Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Country home with end of the road privacy. Nearly surrounded by National Forest.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 3 baths, sleeps 10-14

Whitetail Meadow! Peaceful Black Hills country home with end of the road privacy and seclusion. Surrounded on 3 sides by National Forest. Beautiful views with miles of trails right behind the house. Off the highway, secluded and quiet. Near hiking, biking, horse trails, within 3 miles from Custer and the Mickelson Trail, Golf course, fishing lake. Within 7-20 miles of Custer State Park, Needles highway, Mt. Rushmore National Monument, Jewel Cave National Monument, Wind Cave National Park, Sylvan Lake, Stockade Lake, Bismark Lake, Legion Lake.

Log sided, newly remodeled country home. : Perfect for family getaways. 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, with large central living room with floor to ceilng stone fireplace, just off the open kitchen. There is a large dining room with french doors to the wrap-around deck overlooking the peaceful meadow where whitetail deer graze in the early mornings and evenings. There is also a large family room with patio doors to the covered front porch.

This home has been recently updated inside and out yet has kept some of the original features such as the vintage knotty pine walls in the entry and family room which add a woodsy feel to the home. The large home has room for everyone with space to spread out.

Private Master bedroom and bath on main level, the other three bedrooms and 1 bath are on the upper level. Family room and 1 bath are on the lower level.

Centrally located to area's attractions. : Located 3 miles west of Custer, it is less than 10-15 minutes to Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Monument, Jewel Cave, Stockade Lake, Sylvan Lake, as well as great and hiking areas. Rocky Knolls Golf course is within 2 miles. All of the Southern Hills attractions are within 30 minutes -- Within 25-30 minutes is Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Evans Plunge and Mammoth site in Hot Springs.

More Details

Owner
Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager

I've lived in the Custer area for 13 years and am a South Dakota native. After living out of state for 18 years, I returned to South Dakota for a more peaceful life.

Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager purchased this lodge in 2002

Why Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager chose Custer

I vacationed in the Custer area as a child, and returned to it because I've found the Custer area to be the perfect blend of rustic country living, beautiful scenery and friendly people. The town of Custer has all the shopping, restaurants and entertainment that anyone could possibly need without the frenzy of fast food, Walmarts and traffic that frazzle city folks lives.

What makes this lodge unique

This home is very private so that at the end of the day, I can sit on the front porch and watch the deer in the meadow in front of the house. It's surrounded by National Forest with unlimited opportunities to hike and explore.

Amenities

Custer Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , twin beds plus trundle bed that can be moved to another room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , small comfortable room
    Den/TV room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen sofa bed in the TV room. There's an adjacent bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
4% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Country home with end of the road privacy. Nearly surrounded by National Forest.
average rating of 4.8139534 based on 43 reviews
5

Nice, just what we were looking for.

  • 5 of 5

- Plenty of beds

- Nice kitchen and large dining area (two tables)

- Living Room + Den + Plus two game rooms = Lots of room for a large group

Clean

- Even though it was -8 degrees F outside on the morning we left, the house was nice and warm.

- One thing... There was a sign that said, "Please don't park on the grass" - We couldn't tell where the grass was, and where the road was due to the couple of inches of snow on the ground. I'm sure the frozen grass is OK.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was exactly what we were looking for and we had a terrific time while there. The decor was GREAT and the cabin had amazing pictures of history in the Black Hills and books that were very interesting to read.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your enjoying and taking care of the cabin. I'm glad that you've enjoyed the books and photos. I have several pictorial history books of the Black Hills and of National Parks that show old antique photos alongside new photos taken at the same spot. These are written by Custer photographer, Paul Horsted, and I highly recommend his fascinating work.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We loved the big house with huge property around it and a lot of intertainment inside!

  • 3 of 5

There was so much dust in the house( on furniture, lamps, in the corners, on the cabinets and doors:( The fireplace didn't work,the next day maintenance tried to fix it, but the same day it broke again and it spoiled my mood because I choose the house JUST because it had a fireplace! The bathroom doors didn't have locks, at least they should hang signs "vacant" and "occupied". The shed area is a very dirty and massy area, needs to be cleaned and organized( it's easy to clean it and give a modern look) so ppl could make memory pictures there, need to have a table with chairs to sit there if it's rainy day but warm day and a safe bonfire near by. That would be great to make a swing ( so much wood around to make a swing for free). Also, there's not much to do on winter time if you are an outdoor person. Many activities are closed during winter month.so what we did is hiking, going to caves, eating and staying inside...

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that the home didn't fit these guests very well. There is actually two fireplaces, one is a gas fireplace and the other is wood pellet stove with an instruction book at the property on how to operate both. I kept in touch with the guests and tried to help them. I have a very responsive repairman in the area who came out promptly the next morning and showed the guests how to operate the gas fireplace and reported that it works perfectly and still does. They did have a language barrier in understanding verbal instructions, but maybe reading the information book would have made this a perfect vacation for them. I checked the home immediately after the guest left and have not found any sign of dust as this home as it is professionally cleaned at least once a week. There was a smoky residue from their effort to burn sticks and bark in the gas and pellet stoves. These guests were unfortunately here during one of the largest forest fires in Black Hills history which was burning during a 40-50 mph wind. This was only a few miles away and created huge dust and smoke clouds. This is also one of the reasons that open bonfires are not allowed adjacent to National Forest land. The baths do have standard locks, but I may have to include instruction with them in the future, so that no one can misunderstand how to operate them. I'm sorry they were disappointed by the barn. The barn area is a real barn and has a dirt floor surrounded by a woods and pasture. It is fairly picturesque but is there to shelter livestock , not as a photo prop. It is dusty and has old straw and old farm accessories stored there. You know,. . . farm stuff. I think this home is very well suited to guests expecting a wooded country setting and have some understanding of country life and have basic ability to follow easy instructions for appliances and gas fireplaces.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Custer Home Close to Black Hills Drives & Sites

  • 5 of 5

My wife Sandi and I would like to thank you for sharing your beautiful home on Pinto Lane. The home was absolutely gorgeous with everything a person would need for any length of stay. Centrally located near Custer and all the things everyone wants to see like Needles Highway, Custer State Park, Iron Mountain Road, and Mount Rushmore.

We had deer and wild turkeys within 6 feet of our door. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated. We would highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to vacation in style.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
spokane,wa
3

Great Location, Great Property, House needs work

  • 3 of 5

This home is on a Beautiful piece of Land, with the greatest location to jump from for all the sights. However we were disappointed with the upkeep of the home. I'm sure Jody would have been accomadating, to fix a couple of the smaller issues, but at the price point, we felt door handles should have stayed on, and did not want to spend our time on vacation waiting for things to be fixed, with a little TLC this would be a GREAT vacation stay, as it is its just mediocre

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that the doorknob came loose during this guest's stay. The loose doorknob had been tightened by the cleaning crew/ handyman. They are the best! We are available anytime and are only minutes away if something breaks or if you have questions about how to operate something. We can usually take care of any issues or replace anything that inadvertently breaks during your stay. With your permission we can take care of it while you're out sightseeing and all will be perfect again with little or no inconvenience to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Long Grove IL
5

Peaceful and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this wonderful cabin in Custer. It was a perfect location for all the attractions and provided us with a peaceful and private experience. The cabin was full of all the amenities and very clean. We also enjoyed the wildlife and deer every evening and morning while sitting on the deck.

I'd highly recommend this property. Jody was extremely helpful and welcoming. Thank you for a great experience:)

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Custer State Park
sylvan lake
"Great short hike on a very scenic trail around the lake. Don't miss a little side trip dow..."
Sage Creek Grille
"Great food for fine dining Custer style!"
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Several in Custer
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Rocky Knolls
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 16
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Several In Custer
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Stockade Lake
Car: necessary

Enjoy the surrounding Black Hills National Forest which surrounds the property with miles of hiking trails, great mountain scenery and rock climbing. Watch the wildlife in the meadow in front of the home and wander through Custer State Park (within 10 minutes) where the buffalo roam and the deer and the antelope play. Where seldom is heard a discouraging work and the skies are not cloudy all day!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 6.0%

Christmas Dec 21- Jan 3 - $250/night plus sales tax.
Rates listed are for up to 6 guests. $25/night for each additional guest .
5.5% sales/lodging tax. $49 insurance fee.
Need to cancel? Cancellations over 60 days in advance get full refund less $50 processing fee. If less than 60 days, refunds will be made if re-booked. We will also work with you to re-schedule for another time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties