expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

The ideal size and setting for your gathering of family, friends, or large group

Gig Harbor, WA, USA
  • House13000 sqft
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps30
  • Bathrooms6
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 - 3 nights

House, 6 Bedrooms, 1 Bunk Room, 1 Bonus Bedroom, 6 Baths, (Sleeps 25-30)

You have a unique opportunity when considering Harbor Creek Lodge for your vacation rental.

Getaway to an idyllic Northwest location with your family, friends, and co-workers! Rain or shine, Harbor Creek Lodge offers something for everyone. Relaxing spaces for the grown ups and plenty of adventures to be had for the young ones.

Harbor Creek Lodge is a 17,000 square foot log estate dramatically overlooking a sparkling fresh water pond with sweeping views of old growth timber and an incredible sanctuary of birds and wildlife.

Inside the lodge you will enjoy 6 furnished bedrooms with king & queen size beds, a bonus bedroom (includes a queen bed, laundry, and shower), as well as a bunk room with total sleeping capacity for 15.

The pond is fresh water & fully stocked with trout. It features a large dock with a diving board, a raft at the center, and is roughly 15 feet deep and 100 feet across. The lodge sports a hot tub outside, 1/2 basketball court inside with climbing rope, 1,700 square foot game room with foosball, table tennis, dance floor with disco ball, pool table , poker table and a built in wet bar.

The owner collects classic cars and has an indoor collection of 12 for viewing with couch , stereo, bistro tables, and memorabilia. A gourmet kitchen with a huge dining room table provides great views of nature from inside.

There is another home on the property with year-round renters as well.

Keywords: Private Home

Property Manager

Property Manager

Member Since 2009
Premier Partner
This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 10, 2018
About Property Manager

I am 59 years old and own a large catering company in Seattle. I am very active in a number of ministries in Seattle, Young life and have a heart for kids and people. I often have large groups of college kids from the UW and UPS for small retreats of 50 people for the weekend. I am a non smoker and drinker and love to collect cars, Alaskan art work, have lived in Alaska, and enjoy the outdoors.

Property Manager purchased this House in 1999

Why Property Manager chose Gig Harbor

I bought this incredible estate as a wedding venue and ended up enjoying it so much that I have lived there the past 14 years and commute to Seattle everyday for work. Everyday I wake up and realize how fortunate I am to have a property like this and to have shared it with thousands of college and high school kids over the years. I bought in Gig Harbor because it was within an hour of driving from Seattle.

What makes this House unique

The property is totally private and has a 4 block long driveway into the property and a wonderful small lake with fresh water that is great for wildlife and swimming. The estate has a 1/2 basketball court inside, outdoor hot tub, game room with foosball, pool table, table tennis, dance floor with disco ball and a full wet bar. Inside I also have my collection of 13 classic cars with couches, bistro tables and memorabilia. There is a full gourmet kitchen for cooking and entertaining off the large living and dining room.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Accessible
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
      • Bedroom 2
        1 king
      • Bedroom 3
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 4
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 5
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 6
        1 king
      • Master Bedroom
        1 king
      • Bonus Room/Laundry Room
        1 queen
      • Bunk Room
        2 double, 2 twin/ single, 6 bunk bed

        Bathrooms

        • 6 Bathrooms
          • 6 There are 5 Showers in the Lodge

          Location Type

            • Water View
              There is a small pond on site, fully stocked for catch-and-release fishing and swimming.

              Theme

                • Adventure
                • Away From It All
                • Family
                • Romantic
                • Sports & Activities
                • Tourist Attractions

                  Meals

                    • Guests provide their own meals

                      General

                        • Living Room
                        • Clothes Dryer
                        • Fireplace
                        • Free Long Distance
                        • Heating
                        • Internet
                          High-Speed Wifi
                        • Iron & Board
                        • Linens Provided
                        • Covered Parking
                        • Parking
                        • Parking Off Street
                        • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                        • Telephone
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine
                        • Wood Stove

                          Kitchen

                            • Kitchen
                              All kitchen-ware, stove top, microwave, coffee maker, blender, etc. provided
                            • Catering Available
                              In partnership with The Upper Crust Catering
                            • Cooking Utensils
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                            • Dishwasher
                            • Coffee Maker
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                            • Pantry Items
                            • Refrigerator
                              2 full sized refrigerators
                            • Toaster

                              Dining

                                • Dining
                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 14 people

                                  Entertainment

                                    • Ping Pong Table
                                    • Books
                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Foosball
                                    • Game Room
                                    • Games
                                    • Music Library
                                    • CD Player
                                    • Pool Table
                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                    • Stereo
                                    • Television
                                    • VCR
                                    • Video Library

                                      Outside

                                        • Boat
                                          Small Rowboat on Pond
                                        • Deck / Patio
                                        • Lawn / Garden
                                        • Outdoor Grill

                                          Suitability

                                            • wheelchair accessible

                                              Pool / Spa

                                                • Hot Tub

                                                  Attractions

                                                    • playground
                                                    • churches
                                                    • festivals
                                                    • health/beauty spa
                                                    • library
                                                    • live theater
                                                    • marina
                                                    • museums
                                                    • cinemas
                                                    • recreation center
                                                    • restaurants
                                                    • synagogues
                                                    • theme parks
                                                    • water parks
                                                    • winery tours
                                                    • zoo

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • paddle boating
                                                        • antiquing
                                                        • bird watching
                                                        • boating
                                                        • gambling casinos
                                                        • horseback riding
                                                        • miniature golf
                                                        • outlet shopping
                                                        • beachcombing
                                                        • scenic drives
                                                        • shelling
                                                        • shopping
                                                        • sight seeing
                                                        • walking
                                                        • whale watching
                                                        • wildlife viewing

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • fitness center
                                                            • groceries
                                                            • laundromat
                                                            • medical services

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • parasailing
                                                                • basketball court
                                                                • cycling
                                                                • deepsea fishing
                                                                • fishing
                                                                • fly fishing
                                                                • freshwater fishing
                                                                • golf
                                                                • golf privileges optional
                                                                • hiking
                                                                • hot air ballooning
                                                                • hunting
                                                                • ice skating
                                                                • jet skiing
                                                                • kayaking
                                                                • mountain biking
                                                                • mountain climbing
                                                                • mountaineering
                                                                • paragliding
                                                                • cross country skiing
                                                                • pier fishing
                                                                • racquetball
                                                                • rafting
                                                                • rock climbing
                                                                • roller blading
                                                                • sailing
                                                                • ski lift privileges
                                                                • skiing
                                                                • snorkeling
                                                                • snorkeling/diving
                                                                • snowboarding
                                                                • snowmobiling
                                                                • sound/bay fishing
                                                                • surf fishing
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • tennis
                                                                • water skiing
                                                                • water tubing
                                                                • wind-surfing

                                                                  Notes

                                                                    • Our pond is also stocked with a few hundred rainbow trout, which can fished 'catch & release' style. Poles are not provided, but bring your own tackle & rod, paddle out or fish from shore, and try your hand at a favorite Northwest Past-time.

                                                                      House Rules

                                                                      Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                                      Check-out: 12:00 PM

                                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                                      Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

                                                                      23 Reviews

                                                                      Very Good4.2/5

                                                                      Latest reviews

                                                                      Great place for a big group!

                                                                      Paul T.

                                                                      Brought out University group (26 people) here as part of a recruiting trip and it was perfect! Places for us to all gather, places for people to relax, places for people to get away when they needed to. The house was clean and ready to go! I would highly recommend!

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Thank you for the review Paul. We hope to have you back again next time you're in town!

                                                                      Great place for hosting a big group. Intimate space with room for activities of various kinds

                                                                      Tyler G.

                                                                      I recommend staying here!

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Thank you Tyler for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love have you back in the future!

                                                                      this place is awesome!

                                                                      Awake C.

                                                                      We do a yearly men's retreat here- a time for twenty or so of us to connect, relax and have fun. We sit in the hot tub, play music on the deck, play basketball in the gym, play pool with the big screen tv in the background, play spike ball in the field. It's the perfect place for us and Jim and Joey are so hospitable and easy to work with. It's hard to find a place with such a beautiful setting, room for a large group, and so many amenities! It's Harbor Creek Lodge every year for us.

                                                                      We enjoyed the setting however the condition of the lodge was less than expected. Windows left open

                                                                      Corrine A.

                                                                      We enjoyed the setting however the windows were left open for squrilles and Bats to get in the lodge we had to duck and dodge these critters. The place was dusty and very dated with oders in the bedrooms water leaked in the bathroom. In the kitchen the oven door was hard to open and close. We will not return and want a refund

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Thank you for the feedback Corrine. While we respect everyone's opinion and ability to share their experience with fellow consumers, I wanted to highlight two things about this stay that should put more perspective on this review. First, we offer ALL potential renters the option to tour the home before they book, which this group did. So they were able to visit the lodge and determine it was a place they would like to stay prior to ever putting down a deposit. Second, little critters are a part of nature, and in a setting like this, when doors and windows are left open you may have the occasional squirrel or bird pay you a visit indoors. As renters, if you don't want little visitors, then your best bet is to make sure windows and doors are closed, or be prepared for the consequences :)

                                                                      Your two choices-"I loved it! and Not really", do not adequately cover our week experience.

                                                                      Jean T.

                                                                      As an extended family - 7 months to 70+years - our family reunion was a success due in part to the location of your lodge and its ability to accommodate all of us. It is conveniently located for visiting Seattle/Tacoma, or nearby Gig Harbor.

                                                                      We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Jim, under unpleasant/unfortunate circumstances. On our way in, we blocked him in his driveway with our stuck motor coach!

                                                                      Jim is an entrepreneur who immerses himself into helping the youth of the area, whether by free vacations at the lodge or providing job skills as they re-enter the work force. However, with that said, we would be terribly remiss if we did not give an honest critique of the property and lodge.

                                                                      Listing #248866 WAS a jewel. Unfortunately, over the years that jewel has become tarnished with years of neglect. We understand that you relish the opportunity to take the rental dollars you receive from us, the paying customers of your lodge, and allow church groups/scout troops with free weeks' stays during the "down" weeks of your listing. But you also need to put dollars back into your lodge for cosmetic items but most importantly for safety issues. Dirty rooms with cobwebs, unpolished, grimy windows, smelly bedding and unsafe conditions throughout are some of the items we discovered. We urge you to hire a professional cleaning company to do a thorough cleaning of said property and strongly urge you to hire a contractor to investigate the unsafe conditions on the deck/railings and throughout the home.

                                                                      And, in our case, we ask that you remove the verbiage, "Parking for RV/Boats/Trailers" from your listing. One of the deciding factors in renting your property - along with the # of beds - was the fact that we could park our motor coach right at the property and be involved with family. We live in our coach full-time and would have had to pay storage fees for the week. (In hindsight, that is what we should have done.) We encountered issues on the way down - partially due to driver error- and much, much worse conditions on the way up (over $9K in damages) partially due to gravel-filled potholes. Please let your viewing public know that while the driveway is long - providing parking and privacy - it is also narrow, twisting, steep, full of potholes and overhanging limbs.

                                                                      In closing, it's quite evident that you have a heart of "gold;" however, you need to take some of that "gold" and put it back into the property to make it the jewel it once was.

                                                                      Thank you.

                                                                      ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL

                                                                      Faaea P.Riverside, California

                                                                      I had the pleasure to meet the owner and he was very nice. My family and I had our family reunion there and we had a blast. House accommodated our family inside and out. Thank you & God bless to Jim for your beautiful property and Joey for your great customer service.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      So glad you enjoyed yourself Faaea! Come back and see us anytime :)

                                                                      Location

                                                                      Gig Harbor, WA, USA

                                                                      Gig Harbor has it all. Mountains, water, old growth forest, small town life & city life within 10 minute drive. The property is quite secluded, but only a short drive to shops, restaurants, grocery stores, & other amenities. Located midway between the Olympic Mountain Range & Mount Rainer, it's a great hub from which to explore. Highlights include a fully stocked trout pond on property (catch & release), multiple golf courses, the Tacoma Narrows bridge, and the Tacoma Rainers baseball team (Seattle Mariners Triple-A affiliate play just 10 minutes away).

                                                                      Rates & Availability

                                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                                      Cleaning Fee
                                                                      $350
                                                                      Additional Guest Fee
                                                                      $10

                                                                      We cannot host large events such as wedding, memorials, fundraisers, etc. on the property due to county zoning laws. The lodge is to be utilized as a lodging facility only, not an event venue. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

                                                                      $1,083avg/night
                                                                      23 Reviews
                                                                      Very Good 4.2/5
                                                                      Premier Partner
                                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                      Property # 248866vb

                                                                      x