check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Contact

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Windham Family Funhouse and Nature Retreat

31 Reviews
Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Jewett House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 13-15)

Beautiful five bedroom home on three acres backing up to a stream. Four bedrooms on ground level and Master Bedroom on second floor with his and her bathrooms. Basement is newly refinished gameroom with brand new pool table, foosball, ping pong, card table, darts, and a bar.

This house is ideal for a family gathering. Your kids will love this house. The property has great hiking trails that lead from the property to a small stream and the Eastkill River for summer swimming. The front yard is big enough for volleyball. There is a huge wrap-around deck with brand new hot tub, new patio furniture and a new gas grill for summer barbecues.

During the winter months, you will find yourself ten minutes from both Windham and Hunter Mountain. After a day of skiing, come back, throw some logs in the woodburning stove, and jump into the hot tub out back while the kids play downstairs in the gameroom.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
Contact (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 31 traveler reviews

Windham Family Funhouse and Nature Retreat
average rating of 4.870968 based on 31 reviews
5

Great ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely ski weekend at the Windham house. We were five families and there was plenty of room, it was cozy, the hot tub was fantastic and both the kids and adults enjoyed the game room. It's very close and conveniently located near the Windham ski resort. We would totally come here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had a good time! Thanks for renting with us!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoboken, NJ
5

BEST HOUSE EVER!

  • 5 of 5

This was my second consecutive year renting the house and it was even better than the first. With the warm weather in December we were able to utilize not only the house to the full extent but the large front yard (with fire pit) and the outdoor deck (with hot tub and barbecue grill). The house more than comfortable slept 12 people and we all had a BLAST given the accommodations. The owner Pete was great to work with once again and was extremely helpful in retrieving some items I left behind at the house (which was greatly appreciated). If you're looking for a fantastic time in the heart of the Catskills, there's simply no better house than this.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Summer Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place for our extended family of 14 to spend time together. There were plenty of bedrooms to accommodate several married couples, children, and some singles - 5 bedrooms with closed doors as well as some mattresses and futons for those needing less privacy. There were comfortable couches for hanging out on the main floor and in the basement game room. The hot tub worked well. The deck was large and spacious - we ate dinner together each night on the deck, after cooking out on the fire pit and charcoal barbecue that were on the lawn. The kitchen and bedrooms were well stocked and clean. The game room in the basement has a good condition pool table and pingpong table, with all the balls and equipment nicely laid out. Large washer/dryer were great for our family too. The location is somewhat secluded (next door neighbor pretty close on one side) but not too far a drive from highways and easy find at night. The internet connection was very good and reliable too, as was cellphone reception. Before we came, were somewhat concerned that there was no air conditioning - but the nights were plenty cool, and opening the windows and screened doors to let in the cooler evening air, and a window fan in the loft, was all that was needed. It did get warm during the mid-day and afternoon, especially upstairs in the loft where it can be stuffy, but we were out during the day anyway, and the basement stayed cool.

For families - be aware that the upstairs loft area is a balcony with banisters that are not childproof. We had the toddlers sleep in rooms rather than out on the loft area. And the path down to the creek in the backyard is lovely but mildly challenging - don't send very little ones down by themselves or go without proper shoes. The house has a pack-and-play as well as a backpack for carrying a baby.

Peter the owner was highly responsive by email, text, and phone, and was very helpful with questions we asked or items we needed. For a rustic vacation without 'roughing it,' this is a great choice.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Memorial Day Weekend Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

Rented this house with a large group of friends over Memorial Day Weekend and had an amazing time! The house was truly everything we hoped for. There were 14 of us and there was plenty of space for everyone. There was always something to do whether it was hiking, hanging out at the river close by, chilling in the hot tub, playing games in the basement, roasting marshmallows over the fire pit, etc. I cannot even begin to fully convey all of the fun that we had. Would definitely recommend this house to anyone who wants to relax or have an adventure. It has the best of everything you could want and the owner was extremely helpful and available to answer any questions.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Fun ,Clean, Spacious House!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 12 had a wonderful time and cant' wait to come back again. Some of the people in our group stayed back to relax or even work from "home" while the rest of us went skiing at Hunter mountain. The people who didn't ski even had a great time relaxing by the wood stove in the living room. The house is the perfect combination of cozy and spacious. We loved the ping pong, foosball, dart board, and pool table in the basement.When you come home from skiing, there is plenty of room to store the equipment. The kids loved the loft. The bedrooms were nice and comfortable. Peter (the owner) was easy to work with and very accommodating. We definitely recommend the house.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun house

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Peter's house for the Christmas holiday. He was very nice and easy to deal with. It was definitely not enough time to enjoy the house and the nearby area. The game room was the best area for the kids and adults to play. The hot-top was the best to relax with the hot water in the cold wealth . Anyway we had a pleasure time to stay in the house and will be back next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Ski Windham

Photos

Rates & Availability

Jewett House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer /Fall
Apr 1 2016 - Nov 13 2016
2 night minimum stay
$500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Security Deposit $500

Winter ...... $500-$800/wknd nt.
Summer ...... $400-$500/wknd nt.
Winter Season .......... $18,000.
Holidays .... $700 -$1,000
Holiday Weekly Rates Are Negotiable.
Mid Week Rates During the Summer & Winter Are Also Negotiable.
Will consider Trades!

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Jewett House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • We also have a double futon and a King sized mattress on a sleeping platform in the loft in addition to a pull out couch.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Brand New Game room, Great Yard for Summer Fun

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties