Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cabin on Klamath Lake at Point Comfort

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

The Cabin:

Large lake front cabin built in the 1940's it shares a 4 acre lot with historic Point Comfort Lodge. Recently remolded rustic style cabin it has a sleeping loft, small bedroom and fold out couch in the living room. This cabin easily accommodate a family with privacy.

Property and Dock:

The dock will accommodate up to eight average sized boats and comes with a ladder if you happen to jump in. The three acres of land surrounding the cabin are planted in rolling lawns, and natural plant species of the surrounding area. The gardens are beautiful in the spring when the lilac bushes and the flowering trees are in bloom. There are several large rock outcroppings to set off the gentle slope to the lake.

The Lake:

Cabin on Upper Klamath Lake bay at Point Comfort

Klamath Lake is home to 452 bird species and Eagles are often seen in the trees on the property. In the summer the trout come from all over the 94,000 acre lake into the bay in front of the cabin. These wild trout are a strain of steelhead landlocked in the lake 80 years ago. They average 2-3 pounds and fish over 8 pounds are not uncommon. This is a favorite spot for fly fishermen. There are miles of canoe and kayaking trails throughout the marsh. Enjoy a morning cup of coffee and watch the fish jumping in the lake!

Nearby:

Rocky Point Resort is ½ mile down the road, accessible by car, a short walk, or a boat ride from our dock to theirs. They have a small store, restaurant with full bar, and boat rentals. Lake of the Woods Resort is 8 miles north on Hwy 140, a short 10 minute drive. Lake of the Woods features a restaurant, boat rental, store and excellent swimming beaches. The Running Y Resort is 15 minutes south on Hwy 140 which features bar and restaurant, convenience store, and a wonderful 18 hole Golf course designed by Arnold Palmer, rated as one of the top 100 in the U.S. Crater Lake is a beautiful drive, just 45 minutes north. Lava Beds National Monument a hour to the south. These are just a few of the many things to do in the Klamath Falls area.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

Amenities

Klamath Falls Accommodation and Amenities

House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
Cabin on Klamath Lake at Point Comfort
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews
5

Stunning area. Delightful natural wonderland.

  • 5 of 5

Management very responsive to our needs. Can't wait to visit again. A natural wonderland. Grocery store 35 minutes away in Klamath Falls. Fancy dining at Flying Y Ranch 20 minutes away. Research the lake system (Klamath Lake): it's one of the biggest in Oregon, vast and full of marshes and birds and beauty and fish! Kayaking, canoeing, fishing. I can't say enough about the fun we had. We BBQed on the provided BBQ. Also check out their lodge (Point Comfort Lodge) if you're bringing a big group. We've been fortunate enough to stay there, too, and it's 100 years old and on the national historic register. Lovely adventures. We recommend both the cabin experience and lodge next door.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it. Next to lake, free pedaling boats , comfortable cozy cabin with all we need.

  • 5 of 5

What else a city bee need.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

STILL INFESTED WITH BATS-Renters BEWARE!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Shame on me for assuming that the bat infestation that was described in other reviews last fall would be dealt with by this spring. First night we heard the squeaking and wondered but then we saw them flying out the window! No smell so we thought we would stick it out there. The last night the bats woke us up at 1am with loud noises that were frightening to the sleep groggy mind. They went on for a half an hour.

1.When arrived we had to call the care taker when we arrived for access to the cabin.

2. The view of the lake is obstructed by overgrown trees and bushes. You can't enjoy the view over a morning cup of coffee unless you go outside.

3. The dock in the pictures is not close to the cabin but closer the the lodge it shares a property with.

Wish we would have stayed at Lake of the Woods.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The bats can be present at night. There is no way a bat is in the cabin unless you leave the door open with the lights on for some length of time. The windows have screens so I'm not sure how they saw bats flying out the windows. Just incase have have hired a pest expert to tend to the problem but I will say we rent this cabin 30 times a year (for 11 years) and don't get many complaints (see tyhe reviews). Maybe it was an unusual occurance and the guest have a keen sense of hearing. I appreciate the fact that they cleared up the claim about smells. I did not hear about there problem until I read the review. I can assure you that if you rent this cabin and don't like your first nights stay and decide to leave I will make a refund. Sincerely Bill Brady
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great cabin but infested with bats during our stay. Review is based on property owner.

  • 1 of 5

This cabin is located on a beautiful lake and is close proximity to Crater Lake. Unfortunately upon arrival we could smell what we thought as rodent feces as soon as we opened the door. Over the course of the evening we heard an infestation of what later would be confirmed as bats. They were inside the exterior walls and were climbing around all night and chewing on the wood. Needless to say it kept us up all night. Between that and the smell we decided to leave the property early. If this was just one bat in a shingle it would have added to the rustic cabin ambience but this was definitely an infestation and not only felt unhealthy but was not restful to say the least. The property manager confirmed it was bats and promptly told us he would issue a refund for two nights for our stay as we left early. Since then he has ceased communication and not issued promised refund. The poor review is for the owners lack of communication and inability to do the right thing.

The property itself it beautiful and serene. And canoeing at Rocky Point is amazing. It's worth the trip but beware of property owners. Should anything go awry you are on your own. And yes the smell of bat excrement is a disgusting as it sounds. I am not a fan of leaving negative reviews but when you get one vacation a year and two nights of those are spent listening to vermin chewing right above your bed with no further communication you just want the people in charge to do the right thing.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is possible to have bats outside. We rent this cabin over 30 times a season and have not heard much about this problem. The people who stayed just ahead of this party and just after did not have this experience. There are not rats in this cabin and I have never smelled anything. These people asked for a refund after their stay. Had they moved after the 1st night I would have made a refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
Houston, TX
4

Clean, comfortable property near Crater Lake

  • 4 of 5

Overall we had a nice stay and enjoyed the cabin and the area. The cabin was nice and clean. We appreciated the ability to come back to the cabin after a long day in Crater Lake National Park to cook dinner and relax. Basic pots, dishes, and utensils were provided. The view of the lake was beautiful in the evening. We did not take advantage of the paddleboats or other recreational amenities available. I would certainly consider staying here again if I am in the area.

The owners need to update their arrival documents for guests. There was a list of items to take care of before departure, but apparently some of those the guests are no longer expected to do. (i.e. change the sheets on the bed, but we were not given sheets to replace them with)

Our only real complaint was that we had difficulty finding the cabin when we arrived at the property. But this was minor. Due to driving in from Portland, OR after a midday flight, we arrived later than check-in, and it was already dark out. Although we were approved to arrive late, there was no porch light on, and we were unable to find the cabin in the dark. I had to go ask another guest at the main lodge to show me where it was located.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property!

  • 5 of 5

The views from the property are amazing! Lovely lake setting with golden marsh grasses set amount the mountains of the coast range. Our little log cabin was quaint. The antique rustic decor fit right in. We had all the supplies we needed in the kitchen. My loft bed was very comfortable. The one separate bedroom had a lovely view of lake and morning sunrise. We sat outside on our private deck and enjoyed a glass of wine. The shower was nice with a good shower head. I would love to come back! My friends and I SUPed a nearby canoe trail through the marsh and saw HUGE trout. We borrowed the pedal boat moored at the dock and had a fun "chasing" Pelicans. The Pelicans were huge and we enjoyed photographing them. The big lodge was rented while we stayed there, but we found two great restaurants - one at Herrimans resort and another at Rocky Point resort. Great meals!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities: Shopping, kayaking, boating,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Klamath Falls Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$170
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

$125/night (2 nights minimum)
Additional nights are $100/night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable