check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Cabin 2 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

40 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Huddleston Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 4, 2 bedrooms, private dock, Romantic Retreat

Cabin 2 is in a row of ten that rim the shore of a secluded cove on Smith Mountain Lake.The cabin is near the end, making it one of the most private of all. There are wilderness views of undeveloped forest and the lake, as well as Smith Mountain. The cabins are located on Witcher Creek, which is a no wake area. This feature makes swimming very safe, and a sense of peacefulness prevails that you will not find in other areas of the lake that experience more boat traffic. A private deep-water dock is shared by the two cabins, offering easy access for boating, swimming and sunbathing. Both cabins are two-bedroom, one-bath lakefront homes, with solid cedar construction, open-beam ceilings and hardwood floors. Silver Bay View Cottages are ideal for reunions. We can accommodate up to 24 people between four properties that include the Main House, the Cedar Cabin and Cabins 1 and 2. Be sure and check out these other properties as well.

Swimming: There is nothing more enjoyable than to stretch out on the dock with a good book, and then dive into the clear, warm water for a refreshing swim. The lake is one of the cleanest in the East Coast, and as you swim or relax, you are looking across to undeveloped wilderness.

Boating: There may be no better lake in the Mid-Atlantic region for boating. The 20,000 acres of Smith Mountain Lake and its 40-mile length make it a perfect place for water skiing, speed boating, canoeing, kayaking or sailing. Power boats and wave runners can be rented at several locations on the lake, including: Bridgewater Plaza Marina (Boats can also be picked up at the State Park), Parrot Cove (Parrot Cove also rents Kayaks), Parkway Marina (formerly knows as Saunders Marina), Mitchell's Point Marina or Virgil Naff Sea Doo (wave runners only). The closest boat launch and boat rental is Mitchell's Point Marina.

Fishing: Fishing opportunities at Silver Bay View Cottages are unbelievable. The properties are located on Witcher Creek where the stripers spawn every spring. The lake is regularly stocked with game fish, and contains striped bass, large and small mouth bass, muskies, northern pike, and an assortment of small game fish. Fishing guides are available to introduce you to the lake, including: Captain Bert's Fishin' Charters, Mike's Striper Guide Service, Rockfish Adventures.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
-
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals

Jim is an engineer/entrepeneur who, in addition to running Silver Bay, designs Arts & Crafts homes and advises emerging technology companies.

Catriona is a garden author/photographer/ speaker who has written 9 books and countless articles for national and international publications. See her articles in the Smith Mountain Laker Magazine (free at local businesses).

Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals purchased this cabin in 2000

Why Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals chose Smith Mountain Lake

A very special setting!

What makes this cabin unique

Cabin 2 is at the Bay View location and offers a private setting overlooking the Silver Bay portion of Smith Mountain Lake with Smith Mountain above it. West facing windows make for a bright and sunny interior.

Reviews

4.7
based on 40 traveler reviews

Cabin 2 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
average rating of 4.675 based on 40 reviews
5

Serene and Rejuvenating

  • 5 of 5

Cabin 2 was the perfect spot for our SML vacation. Who wouldn't love to start the day on the deck nestled among the trees, gazing across the water at the mountain? We enjoyed the dock for fishing and swimming, too. We used the barbecue several times, and found that the cabin had just enough room for our family of 3 and our chocolate Lab. The owner, Jim Erler, had been in the area to work on another cabin, and stopped by to say hello, and asked if we were enjoying our stay. What a nice guy! We had a great time, and would love to go back again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

Great views. Great for swimming, fishing, boating and best of all Relaxing!! Loved it!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful cabin.

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the well-equipped, comfortable cabin. The swimming was wonderful...a no wake area and no ropes!! The view was stunning.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5

We loved the cabin 2, it's cozy with a beautiful view we spend a lot time swimming the water was perfect!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The property is a sucuded little gem on the lake. Views are awesome and access to lake perfect.

  • 4 of 5

My daughter and I enjoyed a quick two night stay in July. The cabin is not fancy but quite comfortable and very clean. The views are amazing with great access to the lake. My only suggestion would be some more comfortable lounge chairs on the decks for sunbathing. The patio furniture that is there is not very comfortable. Also some sort of tubes or noddles for floating in the water would be a amazing convenience. That being said the owner of the property could not have been nicer or more helpful. Will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sterling, VA
5

Relaxing weekend with great view

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in Cottage 2 for 3 nights over a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The cottage was clean when we arrived and the size was perfect for 2 people and 3 dogs! This cottage offers a relaxing quiet weekend. I was visiting SML for the songwriter"s festival and the music venues were about 20 minutes away. This cottage is perfect for those wanting a quiet get-away. Jim was very pleasant to deal with and answered my questions right away. We had a bit of excitement the morning we were leaving as a small bird flew into our cottage while our door was opened. Oh no! After trying to shoo it out of the cottage with no luck we decided to lock the dogs in the bedroom and leave it be. With all of the doors opened it flew away peacefully. Great news as I was not sure what I was going to tell Jim! :). Would recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Grand and spectacular views of the lake and Smith Mountain in a quiet, private setting populated with beautiful Loblolly pines and sweeping lawns. Private deep-water dock offers easy access for boating, swimming, sunbathing and world class fishing.

The house is located just inside of Witcher Creek, one of the best fishing areas on the lake. The Cabin sleeps 4 and is one of the four Silver Bay View Cottages that comfortably accommodate up to 24 people.

* Beautiful lake views

* Kitchen

* Deck with seating for 4

* Private Dock

* High Speed Wireless Internet

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huddleston Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016/Spring 2017
Sep 5 2016 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
$840
 
 
Early Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$205
$1,230
 
 
Mid Summer 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,380
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$205
$1,230
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$205
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
$840
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$140
$840
 

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $65 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.3%

Optional linen fee: $65
Damage Deposit is due 30 days before your arrival date. We accept payments only by credit card through HomeAway.com.

NOTE: Shorter stays are possible in Mid Summer if a property is not booked 2 weeks in advance. Nightly rate is $230. There is a three night minimum on major holiday weekends. Housekeeping will increase to $55 in 2015

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huddleston Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd Bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ask us for any special needs or vacation planing. What to Bring * Sheets and pillow cases* * Towels and wash cloths* * Bath soap and shampoo * Laundry Soap * Flashlight * Paper towels * Charcoal, lighter fluid * Condiments Note: *Bed linens and towels are available for an additional fee. What not to bring: Worries and stress! What you'll wish you had brought: Camera, film, DVDs, water toys, sun block, fishing gear.

Partner Offers