Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Glen Lake Beachfront, 3 Bed. 1.5 Ba. (AUGUST 19-26 discount) for 2017

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beachfront, 3 Bedrooms sleep 6, new full plus one half baths, washer/dryer

DIRECT frontage on Glen Lake's north shore, beach faces south, sunset over dune climb to your west. 3 miles to Glen Arbor, 6 miles to Empire, 1.5 mile to boat ramp or marina.

SELECT "view all rental rates" BELOW. Individual weeks vary from $2200 early/late seasons up to $3300 Peak season. Consecutive week discount, nightly rates early/late seasons.

PET FREE and SMOKE FREE for comfort of future guests.

Maximum OCCUPANCY is SIX. Towels are included. Sheets available for a slight fee.

PAYMENT: $1000 deposit with return of rental agreement. Balance payable 90 days prior to arrival date. A $350 security deposit is due at time of balance.

Rate listed is based on one family occupancy of no more than six. See manager for details.

DETAILS: New bathrooms, hand held shower over tub, half bath, full size washer/dryer. Well equipped kitchen.

Lake is shallow for a long way making it ideal for small children. Your boat mooring device is directly in front of cottage, nothing is shared with others, cottage is in area of only private homes, each with their own private beach.

A large lakefront deck sits 40 feet back from a private 100 foot wide sandy beach, with four person swing and fire ring.

Deck includes gas grill and dining for six, can be closed off for child containment by gates.

You will find this private one acre 400 ft. deep, direct beachfront property to be clean, uncluttered and well maintained. You don't even have to set out the TRASH!

We've enjoyed the return of several families over the years and would welcome yours!

Keywords: Lakefront Cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner Carol
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 10, 2017

Why Owner Carol chose Sleeping Bear Dunes

Four generations of our family have enjoyed all seasons in the Glen Lake, Leelanau County area. Some of our best memories are of sharing time with family, such as listening to the waves and children's delight while sitting on the swing or watching the sun set over the sand dunes at the camp fire.

What makes this cottage unique

Cottage is very clean, uncluttered and comfortable. Peacefully quiet among private homes.

Amenities

Empire Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower wand for ease
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , pedestal sink, full size washer and dryer
  • Each bathroom has new ceramic tile and bath fixtures, grab bar for safety
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Ceiling fan in each bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Every room has a CEILING FAN. Beach bonfire ring, large swing, seating on beach. Additional dining on deck. Boat MOORING provided in lake, center of property.

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Glen Lake Beachfront, 3 Bed. 1.5 Ba. (AUGUST 19-26 discount) for 2017
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
Battle Creek, Mi
5

July 4th week

  • 5 of 5

we love coming up to Glen Lake any time in the summer but love the week of the forth. This cottage was great Carol has updated it very nice and the kitchen has all the utensils and things we need we brought our boat and used the lake all day long. Glen Lake is ver shallow so be prepared to walk out if you have a boat but it's worth it. We will be coming back

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation cottage

  • 5 of 5

A lovely cottage! We are experienced renters, so it was such a nice surprise to walk into a cottage that was so sparkling clean, it even got my Mother's approval! It was a great way to open a great week. The cottage is exactly as advertised and the view of the lake is gorgeous. The location can't be beat: close to downtown Glen Arbor and the Dunes, still peaceful and quiet. The lake is really shallow for a long way out, my children loved it. The Owner was extremely gracious and helpful. I recommend this property and hope to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vienna, VA
5

Another Remarkable stay at Your Lovely Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for the use of your lovely cottage....once again. After 20 years of staying at your charming place on little Glen it's seems to get better and better for us. We have such great memories there and are enjoying building more with each year. Between watching the sunsets over the Dunes and swimming in 84 degree, crystal clear water, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It's such a great place for our kids...we just love walking out through the water about 150 yards from the shoreline and only being up to our waist in water....and the sandy bottom..my gosh it's like sugar under your feet. Unbelievable! I know your place books early and so expect us to be securing our week before Spring time next year.

Until next year...take care and have a wonderful winter.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Sterling Heights, MI
1

Beautiful Property / Area - Not worth the frustration

  • 1 of 5

The location and accomodations were beautiful, we had a perfect week on Glen Lake and it's only a 5 minute drive to the Dune climb. The house was very clean, very well maintained and comes with everything you need, including WIFI. Sheets and Towels were extra so we brought our own.

The frustration came the week after we got home and the property owner cashed our security deposit. In the end we did get approximately half of our deposit back but we were charged for a couple items:

* Property owner said there was a tear in the King Size mattress pad and charged us for a replacement pad. Since we brought our own sheets, we saw the mattress pad upon arrival (when putting the sheets on) and departure, and we did not notice any rip in the mattress pad.

* When we left we accidentally brought home the wrong blanket and pillow, leaving ours at the cottage. I offered to ship their items back but they never got back to me, instead they deducted money from our deposit. They will refund the money for the blanket and pillow but only once I ship back their items. If I want my items back I have to pick them up or send them prepaid shipping information which at this point isn't worth the frustration.

* Check out time is 11:00 am, I called the owner at 11:12 to let them know we were leaving and just wrapping up and they said no problem, never indicating that we'd be charged a late fee for leaving after 11:00. Additional money was deducted from our security deposit for "Late check out without notification"

*Finally when I did end up talking to the owner they indicated that we left the counters dirty and left dirty dishes, which they weren't happy with. The reason we were charged for the late check out was because the cleaning crew couldn't get in at 11:00. I don't remember leaving the counters excessively dirty , but even so, isn't that what the cleaning service is for -- to clean? As for the dishes, we loaded the dishwasher before we left and ran it.

When we first looked at this location we were cautious because there were no reviews from past renters, now I know why. I feel this property owner took advantage of us and cheated us out of half of our security deposit. I'm not posting this expecting to get my deposit back, I just want to make sure others know what they are in for.

There are plenty of other rental properties on Glen Lake with positive reviews to choose from, we would not rent from this owner again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sterling Heights family was first upset because we would not allow occupancy change to eight. Maximum is six. Only $130 was not returned from the security deposit of $300. This was used to cover replacement cost of (additional refund $35 if returned) blanket, pillow and case taken from premise. Also 1/2 hour additional wages for the 38 minute wait for housekeeper entry, torn king mattress pad replacement, excessive cleaning of urine stain and food from sofa cushions along with thorough kitchen cleaning. We provided a local address for return to avoid mailing charge. For the benefit of guests, we offer a later (11am) checkout and earlier (3pm) check in time. A $300 security deposit is refunded after departure provided there is no damage or excessive wear. Several families return, and we enjoy the glowing notes in our guest journal. We are sorry we could not please this family. We wish for years of happy memories for all to look back at, especially the children who bring their families back to Sleeping Bear!
Did you find this review helpful?
13 4

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
W. Day Forest Road at M-22
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Beach
In front of home

Surrounded by Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore, sand dunes to our west, Alligator Hill hiking trails to our north and swimming/boating directly to our south makes us the perfect central but quiet location to stay.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Empire Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early season
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$315
$2,200
 
 
June interim
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
June interim 2
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Peak
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
Peak 2
Jul 22 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
August interim
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
 
August interim 2
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
late season
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,600
 
 
Fall season
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$290
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Housekeeping fee $100

Discounts for consecutive weeks.
Please note that Rates are BASED on specific week. Please contact owner with questions for quick response
.

SEE LISTING above for TERMS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties