Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Villa next to pool, walking distance to Coligny Plaza and Beach Park

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 1,570 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Come and experience this beautiful South Forest Beach villa located just a short walk to the sandy South Forest beach. Also close by are Coligny Plaza and Harbor Town, both of which offer unique shopping and casual or fine dining. Bicycle/scooter rentals and horseback riding/stable are also close by, as are a dozen challenging public championship golf courses. Free tennis and use of a fitness center is included in the rental package. A starter supply of toiletries, paper towels, and toilet paper are supplied for your convenience.

Our spacious 1570 square foot villa is one of the largest rental villas on the island. It has been recently redecorated with all new bedding, granite counter tops in the kitchen, new paint, and beautiful hardwood laminate in dining/living area. There is a brand new sofa and loveseat in Sunbrella fabric in living room, flat screen TV with digital cable and DVD player. Our unit is an end unit which means we have windows in the kitchen/dining/living area allowing for lots of natural light and view of the outdoors. The living room opens onto a balcony/deck overlooking a lagoon with fountain and the pool area. The large kitchen is fully equipped with microwave and everything you will need to feel right at home. The main floor bedroom features Rattan furniture with two double beds,a desk, TV armoire, and private bath/shower. There is a full laundry room with a brand new Maytag washer and a dryer next to the kitchen, and a half bath off the living room. 'WIRELESS INTERNET' is provided, so bring your laptop computers!

There are two upstairs bedrooms one of which features a beautiful canopy queen bed with matching dresser, mirror, and bench. The second bedroom boasts a pottery barn style king bed with matching dresser and nightstand. Both bedrooms are equipped with TV's, cable, ample closet space and their own private baths. We have provided a child safety gate in the king bedroom closet to make the villa safe for the little ones.

Guests receive privileges at the Players Club fitness center with indoor swimming pool and racquetball courts, as well as one hour per day of free tennis at the world famous Dennis Van Der Meer Tennis Academy, both of which are next door. It is a short 10-12 minute walk to the beach. In the outside storage area there are beach chairs, a beach umbrella and a beach buggy provided for your use. We recommend Mike's Bikes for bicycle rentals.

Come share our home away from home. You won't want to leave.

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
David Dodson
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2017

About David Dodson

My wife Nancy and I live in Chattanooga, Tn with our 2 children, ages 6 and almost 2.

David Dodson purchased this villa in 2008

Why David Dodson chose Hilton Head

We love the close proximity to the beach and the spaciousness of these villas. Also love the large pool and private courtyard with lagoons.

What makes this villa unique

The complex is very quiet and family friendly. The courtyard area is lush with beatiful landscaping and a lagoon, all enclosed by the villas and fencing in between.

Amenities

South Forest Beach Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Floor Area:
  • 1570 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Spacious Villa next to pool, walking distance to Coligny Plaza and Beach Park
average rating of 4.296296 based on 27 reviews
2

For the short time we stayed it served its purpose.

  • 2 of 5

Not somewhere to stay with young children or elderly. The handrail on the staircase was hanging by a single bracket and the kitchen floor is very uneven. We basically only slept here so it wasn't too big of a deal but it is not a homey place. Walls are scuffed and need painting badly, fire alarm hanging from ceiling, random broken furniture stuffed into closets, screws and batteries on shelves. It looked like a group of college students were kicked out for the weekend. Possibly the worst part while we were in the living room a random young man walks in the door and says " sorry I didn't think anyone would be here this weekend". He promptly left but still left an uneasy feeling not knowing who could possibly just walk through the door at any moment. Not all was bad though, cold ac, well furnished, clean bath towels and sheets, and extra beach supplies in the storage unit

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that guests are able to review properties in this manner without first providing an opportunity for the owner to address the concerns that a guest may have. We never heard any complaints from you Tyler during your stay. Our unit is an older unit but has had lots of updates over the last 9 years and many guests have enjoyed their stay there. The floor in the kitchen may be a little uneven. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As a result of the last few reviews, our family came down to address issues the week before Memorial Day. The following items were addressed. The unit was professionally cleaned from top to bottom. The stair rail was repaired and re-attached to the wall and is sturdy, stable, and safe.l Brand new stainless steel appliances have been added to the kitchen along with an ice maker. A new beach cart has been added along with a new umbrella. Scuff marks have been removed from the stairwell. The carpet will be professionally cleaned during the first week of June. Our guests have never had any trouble with safety. The person who appeared at the door must have been our HVAC service tech who comes to change the filters on a monthly basis. He knocks and if no one answers, he will come on in to service the unit. Our 3 bedroom unit is perfect for families and we have entertained many over the last 9 years without any issues. The closets and cabinetry are large and plentiful, the courtyards and pool are beautiful and we are just a short walk from Coligny Plaza and Beach Park.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Condo close to Coligny Beach

  • 4 of 5

Our family loved staying in this condo. Everything was up to date, fresh and clean. The complex is on a pretty lagoon with a great swimming pool. Loved how close it was to Coligny Beach and plaza. Very nice to be able to use the owner's Beach chairs. Three bedrooms were perfect for us and the beds slept great. Only wish that the downstairs bedroom was cool like the rest of the condo. We would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Unfortunately, we found this condo to be quite dirty and in need of maintenance.

  • 1 of 5

Having stayed in many resort condos over the years, we found this condo to stand out for the lack of cleanliness and maintenance. We were surprised to find the cleaning company just getting started to clean the condo when we arrived at 4:41 pm - we were supposed to get in after 4:00. The cleaning staff was done cleaning this large condo - (3) bedrooms, (3 1/2) bathrooms - in 20 minutes, and it showed. The entire condo needs a thorough cleaning - cabinets, inside and out, walls - hand prints and stuff smeared throughout, corners and baseboards - very dirty with hair and debris. The bed linens and comforters on the first floor bedroom were stained and should be replaced. Our granddaughter cut the bottom of her foot minutes after moving in on a rusty nail that was sticking up in the threshold between the wood and tile floors - her father found a screwdriver and pounded it back in. For the money, there was almost nothing left to begin the week - just (3) packets of dishwasher powder in the kitchen. The slider screen had a rip in it and was taped shut with scotch tape, and it was nearly impossible to open and close it. All of the carpeting needed a good steam cleaning - the first floor bedroom carpeting was disgusting and badly stained in the walkways. There were no tables or lamps next to the double beds in the first floor bedroom, so we had to use our suitcases to set things on, and had only the bright overhead light that had to be turned on with a chain dangling from the ceiling fixture at night when reading in bed. When going down the back iron staircase to go to the pool, you must walk in the muddy dirt at the bottom as well as track it in when going up into the condo - 2-3 square 12" x 12" blocks at the foot of the exterior staircase would solve that problem. The back drywalled wall of the storage unit had been kicked in. All in all, while decorated nicely, this condo was shabby, shoddy, and not as nice as the pictures show it to be. We understand these resort condos get lots of wear and tear, but this one was worse than most. Unfortunately, as we thoroughly enjoyed our family time together on Hilton Head, we will not be returning to this condo unit, nor would we recommend it at this time. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Quite a surprising review considering we heard nothing regarding any of these complaints prior to the posting of this review. We always try to respond to our guests in a timely manner. Please see the prior review from a guest who rented from us for 3 months who seemed to thoroughly enjoy their stay. I am at a loss for words.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St Louis, MO
5

Best vacation ever!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved spending our winter at this beautifully decorated villa! We are snowbirds so seeing as much sun as possible is important to me. This villa did not disappoint! In addition, the serene sound of a water fountain was a bonus. This unit is very clean and Mr. Dodson could not have been more hospitable. Our guests relaxed in the comfort of bedrooms with private bathrooms. Kitchen was well stocked, flatscreens with cable was a definite hit during football and NCAA tournement! We've been coming to the Island for years and find the Coligny area to our liking and this villa our new favorite! We'll be backfor sure!

B & J Green

St Louis, MO

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5

The girls and I had a great time. The property was very nice and everything was very clean. The views outside on the back deck was very nice. It was in close proximity to everything. Only one thing went wrong, we couldn't get the volume on the tv in the king bedroom to work but we were rarely in the room to watch tv anyway. I would definitely recommend to a friend and would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place close to public beach

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 7 (aunt, uncle, cousin, plus the four of us) stayed here over Labor Day weekend. It was the perfect place for us to all be together. My favorite part of the property was that there were three bedrooms, so both couples had a room (with a bathroom) to themselves, plus the cousins could pile into the downstairs bedroom with two large beds and their own bathroom. It was very quiet, so whoever wanted to sleep late was not awakened by other family members. The cousins loved that the pool was just across the "yard" from the condo. We were within walking distance of Coligny beach and the shopping area complete with several different restaurants and shops.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Coligny Beach Park approximately 2.5 blocks away
Car: necessary

Small island off the coast of South Carolina know for golf and tennis resorts. No high rises. Lots of nice places to dine, shopping everywhere and no high rises.

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Forest Beach Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 21 2017 - Aug 12 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$5,700
 
 
Fall
Aug 22 - Dec 22
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring
Mar 15 - May 20
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,155
$2,550
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,155
$2,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Damage/Reservation Deposit is refunded within 15 days after departure pending a satisfactory departure inspection by cleaning staff.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties