About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 nights
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)
A newly renovated cabin located in a quiet summer community. New kitchen, bath, eat-in dining back porch, new paint and roof and floors redone. Stone fireplace centers the living area.
Large screened in front porch has both dining area, sitting areas and futon for sleeping. Two bedrooms downstairs with a queen sized bed and twin beds. Loft has 2 double beds and living room has a double futon as well.
Lots of trees and flowers. Walk to the town beach which has picnic tables and grills. Short drive to the towns of Stockbridge and Lenox, all cultural activities, nature and bike trails. Great sleeping as it is generally cooler at night no matter how hot during the day.
Fabulous restaurants in the area, plenty of theatre and great concerts at Tanglewood. Bring a picnic and hear fabulous music under the stars if you don't have tickets to the shed. Great shopping in Great Barrington and Lenox and outlet mall in Lee.
Check out up to date activities at the Berkshire Visitors Bureau web site.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- Calendar last updated:
- Sep 25, 2017
Love gardening, kayaking, theater, concerts and photography when not working in marketing for travel and hospitality clients.
Owner purchased this Cabin in 1980
Why Owner chose Stockbridge
We finally moved here full time after spending time here summer after summer. It is a relaxing drive from NYC and Boston, very pastoral setting with lots of outdoor activities along with wonderful theater from Shakespeare & Co, Berkshire Theatre Festival, Barrington Stage, Williamstown Theater and Tanglewood, the summer home of the Boston Symphony. Museums such as The Norman Rockwell, The Clark, Berkshire Museum and Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio. Lots to do and very relaxing.
What makes this Cabin unique
Very well located between the towns of Stockbridge and Lenox and within walking distance to the Stockbridge town beach. A mile from the Lion's Gate at Tanglewood. Quiet summer community with lots of time spent on the front or back porch.
Sports & Adventure Activities
Nice, rustic cabin. Great location near Tanglewood.
A very pleasant stay.
Favorable compared to tent camping
This property is rustic...I mean, rustic. The owner is lovely and did her best to make amends for the issues we encountered. Due to a scheduling mix-up, the cleaning folks had not been there between the last guests and us, so we arrived to unmade beds, unwashed dishes, etc. The owner refunded our first night because we had not been able to reach her until the following day. That being said, it's pretty clear that the cleaning crew is far from thorough even when they clean as scheduled. There were cobwebs and dust/dirt in the corners and under a lot of the furniture, and we found a petrified bat hanging from the ceiling of the loft. If you enjoy rustic camping, you'd love this place, but if you were expecting sparkling and shiny/new, this is not the place for you. As a former large person, it also occurred to me to mention the TIGHT space surrounding the toilet; the shower enclosure was an add-on that mostly covers a window and clearly cuts into the space meant for the potty. Large people would definitely find it a challenge to use the facility. Ditto for the access to the kitchen from the living room...very narrow doorway, as the fridge partially obstructs it. Internet access was fantastic until mid-week when suddenly we could not connect; the owner connected me to their service provider to trouble-shoot; as soon as we realized it was a router problem, the owner dropped everything and came to replace the equipment. After that the internet was fine and gave us no further issues. The area is beautiful and quiet; if you get a chance to meet the folks who take care of the lawn, you're in for a treat- they are lovely and watched for a time when they saw our car gone to take care of mowing so as to not disturb us. Despite the issues we encountered, we enjoyed our vacation and appreciated that we could bring our dogs with us, but we would probably not stay at this property again.
Cozy Clean Home with Great location
Our family stayed in this home for a long weekend. It was clean and well-equiped. The location is terrific for outdoor activities and proximity to nearby cultural attractions. We hope to return!
A fun get away hideout
We spent 5 days ad 4 nights here. The accommodations were fine, and comfortable. It was a great location near to the Stockbridge Bowl beach, Tanglewood and local restaurants. The cabin had all of the ammenities we needed, although a couple of the appliances did not work. The host immediately replaced them with new ones. We had a great time here!
Nice Little Cabin
This cabin is very quaint and well located. Nothing fancy but has pretty much everything you need including two screened in porches for dining and lounging. The lake is right down the hill and the location is great for exploring the Berkshires. It is a little bit on the small side so I would probably not recommend for more than one family or a larger group ( 4 - 6 people max), but it was perfect for our family of 3.
Thanks for your nice review. Yes, it is perfectly located to take advantage of all the Berkshires has to offer. I agree that it is best suited for a smaller group, but following your stay, I welcomed a larger group (6 adults and 1 child) and they had a great time. There are two queen beds in the loft and a futon on the porch and living room, so it does sleep a lot, but in my mind, the limiting factor is there is only one bathroom. Hope you come back and enjoy the beautiful Berkshires.
The property was adorable and great location, but not clean.
I arrived about an hour and a half early so I assumed we got there before the cleaning crew. (The bathroom was very dirty) I notified the owner who was very nice and not aware that it wasn't clean. She offered to have the cleaning people come over, but we were exhausted from driving and were already unpacked. After really looking around, it wasn't just the bathroom that was dirty. The t.v was very dusty, other renters clothing and towels were still hanging on the doors, and the sheets weren't cleaned or changed.
It was apparent that it hasn't been thoroughly cleaned in a while. As I said, the owner was very nice, but I've been renting from vrbo for many years and this house was not up to standard, unfortunately.
The house is adorable, but it was really disappointing.
Sorry you had some issues. As you said, you showed up earlier than agreed upon and the cleaners had not finished the bathroom. When we spoke, I asked if you wanted them to come back immediately and you indicated that you did not. The sheets and towels were clean as I picked them up from the laundry myself and dropped them off for the cleaners to make the beds. This property has been rented constantly over the summer and we have not had any issues with cleanliness but very positive reviews.