Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful family home in great Barnegat Light Location.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom/2 bath home with AC in a peaceful location. Sleeps 8. No pets.

Relax in comfort in peaceful and beautiful Barnegat Light. This home is situated at the very northern end of Long Beach Island, adjacent to Barnegat Light State Park, and facing the protected dunes and ocean. The house has three bedrooms downstairs, each with two twins beds (you can turn them into kings). There is a full bath downstairs. A hall and doorway separate the three bedrooms from the open plan living room/dining room, and the kitchen. The living room has sliding glass doors that lead out to a deck with direct ocean views, and has a gas grill for making a delicious seafood dinner! Upstairs is the huge master bedroom and bath. There is a king bed, and an en-suite bathroom.

The house was updated recently with new carpeting and Pergo flooring, central AC, new beds and mattresses, and many new furnishings. Renter to supply their own sheets and towels. Can be rented with listing 240833 next door for large families. Rentals are Fridays to Fridays. Beach Badges included

More about Barnegat Light: Barnegat Light is located at the very Northern End of Long Beach Island, on the Jersey Shore. LBI is a barrier Island, 17 miles long, and a mile wide at the widest point. The town of Barnegat Light is 25 blocks long, and centers around a fishing community, and the famous Barnegat Light house. It's a very relaxing community, with beautiful wide beaches, fantastic life guards, and a small business area that you can walk to. There are several great restaurants and stores, a grocery store, a wonderful fish market, and a vegetable stand where you can find wonderful produce and fruit. It's a family friendly area, with a borough run tram that takes you to a secluded beach, a bay beach that's fenced in and shallow with a playground on site, and a great town playground and skateboard park.

More Details

Owner
Becky
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
October 11, 2017

About Becky

This house is owned by three siblings, and their families, who live in Baltimore and Florida. We have been coming to Barnegat Light for 30 years, and it's our home away from home. We hope that you'll love it as much as we do, and treat it as your own.

Becky purchased this house in 2000

Why Becky chose Long Beach Island

We love the setting, at the very North end of LBI. The town of Barnegat Light is an amazing community, and we are proud to be a part of it.

What makes this house unique

Beautiful views, quiet location, and down the block from Dairy Queen! What more do you need in the summer?

Amenities

Barnegat Light House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • The twin beds can be pushed together to make king beds. There is a pack and play portable crib and a high chair at the house as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach badges for 8 come with the rental. Outdoor shower. Central A/C. Direct ocean and inlet views. Walking distance to antique shops, ice cream parlors, restaurants, playground, nature walks, bird sanctuary, lighthouse, Barnegat Light Tennis Courts, fishing.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
Peaceful family home in great Barnegat Light Location.
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 17 reviews
Fairfax, VA, USA
5

Just Delightful!

  • 5 of 5

Several friends and I stayed here the last weekend in May. We had a fabulous time! We were very impressed with the house. You never know what to expect when renting a property online, but we were so delighted when we arrived. The house is completely furnished (with lovely decorations and comfy furniture). It was also easy to locate using Mapquest. Becky, the property owner, was delightful to coordinate with. She answered all of my questions in a timely manner and was more than helpful in making me feel like we would enjoy our stay at the beach house. I would stay there again in a heartbeat (the entire group agreed that we would love to come back)! I don't have one negative thing to say about the whole experience...just delightful!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! We're thrilled that you had a great time. We hope you'll come back for another beach getaway!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
1

Beautiful part of the Island - not thrilled with the house

  • 1 of 5

The house is spacious with a good layout for families but in need of a lot of attention. The front steps are broken and there are many nails coming out of both decks. My son had one cut the bottom of his foot. Closets are messy with blankets and pillows stored in disarray. I wondered how they could be washed/clean and was glad we brought our own. The bathrooms were not inviting and my children would only shower upstairs. After a 3 hour drive we arrived and there was not even a role of toilet paper to be found. We rent every summer and the houses always have a starter to get you in and then of course you replenish. Light bulbs were out throughout the house. It was not a welcoming situation.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, we were so sad to read this review. Especially as it had come a few days after another glowing review. We wish you’d let us know, while you were there, that you were unhappy with the rental so we could have tried to address some of the problems you encountered. You rented in September, after a full season of other rentals, and it’s always the case that the house is worse for wear by then. But you should not have found things in disarray, nor showed up to a house with no toilet paper and with lights out. That is unacceptable, and should not have happened. My phone number, along with our property managers, are given to each renter and we encourage anyone to call with any issues. Our property manager lives a few blocks away, and can jump in to troubleshoot, bring toilet paper, replace the gas tank for the grill, fix a broken board, etc! If you’re a potential renter, reading this review, I would just ask that you also read all of our others as well. We try very hard to price our house to reflect what it is - a very casual, very loved beach house in a spectacular setting. You get five bedrooms in a house with amazing ocean views. The house is very comfortable and cheerful, and usually very clean and well stocked! We are having work done on the property this winter, and will post new pictures when it’s complete. We feel like our pictures and our pricing are accurate and reflect the house really well. If you’re looking for a fancy, newly remodeled beach house in pristine condition, this is not the house for you. And it would be twice the price. If you’re looking for a great family spot in the perfect Barnegat Light setting, please get in touch!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location... place needs serious updating!

  • 2 of 5

You can't beat the location of this place - walking distance to the beaches, shops, restaurants, and lighthouse. The weather wasn't great for us but there was plenty to do.

The house needs some updates. The outdoor shower bench collapsed when I sat on it even before I entered the house. The oven hasn't been cleaned in a very long time. The ceiling fan in the family room doesn't work but there is a small floor fan to use. The light in the kitchen is barely adequate in the evening. Etc,etc.

Don't get me wrong, it all functions okay and for the price, it's a reasonable place to rent for a week just realize its a rental property that needs some updates. I don't think I'd rent it again.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so sad to see this review, and sorry you had a bad experience renting our house! We didn’t know that the shower bench was in such bad shape, and we did send our property manager to fix it during your stay, but I understand why that made for a bad start to your trip. By September, when you rented, it’s been through a full summer of rentals, and it is harder to keep up with everything. We are trying to figure out how to address this! If you’re a prospective renter, I’d urge you to look at the other renters reviews as well. For the most part, people love this house and we’ve been lucky to have so many returning families. Over the winter this year, we are having work done on the decks, kitchen, bathrooms etc, and will post new pictures when it’s finished. But the pictures we have up are accurate, and we’ve tried very hard to have the rental price reflect the condition of the house. This is NOT a luxury rental. It’s a very loved, very casual beach house. It’s four comfortable bedrooms in a super location in a wonderful town, at a reasonable price. You should not have encountered a dirty stove, and I wish you’d let us know, and we would have sent the cleaning crew back, as we did with the bench.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

House is rundown and in need of some repairs

  • 2 of 5

The house was dirty upon our arrival. The tub downstairs was clogged and we found a giant hairball in it. The outdoor shower was in need of some repairs as well. The deck was also in need of repairs. Most of the windows had notes on them that they were broken and should not be opened. The location is great but it is misleading as there is no direct access to the beach/dunes like the picture indicates. There is another house on the front and the side. Overall it needs some updates or the price should be lower to reflect the condition of the property.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that this renter has a bad experience at our house. It's true that the outdoor shower's bench was broken, but is now fixed. Also true that two of the windows need repair. While the cranks for them are broken, there are other windows in each room that can be opened, and we hope to have them replaced soon! The renter texted me several times during their stay, including telling me that they couldn't find the water, which was baffling, as it can be seen from the house. They also were very distresssd that a lightbulb was burned out, and we had our property manager bring over a new one for them. We wish they had mentioned (in one of their many, many texts to us), that they found the house unclean. It had just been cleaned, so we would have been surprised, but sent our cleaning crew back. Our house does have houses next door to it, as does every other house in Barnegat Light. We do actually price our property quite competitively, and I think these renters were unfamiliar with the island, and with typical high season rates. We have really accurate descriptions of the beach access and location in our description, and in 10 years we've never had a renter who seemed so unclear about what they had rented. I think it's pretty important to read descriptions of any house you rent, and also to check out all of the reviews. Again, we're sorry that these folks were so disappointed in their stay. We also hope that they eventually found the beach and got to enjoy it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good location, close to Dairy Queen and shops. Ample parking.

  • 4 of 5

The table and benches on the porch were a great gathering spot. Loved the long walk to the beach AND the choice to ride the tram. The master bedroom upstairs is HUGE with a view of the ocean from that deck. Well stocked, everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful spacious house minutes from the beach!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (six adults, one toddler) spent a week staying here and it was fantastic. We loved this end of the island where it is calmer and more scenic. There is a state park 5 mins from the house, lots of trees, light house, inlet, and the house actually overlooks a beautiful bird sanctuary. From the second floor, you can see the ocean too. It has a big living room where everyone can hang out or watch tv, and the outdoor deck is great for grilling and hanging around outside. There's a nice picknick table as well for eating out there. You can easily walk to Mustache Bill's for awesome diner food and there is a deli/bagel spot a few mins walk. Also some other nice eatieries and restaurants 5-10 minute walk from the house.

There is a little tractor tram that picks you up 30 seconds away from the house and it drops you off on the beach, runs all day. Or you can drive a few blocks and easily park because this end of the island is more quiet.

Just a nice experience and the home owner was great, always easily accesible if we had questions. We loved it overall and will definitely come back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Philadelphia

Barnegat Light is a quiet, peaceful town at the very northern end of Long Beach Island. Less commercial than other parts of the Island, it is nonetheless self-sufficient, with its own fish market, grocery store, restaurants and charming antique shops. Famous for its lighthouse, 'Old Barney,' its beautiful architecture, including some houses from the 1800's, as well as its gorgeous, wide beaches, Barnegat Light is the perfect place for a family vacation. Offering great biking, fishing, boating and of course swimming and surfing means there's something for everyone!

The house is located 5 blocks from the lifeguard beach at 9th street. The easiest and quickest way to get there is on the free tram that takes you right down there during the summer months. It's a 5 minute walk from the house to Barnegat Light - the historic Light House.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

By making payment, you confirm that your agree to the terms in the rental agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties