check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beautiful Lodge; Sleeps 25+. Something for everyone!

Sleeps30
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
30
Bedrooms
7
Bathrooms
6
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms, 1 Bunk Room, 1 Bonus Bedroom, 6 Baths, (Sleeps 25-30)

You have a unique opportunity when considering Harbor Creek Lodge for your vacation rental.

Getaway to an idyllic Northwest location with your family, friends, and co-workers! Rain or shine, Harbor Creek Lodge offers something for everyone. Relaxing spaces for the grown ups and plenty of adventures to be had for the young ones.

Harbor Creek Lodge is a 17,000 square foot log estate dramatically overlooking a sparkling fresh water pond with sweeping views of old growth timber and an incredible sanctuary of birds and wildlife.

Inside the lodge you will enjoy 6 furnished bedrooms with king & queen size beds, a bonus bedroom (includes a queen bed, laundry, and shower), as well as a bunk room with total sleeping capacity for 15.

The pond is fresh water & fully stocked with trout. It features a large dock with a diving board, a raft at the center, and is roughly 15 feet deep and 100 feet across. The lodge sports a hot tub outside, 1/2 basketball court inside with climbing rope, 1,700 square foot game room with foosball, table tennis, dance floor with disco ball, pool table , poker table and a built in wet bar.

The owner collects classic cars and has an indoor collection of 12 for viewing with couch , stereo, bistro tables, and memorabilia. A gourmet kitchen with a huge dining room table provides great views of nature from inside.

There is another home on the property with year-round renters as well.

Keywords: Private Home

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2017

About The Owner

I am 59 years old and own a large catering company in Seattle. I am very active in a number of ministries in Seattle, Young life and have a heart for kids and people. I often have large groups of college kids from the UW and UPS for small retreats of 50 people for the weekend. I am a non smoker and drinker and love to collect cars, Alaskan art work, have lived in Alaska, and enjoy the outdoors.

The Owner purchased this house in 1999

Why The Owner chose Puget Sound

I bought this incredible estate as a wedding venue and ended up enjoying it so much that I have lived there the past 14 years and commute to Seattle everyday for work. Everyday I wake up and realize how fortunate I am to have a property like this and to have shared it with thousands of college and high school kids over the years. I bought in Gig Harbor because it was within an hour of driving from Seattle.

What makes this house unique

The property is totally private and has a 4 block long driveway into the property and a wonderful small lake with fresh water that is great for wildlife and swimming. The estate has a 1/2 basketball court inside, outdoor hot tub, game room with foosball, pool table, table tennis, dance floor with disco ball and a full wet bar. Inside I also have my collection of 13 classic cars with couches, bistro tables and memorabilia. There is a full gourmet kitchen for cooking and entertaining off the large living and dining room.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hey Jim,

We had a WONDERFUL time at the house and will definitely be back! What a great space for retreats, both large group and small group conversations! We just wish we had more time there!



Thanks again!



Peace,

Kerri
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Lodge; Sleeps 25+. Something for everyone!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 15 reviews
Tacoma, WA
5

HUGE Cabin in a Beautiful Setting

  • 5 of 5

This place is MASSIVE. Every time I opened a door, I was surprised that the place kept going. We had a large group, and all slept comfortably. We had room to gather, space to play, and everyone could have a couch of their own to read on. We relaxed n the hot tub, played in the gym, sat by the wood fire, wandered in the woods, swam in the pond, and played night games in the yard. I need more excuses to visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really glad to hear it Cody! You can come explore again anytime. We would love to have you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tacoma, WA
5

Perfect Get Away!

  • 5 of 5

This was my first time out to the lodge although my group has been coming to this lodge for quite a few years. We had a group stay here this fall and found it to be the perfect space for our needs. The location can hardly be beat; feels like a woodsy-get away yet is only a convenient, quick drive from Gig Harbor...what more can you ask for? We had a group of around 25 for our weekend retreat and had no issue with space! Plenty of room for gathering together for meals, programming and other activities. The fully stocked game-room, car collection, gym-space, and hot tub, quaint pond, and diving board kept us occupied during non-program times. Although our weather was less than ideal, there was plenty of space for outdoor games that we'll be sure to take advantage next time. Jim, the owner did his best to ensure our stay was a great one. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Kate! So glad to hear you enjoyed the house. We look forward to having you and your group again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dilapidated and unsafe

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property last week for the Christmas break. It was filthy and had several significant safety/health hazards that I reported to the owner in a letter. along with shocking photos documenting my concerns.

Here are just a few of the many examples that were unacceptable and dangerous:

- a substantial roof leak in the ceiling above the car garage with toxic black mold, linked to health problems, easily visible. On the outside of the house, the wall is completely destroyed with visible insulation and open to the interior.

- the furnace in the car room died after three days of use rendering the room unusable.

-Smoke alarms were non-functioning and presented fire hazards of their own via bare wires

- Multiple electrical outlets sparked when plugging in small devices, posing an additional and substantial fire hazard. Some outlets were taped over with shipping tape and others in the gym simply hung loosely by their wiring.

- The house was filthy. I do not use this term lightly. Furniture was torn and stained. Bath towels smelled old and mildewed. The tub in the master bathroom was disgustingly stained and unusable. We could hardly see out the windows as they were completely covered with months of mold, grime, and mildew.

- Front porch decking had substantial dry rot, which was loose and near collapse, posing a safety risk for our elderly visitors. Multiple screws poked up from the decking.

-Bathroom off kitchen had a completely rotten floor in front of the toilet which was spongey, causing the bricks to be lifted and loose. The floor felt as if it would collapse just standing on it.

- In the bunk room, two doors open up easily to a nearly fifteen foot drop into the garage posing yet another substantial safety hazard to children

the front walkway was unlit

The road was unmarked and had several deep potholes that we bottomed out our vehicle on

a bat was visible in the basement of the car garage

A debt collector called the home

Simple cleaning will not fix this level of neglect

I feel like I was duped and that this house in no way was in the condition advertised. I'm sure at its heyday 25 years ago it was a beautiful property, but now is not fit to be rented.

I requested a partial refund due to the high cost and low quality. I was offered a partial refund only if I promised not to provide any negative feedback on the internet. I said I would report this listing either way. I feel it is important to share my experience honestly to save

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Suzi is entitled to write a review of the house, just as we are entitled to respond. We had large family gatherings on either end of her stay, both of whom absolutely enjoyed their time and had wonderful things to say about the house. Also, members of the family came to tour the house prior to their stay and decided to book because of how much they liked the house. So it is incorrect to say that anyone was duped. We allow any group that requests a tour to come and see the house for themselves. There are a number of issues that she raised which we have already or will be correcting, including the (1) smoke detector that was dislodged, the roof leak, and the malfunctioning outlets. There are always small improvements that can be made on a house this size as well, so for the myriad of other complaints it's important to know that we have a maintenance schedule for things like the deck, the driveway, and furniture. Other things are simply a matter of user error. The furnace worked properly before and after their stay, and the walkway leading up to the house is lit by flood lights whose switch is located inside the front door. To go down the list of complaints one by one would be futile as an owner, because a negative review is a negative review. We would encourage you to contact us with questions or request a tour if you are interested in the property. Be your own judge and decide whether this is a space that would suit your family reunion, corporate gathering, or retreat as it has for hundreds of others over the last 18 years. Jim Lustig Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful lodge

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our time! Would come again!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tacoma, WA
5

BEST EXPERIENCE & WONDERFUL ACCOMODATIONS ! Returning guest of over 5 years! Perfect for retreats.

  • 5 of 5

I've been staying at this cabin for over 5 years, a few times a year, mostly on large retreats and it truly is a breakaway from the noise! Perfect space for a family reunion or a retreat. Not even 10 minutes from highway 16 and this location feels like you're hours into the quietness of the woods. It is a perfect getaway and very convenient to find. Only a short drive into downtown gig harbor makes it easy to go into town for the day- or you can spend your day walking through the trails of beautiful woodland right out the front door! Working with Jim has always been wonderful! He has accommodated us in every way possible; he always makes sure the place is clean and heated and ready for our arrival. Not to mention, he always makes sure the hot tub is ready for us too! The cabin itself is outfitted with lots of great seating areas including a fully furnished and decked out game room (Poker table, pool table, ping pong, disco ball and dance floor), several TV rooms, an entire indoor basketball court/gym area, plenty of bathrooms throughout the house, a bunk room, several bedrooms, a spacious front deck, a expansive field, a pond (you can swim in with a diving board!) and a hot tub. All in all the space is fantastic. We've had anywhere from 6-40 people stay the night here and regardless of the size of our group, we've never felt overcrowded or under-serviced. You MUST stay here- the price you pay for what you get is astounding! You won't regret it and you will visit again and again!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Absolutely disgusted

  • 1 of 5

My family and I rented the lodge for Christmas and we will not be renting again. The lodge is extremely filthy and has a very strong rodent odor. We spent 3 nights and 4 daus at the lodge and with every passing day we were more disgusted.

1. Dish towels, hand towels, shower towels had a sour odor so strong that we went out and purchased our own towels and rags to use. After seeing that there was a load of moldy towels left in the washing machine we understood the odor.

2. Sheets, pillows, blankets were stained and smelled horribly.

3. Dishes were not clean. Both refrigerators were stinky and dirty and the kitchen had expired food.

4. Bathrooms....we had to clean each bathroom before any of us used them. The showers havery mold, the toilets were dirty floors around the toilets were sticky.

5. Inches of dust on every surface. The furniture is not moved to vacuum , sweep, or mop under. Side tables, night stands, lamps...every surface was caked with months of dirt and grime.

6. My elderly parents were sleeping in a bed that broke in the middle of the night.

7. Broken glass door was a safety concern. Double door in bunk room does not lock or even latch and opens to a second story drop into garage.

8. My Mom lost her cell phone and as we were packing up to leave we searched every piece of furniture every drawer and corner....there was rat droppings under the couch cushions and matress covers, in drawers and closets, under the refrigerators and microwave and toaster.

9. There was NO WiFi or working phone as we were told....we attempted to reach Jim multiple times via phone and email and he still has not contacted us back.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary, Thank you for taking some time to let us know about your experience at the lodge. We value feedback, both positive and negative as a way to know how best to serve current and future guests. While I won't respond to each item listed in your review, I do want to take some time to reply as I'm able. Regarding the cleanliness issues, we've let our current cleaning crew go and will be replacing them by the end of the week. Clean sheets and towels, dusting, and the like are all included on the cleaning list and we expect our guests to be surprised by how well kept the lodge is. The bed that was broken has been fixed. We replaced the mattress and box spring recently, and had no problems with the frame before your stay, so I'm not sure what happened there. The glass door is made of safety glass and is not a safety concern, but a replacement piece has been ordered and will be delivered later this month. Regarding the wifi and phone, there was an interruption of service that has since been resolved. Again, much of what you have said is valid and we want to respond accordingly. Thank you again for taking the time to offer this feedback. All the best, The management team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Seatac Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Halftime Sports Saloon
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Point Defiance
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Madrona Links
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 16
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Moctezuma's Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Snoqualmie
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Owen Beach
Car: recommended

Gig Harbor has it all. Mountains, water, old growth forest, small town life & city life within 10 minute drive. The property is quite secluded, but only a short drive to shops, restaurants, grocery stores, & other amenities. Located midway between the Olympic Mountain Range & Mount Rainer, it's a great hub from which to explore. Highlights include a fully stocked trout pond on property (catch & release), multiple golf courses, the Tacoma Narrows bridge, and the Tacoma Rainers baseball team (Seattle Mariners Triple-A affiliate play just 10 minutes away).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $350

We cannot host large events such as wedding, memorials, fundraisers, etc. on the property due to county zoning laws. The lodge is to be utilized as a lodging facility only, not an event venue. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gig Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 13000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
  • 6 There are 5 Showers in the Lodge
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king
    Bonus Room/Laundry Room - 1 queen
    Bunk Room - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 6 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our pond is also stocked with a few hundred rainbow trout, which can fished 'catch & release' style. Poles are not provided, but bring your own tackle & rod, paddle out or fish from shore, and try your hand at a favorite Northwest Past-time.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties