Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 Bedroom Beautiful, Serene Mountain Retreat

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 960 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible Couch, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Situated below Kit Carson and Challenger Peaks on several very private acres. Resplendent views of the Sangre de Cristo Range to the East and West across the San Luis Valley to the Eastern San Juan Mtn range. Close to the local spiritual centers. Very quiet. Nestled in a Pinon forest.

Adobe-style home with big widows and doors.

Our home has everything you may need to provide you a relaxing, refreshing getaway or a base camp to explore the Sangre De Cristos Moutains, the San Louis Valley and the Great Sand Dunes National Park.

To enhance your getaway, we don't provide a TV. In place, there are numerous games.

Keywords: Retreat Center, Vacation Home, quiet getaway, adobe-style home, mountain views, valley views, private setting, wood fireplace, beautiful furnishings, wildlife & bird viewing, near spiritual centers, great photography opportunities, landscape photography, wildlife photography

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 12, 2017

About The Owner

My husband Steve and I are living with our daughter Julia in Boulder, CO. We love going to Crestone to get away from our busy life in Boulder. We love the quietness, the Crestone community, the Crestone Retreat Centers and in general, the more relaxed life style of the San Luis Valley. We try to spend as much time in Crestone as possible. When we are away from Crestone, we like to open this beautiful, peaceful place to visitors trying to get away from their busy lives.

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Why The Owner chose South Central Colorado

Our Crestone home is very open and light. Especially when you open the three doors it gives you a feeling of living within nature. No neighbors are close by. It is very quiet.

What makes this house unique

We love Crestone for it's beauty, the Crestone Peaks to the East and the San Luis Valley to the West. There is so much to do around Crestone: hiking, photography, biking, rock climbing, visiting historic sites, hot springs, skiing, just to mention a few.

Amenities

Crestone House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 960 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Combined shower/tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , bunk bed is full size bottom & twin size on top
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The couch fold down into a queen size futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Great for watching sunsets and sunrises. Wonderful for watching wildlife. We have seen black bears, deer, fox, coyotes, rabbits and many different birds on our property. Great place for photography.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2 Bedroom Beautiful, Serene Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.864865 based on 37 reviews
Gardner, KS
5

Picture Perfect San Luis Valley Escape

  • 5 of 5

First off, thank you Steve and Mia for sharing your house with guests. This is a perfect location to get away and have time to think. The house is exactly as described, and equipped as described, and if you follow their directions when you come instead of relying on online mapping services, you will drive straight to the house without issue.

Secondly, the preparation from the owners to make it easy for me to get there and enjoy the house, were stellar. Communication was outstanding. Everything pertinent towards the property was relayed and shared with me weeks before I came. That made my combination business trip/vacation perfect. We knew everything before we got there, and everything was just like the description. and we had no questions about anything, which is awesome. The house was fully equipped-we brought our food and cooked most meals, but did go out and eat once or twice.

The serenity of this location cannot be overstated. It was very quiet. At all hours of the day. And the night sky is so wonderful. Again, if you are looking to get away, this house would fit the bill. The only thing I could possibly recommend would be more outside seating. It was so nice to sit outside in the morning with a cup of coffee staring at the mountains. And the evening sunsets from the front of the house-looking over the San Luis Valley were remarkable.

The house had 2 things that I wished all rentals had. First, they had an assortment of board games and puzzles, which were a nice way to spend family evenings! Secondly, they had a travel box filled with all kinds of information about Crestone, the Great Sand Dunes, Alamosa, and the entire San Luis Valley. Lots of great reading and ideas for vacationing in that box.

Bedrooms were roomy and comfortable, and the house was very open and airy. We had a family of five, all adults, and we fit perfectly in this space. Each room had ample closet and overall space, and the bathroom and shower was appropriately sized for the house. The living room and kitchen were nice and open and airy, and that is where we spent the overwhelming majority of our inside time.

I think this is a good value for the price, and a must pick place if you want to get away for a spell. Thanks again to Steve and Mia, for sharing your house with the world.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We love when renters enjoy our place as much as we do. It's our retreat from the madness of normal life and work too. Steve & Mia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

In a word...spectacular !!

  • 5 of 5

The view of Crestone Peak is stellar! But the view of the valley is equally as impressive. The house is clean, cozy, and has all the amenities of home. Crestone is only a brief drive away. We enjoyed the beers at the local brewery and the food. We also hiked to Crestone Lake which is approximately 12 miles round trip. It is alpine hiking so be prepared. One bit of advise in the summer months hike in long pants and long sleeves as the mosquitos will carry you away. This little mountain abode will not disappoint.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute little get away, away from it all

  • 5 of 5

This was great for a family of 4. Quiet and peaceful. The stars at night were amazing. Close enough to the sand dunes to visit a couple of times. The owners were super responsive, both before and during our stay. We will likely return.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carmel, IN
4

Very nice, very clean little cabin.

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was great for my wife and I. The kitchen was excellent, and everything was clean, clean, clean! The only thing I would add would be a nice outdoor space for sitting and dining.

Thank you for letting us stay in your cabin!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful, remote and serene.

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect spot to enjoy the Crestone area and the Sand Dunes. We had a great stay.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great views

  • 3 of 5

Nice place, poor directions. Wish I would have know there was not a TV. All and all we were pleased with the views....also everything was closed in Crestone...

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, We're sorry everything wasn't as you expected. About the directions, we frequently get excellent feedback on our directions document - in fact, 2 times since you left this review. We stress this area is not served by GPS navigation because the USPS uses P.O. boxes (which you can't navigate to) as opposed to street addresses. Nevertheless, about once a year, we get a call the GPS isn't working or people are off the map because they weren't following it. Sorry. In the amenities section, we have not checked a TV - so it doesn't show up. We realize that's not as obvious as explicitly mentioning it in text. We have added this point to our 'About the Property' section. Thanks for pointing it out. Most people who vacation want to escape a TV and have praised us for not having one. Again Sorry. Certainly not all was closed in Crestone but outside of May - Oct and holidays, it's a quiet place. Crestone is pretty active for a town of 137 people - excluding the 'subdivision' our house is located. Thanks for staying. steve & mia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Great Sand Dunes National Park

The San Luis Valley offers one of the best Photography spots within the United States! In particular: bird & wildlife photography, Great Sand Dunes, historic buildings photography, landscape photography

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crestone House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties