check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Wendy Vandenhoeck

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Great Rates for Peaceful Retreat in White Mountains

10 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 90 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sugar Hill House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 8-10 comfortably

Relax in and enjoy our well-equipped home in a very peaceful setting in the heart of the White Mountains. Our four-bedroom home is locate on a tranquil “scenic” road in the prime Sugar Hill location where one can find beautiful sweeping views of the Lafayette, Cannon and the whole Kinsman Range and much of the Presidential. The interior includes recently installed hard wood flooring throughout first floor, a large living room/ dining area with a fieldstone fireplace, a completely renovated (2014) well-equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, an island and a sitting area, a lovely screened in porch for dining, and a master bedroom with private bath. There is also a finished lower level space with a comfortable double futon bed which serves as a great place for additional guests and a place for children to hang out. There is cable TV and wireless internet for your enjoyment. The contemporary design gives an airy and open feel. Most of the many windows face south and have tree top views of Cannon or/and Lafayette Mountain. The property has beautiful landscaped gardens, a large yard with apples trees and a field and a private patio area and is located just five minutes from the town of Franconia and I-93, ten minutes from the ski slopes of Cannon Mountain and about twenty-five from Loon&Brettan Woods.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Wendy Vandenhoeck (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Wendy Vandenhoeck

Alan and I camped and hiked in the White Mountains for years with our kids before deciding that the time was right to buy a home there. When we are not renting the home, we enjoy the area a great area deal and find it a great get away from our life in Arlington, Massachusetts. Wendy is an adoption social worker and Alan is a high school teacher and between of them we have four great children ranging in age from 23 to 30.

Wendy Vandenhoeck purchased this house in 2008

Why Wendy Vandenhoeck chose White Mountains

We love the tranquility of the property and street, the immediate area with the beautiful views and the open and airy feel to the house.

Reviews

4.7
based on 10 traveler reviews

Great Rates for Peaceful Retreat in White Mountains
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
Goldsboro
5

Great place for a family retreat

  • 5 of 5

We visited this home at the end of July with my family, my sister-in-law and her family, and my in-laws for a total of six adults and three kids (ages 5, 21 months and 18 months) plus a dog. We enjoyed sight seeing and hiking in the mornings then loved coming back to the retreat to chill out in the afternoons while the kids napped. The backyard was awesome, the screened in porch was perfect for meals, and we enjoyed the fire pit a few evenings while we also star gazed. We visited Polly's Pancake Parlor twice and cooked our own meals most of the time we were there. Overall it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Comfortable Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

My family has stayed at this house for one week a summer for the past several years and we plan to do so again. Our party has 2 families, 4 adults and 3 kids total, and we have been thrilled with the space. The kids love the spacious backyard. The recent kitchen renovations are beautiful and were such a nice surprise when we arrived last summer. The screened in porch off the kitchen is perfect for family meals or cocktails - no bugs! The house is in a quiet location, but near all the local attractions. A bonus is that it's extremely close to Polly's Pancake Parlor for breakfast or lunch. It has always been a pleasure dealing with the owners of the house. They are very quick to answer any questions. We would highly recommend this house for a winter or summer getaway.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and peaceful property

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this beautiful house in such tranquil setting. Everything in the house was as described and there was plenty space for our two families. 4 adults and 4 kids. The kitchen was new and had everything we needed. We loved eating dinners out on the closed-in porch. The yard was big and spacious and we made full use of the fire pit. Easy access to the mountains, beautiful hikes, the swim lake etc. Also tried the pancake house in Sugar Hill, great! Would love to come back and would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Peaceful Property

  • 4 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying at this peaceful property in preparation of my Mothers 75th Birthday celebration in Sugar Hill. This is our second visit and we were pleased with the updates. Will be making a return visit. Thank you Wendy!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Summer retreat in the White Mountains

  • 4 of 5

This house is on a very quiet secluded road. Great yard with plenty of room for exploring we had 3 small children in our party and they really enjoyed the yard, just don't forget the bug spray. There is a screened porch that we used every night for dinner and one night to watch a thunderstorm. Plenty of room for 6 adults and 3 children we never felt cramped. The area is great we went biking in Franconia swimming at Echo lake at Cannon Mt. And you are only 40 min from Santa's Village at must with kids. This rental is a great value compared with similar properties in the area. Thanks Wendy for letting us enjoy your home.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

2012 Sugar Hill, N.H. Bronum Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I found this house to be exactly as described. Clean, comfortable, spacious and cozy. The house was stocked with toiletries, cleaning supplies, extra linens/blankets, dvds, games and books.

The backyard was just amazing! Fresh cut lawn, little gardens with cool statues and wildflowers all around, a little zen- like sitting area with a fire pit set off to the side of the yard, it just kept getting better and better as I walked around!

The house was on a quiet road that had beautiful views of the mountains. We hiked thru town and visited a few recommended spots from Wendy, the owner of the house. You could just relax taking a walk with the fresh air and listening to the wildlife all around.

The town of Sugar Hill is so quaint and charming. The location of the house is just a few miles from all the areas we wanted to visit in N.H. this year. We walked to the Sugar Hill Sampler, had breakfast at Polly's, and just loved the gently rolling hills thru town.

As soon as we returned home I was already planning my trip for next year! We usually stay in a different town on our yearly visit but I already inquired about being a repeat customer since we all loved the house, the location, the communication with the owner, and the price!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

The property is conveniently located two miles from the towns of Franconia (and I-93) and Sugar Hill, ten minutes from Franconia Notch, Cannon Mountain, Echo Beach; twenty minutes to Loon Mountain and the beautiful Kankamangus Highway; and twenty-five to Bretton Woods and Crawford Notch. Golf, fine dinning and Polly Pancake House are all several minutes away. Shopping and the many restaurants of Littleton are close by. Numerous other activities and hiking and ski trails are conveniently located in the area for your fun and exploration.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sugar Hill House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer/Fall 2016
Jun 2 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,425
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$325
$1,300
 
 
Christmas Vacation
Dec 21 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$375
$2,300
 
 
Winter
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
90 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 3 2017 - May 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$325
$1,450
 
 
Late Spring thru Fall 2017
May 27 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

Weekly and Daily Rentals- Cleaning and Linens Included. Please inquire if you have been a previous renter as discounts are available. $25 fee per person per night for over eight people. Children under four do not apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sugar Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Comfortable beds with 300 plus count cotton sheets
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 7 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The house is equiped with Cable TV and Internet access. It has two television sets. One is a flat screen 32' TV. Both TVs have are equipped with DVD players. There is also a Bosc ipod dock. Bring your Ipods! Basketball in front yard. Washer and Dryer on second floor. Heated Rec Room in basement with dart board. Tennis courts available in the town of Sugar Hill that as a renter you will be entitled to use free of charge. Right adjacent to the tennis courts is a new playground.

Partner Offers