check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Most Luxurious Ski-in/Ski-Out Chalet @Kmhr- 2800 Sft,4 BR,4 BA

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
16
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
1 - 5 nights

Description

Golden House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Contact me for mid-week discounts, last minute discounts, small party size discounts, long stay discounts, filling in a calendar gap discount - basically any if you want a reasonable discount, contact me.

Luxury Ski-In Ski-Out Home at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort with Mountain Views. This is property has beautiful Log Post, Timber Beam Architecture, Real Stone Work, and High-End amenities throughout. This is an exceptional property for the selective vacationer.

Four Bedrooms, Four Bathrooms, Large Private Outdoor Hot-tub, Private Indoor Steam Room, Deck with Built-in Gas Barbecue, Gourmet Kitchen, Granite Countertops, Great Room with 30 foot Ceiling, second Living Room, Dining Room, Comfortable Radiant Heat on all floors, Three Fireplaces, Balconies, Indoor Parkings and Ski Storage, Tasteful Furnishings. HIGH SPEED INTERNET.

Rent extra days at an additional $100 off per day. 25% off rentals within 12 days of arrival.

Keywords: House, Home, Single Unit Home, Ski-in, Ski-out, Ski in, Ski out, Chalet, Vacation Home, Vacation, Chateau, ski house, kicking horse lodging,hot tub, kicking horse mountain resort, heated floors,Lodge, Luxury home, vacation rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Gabriel Higham
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish, mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016
Call Manager

About Gabriel Higham

We are two avid skiers who bought our house for ski trips with family and friends and eventual retirement. To help pay the bills we rent it out when we aren't using it. We first skied at Kicking Horse in 2004 as part of our yearly ski trip with friends - that year trying out the eastern side of the Canadian Rockies. We had skied Whistler a couple of times and knew we loved Canadians. They are so nice, cheerful and friendly people. Our day at Kicking Horse was the favorite of everyone on the trip. We couldn't believe how great the snow was, how big the mountain was and how few people there were. My wife and I actually got engaged at the top of Lake Louise. She asked me to marry her and I said yes and she presented me with candy lollipop rings (we later upgraded them). Anyway, we looked at buying at the time but weren't in a financial position to do so. But in 2009 we were in a much better position and so we decided to come back to double check if everything we remembered about it was true. It was and we happened to stumble upon a great deal on this home and jumped at the opportunity. With any life changing event there is always a little voice that wonders if you are doing the right thing. That voice went away and never came back after we had to stop for a black wolf in the middle of the road between Banff and Golden. We knew this was the place for us. We decided to name the house after that black wolf we saw. We hope that you will consider experiencing our wonderful home and get as much enjoyment out of it as we do.

Gabriel Higham purchased this house in 2010

Why Gabriel Higham chose British Columbia Mountains

We love to ski and Kicking Horse has some of the best skiing in North America. We absolutely love the snow and varied terrain of Kicking Horse. And the views are to die for.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

Most Luxurious Ski-in/Ski-Out Chalet @Kmhr- 2800 Sft,4 BR,4 BA
average rating of 4.974359 based on 39 reviews
5

Best trip ever!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for allowing us to have a girls weekend in the mountains. This home is BEAUTIFUL and the snow made it like a Christmas postcard. Almost everyone that you need is supplied - definitely a memory for the books!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Azaria, So glad you had a great weekend. Glad for snow to begin building up. Hope to have you back again soon. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent experince

  • 5 of 5

Lives up to its billing! Very luxurious! No problems! A wonderful home for our wedding trip to Kicking Horse. Lots of people in the house but you didn't feel crowded. Lots of space. Excellent for entertaining. The Bar B Q and hot tub are a bonus we enjoyed that we had not considered. The street is wonderful and a beautiful walk through the neighborhood. Close to everything. The house has multiple balconies; lots of places to relax. Everything we needed was present. The great room, windows and high ceiling are amazing and overwhelming. A wonderful place to just relax and enjoy the sunshine. Highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again. Amazing!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We love the private little neighborhood of Purcell Woods. So glad you made our home part of your wedding celebration. Kicking Horse is a spectacular place for a wedding. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

This cabin is beautiful and spacious!

  • 4 of 5

This cabin is beautiful and spacious! We stayed there for 2 nights for a Bachelorette party and had a blast. The hot tub and fire pit area were great! Lots of room and space for everyone. I'd defiantly go back but only in the winter when the bugs are gone.

The disappointing part was the bugs, we weren't aware that the misquitos were so bad in the summer there and had planned all of our activities outside. We got eaten alive(literally) and there was no warming or bug spray provided. We ended up having to stay inside for the most part and it was 30 degrees with no AC so it was smokin hot in there. We didn't let the bugs ruin our trip though and even tho we left covered in bites we all had a blast.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lindsey, So sorry about the bugs. Based on your feedback we have put warnings about mosquitoes in our instructions. I wish we would have known about the heat - we do have cooling fans we can supply to guests upon request.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a place

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic location right up on the ski hill and close to the golf course. Couldn't ask for better service from Gabe first class all the way.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind response Matt. I am too please and hope to make every guest experience as easy and simple as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it here!

  • 5 of 5

Spent a couple days in Kicking Horse at the Black Wolf Chalet. Very impressed with all the beds. Big and comfortable. Happy that we had enough towels in every bathroom. More then enough room for a couple of families to go together and the kids having room to play, without it being loud where the adults hang out. Very, very easy to communicate with Gabriel Higham, and he was very quick to get back to us whenever we needed something.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words about the home and also myself. I strive to be prompt, professional and accommodating to all our guests. I know your vacation is important and I treat it as such.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super trip , incredible house , highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

Super hig end , heated garage for our sled

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Francois. The is a lot of great snowmobiling around Golden. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
270 Kilometres
Calgary
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Kicking Horse Saloon
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Golden Golf and Country Club
Nearest Train
13 Kilometres
Golden
Nearest Motorway
13 Kilometres
Trans Canada Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
Corks Restaurant
Nearest Ski
2 Metres
Purcell Woods Ski-Access Trail
Car: recommended

House at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort; Downhill Skiing, X-Country Skiing, Snowshoeing, Snowmobiling, Tubing, Skating in Winter - Gondola Rides, Hiking, Mountain Biking, Wildlife Tours, Golf, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Hunting, Paragliding in Summer. Hot Springs in Area. Banff, Lake Louise, Yoho, Glacier and Kootenay National Parks Nearby.

Rates & Availability

Golden House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Season
Dec 2 2016 - Dec 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
$526
$3,384
 
 
Early Season
Dec 21 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$526
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$902
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$1,053
 
 
Powder days
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$526
 
 
Powder Days
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$526
$3,459
 
 
Peak Season
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$827
$5,565
 
 
Family Day
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 21 2017
5 night minimum stay
$978
 
 
Peak Season
Feb 22 2017 - Feb 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$827
 
 
Regular Season
Feb 26 2017 - Mar 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$677
$4,437
 
 
Spring Skiing
Mar 26 2017 - Apr 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$602
$3,910
 
 
Victoria Day
May 19 2017 - May 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$451
 
 
Early Summer
May 22 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$414
$2,519
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$526
$3,384
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$526
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 4 2017 - Sep 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$414
$2,858
 
 
Thanksgiving
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$451
 
 
Early Season
Dec 8 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$526
$3,384
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$902
$5,866
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2017 - Dec 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$978
 
 
Powder Days
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 8 2018
4 night minimum stay
$602
$3,986
 
 
Peak Season
Feb 9 2018 - Feb 14 2018
4 night minimum stay
$827
$5,565
 
 
Family Day
Feb 15 2018 - Feb 20 2018
5 night minimum stay
$978
 
 
Peak Season
Feb 21 2018 - Feb 24 2018
4 night minimum stay
$827
 
 
Regular Season
Feb 25 2018 - Mar 24 2018
4 night minimum stay
$677
$4,512
 
 
Spring Skiing
Mar 25 2018 - Apr 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$526
$3,910
 
 
Victoria Day
May 18 2018 - May 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
$451
 
 
Early Summer
May 21 2018 - Jun 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$414
$2,519
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 29 2018 - Aug 29 2018
4 night minimum stay
$451
$2,858
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 30 2018 - Sep 3 2018
4 night minimum stay
$526
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 22 2018
3 night minimum stay
$451
$2,594
 
 
Thanksgiving
Oct 5 2018 - Oct 7 2018
3 night minimum stay
$526
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$301
$1,730
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $226 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $752
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.25%

Minimum Age Limit for Renters - 25 Years
****GET $100 OFF FOR EACH ADDITIONAL NIGHT OVER THE MINIMUM****
Damage deposit of $1000 required.
Pet Fee is $100 per night plus an additional $1000 pet deposit.
Saturday to Saturday stays are not allowed during the ski season.
Save up to 12% with cash payment

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Golden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Mater En-Suite - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Steam Room - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Back Living Room - 1 queen , Back living room with a queen pull-out couch
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Ensuite bathroom
    Media Room - 2 queen , 2 twin/ single , Two bunk beds: Queen bed on bottom, single bed on top
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Games
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties