Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Private Pool

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Prepare to unwind, decompress, and connect with nature, at our exquisite beachfront residence, Casa Cay, located in the beautiful Guanacaste region of Costa Rica. Built in 2007 and embodying the exotic character of Costa Rica, our home was meticulously designed and furnished to capture the quintessential essence of the Costa Rican experience. Situated on one of only seven beachfront lots in the exclusive 4500 acre working ranch that is Hacienda Pinilla, this home offers complete privacy yet is only minutes from restaurants, nightlife, and a multitude of outdoor activities. Major jet airline access is available at nearby Liberia International Airport, 45 minutes away. The charming coastal fishing village and surfing destination of Tamarindo is a short 15 minute drive from the home and offers a gourmet grocery store, outstanding international cuisine, shopping, and vibrant nightlife.

Hacienda Pinilla, the largest privately held landholding in the area, has become a vacation destination in its own right. The working ranch, with three miles of virgin Pacific beaches, a championship 18 hole golf course and clubhouse, tennis facilities, and award winning equestrian facility has something for everyone. The recent addition of the flagship J.W. Marriott Five Star resort on Playa Blanca at Hacienda Pinilla ensures that a full service spa and several world class restaurants are only 3 minutes away! Concierge service is available through Hacienda Pinilla and the J.W. Marriott to arrange a myriad of activities including surf lessons, world class deep sea fishing expeditions, scuba diving & snorkeling, river rafting, canopy tours, naturalist guided hikes, and bird watching experiences .

The heart of Casa Cay is the Great Room with its imported bi-fold doors that open three walls to the outdoors. Ocean breezes waft continually through the central living area with huge custom seating area, Balinese dining table with seating for 10, and gourmet kitchen with center island and additional seating. The flat screen television, Bose surround sound audio system, and wireless internet access are available if you want to maintain contact with civilization as you know it.

Casa Cay encompasses a total of 5 bedroom suites, including two master suites with private balconies, a powder room, and an outdoor bathroom. The attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms offer direct access to the exterior spaces. Intricate craftsmanship, the use of indigenous wood and stone, and the incorporation of concrete and glass tiles is evident throughout this special home. The entire complex is centered around the ocean view vanishing edge pool, with outdoor dining area and lush tropical landscaping, and is completely private.

Hacienda Pinilla has recently opened a beautiful Beach Club. The Beach Club is located on Playa Avellanas and is a few minutes drive or 15 minute walk from the house. The Beach Club offers a large vanishing edge pool, restuarant / bar, and a spa. Full details of the Beach Club and the Hacienda Pinilla development can be found on their web site.

Keywords: Casa Cay, Hacienda Pinilla, Beachfront Home, Costa Rica

More Details

Property Manager
Lisa Simmons or Elena Spears
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

Amenities

Tamarindo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
4

Wonderful House & Property; Only Small House Issues; 1 Big Costa Rican Issue

  • 4 of 5

Overall, Casa Cay was a wonderful, wonderful property for our stay in Costa Rica. The house offers a perfect set up with areas to all be together separate areas too. The house has very nice and comfortable furnishings and decor and contained so many useful things (beach chairs, a boogie board, noodles for the pool, etc.). The condition of almost everything was good and not tattered nor overly worn (exceptions noted below). I have just a few suggestions/improvements; these are small things but I'd like to offer them:

1) More and better silverwear.

2) The grill didn't light properly; we had to light it with a match (which is not very safe).

3) There were holes in some towels.

Unrelated to the house but certainly related to our stay, I'd like to mention some inconsistencies with the cleaning service. The cleaner (I'm forgetting her name at the moment) was super -- she did everything we asked for and was very, very pleasant. However, we were told the price was $5 per hour in an email before we arrived, only to be told is was $6 per hour when we arrived. Also, the cleaner told us herself she worked a total of 14 hours during her 3 days of work only to be told when we paying on our last day that she 16 hours (per Maria, who is in charge of the cleaner). While we are not talking about a lot of money (the difference between $5/$6 per hour and 14/16 hours), it doesn't feel good to think that one is perhaps being taken advantage of. I am not looking for any repayment; I would simply encourage the people you chose to work with to always be very honest and of very high integrity as guests notice these things.

Lastly, we had a very serious issue with the police that I would like to inform you of. While driving to the airport on our last day, we were pulled over by the police and given a $500 ticket for my younger daughter being IN HER SEAT BELT in the front seat. She had been vomiting into a bag from being car sick and being in the front seat helped her illness. We explained this to the police officer but he gave us the ticket anyway. I do not have an issue with being given a ticket for breaking Costa Rican law, however the amount is HIGHLY UNREASONABLE and amounts to extortion. The car rental agency told us that we could have given the officer cash ($20?) and he would not have given us a ticket. This is a very bad situation for Costa Rica and your tourism industry. Know that WE IN NO WAY HOLD YOU RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS EVENT but potential guests should know this.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cindy, I'm so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Casa Cay and found it to be a perfect floor plan for a group, well decorated and equipped. The owner actually just arrived after you with new towels and I will ask the maid to remove any old ones. I wish you had let me know about the cleaning as we would certainly have honored the quote. In fact, I would be happy to Paypal you the $26 discrepancy (14 x $5 = $70 and I think you paid $96) for the cleaning if you send me your info in a private message. I will also speak to Maria about this. Thank you for sharing your experience about the road block. The Costa Rican government has strict seat belt and car seat laws to protect children. The car rental agency should have given you a car seat, and travelers with children under 12 should request a car seat when they rent a car. We hope that you decide to stay with us again and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes and pura vida! Lisa - Owner Ocean Lyrics Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful property for a large group! We were 4 adults and 3 children (ages 10, 13 and 15) and Casa Cay was perfect for us. The house was gorgeous- just as the pictures indicate. Everything was clean, and in excellent condition, both inside and out. We enjoyed the open concept kitchen-dining-living room, as well as the 2 spacious suites. The pool area was beautiful and so relaxing. My favorite part of the house was actually exploring the tide pools. While you cannot swim off the beach, we did find a very large tide pool (to the left when you get to the water) that had a man made dam which was the perfect place to sit and relax each night while watching the sun set. We were a little concerned before we went as there were no recent comments on any of the Casa Cay sites. No need to worry- you won't be disappointed!. Well maybe- the monkeys only came around twice for a brief visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic stay and awesome house

  • 5 of 5

We just completed a week long stay with two families (10 total, kids 8-13) and loved the house.

The house is very much as represented in the pictures & video. Very up-to-date and modern. Everything was in working order and was well maintained. The layout is perfect for two families, with two very spacious master suites. The kitchen and great room are perfect and plenty large for all 10 of us to hang out comfortably. the house wraps around the central pool area, which was in use full-time with the kids and adults.

Positives:

- great pool and indoor/outdoor space (great room opens up to the outdoors, weather permitting)

- modern touches (flat screen tv, cable, speedy wifi, bose stereo system, etc.)

- very safe, private location (two security gates to get to property, manned 24hrs/day)

- nearby beach club (5 min drive away), which had a great pool, killer beach, workout room and a very good restaurant.

- small market 5 min drive away with the basics you may need

- golf courses right there (we did not play, but looked really nice)

- horse stables 5 min drive away (we did this. great staff and horses. rode along the beach)

- tennis courts are a 5 min drive away and looked nice (we did not play)

- JW Marriott is a 5 min drive away (can walk there via beach in ~15-20 min) and has a few restaurants available

- house mgmt. team (maria & josh) were very attentive and helpful with any questions

considerations:

- the beach in front of the property is not swimmable. more tide pools for walking/exploring. this likely would have been a consideration for us in selecting the house, but in hindsight, was not a big deal (the beach club beach is incredible)

- you will need a car, as the house is a bit remote (tamarindo ~20 min drive away, main market was ~20 min drive away, beach club is not walkable)

- there were some bugs/mosquitos at night...bring some spray

- bikes at the house were not in great working order

we also brought in a private chef for a few dinners and breakfasts (frank at bellyfedbetter.com). Frank was awesome and he even did grocery shopping for us for a nominal fee (even had the house stocked for us upon our arrival). very highly recommend.

we used swiss travel for a couple excursions which were very fun (sensoria and something called the adrenaline tour). they arranged for transportation to/from the house in a very nice van. highly recommend.

overall a great trip and really great house!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Seattle WA USA
5

Awesome stay at Casa Cay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Casa Cay during Christmas week. Our family consisted of 3 generations and we all found the house perfect - there is a main house that is a great gathering spot for the family. Upstairs is a huge master suite with nice views. The guest house has 3 bedrooms downstairs and then another master suite upstairs. The configuration allows for everyone to have their space and privacy.

We used the beach club often and really enjoyed it - the beach is one of the best in the area. Wide sandy beach, nice waves and not crowded. If you like long walks, i highly recommend the beach walks. You can go out the front of the house and walk either to Playa Avellanas in one direction or to Playa Langosta in the other direction.

The house was well taken care of and very clean. The rental company was very professional and checked us in and out and at the last minute, was able to arrange transportation for some of our party from Liberia.

Overall we highly recommend this home and this rental company.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
The Woodlands, TX
1

Beware - a beautiful home that is not being taken care of properly by either owner or manager

  • 1 of 5

Beware of the details in the contract. Listed below in " ".

"As the renter, I understand that the property owner has made a good faith effort to accurately present the properties, and is responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of the property including but not limited to appliances such as air conditioning, furnishings and linens. However, I understand that the property owner shall not be liable for any inaccuracies in such presentations, or changes in the conditions of the accommodations or the surrounding environment or the condition thereof, or for any temporary defects or shortages/ stoppages in supply of electricity, gas, water, or plumbing, etc., which are out of their control."

We arrived Saturday 3/8 and found the A/C unit in the kitchen living area not working. We were told they would fix Sunday. Property manager said the owner would credit use for one night for the inconvenience (as of 3/18 still no credit). They could not fix Sunday, they needed to order a new compressor which would be installed Wednesday. The temperatures were 80*-90* with no A/C in the living/kitchen area which required us to open all the doors for ventilation AM&PM which allowed the bugs, mosquitos, bee's etc. into the living area which lead to multiple mosquito bites. I requested consideration by owner for 4 nights, in 3 emails & was ignored.

In addition, we witnessed a beautiful home that is being neglected by either the property manager or owner. Outside the staircase to the guest house is a large pile of poop from something pretty large and had flies, bugs on the roof of the garage.

Two nights we heard noises that sounded like someone was tearing a hole in the roof. The next morning we witnessed tiles on the roof that had been turned over that were OK the night before. Apparently there are howler monkeys or raccoons that are pooping on the roof and also searching for bugs or something under the tiles and move them around to get what they want during the night and leave a BIG mess. On the guest house side the hot water only worked one night. Most of the faucet fixtures in the guest house would come off in your hand at the sink or the shower and were not screwed in (we had A/C guy correct some). There is a sprinkler head that sprays water on a window with a wooden frame by the kitchen that has a large stain on it and the wooden frame is getting damaged for some time and no one cares to fix it. Simple fix, use a soaker hose. SAD2SEE.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gary, We apologize that you had problems with the a/c in the kitchen area. We sent a technician on Sunday as soon as we heard and the owner, who is very proud of his home, immediately authorized us to purchase a brand new a/c system for the kitchen. We ordered it right away, and installed it as soon as we got it on Wednesday morning. The a/c was working in all the bedrooms, but we're sorry that you were so upset and will of course send the refund that the owner promised for your inconvenience. I believe that our accountant has already contacted you to find out the best place to send the funds. Though we do regular deep cleaning and maintenance weekly, twice per year Casa Cay gets a full week of maintenance to ensure it's kept in good order for our guests. During the last full maintenance week we retiled the pool, repainted the interior, put in all new towels, new curtains, new cushions in the living area etc. Casa Cay is scheduled in April for another maintenance week. We will certainly check on the loose faucets. Thank you for letting us know about them. As for the animals, most of our guests find visits from the local wildlife - howler monkeys, pizotes, racoons, tropical birds - to be part of the charm of Costa Rica. If the poop is on the terrace, in the pool or other living areas, we would send someone to clean it right away. However, we don't normally clean roofs when guests are in house. I should also mention that the photos and video in the ad were taken after the last maintenance and are about six months old, so are an accurate representation of the condition of Casa Cay. Sincerely, Lisa Simmons Rental Manager Casa Cay
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
5

Incredible Experience

  • 5 of 5

Most luxurious home we have ever experienced, and we are extremely well traveled. Very private. Sunsets and wildlife were amazing. Beach front was good for exploring but not necessarily to set up camp for the day. There were several other beaches in the community that were outstanding and in June, we were the only people there. The neighborhood beach club, pool and spa services were also top notch with good food and again, very high end furnishings and details. Easy drive over from Liberia airport - just be careful driving on the last stretch of dirt road. Zip lining, horseback riding, great surf conditions, all very easy and close by. We loved this place and the value was outstanding.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Daniel Oduber International Airport Liberia
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Signature Golf Course in the Community
Nearest Beach
Beachfront Home

Our beautiful home is ideally situated beachfront in famous Hacienda Pinilla - a 4,500 acre beachfront golf community with 3 miles of beaches, 18 hole Audobon certified Mike Young golf course, equestrian facilities, J.W. Marriott Hotel, and beachfront club with spa, pool and restaurant. We are conveniently located just 15 minutes south of vibrant Tamarindo beach, and 45 minutes from the International Airport at Liberia.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tamarindo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Low Season
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$710
$4,270
 
 
Mid Season
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$830
$4,985
 
 
Low Season
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$710
$4,270
 
 
Late Mid Season
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$830
$4,985
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$7,830
 
 
High Season
Jan 4 2018 - Mar 24 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,045
$6,265
 
 
Easter/Semana Santa 2018
Mar 25 2018 - Mar 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,305
$7,830
 
 
Late High Season
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,045
$6,265
 
 
Early Low Season 2018
May 1 2018 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$710
$4,270
 
 
Mid Season 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$830
$4,985
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$1,045
$6,265
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $50
Tax Rate 13.0%

50% non- refundable payment to reserve. 50% the day prior to check-in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties