Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Windham Family Funhouse and Nature Retreat

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 13-15)

Beautiful five bedroom home on three acres backing up to a stream. Four bedrooms on ground level and Master Bedroom on second floor with his and her bathrooms. Basement is newly refinished gameroom with brand new pool table, foosball, ping pong, card table, darts, and a bar.

This house is ideal for a family gathering. Your kids will love this house. The property has great hiking trails that lead from the property to a small stream and the Eastkill River for summer swimming. The front yard is big enough for volleyball. There is a huge wrap-around deck with brand new hot tub, new patio furniture and a new gas grill for summer barbecues.

During the winter months, you will find yourself ten minutes from both Windham and Hunter Mountain. After a day of skiing, come back, throw some logs in the woodburning stove, and jump into the hot tub out back while the kids play downstairs in the gameroom.

More Details

Amenities

Jewett House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • We also have a double futon and a King sized mattress on a sleeping platform in the loft in addition to a pull out couch.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 10 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Game room with Pool Table fossball, Ping Pong,Darts and a Bar.Great Yard for Summer Fun

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Windham Family Funhouse and Nature Retreat
average rating of 4.783784 based on 37 reviews
new york, ny, usa
5

Comfortable house in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

We were 5 couples with kids. And we all had a great time!

The house is spacious and comfortable, with a nice open kitchen/eating area and a beautiful deck facing the woods. We went for a hike to the river, used the hot tub and played in the garden during the day and enjoyed ping-pong and Foosball tournaments at night.

The area is very quiet, no cars around and secluded, which we really enjoyed.

Communicating with Peter was super easy and there was not much we needed to ask him once we were there.

I guess that if there is anything I would recommend is to go with good friends, or family that are on the same schedule. Sleeping when everyone is chatting or playing in the basement might not be easy if you are a light sleeper. It was not a problem for us ;)

Cheers!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really Enjoyed The Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

About 10 of us got together for a weekend of skiing at the nearby mountains. We had a great time over the weekend. The house has plenty of living space for playing games and hanging out. We also made use of the game room downstairs which has foozball, pingpong, darts and pool. The hot tub on the deck outside wasn't too bad either ;)

Peter is a good landlord as well -- very easy to deal with and always available if needed.

Thanks much!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable home close to both Windham and Hunter

  • 4 of 5

We stayed with 2 other families in January and had a great time. House was very conveniently located to Windham and Hunter. The owner, Peter, was very responsive whenever we had a question about the house.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY
5

Great getaway house for snowboarding/skiing

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 3 nights. Mostly went snowboarding to Hunter Mountain. It is just 10 mins from the house. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, fireplace, hot tub, games in the basement. Amazing place! Absolutely recommend for friends/families.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

nice place but need maintainance work

  • 2 of 5

This is a nice comfortable house. We found rats movement inside the house. This was bit disappointing as we were scared to sleep.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes we did have a couple of mice not rats, at the house which scared our city renters who spent a weekend in our Mountain House which is not uncommon in the Catskill area. We immediately hired Orkin Pest Removal services to address the issue. The other problem was there was no propane in the grill on our deck which can be difficult to manage as a property owner and we always tell our guests to check it as soon as they get there and if it's empty they can refill it 24 hours a day at a store 10 minutes away in town and we will reimburse them for the cost. The following is a note the renter sent to me after the visit. Replied Hi Peter, I visited your property 40953 last weekend and it was a good trip and I like the place. Couple of my guests ( who stayed with me) had two complains: 1. They found rat movement inside the house both in 1st and 2nd floor. They were scared of it but bit disappointed. 2. Also due to low gas in cylinder and charcoal, they could not use the outside Grill for long. Please let know if we are eligible for any discount or refund. Thanks Nahid 3 weeks ago
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

My family, friends and I all had a great 2 night trip to this house. It was big enough to fit 15 of us. We loved the space, deck, fire pit and especially the game room. We would go back there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Contact
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2018

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Albany
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Chrisman
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Hudson
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Ski Windham
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
North Lake

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $500

Winter ...... $500-$800/wknd nt.
Summer ...... $400-$500/wknd nt.
Winter Season .......... $18,000.
Holidays .... $700 -$1,000
Holiday Weekly Rates Are Negotiable.
Mid Week Rates During the Summer & Winter Are Also Negotiable.
Will consider Trades!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.