Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanfront Hawaiian Beach House with Pool!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Escape to your own romantic, vintage Hawaiian style beach house located within walking distance to Kailua-Kona in a private, gated enclave of fabulous homes. This Kona Bay Estates oceanfront home offers comfort and a warm welcome in a spectacular setting.

With 4 bedrooms and 3.5 baths, a 50 foot solar heated lap pool and 3 separate lanais, it is the perfect place for a gathering of family and friends with spaces to come together to enjoy each other and other spaces to relax in private. A small 5th sleeping area with one twin bed located off the kitchen is perfect for one person and expands the maximum number of guests to 9.

Open up the doors to take advantage of cooling ocean breezes and that indoor-outdoor lifestyle that is synonymous with Hawaiian living. Redwood, cedar, and lava rock walls seem to magically grow out of the surroundings in an interesting counterpoint to the clear aquamarine ocean and frothy white of the waves.

The sun sparkles on the water and then provides a breathtaking kaleidoscope of color with every unique sunset. But don't go in yet! The stars and planets are coming out to provide their own inspiring dance across the heavens. Better pick up some groceries on the way in because you may never want to venture away from your private escape to see what else Kona offers!

This home is listed for sale and showings may be requested with 24 hour notice during your stay.

Keywords: oceanfront home, beach home, beach villa

More Details

Property Manager
Carole and Chelsea Kwiat
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2017

About Carole and Chelsea Kwiat

This section will be Coming Soon

Carole and Chelsea Kwiat purchased this house in 2006

Why Carole and Chelsea Kwiat chose Kona Coast

This section will be Coming Soon

What makes this house unique

This section will be Coming Soon

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a magnificent time at the Kona Estates home. The ocean view is really stunning, and the neighborhood is very private. It was the perfect place for our small group of four adults.
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 38


Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Located within the Master Suite on Upper Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Full bath with dual sinks on main level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Bath adjoining Guest Bedroom 2
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Located off the Kitchen and Near Small Sleeping Area
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Suite with Private Oceanfront Lanai
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Guest Bedroom with small, private lanai
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Guest Bedroom with Bath and Window A/C
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Guest Bedroom with small, private lanai, Window A/C
    Other (See Description) - 1 twin/ single , Small Sleeping Area off Back Hall and Kitchen
  • King size beds (1) Located in the master suite, Queen size Beds (1) Two queen beds are available in the guest bedrooms, Twin or Single Beds (1) 3 twin beds, 2 in one of the guest bedrooms and another in the single guest bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play crib with all linens is available at no charge. Please let Carole know to have it available!
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront Hawaiian Beach House with Pool!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 44 reviews
Clovis, CA

Great location, HOT WEATHER

  • 4 of 5

Everything was great, minus the weather being hot and the house not having A/C in the living room area, the downstairs bedroom by the laundry room and master bedroom. The bedrooms that did have A/C felt fine, but the ones that did not were uncomfortable to be in.

The only minor problem we ran into was the pool being a little dirty, but the manager got on it quickly which I appreciated!

The house came with a lot of water activity gear in the garage (boogie boards, kayak, water shoes, life vests, umbrellas) which was very useful.

Great location and house, walking distance to downtown Kona. I would recommend this house depending on weather.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Paradise found !!

  • 5 of 5

Our 3 generation family of 7 spent Christmas here at this fabulous house. Lots of room/privacy/bathrooms for everyone. Nice bed linens, tons of beach/bath towels. The best part of this home is the ability to open the walls right up, the inside became the outside. While we didn't (luckily) have any mice or a mongoose visit us, we welcomed many geckos of all sizes into the house, as well we had the cutest pair of birds come to visit every morning, come into the kitchen and hunt for crumbs! Also had 2 gorgeous moths come in at night, sadly they couldn't be shoo'ed out & met their demise while trapped in the house. The odd flying creepy thing, & more than a few mosquito(?) bites, but no big deal.Whales came by to visit 2 days, was always fun to get up in the morning to see what type of boat had arrived off shore in the night. Pool was nice but I agree, hard to get in & out of , too deep for little ones. Everything else has been said...I think the best part of this home is the ocean, lying in bed listening to the surf pound at night is heaven, waking up to it even more so. There is room for improvement but nothing that would be a deal breaker . AS we were there over Christmas break there was not a lot of activity at the sports field, but I agree with one review, this could be a real issue. The few nights there was activity it was over by 9:00. Liked the constant security as i think there is a community of homeless people that sleep in the sports field. All in all, this is a great spot. Company was very easy to deal with!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Milton, NY

Great location, great views, loved the openness

  • 5 of 5

Layout: Master Bedroom upstairs facing the ocean and overlooking the pool with day bed and large bathtub/bathroom ensuite with doors and windows that open up all around with lanai. The pictures don't do it justice, it is absolutely amazing. Down a half of a level is a queen size bedroom with bathroom ensuite non-ocean facing. Main floor has a queen size bedroom non-ocean facing with a door to go outside on the side of the house and shares a bathroom with another bedroom that has two twin beds also with a door and lanai to go outside. Then there is another twin bed in a small room between the garage and the laundry area and a bathroom in the hall way. The kitchen, dining table, and sitting room are all together with doors that open up all around out to the pool area and facing the ocean and letting the fresh air come in and is amazing. Kitchen had everything we needed, with a mini-fridge in the kitchen area to hold beverage items. The pool was wonderful, but agree with other reviewer that it was a bit challenging to get out of the pool, but it's great for doing laps or just hanging around with several lounge chairs around the pool. Location was great as you can walk for about 10 mins down the stone wall that goes along all the properties to the left to the keiki ponds (with an amazing arch in the lava right at the ocean about halfway) or 10 mins to the right to get to Old Airport beach, about 25-30 min walk to the farmers market and shops and about a 10-15 min walk to Kona Brewing. The ball fields behind the house that other reviewers complained about were noticeable on one particular day with an announcer and music going on all day and night and bright lights, but other days there was no one there - also at this park are several tennis courts (there are 4 tennis racquets in the garage), horseshoe pitts, basketball court, and swimming pool for use. The neighboring houses are very close together, yet neither house had anyone staying in them when we were there. And one of the best parts is just a little bit to the right of the house is amazing snorkeling with easy access in and out on the lava - lots of fish right there in the little cove. Biggest negative was the internet, but I don't think it is the fault of the house, but the internet provider as it would come and go. Plenty of towels, beach mats, large coolers. Kayaks and snorkel equipment. BBQ worked well. Lights in front did not work. Overall would give 4.5 stars.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
New York

Oceanfront House in Kona

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this house. The main living level has floor-to-ceiling glass doors that fold open accordion-style to let the ocean breeze through. The master bedroom upstairs has a similar configuration for the windows -- fabulous. Swimmers and snorkelers shouldn't be intimidated by the swells and surf: we found a small cove a few lots north of the house that made a perfect entry point into the water. The kitchen was well-equipped with utensils (including knives that were actually sharp), glassware, pots and pans, spices and condiments, and the all-important blender. A small fridge worked well for beverages and such; a large freezer/fridge located in the laundry room is just a few steps out of the main kitchen area. Wifi worked fine throughout the house. The two upstairs bedrooms had clean, modern bathrooms, the main two bedrooms downstairs share a spacious bathroom that is outfitted with both a tub and shower stall (the master bath also has a fantastic tub). When we had a problem with the master bathroom toilet, the owner/manager got somebody there asap to fix it. If there was a downside (and there really wasn't for us) i could see the two-burner stove frustrating someone who is cooking for a large group. But that should be mitigated by the killer grill (that also has a gas burner) located just outside the kitchen door. Location was great too -- we used the mountain bikes in the garage to make the three-minute ride into town. As I said from the outset, we loved this house and would certainly rent it again. Cheers, P&K

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Oakland CA

Not the best house in this neighborhood

  • 2 of 5

We have stayed in other homes in this area plus various other

rentals in the US. This property seems to be over rented & not

having enough time/money for more maintenance. Other houses in this great

neighborhood offer complimentary cleaning during our stay. For instance, the

kitchen cabinets, inside & out, need cleaned. The spice cabinet is

gross! Having the refrigerator down the hall from the kitchen is absurd,

hardly a gourmet kitchen. Having only a 2 burner stove was challenging.

The light over the kitchen sink is ready to fall off. The hall cabinets off the

kitchen, painted white, are also gross & need thorough cleaning. We did not

even want to put food in there. The Living room floor was not clean - under the

couch was dirty with hair & bugs. The wiring for the TV/stereo is a

mess. The bathrooms did not have enough towel hooks. The master bath does

not even have a hand towel hook near the sinks. While the bathroom sinks

look new, being pedestal sinks offers no room for toiletry bags. Most of

the DVDs in the bedrooms did not work. All bedrooms could offer more

pillows. The half bath off the kitchen has old toilet seat & needs

window treatment since people grilling can see right in. We fixed a door

handle which was coming off. The pool was hard to keep clean without a

vacuum. Since the stairs & walkway to the ocean have not been maintained,

one had to jump over the wall, kind of hazardous. I could go on. There

are beach supplies which was nice. However, in the future, we will be

renting other houses in this neighborhood.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Obviously you were very unhappy with the home and your vacation there. I am sorry. I would like to point out a few things. If you had wanted interim cleanings, they are available at an additional cost and with prior scheduling. That is clearly pointed out in the rental agreement. The stove is a Jennaire with 2 burners on one side and a griddle on the other. The light fixture over the sink is of a style that hangs down and it was firmly attached. It swings back and forth becasue it is supposed to. The home is a beach house with an unconventional layout in that the refigerator is off the kitchen in the service area. I checked the DVDs in the bedrooms and one did not boot properly. The others are working. The whole back of the home opens up and the doors do not seal, so dust and bugs can be an issue in the living area. There are towel bars and racks in each bath. They are not right next to the sinks. Since this was a back to back booking and you were very anxious to get in early, we did our best to get everything done, but did not have time to completely clean out the kitchen cabinets. We are no longer allowing back to back bookings to assure that we do have time to get those things done. Again, I am sorry for your unhappiness with the home. Most people really enjoy it.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Lisbon, ND

Amazing Vacation in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This property was wonderful. We had a group of 8 (4 couples) that all thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in this amazing home. The property was very comfortable and relaxing. Carole was great and very easy to work with. The property security was a team of very friendly and helpful people. We even held a wedding by the pool during our visit here. We were all extremely happy with our choice of this property and would definately stay here again as well as recommend it to our friends and family!!

Thank you for making our vacation together one to truly remember!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Hulihee Palace
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Keahole International KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Kona Brew Pub
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Kona Bay Estates #42
Car: recommended

Whale watching in the winter, luaus and Hawaiian cultural performances, Ironman competition in October, numerous other triathlon and fitness events throughout the year.


Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
Holiday Rates
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $395 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellations made sixty (60) days or more prior to arrival with written notice shall be given a full refund minus a $100.00 cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than sixty (60) days prior to arrival shall forfeit the entire rent plus the 13.4166 percent Hawaii tax on the rent. The security deposit and cleaning fee shall be returned.

To confirm your reservation, 25% of the total booking amount would be due immediately, and the balance due 60 days prior to your arrival. We accept all major credit cards as well as personal or business checks.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties