Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LAKE GASTON ***( PONTOON BOAT INCLUDED)*** FISH**SWIM**POOl***PETS**

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 30 nights

Overview

About the property

Lake retreat

Peace & relaxation await at this quite end of shallow canal**Giant covered porch. 5 minute drive to a sandy beach w/ playground or 5 minute drive to Large community pool (pool has fee of $5 per person per day) **21' pontoon provided Only if experienced!!!.**Safe Boaters course required by NC/Va law **29 years old min to rent**

BOAT IS PROVIDED FOR DAY USE IN OUR CREEK (3 MILES LONG & LOVELY) OR if EXPERT, drive to main lake via tunnel if EXPERT BOAT SKILLS*Kitchen stocked with pots & pans, etc.**Home is 10 minutes from N/C** Canoe & single kayak provided for registered quests. The house is off a cove on Holly Grove Creek/Great. Our creek has advantage of minimal noise & can still take off out of the cove on YOUR jet ski or my pontoon boat. Water in the summer is 82 degrees. Lake has large mouth bass, stripped bass, walleye, Blue Gill. The pontoon & cove can be seen from Porch. Water depth 10 to 18" gets deep quickly as you exit our canal.

Biking (bring your own) is great here with small rolling hills.

Grocery in South Hill is a 18 minute drive and Dollar General is 5 minute drive..

**THERE IS NO ADDITIONAL DOCK SPACE FOR YOUR BOAT

***BRING YOUR JET SKIS * JET SKIS CAN BE DOCKED OFF PONTOON BOAT.

Remodel and Upgraded bathrooms and a nice large covered connected porch on the modular home on a permanent foundation.

****HEALTH ISSUE, BE SURE TO PURCHASE TRAVEL INSURANCE ON THE WEB SITE FOR CANCELLATION EMERGENCIES****LOOK FOR A BLUE EMBLEM AND CLICK ON IT**.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

About The Owner

Started coming to this beautiful lake in 1990. It is still beautiful and a wonderful place to unwind. My grandchildren love the pontoon rides and they enjoy the sandy beach with playground and old fashioned platform slide.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

Why The Owner chose Southern Virginia

The lake is my retreat from city life and it is a wonderful place to take a dip in the lake from the community beach or boat.

**MOST FOLKS ENJOY THE CREEK AND KEEP THE PONTOON BOAT WITHIN GREAT CREEK. IF NOT YOU DRIVE THROUGH A TUNNEL TO ACCESS MAIN LAKE IF YOU ARE AN EXPERT AT DRVING A 8 FOOT VESSEL THROUGH A 8.8 FOOT TUNNEL.

What makes this house unique

Pontoon boat provided. Large community pool ($5.00 fee per person, per day). Bird watching from covered deck. Basketball platform slide and playground 5 min away and golf.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved that the place felt like home. Clean and comfortable and everything we needed to make our meals. We used both grills. Boating on this lake is amazing.

The pontoon fit out party of 8 perfectly. Thanks Lisa and Charlie!
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 16

Amenities

Bracey House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 29
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Visiting pet~ Are not allowed.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2nd full bath - toilet , shower
    Master bath - toilet , shower
  • Large Master bath off the master bedroom. Newly remodeled in 2015!.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • BEDROOM 3 - 2 queen
    BEDROOM 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , This room has been converted to a bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
wi fi, cable provided ~Golf course and a play ground with a swiming beach off site 5 minute drive.~~ pool and beach five minutes away.** firepit addition in 2013 with propane, as well as the wood firepit. fireplace On site in the back yard of the home is a stone surrounded fire pit. there is a canoe and kayaks w/rod holder

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

LAKE GASTON ***( PONTOON BOAT INCLUDED)*** FISH**SWIM**POOl***PETS**
average rating of 4.4074073 based on 43 reviews
Richmond, VA
4

June 2009

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time. There is a great spot to dock your boat. The lake is calm and great for tubing, skiing, swimming, fishing or whatever. If you take your boat out past the marina and the lake opens up and is very nice.

In the yard there is a picnic table by the lake, A sweet fire pit, and plenty of room to throw a frisbee, and pitch tents. It was nice fishing off of the dock. The back deck is a nice chill spot. There is a propane grill that I used a bunch, I did notice there was a charcoal grill under the deck that you could use.

Alltel and Verizon did not work well in the house. I could get a text here and there but I would have to go out on the boat or drive up the street to make a call. Sprint did work in the house. I am not sure about other cell phone providers.

I would recommend bringing food and supplies when you arrive. There is a marina, a few gas stations and Americamps nearby but I did not notice a grocery store nearby (but i may be wrong).

I did not spend much time in the house. Bring VHS tapes to watch or bring a TV. there is a DVD player but the TV is older and they were not compatible. I was fine with the linens and the pots, pans, plates, etc.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: TV's and DVD upgrade in 2011, cell service is still a little rocky in 2014. there is a new Dollar General in 2013 which is great if you forgot to pack something as well as a nice country store called JB Jones with a bakery that is very close by!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1
Great neck new york
5

loved it

  • 5 of 5

Hi, thanks, we had great time, family time out on the way taking my son back to Duke, the boat made it possible to be on the lake most of the day swimming, fishing, and even using the jetski was cool because the boat acted as an Island on the lake, we would love to be back next summer if available

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relax Relax Relax

  • 5 of 5

The house is warm and welcoming. The 4 bedrooms are beautifully furnished, the beds so comfortable! We especially loved sitting on the huge covered deck off the living room. It feels as if you are in a tree house. There is ample storage and everything one could need is provided. There are two large cleverly done bathrooms with awesome showers. We were thrilled that use of pontoon boats was included in the package We enjoyed fun times on the gorgeous lake. The yard that leads to the lake has Been artistically landscaped with a fire pit and a cement walk all the way to the boat dock. There is even a little patio sitting area in the front.We were extremely pleased and satisfied with the home and boat! We will definitely book this property again!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always happy when we host families that enjoy the outdoors and especially our lake house retreat.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Great neck new york
4

lake house pit stop

  • 4 of 5

6 nights lake vacation on our way from New York to North Carolina driving our son back to school, 7 of us, plenty of room, spacious and comfortable, lake is huge, water is warm, tons of fish - not much around but we are all about home cooking and BBQ and the house is well equipped for that, only neg. was the lack of phone reception ( did not bother me t all but the kids where going crazy without their phone ) we will be back, using the boat was a great replacement to the phone reception as we spent hours on and in the water vs. internet surfing - the is a hot spot internet service in the house. thanks Lisa.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

gaston getaway

  • 4 of 5

Place was very neat and cozy. Kitchen was well stocked with appliances and utensils. The back porch was amazing to drink coffee in the morning and play games at night. The pontoon boat was a extra bonus that we used everyday. The place is very private and we felt like we had the cove to ourselves. We grilled on the back porch and had many laughs and made everlasting memories. Would recommend this place as a kick back and relaxing vacation. Cant wait to go back next year

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Property For Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed the property and all its amenities. The usage of the boats and access to the lake was amazing. We spent most of the time outside on the patio enjoying family time. The home was cozy, clean and inviting. I will most definitely recommend this property to friends and family!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Shady Shack Grill
Top This Pizza
Eaton's Ferry Grocery & Grill
Huddle House
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Richmond or Raleigh
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Shady Shack
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Tanglewood Shores
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-85
Nearest Restaurant
5.3 Miles
Huddle House
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Tanglewood Shores
Car: necessary

On Lake Gaston in Bracey Virginia. North Carolina is minutes away. Lake sits half on Virginia and half on NC. Lake is 36 miles long and up to 60 feet deep.

Winery nearby with art shows, etc., check their calendar at Rosemont winery

**LAST MINUTE BOOKING OKAY***

Other Activities: BOATING SWIMMING IN LAKE OR IN LARGE UNCROWDED COMMUNITY POOL, PLAYGROUND, WINERY NEARBY.

Golf: Golf. 9 hole public course 5 minutes away at Tanglewood shores.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bracey House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Memorial weekend
May 25 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$445
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
EARLY SUMMER
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$329
$1,650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
july
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$400
$1,670
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
late summer
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$379
$1,650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
LABOR DAY
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$435
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
fall
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
$229
From
$305
Fri,Sat
 
 
fall winter
Oct 25 2017 - Mar 8 2018
30 night minimum stay
$899
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
marv4
Mar 9 2018 - Apr 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
$156
From
$209
Fri,Sat
$759
 
 
apr
Apr 7 2018 - May 10 2018
3 night minimum stay
$159
From
$269
Fri,Sat
$1,025
 
 
4th july 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 7 2018
5 night minimum stay
$389
$1,980
 
 
labor day 2018
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
fall 2018
Sep 5 2018 - Oct 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$229
From
$325
Fri,Sat
$950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
columbus
Oct 5 2018 - Oct 11 2018
3 night minimum stay
$299
 
 
fall
Oct 12 2018 - Nov 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
$199
From
$229
Fri,Sat
$980
 

Additional information about rental rates

CLEANING ONE TIME FEE $99
LINEN $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.5%

You must have boating experience to rent this property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Owner Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties