check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful views of the Open Ocean and Harbor

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

West Point House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 10

The Sou’Wester North has some of the best views in West Pont! A wonderful feature of the house is the sprawling deck that provides our guests with gorgeous sights of the harbor, ocean and islands. Adirondack and lounge chairs give you a place to relax, read, paint, or take a well deserved nap. It is a great place to entertain your family and friends. You could have a barbeque using our gas grill, or you can have a lobster-clam bake while watching the sunset. Kayak rental available.

New Dishwasher installed! Season pass to near by Popham Beach. After many request we now offer sea kayak rentals on site for exploring the coast and harbors. Both singles and tandems.

Your next relaxing vacation awaits you in one of the most scenic and unspoiled historic fishing villages on the coast of Maine! Come and enjoy coastal living in a waterfront 100 year old dance hall! Once a weekend destination in the late 1800’s to mid 1900’s for the locals to dance, gather and visit, the Sou’Wester has been restored to accommodate vacationers appreciating beauty and solitude. You will be greeted by the crisp salty smell of the ocean, the hum of lobster boats leaving for their days work and the friendly “hellos” from the local “West Pointers”. Relax to awe inspiring vistas of Casco Bay, the harbor and nearby islands on our wrap around deck. Leave the cares of the world behind you as you surround yourself in West Point’s breath taking beauty. Our goal at West Point Vacation Properties is to make your vacation one to remember for years to come. We are dedicated to providing you with quality service and personal attention from the start of your vacation to your actual stay. The Sou'Wester was converted from a early dance hall into an inn in the 1970's then in 2000 into it's current state into a large duplex property. With the decks the entire property is about 9600 sq ft. The properties are seperated by our maintenance space and the decks are seperated by dividers and nothing is shared between the two properties.

The many large windows on the inside of the Sou’Wester North showcase the views seen on the outside. The open floor plan allows for comfortable seating and movement. To make your vacation spot a “home away from home” we have supplied our guests with household items both useful and convenient. The kitchen is stocked with items you would need to cook for your family and friends. Dishes, pots, glasses, utensils, a gas stove, microwave, refrigerator and garbage compactor are available for your use. A large dining room that seats 12 is perfect for entertaining. Local general stores and lobster pounds are nearby to provide you with everything you need to make delicious meals for your family. For your added convenience and entertainment we also provide our guests with cable TV, internet, digital phone and a washer and dryer.

On the second floor of the Sou’Wester North there are four comfortable bedrooms that sleep 8 and two baths. The master bedroom has a king size bed and a private bath. A sliding glass door leads you to a private balcony that overlooks the lovely harbor. This is an ideal spot to welcome the morning with a cup of coffee. The three other bedrooms are designed to accommodate the needs of families. One bedroom has a queen size bed, one has a double and one has bunk beds. These three bedrooms share a full bath.

We hope that you enjoy the Sou’Wester North! It is a perfect spot for a quiet retreat or family vacation. From enjoying the spectacular ocean views to the many outdoor activities you can do here, West Point is the ideal location for your vacation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Property Manager
John Krott
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Beautiful views of the Open Ocean and Harbor
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
5

Terrific place, great views...

  • 5 of 5

This was a great experience. The house is beautiful and so are the views. The kitchen is exceptionally well stocked with settings for 14, including wine glasses, cutting boards, mixers, colanders, larger serving bowls, pitchers and pretty much anything a person could hope to find in a rental home, and the gas fireplace along with the spiral stairs leading to the third floor lookout were a hit with all our guests. I should also mention that the personal service was exceptional, with an owner that answers his own phone.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you all had a great time at the Sou wester, I want to make sure people that read this review don't get mixed up. I moved this guest to the other side of the property which is a duplex. I moved them to the three bedroom South side (property #186651) which has a fireplace and third floor widows walk which this side (the four bedroom North side) doesn't have a fireplace or third floor widows walk. We strive to make sure everyone of our guest have the very best time. Both sides are extremely nice and we appreciate the review!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful house & views

  • 3 of 5

We had trouble getting into the house. Was told the key would be in the lock box and was given explicit directions. But the box was empty; standing open. We called the on-site manager at both numbers but he did not answer. We then called John and was told to go around the back of the house because the patio door would be open. It was an ordeal because you had to go down a road and up through the walkway from below. Well, thankfully that door was unlocked. The key was inside on the entryway table.

Floors downstairs were dirty - couldn't walk around in bare feet. Otherwise, house was clean. A little inconvenient that there was no bathroom downstairs.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do apologize that the lock box keys were left inside the property, not something that usually happens. We are sorry our onsite property manager didn’t promptly pick up the phone when you called. He usually does answer but was at a family birthday party in town and forgot his cell phone in the car. We always tell our guest you can always call myself (John) or Bill our onsite property manager who lives right next door and usually handles any issue within minutes. I live right in town (Brunswick) and worst case I can get down to the point in about 30 minutes. In this case I was able to handle the issue over the phone. I talked to the guest and had them walk to the front of the house I was ready to come down to the point and handle the issue myself if we weren’t able to resolve it over the phone.Not an excuse in anyway, it should have never happen and we are truly sorry. As for the dirty floors, we have passed the complaint onto our cleaning contractor. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality properties along the coast. We will continue to press our cleaning contractor on our high standards that we hope all of our guest will experience. When you stay at one of our properties we want to create memorable experiences that will last a life time. We truly mean that so we do appreciate the feedback!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and roomy. Great location.

  • 5 of 5

Bill, the property manager, was helpful and welcoming. My 3 kids loved Cat Cove. Hope to stay again next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large, well kept rental with beautiful view.

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week at this rental in the fishing village of West Point. It is a lovely location, and house is well appointed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely. Relaxing , peaceful location.

  • 4 of 5

Pros: Great property. HUGE kitchen and lots of space for family dining. Beautiful view from upper deck off master bedroom. Friendly neighbors.Comfortable beds. Nice décor.

Good property manager, Bill Martin, lives close by and was very helpful.

A couple of cons: 1. Living room is a little small. Only seats 6 but we were able to pull dining room chairs over for our movie night. 2 Not enough furniture on the decks esp the upper deck....where the great views were for coffee or cocktail time.! 3: I would really list this as a sleeps 8. Yes, , there were roll away beds but the only place they would fit were in the ( absolutely lovely) Master Suite with the King sized bed.....or out in the upper hallway...a little awkward...esp for bathroom sharing. There are only 2 bathrooms and one is an en suite in the Master bedroom. So I think sleeps 8 is a more accurate description...and you could still end up with 6 people sharing one bathroom.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, incredible views!

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking to "get away" from it all, this is the spot to do it. The quintessential Maine fishing/lobster village, truly the only sounds are seagulls and the gentle hum of small boats coming and going. Waking each morning to a cool sea breeze, we'd grab a cup of coffee and enjoy the rising sun on the large property decks. The property was perfect for our group, ranging from small children to several adults. The local Popham beach and quick access to freshly caught lobster made for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Portland
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Portland
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Portland
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
Route 1
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

West Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Fall
Oct 10 2016 - Dec 12 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,495
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$215
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,395
 
 
Spring
May 26 2017 - Jun 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$245
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,595
 
 
Early Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,195
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,495
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Linen Fee $205
Pet Fee $195
Tax Rate 9.0%

****This property is a duplex and can be expanded into a very large 7 bedroom property ******
We do operate under a first come first serve basis
Cleaning fee includes linens
Pets allowed with a $295 pet fee per week. $45 per day
Kayak rental available, $100 per week for single, $125 for tandem kayak per week.
We do accept credit cards with a 3% transaction fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk
  • Two roll away beds as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers