check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Owner

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

**PONTOON (FREE) USE 21' DOCKED ON SITE**KAYAK**PETS**SHORT NOTICE OK

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bracey House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrms 2 baths~**PONTOON ON SITE **POOL 5 MINUTES AWAY AS WELL AS BEACH

**Pontoon provided w/50hp for strolls on lake during your stay, towing not allowed***

. **Giant covered porch for dining with grill**

*** Pool & a nice sandy beach 5 minute drive in sister community. Playground at the beach is very nice and has an old fashioned slide for the kids. Playground and basketball.***experienced boater only can use pontoon, Virginia/NC law requires driver have safe boaters coarse (available on line)!

**This house is located on a shallow cove deep enough for boat to float. Experienced drivers only for boat use!

*** Large Pool and beach just 4 minutes by car. This beach has playground area, the beach has a swim platform for children. Basketball hoop is there as well. **There is a pool fee of 5.00 per guest. .

*Retreat like country setting.**2 fire pit, 1 wood, 1 gas.

* Golf course 9 holes 5 minutes away

**flat lot with loads of parking

*Kitchen is FULLY stocked with silverware, pots & pans,

*WI Fi is a hot spot by sprint

Location : This is on Lake Gaston with a long line of woods on one side of the home, making it fairly private., stay out of woods, they are not sprayed for insects such as chiggers.

**2nd pontoon on site just in case.

**note 4 days stay is same proce as 7 days stay (Some weeks).

Home is 10 minutes from North Carolina.

**minimum rental age 29**

The house is off a cove on Holly Grove Creek, also called Great Creek. Our creek has advantage of minimal noise & can still take off out of the cove on your jet ski or my pontoon boat. Water in the summer is 82 degrees. Lake has large mouth bass, stripped bass, walleye, Blue gill. Boat ramp is very close for your jet skis.

Cove can be seen from porch. Water depth off bulkhead is 18" inches deep and quickly gets deeper.

Biking (bring your own) is great here with small rolling hills.

Grocery in South Hill is a 18 minute drive and Dollar General is 5 minute drive..

**THERE IS NOT ENOUGH DOCK SPACE FOR ANY ADDITIONAL BOATS*

***BRING YOUR JET SKIS * JET SKIS CAN BE DOCKED OFF PONTOON BOAT.

Remodel and Upgraded bathrooms and a nice large covered connected porch on the modular home on a permanent foundation.

****BE SURE TO PURCHASE TRAVEL INSURANCE ON THE WEB SITE FOR CANCELLATION EMERGENCIES****LOOK FOR A BLUE EMBLEM AND CLICK ON IT**.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

This lake has so much too offer. 36 miles long, so many great fishing spots and swimming spots. Wakeboard watching is one of our favorite activities. After a day on the lake we relax at the house, which is somewhat private and very far from any cities, which is what we enjoy most.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

Why The Owner chose Southern Virginia

The lake is my retreat from city life and it is a wonderful place to relax.

What makes this house unique

Pontoon boat and community pool and a beautiful lake in a semi secluded setting.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved that the place felt like home. Clean and comfortable and everything we needed to make our meals. We used both grills. Boating on this lake is amazing.

The pontoon fit out party of 8 perfectly. Thanks Lisa and Charlie!
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 16

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)
**PONTOON (FREE) USE 21' DOCKED ON SITE**KAYAK**PETS**SHORT NOTICE OK
average rating of 4.375 based on 40 reviews
Richmond, VA
4

June 2009

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time. There is a great spot to dock your boat. The lake is calm and great for tubing, skiing, swimming, fishing or whatever. If you take your boat out past the marina and the lake opens up and is very nice.

In the yard there is a picnic table by the lake, A sweet fire pit, and plenty of room to throw a frisbee, and pitch tents. It was nice fishing off of the dock. The back deck is a nice chill spot. There is a propane grill that I used a bunch, I did notice there was a charcoal grill under the deck that you could use.

Alltel and Verizon did not work well in the house. I could get a text here and there but I would have to go out on the boat or drive up the street to make a call. Sprint did work in the house. I am not sure about other cell phone providers.

I would recommend bringing food and supplies when you arrive. There is a marina, a few gas stations and Americamps nearby but I did not notice a grocery store nearby (but i may be wrong).

I did not spend much time in the house. Bring VHS tapes to watch or bring a TV. there is a DVD player but the TV is older and they were not compatible. I was fine with the linens and the pots, pans, plates, etc.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: TV's and DVD upgrade in 2011, cell service is still a little rocky in 2014. there is a new Dollar General in 2013 which is great if you forgot to pack something as well as a nice country store called JB Jones with a bakery that is very close by!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1
4

gaston getaway

  • 4 of 5

Place was very neat and cozy. Kitchen was well stocked with appliances and utensils. The back porch was amazing to drink coffee in the morning and play games at night. The pontoon boat was a extra bonus that we used everyday. The place is very private and we felt like we had the cove to ourselves. We grilled on the back porch and had many laughs and made everlasting memories. Would recommend this place as a kick back and relaxing vacation. Cant wait to go back next year

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Property For Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed the property and all its amenities. The usage of the boats and access to the lake was amazing. We spent most of the time outside on the patio enjoying family time. The home was cozy, clean and inviting. I will most definitely recommend this property to friends and family!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best relaxation we could ask for!

  • 5 of 5

Just as described the rooms and screened in porch were perfect with the grill of course that we used alot. Very clean and relaxing atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone who likes to enjoy the lake, fishing, TV or quiet time.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific Time

  • 5 of 5

The place is very charmingly decorated. We found it to be clean and fully stocked. The boating was a lot of fun. The local beach was close and kids loved it. This is truly a special place to enjoy some rest and relaxation.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Vacation Cut Short

  • 2 of 5

Unfortunately my family had to leave mid week, cutting our vacation short by three days. My Son and his family who were staying with us obtained massive amount of insect bites each spreading out on the skin 2” in diameter. They were so bad they caused two separate visits to the doctor. The rest of the family also had bites, but not as bad. Owner stated they were caused by chiggers in the woods; however none of my family stepped foot in the woods and barely stepped into the yard. The doctors stated that the bites were neither from chiggers or mosquitoes, and when I told the owner she stated we should change doctors. Her main concern was not about my families condition, but she was quick to state she wasn’t giving a refund. No where in any of my messages did I ever ask for one. I was trying to be nice and give her a heads up on the situation. After a lot of unpleasant communication with the owner, she did have someone inspect the inside of the house and she told me nothing was found. I am only stating this in my review just in case a future renter finds themselves in the same situation.

The house was clean when we arrived and as described. It was nice having the beds made. The pontoon boats are in rough condition, but it was still nice having one. We first took out the one parked in the rear not knowing which one to take. We found out while trying to get back to the house before dark that it had no running lights. This caused us to be stopped by the police and resulted in a very bad experience. We never took that boat out again.

The internet is very, very poor and to be honest if I was the owner, I wouldn’t even advertise that internet was available. My family’s phones by Verizon and AT&T did not work at the house. We had to leave and go to the main road to use the phone.

My biggest disappointment was that my family got hurt at a rental I choice and how I was treated by the owner.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I immediately, next day had the house examined. There are NO bugs in the house per local pest control expert. No bugs, I even went so far as recording this examination and sent the video to this quests. The profession being recorded with him Saying, "no mam, you have no insects within the house. The yard is sprayed twice annually. The guest sent me photos on a bunch of chigger bits. Marshmellow stick left behind, tell me they were in the wooded area to gather. Not a good ideal in the summer months do to insects. Pontoon photo is accurate, nice pontoon, not new, however but nice. photo on site taken July 2016. The running lights worked fine upon inspection. You do have to flip the Aux. button to turn the running light on. We checked them same day, they worked perfectly. I also have back up clamp on lights, just in case a light bulb does go out. They have new batteries put in each spring. I take pride in my properties and visit and stay on them myself, with my grandchildren I might add.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
105 Miles
Richmond or Raleigh
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Shady Shack
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Tanglewood Shores
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-85
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Huddle House
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Tanglewood Shores
Car: necessary

On Lake Gaston in Bracey Virginia. North Carolina is minutes away. Lake sits half on Virginia and half on NC. Lake is 36 miles long and up to 60 feet deep.

Winery nearby with art shows, etc., check their calendar at Rosemont winery

**LAST MINUTE BOOKING OKAY***

Other Activities: BOATING SWIMMING IN LAKE OR IN LARGE UNCROWDED COMMUNITY POOL, PLAYGROUND, WINERY NEARBY.

Golf: Golf. 9 hole public course 5 minutes away at Tanglewood shores.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bracey House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
aug
Aug 13 2016 - Sep 1 2016
4 night minimum stay
$299
$1,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
labor day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
fall
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
winter
Nov 6 2016 - Nov 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$229
From
$269
Fri,Sat
 
 
fall
Nov 23 2016 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$189
$750
$1,950
 
 
spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$156
From
$358
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
Mem
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$489
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
SUMMER 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,629
 
 
4TH
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$1,950
 
 
SUMMER FULL
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,625
 
 
late summer
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$299
From
$359
Fri,Sat
$1,459
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
LABOR DAY
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

CLEANING ONE TIME FEE $99
book fee (shown as tax) $0
Tax Rate 11.0%

You must have boating experience to rent this property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bracey House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2nd full bath - toilet , shower
    Master bath - toilet , shower
  • Large Master bath off the master bedroom. Newly remodeled in 2015!.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • BEDROOM 3 - 2 queen
    BEDROOM 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , This room has been converted to a bedroom
  • Large master bedroom with attached master bath. This master bedroom is the OPPOSITE side of the home from the other two bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
wi fi, cable provided ~Golf course and a play ground with a swiming beach off site 5 minute drive.~~ pool and beach five minutes away.** firepit addition in 2013 with propane, as well as the wood firepit. fireplace On site in the back yard of the home is a stone surrounded fire pit. there is a canoe and kayaks w/rod holder

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties