Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kapoho Bay View Hm

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,584 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Bedrooms 5, Bathrooms 4, Sleeps 10

10% Off Last Minute New bookings on reservations booking 30 days from arrival or less 3night minimum except 12/18 to 1/2!

Pacific Ocean Realty LLC is the Direct Booking Agency is not the property Manager. FYI: If you book on VRBO,Homeaway,Flipkey,Tripadvisor or 3rd party you maybe charged an additional fee for using their services.


The Kapoho Bay View beach house has 5 bedrooms & 4 baths. The home is just a short walk to the warm Champagne Pond and Kapoho Bay. This a clean and basic home with gorgeous granite & tile floors throughout. This private vacation home is in gated community. Kapoho Bay View Home is a beautiful 3 story house with lots of space for you and your family to relax and enjoy the spectacular views. The 3rd level is a master Suite with a Jacuzzi Bath Tub and Ocean Views and Balcony to relax! All the levels have Flat Screen TVs and Wi-Fi Internet. Second level has wraparound Large Deck, dining area and Gas BBQ . The first level has two bedrooms, one bathroom, and an extra living room area. Please note the 2nd and 3rd levels are not accessible from the first floor. Home is surrounded with tropical plants, flowers, shrubs, palm trees and lawn; the yard and gardens of the Big Island. Multi-level patios overlook tropical greenery and the ocean.

The Champagne Pond is about a short walk away from the home, its water temperatures ranges between 80-87 degrees Fahrenheit to swim snorkel and access to the bay/ocean. There are private roads within the community that holds serene beauty and makes enjoyment out of jogging, strolling, or riding bikes. There local restaurants, small shops for shopping, farmers markets, Tidepools and other areas to explore nearby. Visitors come to Kapoho from around the world to enjoy the great snorkeling, swimming and to enjoy an abundance of tropical fish and sea turtles. This rental is offered for rent by owner & family brokerage. Vacation rentals Kapoho, Hawaii

Important info below: Please Read Carefully Before Booking

Nightly Rates are based on 2 guests & $15.00 Per Night for additional Guests (children under 2yr at check-in are Free!). Pack-n-play available upon request at booking (please bring your own sheets for the crib).

You are Required to choose between a $39SDP fee (Security Deposit Protection Fee) click here for more info OR a $3,000 Refundable Damage Security Deposit Amount + 4% credit card processing fee on the $3000 (deposit is refundable 7-10 business days after the exit of your stay less any assessed damages).

Lower Level is locked up to keep cleaning fee to a minimum $125 if there are 6 or less guests, $150 for 7-8 guests or $175 for 9-10 guests. The Lower Level can be opened for an additional $25 cleaning fee if you booked 6 or less guests.

Please ask about our Discounts: 10% off for 7 nights or longer, 5% off for Returning Guest to the home, or 10% Off for Last Minute Bookings when arriving within 30 days from the day you are booking the home with a 3 night min. No discounts during Holiday Season Dec 18th - Jan 2nd.

3 night minimum stay, Holiday Season is 7 night minimum stay

Check-in is between 3-9pm & if you are planning to Check-in later than 9pm please call me to arrange it with us (please keep in mind that we will not be awake or available to check you in after 11/12pm).

Check-out is 11am, unless you use the Lower Level Bed/Bathrooms and/or there is more than 6 guests then 10am will be your check-out time.

This home & many other homes in the area do not have air conditioning, instead we use our fans, windows & breezes.

There are small coqui frogs that make some bird sounds in the night & our homes do not have as many as most homes have in the beautiful rural areas (these frogs are almost all over the Big Island)

Guests will not be sharing this house. There is only an outside staircase to go from the 1st level to the 2nd level (the inside staircase is only from the 2nd to the 3rd level)

Amenities, Rates, Terms & Specials are subject to change.

Property is supplied with initial amount of: Toilet paper, Paper Towels, Dish soap, Body soap, & Laundry Detergent.

Smoking & Pets prohibited inside & outside the home and a minimum of $250 additional cleaning fee will apply if the policy is violated.

Our Rental Policy does not allow tents or canopies, parties, weddings, loud music and gatherings with non-guests, max 2 cars (we only have 2 community vehicle gate openers), no parking on the streets. Quiet Hours 10 PM to 8 AM.

Specials are only good for NEW BOOKINGS

State GE & Transient Tax ID for this property: 152-960-4096-01

Please note: there are bugs & critters (such as: roaches, ants, rodents, lizards, etc) in Hawaii & at times they can sneak into the home or hangout around the outside (this happens because our Hawaii Homes are located in a beautiful natural tropical settings, plus lots of guests prior tend to leave lights on & doors open which invites them in). Owners make their best efforts to keep these pests away.

Please note only AT&T cell phones work well Kapoho but other carriers don't really work in Kapoho

This home is For Sale and please contact Sophia, the owner's daughter & realtor, directly for more info

Dengue Fever on the Big Island: Please keep in mind, currently there is Dengue Fever on the Big Island but the State & Department of Health are working on controlling this. We suggest you to take the recommended precautions, see link here for daily County Alert updates: (there are still thousands of visitors coming to the island everyday and almost everyone on island is living their lives normally).

Cancellation Policy: • Cancellations made sixty (60) days or more prior to arrival with written notice shall be given a full refund minus $150.00 cancellation fee. Cancellations within the first 24hs of Booking will incur a credit card processing fee, after the first 24hrs the other cancellation policy rules will be in effect.

•Cancellations of less than sixty (60) days prior to arrival shall forfeit the entire rent and excise tax (less cleaning fee & Security Deposit Protection Premium if cancelled before the date of check-in) unless we are able to re-rent the property. Refunds on any forfeiture will be issued the dollar value the unit is re-rented (only up to the value we have received from you) for during the same dates as the cancelled reservation. Nevertheless, ALL RESERVATIONS ARE SUBJECT TO A $150.00 CANCELLATION FEE or a 20% cancellation fee only if cancelling or moving a some nights. There is no refund for early departure or no shows. Please keep in mind we do not distribute the money collected from the new guests until about middle of the following month of the reservation dates, since that is when bookings are completed & processed for money distribution. There is Travel Insurance available, please see Tab on this site labeled Guest Services/Travel Insurance for Travel Insurance information & Contact us if you would like to buy.

• If the reservation is 28 nights or longer, we require a 50% payment at booking. If you cancel, then the flat $150 cancellation fee is to be in effect only before or on 150 days (5 months) prior to arrival & then after that any payments made will become non-refundable unless we are able to rebook it and whatever amount we rebook your cancelled dates for (only up to the value we have received from you) less $150 cancellation fee will be returned to you within a 1-1.5 months after the last day of your previously cancelled reservation. Please note, you will not receive more than the amount of payment we have received from you but you may receive less depending how much we are able to book it for.

• No cancellation of guests within 60 days of arrival.

•Please keep in mind that any changes to your reservation may incur a fee after you have booked (ie: changing dates, cancelling dates, etc) but there will be a 20% fee on the value that is being cancelled or changed; even if it's more than 60 days prior to check-in.


More Details

Booking Manager
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We booked this beautiful, spacious five-bedroom house anticipating that family and friends would join us. As it turned out, my husband and I were the only two that could make the trip. However, it still worked for us because the nightly base rate for a house this size in Hawaii is reasonable. In the end the extra room paid off because we had several friends who live in Hawaii visit for the day and two of them spent the night. We only had to pay a small extra fee for them to stay.

This house is situated in a quiet neighborhood. From our third-story master bedroom we could look over palm trees and a lava field to see the ocean. We snorkeled in the delightfully warm Champagne Pond everyday and ended our day with a champagne toast to the joy of it all.

Although it was very nice just to stroll around the peaceful neighborhood, we could also hike the roads cut into the lava fields out to the shore. The Kapoho Tidepools and Wai'opae Ponds are a one and a half mile drive or walk away with a variety of fish and coral to see.

Pahoa, a quaint little town with a personality, is only a 15-20 minute drive away through mini-environments of lava, grasses, papaya groves and a vine-draped forest. There are several good restaurants from which to choose.

We were hesitant to stay on the "wet" Hilo side of the big island so booked our second week on the Kona side. It worked out well for us. We enjoyed the contrast of flora and fauna, weather patterns, local flavor and pace of life.

Our contact person, Sophia, was always friendly, helpful and informative. So easy to work with. I would recommend her to anyone looking for accommodations in this area. Thanks, Sophia!
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 28


Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2584 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • All Queen size Beds, 3 Postropedic Beds, Baby Cribs (Please request ahead for the Pack-n-Play & please bring your own sheets for the Pack-n-Play)
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
We provide 3 TVs with Satellite Channels, DVD Player, Free High Speed DSL! 3rd Floor Master Suite has panoramic 180 degree views of the Ocean. We provide the Initial Toilet, Soap & Paper Towel Supplies (please keep this in mind when staying for an extended stay). We encourage Guests to bring beach towels of their own preference. ACTIVITIES: Bicycling, Diving, Farmers Markets, Golf, Grocery Stores - Natural Food, Malama Market, Longs... Jogging, Kayaking, Lava Boat/Hike Tours (when lava is flowing), Lava Tree Park - 15min Drive, Other Eco-Tourism Activites/Adventures, Paddle Boarding, Restaurants - Mexican,Thai,Hawaiian,etc, Shopping, Shoreline Fishing, Snorkeling, Spear Fishing, Surfing, Tide Pools (Snorkeling), Volcano National Park - 1hr Drive, Ziplining,


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Kapoho Bay View Hm
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 43 reviews

Amazing Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

This home has 5 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms, which was perfect for our group. Although not on the ocean it still has a beautiful view of the ocean.

Down side: If you are planning to visit Hilo it is a 45 minute drive. However, there are many attractions around the area. Example: Hot springs, volcano, Pahoa, end of the road, and painted church.

Up side: Great area to be away from the hustle and busy part of Kona and other vacationers.

Conclusion: We will definitely stay there again. Bonus: You are in a private gated community.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Secluded Get-away

  • 4 of 5

Very nice property. Well maintained. Great rap-around deck.

Ponds were a great time but no sandy beaches close to area.

Great sun rises on Hilo side of Island.

Nice walking around area.

Amenities a short drive(15 min.) from community.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable vacation home with all the amenities we could have asked for.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed snorkeling in the champagne pond and having dinner outside each night. I will miss falling asleep to the sounds of the frogs and the cool ocean breezes. We enjoyed ourselves so much we've already booked our next vacation. Sophia was very helpful. Even around the holidays she was always there to answer any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great sunrise view

  • 3 of 5

It was ok. Good size. Easy to get to snorkeling places.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We booked this property based off advertisement in the listing and reviews. we booked for 4 nights and only stayed for half a night. when we checked in the downstairs unit had a very bad moldy smell from a mattress being wet. part of the bed was left outside to dry while the rest of the room was in shambles. when we got to the second and third floor the nightmare continued. the furniture was filthy with food under all cushions. the coffee table had broken sharp edges all over it which was not suitable for the kids we had with us. the ceiling fans barley worked. floors left our feet black within minutes of walking around. bugs all over the place inside. sand and dirt in the bedroom and kitchen drawers. we now questioned the cleanliness of the entire place. no access to the ponds they say they are so close too. the 2 access points we found had danger don't use signs on them and 1 of the paths no longer existed. we got to the house around 3 or 4 pm and left at 10pm. we had 3 little kids with us including a 3 month old. the pack and play was broke and unsafe for use. we were forced to pack up and drive into hilo and find last minute accommodations on memorial day weekend adding a big expense to the trip. once our trip was over we took out complaints to the booking agent and told them we wanted a refund. it took over a week to get the owners to respond. they only responded after we told them were were going to depute the charge with the credit card company. the gave us a partial refund. the never refunded the cleaning fee or the damage waiver fee. we gave up at this point. i will never stay in this house again period. not even for free. the overall condition of the house was poor and looked as if the bare minimum is done to keep it going. it needs a lot of work. this property was booked for 2 families with a total of 4 adults and 3 little ones all under 3.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Travis & Joe, This is a small family business and this home is owned 50% with my parents & another couple that live out of state. We do the best we can to maintain the home and I took those photos you see online personally. You are the first guest to ever make these comments/complaints about my family's property, even the guests before and after your reservation in May said they enjoyed their stay at this home & gave us 5 stars. We didn't do anything different between your guys reservations. Except after you left we replaced those tables and a ceiling fan to help improve. I would like to address some of your concerns for the public to understand: - Fans: we provide additional stand up fans in case it's a still day (typically there are breezes in the area) & we just added more for summer. - Wet Bed put outside: Prior guests checked out day before you arrived & those guests had Spilled water on the bed, the cleaner reported to me & I called you ASAP to let you know what had happened. I also asked you if you feel you would need that 5th bed & if it would be alright to take it out on the 1st level deck to let it dry out for 1-2 days, then I would bring it in, which you said this would be fine & you even offered to bring it into the home for me. Main decks to enjoy are the 2nd & 3rd levels, the 1st level is a bonus garden deck (most guests don't even access that area). - Bonus Pack-n-Play: For free of charge we have 1 pack-n-play left in the home & we ask you to bring your own sheets for it. The pack-n-play unit is fully intact but one side was slightly bent down which had the cushion on it & nothing poking out unsafely. We have replaced this as well (we do what we can to help our guests). - Bamboo Coffee table: a section of the table was broken. We have replaced that item in the home. - Pathways to warm Champagne pond & Bay: the community puts signs at the end of each general water access which are red & white & state the following "Shoreline Access Path, Residents and Guests Only, NO Jetskis, ATVs, Motorized Vehicles". It does not say Warning on it. Champagne Pond is located approximately 6-7 houses down the street away which is a short walk, small lots in the community. I am always available to answer questions & help Current Guests, Future Guests & Past Guests. Please feel free to contact me with questions or concerns. My family & I also live here in the area so we are close by to assist. With Warm Aloha & Kind Regards, Sophia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5

Kapaho Bay View was perfect for us. We had our four kids, plus my brother and mom, and the house accommodated us perfectly. One big bonus was having four bathrooms so we had plenty of bathroom space to get ready in the morning for our adventures.

We had a lovely song bird that would wake us up before the sun every morning. He was so excited he even woke the roosters up! That allowed us to make breakfast and eat on the patio each day, which was wonderful.

Champagne Pond was about a five minute walk away, and that was fantastic. Once the kids started swimming there, it was almost impossible to get them out!

I highly recommend this property to anyone who has similar needs to what we had. Thanks to Sophia for helping make this a great experience!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kirk! Thank you for sharing your guys Big Island experience at my family's Kapoho Bay View home! I am glad to hear you enjoyed. Mahalo Nui Loa for leaving your feedback! Thank you for being such great guests! And I look forward to hearing from you for your returning visit to Kapoho and consider our homes with an Aquatic Pond or on the Bay. With Warm Aloha, Sophia Pacific Ocean Realty LLC Site: Hawaiiwego
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Kapoho Bay View Home, 250' from OCean and Ponds Ocean Views!
Nearest Point of Interest
Champagne Pond, geothermally heated pond
Nearest Point of Interest
Kapoho Bay for Snorkeling and swimming
Nearest Point of Interest
Lava Flow Filed
Nearest Point of Interest
Lava Field and Balck Sand Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Our Paradise Home Rental, Fronting Champagne & Ocean
Nearest Point of Interest
Our Ocean front Home 2/2 sleeps upto 12 guests
Nearest Point of Interest
Our Oceanside Villa 3/2 sleeps upto 12 guests
Other Activities:

Onomea Trails – Na Ala Hele Hawaii Trail & Access System

You can swim snorkel in the Famous Naturally Geothermal heated Champagne Pond, Tide Pools about 350' walking distance from the home.


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties