check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Amie Kelly

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Cozy House Close to Civic Center, Downtown and Attractions

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Black Hills House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This is cute little 1930's bungalow with all the Art Deco charm. I had fun decorating it and supplying it with all the amenities for your stay. It has a great kitchen equipped to prepare full meals or throw together a quick snack. It is fully stocked with all the staples to make your meal preparation quick and easy. There are complete laundry facilities. It possesses a fenced shady yard perfect for relaxing at the end of your day of touring. The house is in a quiet safe neighborhood. (My house is just around the corner.)

The house is two blocks from the Civic Center, making it extremely convenient to attend events there. It is walking distance to historic downtown where you can enjoy shopping, dining, and nightlife entertainment. Along the way you will find the walking and bike path that run along side of Rapid Creek, perfect for an early morning run or evening stroll.

A quick drive will take you to the Black Hills where you can visit Mount Rushmore, Custer Park, Crazy Horse and the quaint little towns such as Deadwood, Sturgis, Hill City and Keystone. In the other direction, is Wall Drug and the Bad Lands. Another great day trip is Devil's Tower. The house is in a perfect location with easy access to the major roads and highways to take you to your destination.

Keywords: House

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Amie Kelly (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

About Amie Kelly

People ask me 'why did you move to South Dakota?' I tell them that it's because I love it here. (I'm a life time resident of California) After renovating and decorating my vacation rental, I decided to move on to bigger things. Now most of my time is consumed with the renovating of a house built in 1917. It's my passion to bring it back to it's former glory. My warning to you would be travelers to this area is, 'be careful, you might just decide to stay'

Amie Kelly purchased this house in 2009

Why Amie Kelly chose Black Hills

I reluctantly agreed to visit a friend in Rapid City. After a long drive in the Black Hills in her convertible, I decided to buy a vacation house here. After spending some time here, I decided to sell my home in California. I then bought a larger house in which I'm renovating I recently purchased the house around the corner as an investment property in which I'm making available to you for your vacation.

What makes this house unique

This house is located two blocks from the Civic Center. It's walking distance to Downtown with the unique shopping, restaurants and night life. The central location is great with easy access to the roads that will take you to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer Park, the Bad Lands and beyond.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our stay here. It was quiet, close to everything we could need. and absolutely beautiful!! This was our first time staying in a rental vs. a hotel & hope to do this more often. It was a pleasure.

Thanks again,


This was an exact copy of a note left behind after guests checked out
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1


based on 13 traveler reviews

Cozy House Close to Civic Center, Downtown and Attractions
average rating of 3.6923077 based on 14 reviews

Moms, PLEASE READ and Beware!!!

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property for three nights. Prior to booking, we expressed to Ms. Amie that we were traveling with four children, ages ranging 4-7, including one with allergies and she assured us her home was clean and safe. Upon arrival, she met us in the alley behind her home. Her yard, while neatly mowed, had unkempt rose bushes with glaring bare thorns along the entire perimeter of the fence. She immediately expressed she was behind in yard maintenance and we would be seeing her working on it during our stay. Entering the house, I noticed an offensive odor I attributed to old, poorly ventilated spaces. A small space behind the kitchen with spare linens, led to a cement staircase to the basement. Amie handed us a flimsy plastic gate that was to keep the kids from falling down the stairs. Once she left, we began unpacking. Within minutes, my son's breathing became labored and shallow - an asthma attack. We immediately used his nebulizer. I unpacked all of our bags while he sat on the bed getting his breathing treatment. Finally, he laid down saying he was not feeling well. I wanted to open a window. When I moved the plastic roller shade aside (it did not roll up), I found a busted window, with a gaping hole and glass shards still stuck to the frame and less than a foot away from the bed. Turning down the comforter, I found hair. This was unsettling as that, the dingy bathroom, the thin brown linens, cobwebs with dead bugs in the corners of the kitchen and so much dust on furniture, floor and fixtures already added to the feeling of uncleanliness. The hook and eye lock inside the bathroom door didn’t work. I tried to replace the linens on the bed and realized the spare set Amie left us was just as thin and grimy as the one on the bed. Ms. Amie claimed they were brand new, straight from the package. We called Amie before we left. She did not pick up. We left messages and sent an email. I could not risk a visit to the ER with my son. Everyone was exhausted. With no reply from Amie, we packed up and drove looking for somewhere to stay, though it was nearing midnight on Memorial Day weekend. When Amie finally replied the next day, she was defensive bordering on hostile, refusing to take responsibility and accusing us of breaking her window and planting hair in her bed linens, even though we took photos. To the issue of broken lock, she emailed, "My son manages a local hotel. Their bathroom doors don't lock." The 100% upfront downpayment makes more sense now.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I received a call prior to the check in date asking about canceling. I referred her to the cancellation policy that was attached to my inquiry response letter, and conformation letter. It is also on my website. It states that a refund will be issued if I am able to re book the dates. Had she notified me soon enough, it could have been possible to re book, as it was Memorial Weekend. But because of the shortness of time, it was unlikely.  She was not happy, but decided to keep the reservation. She, another woman and four children arrived quite late in the evening on the 27th of May. They unloaded nothing. Not one piece of luggage, no food, not even one single toy. It is my opinion that they had absolutely no intention of staying.  The following morning, I had a voice message stating that they were unable to stay because my house had mold and a broken window. She found an old negative review, and repeated it almost word for word. I believe she is using that as a weapon to negate her rental agreement. Since that old negative review, I have had several great reviews. One from a family that returns yearly to attend a local event. The story grows with each telling. I admit to the overgrown rosebushes, but what was not mentioned was the fact that when I met them, I was on crutches with a broken leg. I am still catching up on yard work on my four properties. The “thin dingy brown towels” are Italian Cotton Waffle Towels that I myself imported from Italy and sell. I also stock the house with plush terrycloth towels for people that don't want to try them. I tried to explain this at check-in, but found it hard to communicate as both women couldn't put their phones down long enough to listen, which also confirmed to me that they didn't plan to stay. It was quite late when they checked in. When I returned home, I went straight to bed and was asleep when the phone call came in. I did get defensive when I contacted them the next day and was told that my house had mold. At that time the only other complaint was the broken window. (which wasn't broken when I did my preseason cleaning) The complaint list grew with each communication. I could address each imagined issue, but I'm still convinced that they stem from the fact that they had no intention of staying to begin with.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

I did a pre Christmas visit with my Nephew. This house was an excellent house for our stay. I would advise anyone to stay here any time of year. I enjoyed cooking for my nephew in the spacious kitchen. It is close to everything we wanted to see. I was impressed with how the house is decorated. It was a perfect place to celebrate our Christmas.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

This house is a great value for the dollar, for my family. Had we stayed at a motel, we would have needed two rooms, which meant that we wouldn't be together, and the cost would have been double. There is a lot of common area so that we can be together at the end of the day.We came for "Hills Alive" at the Civic Center. This house was an excellent place to stay as it was within walking distance. It has a great yard for my children, and is nicely decorated. It is exactly as nice as the pictures. The house had all the amenities for a comfortable stay. I had intended to post this review once we returned home, but got busy. The previous review was completely untrue and unfair. In fact, we returned to Rapid City about a month later. This house was unavailable, but we stayed at the owners other house, which we found even nicer. When we return to Rapid City, we will always stay at this house, or her other one. The owner goes out of her way to make sure that all our needs are met.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans, Louisiana

Don't stay here !!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Amie met us upon our arrival. The house was hot when we walked in but since it was a warm day outside we thought that the place would cool down by the time we came back from dinner. When we arrived back at around 10:30 it was still hot and uncomfortable. There is only one window unit in the living room and one portable ac in the kitchen. There is no air circulation in either bedroom which made it unbearable to sleep in. Then there was the matter of the smell. The placed smelled like no one had lived there for months. It was so bad that I thought there was a dead animal in the house so I started looking for something and I found what I think was a dead rat,squirrel or some other critter behind the sofa. That is when decided we were going to find an hotel to stay in. Unfortunately after calling no less then 8 hotels their was no vacancies at any of them. By this time it is close to midnight so we had to reluctantly stay the night. My wife and 12 year old daughter went to sleep in the bedroom that face the street when my wife noticed that the window was broken and there was a big hole in it. That turned in to a major safety concern as we didn't know what could happen if someone or another critter trying to get in. Then there is the issue with the bathroom. The tub is peeling and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks not to mention the bug that was crawling in it. The next morning we left and I informed Amie why we wouldn't be staying for the rest of our stay. She apologized for everything and even said that her last tenant would leave the door open and that is how the critter got in the house. I sent Amie an email with all of our concerns and ask her for a complete refund with all of the problems that we had. Of course she has informed me that she would be keeping our entire payment and tried to justify this by saying that we didn't call her that night with our concerns and give her a chance to fix everything. After the night that we had in the house we were not going to stay there anymore. If you read the other comments then you will see some of the same problems that I have talked about. Lack of ac, no air circulation, bugs in the house(even though she says that she has never had bugs in the house). She even had the nerve to tell me that I was SLINKING out of the house by waiting until the next morning to let her know we were leaving. I wish that I could post pictures to show the conditions that I have explained but there isn't a way to do it.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, I need to address the issue of THE DEAD ANIMAL. Upon my investigation, I found a cured rabbit pelt that SOMEONE dropped behind the couch. This guest e-mailed me a list of complaints. It's my opinion that most of these issues were created by him to avoid a strict cancellation policy. Below was my response to the long list: 1. You did stay the one night which required the same amount of cleaning (I only do three night bookings or more as it states in your rental agreement) 2. You did not contact me about ANY of the MANY issues listed until after your left, which gave me no opportunity to address them. 3. Your main issue was the heat. I have two window units sitting in my basement that could have been installed within a few minutes. I haven't installed them because in the last seven years I have been renting that house, you are the VERY first to complain. You didn't even use the fans (that are in plain site by the basement) This has not been the hottest summer we have had, however it has been the wettest. Which brings us to a couple of your other issues: 4. The smell: I had several people check it out for me. They all said the same thing, “The basement has that musty wet smell”, which even my own home has, as does every other basement in South Dakota, at least those that aren't flooded. 5. The over grown lawn that was mowed the previous Tuesday to your check-in (five days prior) and scheduled to be mowed again the following Tuesday (and was) I have the bill from my gardener to prove it. 6. The dead animal which turned out to be a cured rabbit pelt that SOMEONE dropped behind my couch. 7 The one bug in the bathtub. They are common to South Dakota and come up through the plumbing. I get them often at my own home. There is no way, that I'm aware, to prevent that from happening. 8. The film in the bathtub is a mystery to me, as it wasn't there a few hours prior when I personally cleaned the house. 9. The broken window, which is a legitimate issue, I did not see it while cleaning earlier, and now that I have been made aware of it, has been fixed. I’m not sure WHO or exactly when it was broken. 10. During your stay, you did manage to do laundry, as I know how much detergent I leave, and where I leave the settings on the machines. I also wish I could post pictures.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Joliet Il , US

Nice weeks stay

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an exceptional stay at this house. There was plenty of room for the children, both inside and outside. It was so nice to be able to prepare our meals in the well supplied kitchen, and to do laundry at the end of the day. The location is great for both in town activities, and tourist destinations.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Centrally located, perfect 'home base' for our Black Hills adventures

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 stayed here for a week+ at the end of July. Amie met us on arrival and showed us around the house, she was a wonderful host! We really enjoyed our stay here, it had the right amount of space and the location was great. If the weather was nice, we would take walks in the evenings to downtown Rapid City or the frozen yogurt place a few blocks away. It was not more than an 1-1.5 hours from everything we wanted to see: Devils Tower, Spearfish Canyon, The Badlands, Wind Cave, Harney Peak... it was nice to not have to drive too far to anything. Again, can't say enough about this cozy rental and Amie-- we felt well taken care of and the rental was well equipped. We loved it here--thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Rapid Regional
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 90
Car: necessary

30 minutes from Custer Park, 40 minutes to the Badlands, 20 minutes to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse. All the above will provide you with hiking and wildlife viewing.


Rates & Availability

Rapid City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates do not include Sturgis Motorcycle Rally Week. Off seasonal corporate rates available for 30 day stay or more. Read booking "Terms and Conditions" on my website

I accept Visa and Master Card. I will bill your credit card 1/2 at booking, the remaining 30 days prior to check in. To book, you can go to my web site click on booking page and submit your information, or call me with that information at 605-858-0043. You can also view other pictures of this house along with my other house on that web site.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Black Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • shower/ bath tub combination
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming

Partner Offers