Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxury Log Cabin Nestled in Southern West Virginia Wilderness

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

3 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 8

Hemlock Haven is a brand new cabin. It is nestled on our private 26 acres. The property surrounding our acreage is thousands of acres of wilderness. So you really are ''away from it all'.

Access is very convenient since we are located less than 5 minutes from US Route 19 in Southern WV. We are also minutes away from numerous outdoor recreational adventures such as world class whitewater rafting, mountain biking, hiking, fishing, and much more.

The cabin living area has 20 foot high ceilings and a stone gas fireplace. All appointments are tasteful and inviting. There are maple hardwood floors throughout the cabin. The beds are extremely comfortable. The kitchen has everything for the cook including a crockpot, blender, mixer and all utensils. The laundry area in the cabin has a full size washer and dryer with detergent and dryer sheets provided. There are cards, games, and books as well.

Fully Equipped Kitchen: We equipped the kitchen for the discriminating cook. There is a large crockpot, a blender, a mixer, a griddle, baking pans, cookie sheets, measuring cups and spoons, coffemaker, toaster, wine opener, whisk, grilling tools, serving ware. glassware and dinnerware. We also provide coffee, tea, sweeteners, sugar, salt, pepper, paper towels, tin foil, plastic wrap, storage containers, zipper bags, dishwasher detergent, dish soap, hand soap,and more. There are red wine glasses, white wine glasses and champagne glasses. There are dish towels and oven mitts too.

Outdoors: We offer an outdoor 6-person hot tub that is open to the sky so you can watch the stars or melt snowflakes on your tongue. On the patio is a gas grill with a grill brush, a glass patio table with cushioned chairs. We are very dog friendly with a split rail fenced yard right outside the kitchen door. There is green coated fencing attached to the rail fence so no pet can get out. In that yard is a fire ring with benches. We provide firewood. We also have a beautiful hiking trail through the forest almost 1 mile in length.

Other amenities provided: We give you plenty of towels and extra blankets, pillows and sheets. There are some games, books and a deck of cards as well. In case of a power outage, there is a flashlight and a lantern as well as candles.

More Details

Cynthia Ruckpaul
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 9, 2017


Hico Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Private fenced yard, outdoor fire pit, hiking trail

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Luxury Log Cabin Nestled in Southern West Virginia Wilderness
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in many cabins in the New River Gorge and Summersville areas. Hemlock Haven cabins are by far the absolute best cabins in southern West Virginia! Close to activities, stores and amenities yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and serenity that Wv has to offer. Cabins and property are well maintained and up to date! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a Great Place

  • 5 of 5

My family & I had a wonderful stay. We filled the daytime with horseback riding and whitewater rafting and then in the evenings came back and rested in the hot tub and listened to the quiet sounds of the night.

The town of Fayetteville was a quick drive, which made it easier to change and take a quick nap after rafting and then drive into town for Pies & Pints.

Owner was very helpful before and during our stay to answer questions and help us feel "at home".

Thanks again - our family really needed this!

Darryl, Tammie, Darin & Clara

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cabin 3

  • 4 of 5

I just have a couple complaints:

1) The grill was very rusty and was unable to use it even after trying to lay foil as rust was floating around the grill.

2) The exhaust fan above the stove vented back into the kitchen and not out side, which made the cabin smokey.

3) Lastly, the lack of lighting in the kitchen made it difficult to cook after sun set.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would love to come back and stay again. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We truly apologize for the problems encountered. We actually live on the same 28 acres as our cabins (we have 5) and if we had received a call about the grill, we would have delivered a new one within the hour. We knew the grills were worn out and had planned to replace them all. We have now new grills at all cabins. We were not aware of the exhaust fan problem so it is gettng fixed today. This is the first serious complaint we've had about the kitchen lighting so we will look into that as well. We want all of our guests to have an exceptional experience staying with us so we are more than will to go the extra mile to make that happen.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Charleston WV

Great cabin in a great area!

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin in an area with plenty of outdoor adventure. Cindy and Tina are great to deal with and the cabins were clean and well kept both years we have stayed. The fenced in yards make it great for our two dogs.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

we enjoy the place it was very great place to stay. we well be back this year summer time. it a place to stay for anyone. thanks

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Baltimore, MD

A Romatic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary. It was a very clean, spacious, luxurious cabin. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to do it again sometime.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always delighted when guests enjoy their stay with us. We make every effort to ensure that each guests experience exceeds their expectations. Harold and Cindi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


We are in the heart of West Virginia's outdoor playground. We are minutes from the New River, the Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Hawks Nest State Park, New River Gorge National Forest and Babcock State Park. The variety of actvivities include whitewater rafting, kayaking, mountain biking, hiking, horseback riding, rock climbing, swimming, fishing, boating, ATV riding, zip lining, golfing and more. New in 2010 is a interpretive bridge walk under the New River Gorge Bridge over 900 feet in the air. We are the place to stay for the Bridge Day Festival and the Appalachian Stringband Festival. The spectacular scenery is worh the trip alone.

Other Activities: Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Snowboarding


Rates & Availability

Hico Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Value Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

There is a 10% discount for stays of 5 nights or longer.
During the value season, a romantic getaway package is offered. For 2 guests, it includes 2 nights lodging with complimentary chocolates and champagne for $399.00 on the weekends and $299.00 midweek (plus applicable tax).

50% at the time of reservation. Payment in full is due 30 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.