Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wrightsville Beach Luxury Waterfront Home

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 3,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

Beautiful 3600 sq ft. custom home located just 4 blocks from the Atlantic ocean, local restaurants, shopping, local grocery and churches. PLEASE CLICK THE VIDEO and PHOTO TABS AT THE TOP OF THE PAGE FOR PICTURES OF OUR HOME.

Located on pristine tidal waters and surrounded by lush tropical landscaping, this home affords a lot of privacy for large family gatherings or entertaining. Featuring two dining areas, one indoor and one outdoor, you can comfortably sit 20 or more people for a delicious meal prepared in your own gourmet kitchen.

The large master bedroom, sitting atop the 3rd floor, includes a sitting and office area, large garden tub and walk-in shower. French doors open to your own private deck which offers fantastic views of the tidal marsh and Harbour Island.

Enjoy spending time with family and friends viewing the most beautiful sunsets Wrightsville Beach has to offer. From the expansive decks you can watch the abundant wildlife including Great Blue Herons, Snowy Egrets, Plovers, Pelicans and many more. The lower deck offers a ping pong table for gaming and an outside enclosed shower which is a delight for large families or those that just like living outdoors.

A large back yard provides plenty of room for relaxing, playing ping pong and outside recreational gaming. Bring or rent your own kayak or canoe and launch it from here to explore the waterways, sounds or the ocean. If you like surfing our area is known for some of the best waves on the east coast.. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON WRIGHTSVILLE BEACH PLEASE WATCH THE VIDEO AT THE END OF THIS PAGE:

Links to More Information......Video of Wrightsville Beach.

**** Please note that this home is a private residence and parties are not allowed to be held here.

Keywords: Private Home, Beach Home, Beach House

More Details

Paula Turner
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Paula Turner

We are Mark and Paula Turner. Mark custom built this house for our family in 2005. We have enjoyed having many wonderful large family gatherings here in our home as well as opening our doors for family and friends visiting from out of town. When you live at Wrightsville Beach everyone wants to come and visit. It is our little slice of Paradise. Everything we need is within walking or biking distance from the house. The sunsets are breath taking. We walk this beautiful beach almost every morning.

Paula Turner purchased this house in 2005

Why Paula Turner chose South Harbor Island

Pristine beaches, safety, great restaurants, self contained community. Outdoor water sports, boating, surfing, fishing, skiing, wakeboarding, kite boarding, diving, snorkeling you name it. If you can do it on the water you can do it here. Close proximity to Mayfaire Town Center, a mega shopping development. Only 15 minutes from Historic Downtown Wilmington and the Riverfront.

What makes this house unique

Privacy, living on the marsh, lush tropical landscaping, enjoying the abundant wildlife, especially the birds. Being able to kayak or canoe from your backyard to the waterways, sounds and even the ocean. Open floor plan with triple doors off the main living area. These triple doors open up allowing the outside living area and the inside living area to become one, giving the house an open airy tropical Caribbean feel. Please note that this private home is in a quite residential neighborhood and does not allow party events to be held here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had an absolutely wonderful time in your gorgeous home! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. It made our family vacation just that much more special! Thanks again.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 75


South Harbor Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Max. adults: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Parties not allowed unless approved by owner. Maximum in attendance 35. $500+13% Tax Event Fee charged if party approved
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Private bath for Bedroom #3
    Outside Shower - shower , Private shower on bottom patio.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2 sinks, separate bath and toilet. Serves BR #2, #4 & Loft
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , Private bath 1st floor bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Guest bathroom 1st floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master Bath with oversized tub
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor Shares bath with 1 other bedroom and loft bedroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 3rd floor loft. Shares bath with 2 other bedrooms.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor. Private bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor Shares bath with one other bedroom and loft room
    Bedroom 6 / Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1st Floor,full size sleeper sofa, private bath and deck.
    Bedroom 1 (Master) - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2nd Floor. Private bath, lg garden tub,deck & queen sleeper
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 5 garden chairs
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
This house is a large home that can accommodate up to 16 people. It is a wonderful place to spend time with your family and or friends. Paddle boards, kayaks and canoes are available for rent at various places in the area and can be launched out the back yard at appropriate tides to reach the waterways and ocean.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(88 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Wrightsville Beach Luxury Waterfront Home
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 163 reviews

Beautiful home with lots of nice details!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this home. It was perfect for our race weekend. It was spacious and had lots of seating for everyone. We loved the huge porch! The home has beautiful floors and wood work. The views from the main living areas are spectacular! We had a great time enjoying friends and family and the house was a perfect home base! We would stay again! The Turners are very prompt in communication and want guests to have a great time. Wonderful experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review. We love hearing from our guest that our home met their expectations. We hope you will be back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Luxury is an under statement

  • 5 of 5

First impression.......CLEAN, SPACIOUS, HOME

The owners of this property have gone out of their way to make their home, YOURS. They have teamed up with VRBO and ensured that the process of checking in and checking out is "streamlined" and efficient, they understand that you have much more things on your mind than having to jump through hoops in order to open the front door so all of the required info was at your fingertips long before you parked in the driveway. Once inside the house everything was spotless and had that "home feel" that you needed to relax and trust me I needed it, very spacious and with 16 people in our party never and I mean never did we have the feel of being bunched up. The kitchen was HUGH and of course just like at your own real home everyone congregated in there to chat away.

All of the bedrooms were large and comfortable, the WIFI was strong with no issues (the password was clearly displayed on the checkin sheet in the kitchen.

I highly recommend this home for your next vacation spot as you are only a 3 minute walk to a local church, 10 minutes to the "main drag" of Wrightsville Beach and 15 minutes to the beach and public parking.....(all walking)

By the way, my deposit was back in my account before I got home. (I travelled on a Monday and less than 2 hours away).


Jack & Kainoa Springs

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow Jack!! THANK YOU for that great review. These reviews mean so much to Mark and I. We want our home to feel like a 2nd home to all our guest. We surely hope you will return again. Kindest regards, Paula and Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family gathering for Fathers 90th B-Day

  • 5 of 5

My entire family was getting together for my fathers 90th Bday and we needed a larger home to all stay. This house is wonderful and served us very well for my Fathers celebration. Great location, lots of room, and we were very pleased with everything. Paula is wonderful to deal with and I highly recommend staying here and we will use this house again when needed! Paula thanks again for everything!!

Amy Breeyear & Family

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amy, Thanks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. Mark and I are so happy to hear that our home met your expectations for this very special 90th birthday celebration. We certainly enjoyed sharing our home with you and look forward to sharing it with you again. Kindest regards, Paula and Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Perfect Wedding Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this beautiful home to fill with family for our son’s wedding weekend. It was perfect. There was plenty of common room for us to visit, laugh, and do last minute prep work for the rehearsal dinner. The kitchen was well stocked. The beds were comfortable. The owner was very accessible and handled the smallest of isssues quickly and professionally. We rented linens which were delivered and waiting for us upon arrival. We only wish the weather would have allowed us to enjoy the wonderful back porch, but is was January! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mac, Thank you so much for reviewing our home for future guest to see. Mark and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the wedding weekend was all you hoped it would be. We hope you will come again and that the next time the weather will allow you to enjoy the decks and Wrightsville Beaches beautiful weather. Kindest regards, Paula and Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property is beautiful. The space was perfect for a large gathering.

  • 4 of 5

This home was amazing! Met my expectations for size.

Howevever, providing sheets and towels for the stay seems inappropriate. For the cost of the rental and traveling from New York, this was a huge downside. Also, the size of the beds are not listed.

The spa tub in the master suite did not work. Huge disappointment and was not disclosed in the rental of the property.

Gas fireplaces did not work and would have been lovely on Christmas Eve and day. It would have been a nice experience.

Lastly, the kitchen was very nice until you needed something. Extremely disorganized and frustrating when you love to cook.

I would have preferred full disclosure on what was and was not available.

This home is lovely but for me there were too many things that were chaotic or unavailable for use to rent again.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anne, Mark and I were very disappointed to receive your review. We are sorry that you felt that our home's amenities were not fully disclosed. I would like to address the problems that you were disappointed with. We send a letter with each reservation that tells of each bedroom and the bed sizes. This information is also listed on our VRBO website. We do not furnish sheets and towels as we are privately owned and can not launder and sanitize them properly. We do however, at time of reservation provide you contact information for our local linen service, Seaside Linen. They are very familiar with our home and will deliver and pick up the sheets/towels after your stay at the cost of about $25 per bedroom. This is an expense that we could add to the cost of the rental, but some guest would rather save the money and bring their own sheets and towels. We feel that having both options is a service to our guest. The tub is listed as a large garden tub on VRBO and not a jetted spa tub and VRBO list our home as not having fireplaces. We feel that these amenities are disclosed properly. I was surprised to hear that you were dissatisfied with the kitchen. We have always had so many compliments about our kitchen from our previous guest. We have tried to appoint it with every possible thing you could need for gourmet cooking. We try to go through the many cabinets as often as we can to straighten them out, but we find that guest many times can not remember where they got things from and return them to whatever space they find available. I guess in trying to provide everything you could possibly need we have created a bit of a problem when it comes to people keeping it organized. I will certainly share this complaint with my cleaners and we will see if we can improve on this. Again, Mark and I are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. As you can see by our other reviews we have for years done our best to provide our guest with the best possible vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great escape even in snow!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived with golf clubs and sunshine. In two days we were overtaken by rain, cold, freezing rain, and snow. And it still hasn't melted! But the incredible full moon over the marsh, the extreme ebb and flow of the tides, family and friends, and good food made our stay so memorable. The Turners have equipped their beautiful home with everything we needed to enjoy the area in all seasons. We've stayed here before and look forward to another visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Wrightsville Beach Museum
Wonderful place to learn the history of our great beach town. Also have the opportunity to ...
King Neptune
Great place to eat one of the oldest restaurants on the beach. Wonderful inexpensive breakf...
Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe
Great breakfast waffles and anything else you want but come early or be prepared to wait in ...
Robert’s Deli and Kitchen
One of the only two groceries on the beach. Both are within walking distance of our home
Red Dogs
Great local bar that has served many generations of locals.
Lager Heads
Well attended local outside bar.
Bluewater Waterfront Grill
Great views of the Intracoastal Waterway and great food. Outside dining is a must. Just down...
Palm Room
Oldest bar on the beach.
Oceanic Restaurant and Grill
Right on the ocean with really good food!
Verandah Cafe -- CLOSED
Olympia Restaurant -- CLOSED
Really good food in town run by Greeks.. A place we go to frequently.
Trolly Stop
Best Hot Dogs Ever!!! All kinds to choose from even veggie hot dogs. Step next door and ha...
Holiday Inn Resort Wilmington E-Wrightsville Bch (Restaurants)
Nice restaurant on the ocean.
Cafe Del Mar
Great local coffee shop here on the beach. Short walk from our home. Grab some great coffe...
Tower 7 Baja Mexican Grill
Awesome Mexican food a short walk from the house. All the locals are here watching surf vid...
Jerry Allen's Sports Bar
Sports bar a short walk from the house.
22 North Restaurant
Good restaurant a short walk from our home.
South Beach Grill
Wonderful food. Best fried pickles and seafood nachos. Just a short walk from our home in ...
Vito's Pizzeria
Good local pizza. Open late at night in the "downtown" area. Just a short walk from our home.
Port City Java -- CLOSED
Coffee shop
Johnnie Mercer's Pier
Fishing Pier/Restaurant/Gift Shop. A great way to view all of the beach and see what the l...
Banks Channel Pub and Grille
Great sports bar just at the end of our street. Patrons 21 - 45 years of age.
Surf City Surf Shop
Great Surf Shop at the end of our street and check out their new cool place next door, the ...
Wrightsville United Methodist
Just a block away. My Church. Come and enjoy great fellowship and message from our wonderf...
Wrightsville Beach Picnic Shelter
2.4 walking trail starts at the end of our street. Our park has a wonderful playground for ...
Sweetwater Surf Shop
Great surf shop within walking distance of the house
Mayfaire Town Center
Over 50 Top Name Stores, O2 Fitness Center Cinemas Restaurants
Harris Teeter
Largest grocery closest to the beach. Just before coming over the draw bridge.
The Bridge Tender Restaurant
Great locally owned restaurant sitting on the Inter coastal Waterway located beside the draw...
Wrightsville Beach Park
Tennis Courts, Baseball Fields,Playground,Soccer Field
Plaza East Shopping Center
Harris Teeter Grocery Store Restaurants Boutique Shops Spa Ice Cream Pizza and Subs
Wrightsville Beach Baptist Church
Wonderful local church at the end of our street. Casual attire acceptable.
Little Chapel On the Boardwalk
Wonderful Presbyterian Church here on the beach.
Buffalo Wild Wings
Great wings!
Lumina Station
Boutique Stores and Restaurants
Airlie Gardens
Sounds of Summer in the Park each Friday night in Season. Also beautiful historic gardens t...
Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park
Really fun water park, arcades and other family activities.
Lighthouse Beer & Wine
The only place on the beach with a great beer and wine selection.
Motts Channel Seafood
Only place on the beach island to buy fresh off the boat local seafood and fresh local veget...
Mellow Mushroom
Taste the Olive
Sweet n Savory Cafe
Nikki's at Racine
North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher
Fort Fisher State Historic Site
USS North Carolina Battleship Memorial
Bellamy Mansion Museum & Gardens
Elijah's Restaurant
Airlie Gardens
Sounds of Summer in the Park each Friday night in Season. Also beautiful historic gardens t...
Port City Java
Dockside Restaurant
Wonderful place to sit outside on the water and watch the boats go by, while enjoying a good...
Brasserie du Soleil
Great place to eat just across the bridge, close to several boutique shops and near our larg...
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
ILM Wilmington International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Banks Channel
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Landfall Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
I 40
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Tower 7
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Wrightsville Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Roberts Grocery Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Johnnie Mercer's Fishing Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Banks Channel Pub and Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Surf City Surf Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Tower 7 Restaurant and Vito's Pizza
Nearest Point of Interest
John Nesbitt Loop
Nearest Point of Interest
Sweetwater Surf Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Neptune Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
21 North Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Mayfaire Town Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Harris Teeter Grocery Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Lumina Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Bluewater Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Southbeach Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Kohl's Ice Cream
Nearest Point of Interest
Circles Ice Cream
Nearest Point of Interest
Public Boat Launch
Nearest Point of Interest
Trolly Stop Hot Dog
Nearest Point of Interest
Wrightsville Beach Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Bridge Tender Restaurant and Fish House Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Plaza East Shopping Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Oceanic Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Wrightsville Beach Baptist Church
Nearest Point of Interest
Wrightsville United Methodist Church
Nearest Point of Interest
Little Chapel on the Boardwalk Presbyterian Church
Car: not necessary

Our home sits on a tidal marsh. This means at medium to high tide you can launch a non motorized water craft, (kayak, canoe, paddle board, etc.) from the backyard. This water will access the waterways, sounds and even the ocean. At low tide there is a Public Access 1 block from our home. At this Public Access you can launch and retrieve unmotorized water craft at any tide at any time of the day or night. I have included a picture of the Access in our photos.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.