Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Home in Michigan City Resort Community-Steps from Beach and Pool

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, sleeps 11 - Great open spaces for time together

'About Time' is a luxurious, family home - perfect to accommodate your family getaway. Just steps from Lake Michigan's best beach, this house was designed to offer a great atmosphere and allow plenty of space so that everyone can enjoy a relaxing vacation. The front of the home boasts three stories of balconies with a screened in porch in the back. The Beachwalk Resort Community offers a great refreshing heated pool, putting green, tennis court and basketball court. For the kids there is an amazing sand castle playground. Each evening you can join the migration as Beachwalkers make their way to Lake Michigan to watch the sunset. On as clear night, salute Chicago’s skyscrapers on the distant horizon as the sun slips into the water.

The Outside Picture: About Time is a luxurious, family home - perfect to accommodate your family getaway. It comes completely furnished with linens and ample towels for up to ten. Just steps from Lake Michigan's best beach, this house was designed to offer a great atmosphere and allow plenty of space so that everyone can enjoy a relaxing vacation. The front of the home boasts three stories of balconies with a screened in porch in the back. The back of the home has a screened in porch close to the gas grill for pleasant cookouts and relaxing meals overlooking the dune landscaping. You will also have plenty of parking space in the back of the home for those extra friends that you have over to enjoy your stay with you.

The Inside Picture: The first floor features a great room which opens up to a front porch with great views of Beachwalk Lane. The great room has two comfy sofa areas as well as a fireplace and TV area. A user-friendly, eat-in kitchen with all the modern conveniences spills into a dining area for at least ten and a conversation area perfect for entertaining or just winding down. Plenty of living space throughout the house makes sharing space easy. This home is full of interesting architectural features such as a first floor nook -perfect for playing cards and enjoying an evening breeze. Located on the first floor is a bedroom with a king size bed as well as a 3/4 bath and laundry room. The second floor features three spacious bedrooms: a master queen bedroom, an additional queen bedroom with crib and a third bedroom with lots of bunk space. The common hallway access the 2nd floor sundeck and a spiral staircase to the loft with private sitting area and skydeck to see the view from the top.

The Surrounding Picture: 'About Time' is located just a short walk from Lake Michigan's best beach and offers great amenities such as access to the park, the heated pool, and Lake Kai. Our home offers a full laundry room and lots of sitting space to relax and reconnect with family and friends. All you need to complete this vacation is a trip to the grocery store, beach towels, and some fun fellow vacationers!

Other homes are available when even bigger family reunions are being planned. We can help you figure out these arrangements.

Beachwalk Resort Community... 'About Time' is located just off of Lake Shore Drive in the award winning Beachwalk Resort Community along Sheridan Beach. Our neighborhood features avante-garde architecture nestled between sweeping sand dunes. Picture kids playing, families walking to the beach with their coolers and wagons, barbecuing on the deck, or hanging out on the screened in porches - this is Beachwalk in the summer. In the winter, picture a quiet, serene getaway.

More Details

Todd Fink
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017


Michigan City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Resort
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , jetted tub , Oversize tub
  • This lower level bathroom has a toilet and shower.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 4 is located on first floor.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Beach Home in Michigan City Resort Community-Steps from Beach and Pool
average rating of 4.4 based on 25 reviews

great home for family vacation

  • 4 of 5

We all enjoyed our stay at "About Time". The location was perfect - between the pool and beach. Very family friendly - 7 adults and 2 young children. Really liked the open layout and large living area. The home was well supplied with paper products, laundry supplies, and towels. The kitchen was very well stocked - we ate in every meal but one. We used the gas grill for most our meals and it worked great. We enjoyed the beach, pool, and play ground. Found everything we needed for going to the beach: lawn chairs, beach umbrella, sand toys, cooler, and wagon.

We found the home adequately clean and maintained. Todd was quick to respond when we contacted him with minor problems. We would suggest adding a shower to the master bathroom - the existing two showers are very small. We recommend "About Time" for a family vacation.

Other places we enjoyed during our stay were Bubbles Ice Cream Parlor, Bridges Waterside Grille, and the Washington Park Zoo.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Disappointing home

  • 2 of 5

Great location. Bathrooms were dirty. Showers were so small an adult could barely wash cloth, hand towel and small bath towel per person. No hand towels in downstairs bathroom. Very disappointed in home.will not return. Also, cameras in the living area. Total breach of privacy that we were not told of until after we had paid in full.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After this review, we immediately visited the home to take a first hand look at the service that our cleaning contractor was providing. We were disappointed and our old service was replaced with an independent, responsible cleaning staff. We are very happy with the service provided now. We had a terrible flood in the home several years ago due to frozen pipes. After a thaw, we received a bill from the water department for $8,000 because the 11 split pipes spraying water for two weeks. Nearly all of the inside of the home was gutted and replaced. Because of this, we installed two cameras in the living room so that we can check on the home when it is not occupied. We also installed remote monitoring of the HVAC system and the ability to update the entry codes. Rest assured, we only use these systems to protect the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed at this home 4 times and each time has been delightful. The community is lovely and the beach is a short walk away. I hope to go back again.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5

The listing/pictures do not do the house justice. I was pleasantly surprised by the generous size and open layout inside the house. The listing didn't mention a cute screened in back porch- which was perfect for the evenings sans mosquitos. The front porch was perfect for morning coffee or a late night glass of wine. Perfect walking distance from both the pool and the beach (right in the middle). Pool and beach were well kept and clean. The whole area was family friendly and not too crowded. I would recommend this place to others and we plan on going back again. Thanks for the wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay at "About Time" beach house. Great location, Close to beach and pool. Really liked the dining table where our family of 11 could all eat together. The wagon worked well for carrying beach umbrella and chairs to beach. House was clean upon arrival. We are talking about spending our next family vacation here.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location good. Condition is fair. Not luxury!

  • 2 of 5

We paid top dollar for this property over a holiday week. Found location to be very good. Area had lots of things for family to do and very close to the lake. Good amount of space for family. However, the condition of the property is definitely not luxury. It is in fair condition at best. Repairs needed and much TLC. Shelf in refrigerator broken, numerous light bulbs in ceiling lights and chandelier burnt out. The last thing you want to do on vacation is to find a ladder and screwdriver and replace ceiling bulbs. The screened in gazebo had so many holes and broken screens that you could not use the places during the evening. The upper deck has a board that is warped so that the end sticks up and the nails/screws protrude up out of the board. The yard is very overgrown and full of poison sumac to the point that it overtakes the sidewalk and is hard to avoid. Initially, there were not enough towels for number of guests registered. The sheets on one of the beds are so worn that they have holes in them. The master bath has a jacuzzi tub with a spray attachment but the spray attachment is broken making that unusable. The property wasn't clean, particularly noticeable in the refrigerator. The owner was quick to apologize for problems and let us get supplies (light bulbs and towels) from storage closet. However, I see from other reviews that this same thing has happened before with this property. For all the fun activities and close proximity to the lake, would definitely go back to this area but would not stay at this property again unless major changes are made.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We felt bad that this customer had a bad experience at our property. We have made every effort to provide an affordable, clean, nice home to stay in over the years. When notified of the issues mentioned after they left, we immediately addressed them as we always do when notified. As we are not always there during the six hour changeover, we reviewed with our cleaning service the condition the home must be in prior to a new visitor checking in. We implemented some new check-in protocols so visitors can be assured that the home is clean and stocked as advertised. We take pride in offering this home to others and have nearly always been provided with positive feedback after they enjoy some time at About Time. Mom and Dad built this home so all could enjoy time with one another - not be challenged with a negative experience. We hope to continue to honor their desires when you visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Rates & Availability

Michigan City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Early Spring-2017
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Apr 29 2017 - May 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
Early Summer-2017
May 13 2017 - May 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
Early Summer 2 - 2017
May 23 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 18 2017
4 night minimum stay
Late Summer-2017
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
Sep 9 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
One Time Stay Charge $320

Most rates are all inclusive - rental, linens, bath towels, resort fees, final cleaning, renters insurance and all taxes are paid. Because of this, the rates are front loaded for the first two days then a standard daily rate applies. Email me for details as the system doesn't allow for this pricing structure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
61 Miles
Chicago Midway Airport
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Route 421 and I-94
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.33 Miles
Sheridan Beach
Car: recommended


Partner Offers