Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dramatic Geodesic Dome with amazing views, spa and walk to town

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Fireplace
  • Hot Tub

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Unlike many houses in Idyllwild that are nestled completely in the pine trees, the Dome is perched on the edge of Crestview Drive and offers vistas to the ocean on the clearest days. The Dome covers over 1.5 acres of land. Watch the sunset every evening from the steamy hot tub, or adjacent deck, eat outside or in, or cuddle up in front of one or all of the three interior fireplaces arranged off of the central lava rock chimney. The living room has a soaring 26-foot ceiling that encompasses one third of the dome. The house is built adjacent to a 40-foot high rock formation that has Native American acorn grinding bowls carved into the rock at the highest point with the best views of the valley below. Imagine standing out on the deck and watching the deer climb up the hillside. Spend your evening gazing at the stars as they appear close enough to touch. Enjoy your moment on top of the world in the ever famous "Dramatic Geodesic Dome".

BOOK DIRECTLY WITH US: NEW SPIRIT VACATION HOMES

Amenities

Linens Provided

Washer & Dryer

Lava Rock Fireplaces (3)

Master Suite

King Beds (2)

Queen Beds (2)

Single Beds (2) Bunk Bed

Unique Windows

Bamboo Floors

Ralph Lauren towels

Entertainment

Yoga Retreat Video - A Must See Video!!

60" Flat Screen TV

Cable TV

DVD

Netflix

iMac

PS/2

ipod Connector

Music Library

Video Library

Telescope

Binoculars

Kitchen

Full Kitchen

Cooking Utensils Provided

Upgraded cooking supplies (blender, food processor, etc.)

Stainless Steel Appliances

Refrigerator

Microwave

Dishwasher

Wine Fridge

Coffeemaker/Coffee Grinder

French Press

Waffle Maker

Toaster

Crock Pot

Breakfast Bar

Outdoor Features

BBQ Grill

Outdoor Lounge Sitting Areas

Patio Tables

New patio furniture

Expansive Decks

Outdoor lava rock fireplace

Lava rock walkways

Cedar cold tub

Hot tub

2 driveways and cul-de-sac parking

View/Location

Less then 10 minutes to Lake Hemet

Walking distance to town

Mountain Views

Monument Views

Valley Views

Ocean Views

Privacy

“On top of the world” experience

Views of Wildlife on Property

Communications

Wi-Fi (Wireless Internet)

Clear Cell Phone Reception

+++For an additional charge you can now rent the 'Dome Bungalow' - sleeps up to 6 more++++

Rates: BOOK DIRECTLY WITH US: NEW SPIRIT VACATION HOMES

Weekend rate Friday/Saturday is $435.00 p/night. Weekday rate Sunday thru Thursday is $395.00 p/night. Winter Holiday rate $675.00 p/night (Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Year's Eve), with a 4 night minimum. Holiday rate $550.00 p/night, a 3 day minimum may be required. Call us for our weekly/monthly specials. Pets are welcome. Pet fee will apply. Linen/Prep fee $150.00.

Note: Until confirmed all rates are subject to change without notice.

Approval will be needed for one-night stays after booking request has been submitted. One night stays can be done for same week reservations (If booking far in in advance and requesting Friday-Saturday-Sunday nightly rate may be higher with the accommodation of early check in or late check out) Higher rate may also apply to Monday-Thursday when booking in advance. Once one night is booked there is NO CANCELLATION ALLOWED.

More Details

Property Manager
Monica
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

Why Monica chose Inland Empire

We love Idyllwild - the lack of downhill skiing creates a low-key, relaxed little town, and the art school adds a creative edge to the culture of the place. This is a perfect town to appreciate nature being there are no street and city lights. Regardless of your idea of enjoyments, Idyllwild is a place for anyone.

What makes this house unique

There is no place on earth like the west facing deck in the morning, except of course, the hot tub at sunset, or in the snow.......

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Everyone in our group cannot stop saying how wonderful the house was. The house was so big and lovely, and the basketball hoop was AWESOME. The kids loved it so much."
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Idyllwild House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 2 King beds, 2 Queen beds, 1 Bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Notes:
3 distinctive outdoor decks surround the home each with their own distince views. Eating deck, sunset deck & sunning deck, Living room , master bedroom plus 2nd bedroom have fireplaces. Less then 15 minutes to Lake Hemet.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Dramatic Geodesic Dome with amazing views, spa and walk to town
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 38 reviews
South Pasadena, CA
4

The Dome

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I booked the Dome for a girls weekend and booking process was very easy as well as getting the keys and everything. Upon arriving to the house, it was a little less than I expected with some things broken like a screen door, outdoor fireplace, toilet paper holders..but was able to look past it due to the view and ambiance. It wasn't until a few hours later an awful sewage smell started and it became intolerable. Thankfully, when I reported it Monica was more than accommodating and offered to place us in a new house, The Lily Rock Lodge. Everything turned out to be perfect and again, the process of switching houses was very easy. Monica & Nikki are wonderful to work with and I would stay in one of their homes again!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andriana, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is highly valued to us. We apologize for the situation with the sewage tank, it was pump & inspected on Monday and we are happy to report it is not in working condition & do appreciate the heads up. We have spoke with our Quality Assurance Team and the have assured that the screen & toilet paper holder was fixed immediately. Please also note that Idyllwild does not allow outdoor wood fires, as this is a new ordinance with the drought. We thank you and your group for being really understanding and awesome. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to your next visit with us. Best Regards, New Spirit Vacation Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The Dome In Idyllwild

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location was incredible. The home was very nice and had everything needed to cook for 7 adults! A few minor maintenance/repairs are needed. We could not get the speakers to work for music. The computer is set up but not working. Our think our biggest problem was there was no salt shaker! Overall it was a great and fun weekend.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancy, Thank you for the review! Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we strive to improve with each and every stay. We apologize that you were unable to use the speakers or computer, we wish you would have called us so we could have came over and helped out! And regarding the salt shaker, we did find it after your stay (it looks like someone hid it from you guys) and it was in a inconvenient place so we apologize for that as well. We really hope that you consider staying with us next time you and your group decide to come up to the mountains and if you do, please do not hesitate to call if there are any problems and we will always be there to assist you. Best Regards, New Spirit Vacation Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, ca
5

Fun getaway with the teenagers

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Had a great time exploring trails and playing in the snow. Cabin was roomy and great.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: New Spirit Vacation Homes
Owner's Response: Christ, Thank you so much for your nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed our Dome home! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to one of our properties for your next getaway. Warm Regards, New Spirit Vacation Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Winter Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Idyllwild is a hidden treasure and staying at the dome was the absolutely perfect accommodation for friends and I celebrating my fiancés birthday! The view from every window was breathe-taking! Especially watching the sunset in the jacuzzi. The location was secluded but still close to downtown. The entire home was decorated for Christmas, a sweet touch to a the impeccable unique home. The house was incredibly clean with heaps of linens. The rental company did an excellent job to make sure we were well taken care of.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego, CA
5

Dome Stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great time during stay. We had a child almost fall from the upper deck due to the deck rails not being screwed in. Luckily someone was there to grab her but several rails were loose and would fall with a nudge. Everything was great at the property besides that scare.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: New Spirit Vacation Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alatadena, CA
4

Hot Weekend Up in Idyllwild

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Very beautiful setting. The views from the deck, living room, hot tub, everywhere are spectacular. The cabin is super neat. It was very hot that weekend and there is not really any air conditioning and the upstairs rooms were very warm at night... I would recommend the cabin with the exception of the middle of summer when temperatures get up in the high 90s.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: New Spirit Vacation Homes
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. Kelly Thank you so much for your nice review, it’s always nice to hear of our guests enjoying their time at one of our properties! We look forward to you visiting with us again Best Wishes, New Spirit Vacation Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
  • Starting at $395 p/night
  • US Dollars
  • Weekend rate Friday/Saturday is $435.00 p/night.
  • Weeday rate Sunday thru Thursday only is $395.00 p/night.
  • Winter Holiday rate $675.00 p/night (Thanksgiving, Christmas, NYE)4 night min
  • Holiday rate $550.00 p/night, a 3 day minimum may be required
  • Pets welcome with p/night fee
  • Special weekly/monthly discounts. Call or email for details.
  • Linen/Prep fee is $150.00
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties