,200
$8,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $800

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Included: Maid service twice a week. Laundry once a week. AC, etc. Will send contract and prefer payment via Pay Pal or ach transfer to Welles Fargo, US Bank. Sometimes discounts are available... please inquire!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties