check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Stewart Rafalo

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Beautiful, spacious home! Ideal location! Hot Tub! Great views!

29 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

San Juan River Village House Rental Photos and Description

4 BR, 3.5 BA, sleeps maximum of 13

Pine Ridge Retreat is a large beautiful, custom home set amongst tall shady pine trees. The location is ideal at 8000 feet with easy access to the best that Pagosa Springs has to offer. It is a spacious getaway with stunning views. You can enjoy a relaxing soak in the hot tub or barbecue on the gas grill on our large sunny deck. This tastefully decorated home has all of the comforts and conveniences of your own home. The great room has a vaulted ceiling, a built in gas fireplace, a flat screen TV, a fully equipped kitchen and dining for 12. There are 3 full floors including a separate living area in the den providing plenty of room for everyone to have privacy. Other amenities include a large master shower, a ping pong table, games and videos. We have 4 TVs in the house with DVD players and 3 of them have dish network satellite TV service. We offer free internet and long distance service, with a laptop provided.

We have a 3 night minimum. Please check the calendar before sending your request. It is accurate.

The Christmas Holidays for 2016 are already reserved.

The retreat is a large four bedroom home with three and a half baths located in the mountains 1 mile above the highway and river between Pagosa Springs and Wolf Creek Pass, in San Juan River Resort, the closest neighborhood to Wolf Creek Ski Area. Many other properties are on the other side of town and will take you 20-30 minutes longer to drive to the ski area. The elevation closer to the mountains and forests keep the retreat cooler than some other Pagosa areas in the summer.

A small pond is visible from the deck and is a 5 minute walk away. There is a large covered picnic area there with tables and grills.

The gravel road in the subdivision is well maintained. The neighborhood is friendly and quiet. Taking walks or bike rides right out of the front door are very pleasant. There is also close access to national forest trails.

Our home is personally owned and managed. We take pride in maintaining the highest quality of accommodations and all amenities. The home is always very clean and well stocked with supplies and plenty of quality linens. It surpasses the usual vacation rental experience!

Check out the video tour to see the entire property!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Stewart Rafalo (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

About Stewart Rafalo

Owners personally manage the property. All communication and transactions are handled professionally. A legal contract is used to make everything clear and to protect both parties. We custom built our home in 2007. Our family also visits Pagosa several times per year, all amenities are kept stocked so that when you arrive you have everything that you need. We take pride in the home making sure that everything is always clean and well maintained.

Stewart Rafalo purchased this house in 2007

Why Stewart Rafalo chose Pagosa Springs

The serene mountain setting is heavenly. There are a multitude of year round outdoor activities to enjoy right in the back yard. The location is ideal, San Juan River Resort is a wonderful neighborhood. Being on the East side of Pagosa Springs makes driving to the ski area or town very convenient with no traffic. In the summer, the higher elevation and pine forest make it cool and pleasant. While there are other houses close by, the way our house is situated above the garage makes it feel private with great views from any window. The neighborhood is quiet, many of the nearby homes are rarely occupied.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We vacationed at Pine Ridge Retreat with my brother and his family. We loved the hot tub and the views. We enjoyed the big deck and having enough room for everyone at the table. My kids loved the ping pong table. We will definitely stay at the house again.
May 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

Beautiful, spacious home! Ideal location! Hot Tub! Great views!
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 30 reviews
5

Spacious and well-stocked.

  • 5 of 5

A family friendly property with lots of space. The house was well stocked with plenty of towels and linens. It had laundry supplies, tons of spices and condiments. This house had things we usually bring or buy, but they were already there and waiting on us.

The owner was helpful and communicated with us well. The hot tub was easy to use and maintain. It was a blessing to stay in such a well stocked and comfortable home.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house! Spaceful, functional and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Went with an 8 adult group for skiing at Wolfcreek.

House is at perfect location between the slopes and Pagosa town.

It has big kitchen/dinner table/living room that allow us to get together every night after skiing.

Jacuzzi and grill on the deck its perfect!!!!

Everything is in perfect conditions and well maintained.

For sure a great option for vacations.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Vacation (From a HomeAway employee)

  • 5 of 5

I am a HomeAway employee and have been working for the company for over 2 years. This is the first time I have stayed at one of our listings and I have to say, THIS WAS A PERFECT HOUSE for my family's vacation!

The house was PLENTY big enough to accommodate my 13 member family, including 2 toddlers and an infant. The kitchen was fully stocked with anything needed to cook family meals INCLUDING seasonings and spices. The master bath is HUGE, and the additional 2 bathrooms make it easy for a large family to stay. The house was clean, and all rooms had everything needed to experience the comforts of home. I don't believe the owner had any warning or indication that one of the company employees were going to be staying at their house. Therefor one could only assume that they keep their house in this pristine condition on a regular basis. The house is located in an even split between the ski resort and the town of pagosa springs making it easy to travel to both places for fun and entertainment. Will definitely be renting again in the future!

Signed

~Happy HomeAway employee!~

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! That's great! No, I had no idea that you were a HomeAway employee. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Usually, I have a chance to personally go through the property to make sure that everything is clean, stocked and ready and that the hot tub is ready. I could not do that before your stay because I am out of town helping my ill mother. I appreciate the great job our housekeeper is doing. I was disappointed in the hot tub service company. That is very rare that the hot tub is not ready to go. I apologize but I'm glad that we could fix the problem over the phone. Thank you, Stella
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Stella has all of the details taken care of at the Pine Ridge Retreat from linens, towels, to a fully stocked kitchen. The hot tub was such a nice amenity to have after a day of skiing. I will for sure be renting again. I do have one disclaimer the crock pot is much smaller than your average sized one but fortunately there is a large pot.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Christmas stay

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for holiday gathering. 6 adults and 5 children ages 7-17. 3 feet of snow during the week.

Large kitchen, great hot tub, perfectly furnished and equipped. Closest we have ever stayed to Wolf Creek skiing. Stella ,the owner, is on top of everything, no worries about what you are going to find when you arrive. She mailed items left behind immediately. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. Please stay at Pine Ridge Retreat again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just as presented on the website... Well-stocked kitchen, plenty of space for our group of 7. Couldn't be happier with our stay on the mountain for Thanksgiving:)

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please stay at Pine Ridge Retreat next time you visit Pagosa Springs!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Durango
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Pagosa Golf Club
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Wolf Creek Ski Area
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Wildlife Viewing, Snowmobiling, Mini Golf, ATV. There is a pond with a covered picnic area just a 5 minute walk away.

Ski: Wolf Creek Ski Area is 18 miles away

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Juan River Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$330
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $200

Please check the calendar before sending inquiries as it is always kept up to date. Rates vary based on the season. Last minute discounts may be available. Payment by check is preferred but credit cards also are accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

San Juan River Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Ducted Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large Master Shower. His and her sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , His and her sinks
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 5 - 1 baby crib , 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 futons in den + air mattress
  • We have 2 high quality double futons with ample bedding and a pack and play.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Springs of Pagosa are some of the best in the world and only a ten minute drive away. Two Snowsleds are provided. There is a pond with a covered picnic area and charcoal grill just a 5 minute walk away. The mainfloor of the house can be accessed with close parking and by only two steps up the stairs when there is not snow. 4 wheel drive, front wheel drive with good tires or chains are probably necessary in the winter. The one mile gravel/dirt road and drive are plowed frequently but are often snow packed and Wolf Creek Pass is often snow packed. Free use of laptop provided, internet and long distance! Other Activities: Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Snowmobiling, Mini Golf, ATV, Four wheeling, Mountain Biking, Motocross trails, Horseback riding. There is national forest access with a trail system from the neighborhood! The propane for the gas grill is connected to the house, no tanks!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties