check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Main House at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

8 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 10, 4 bedrooms, 3 full baths, private dock. Ideal for Family Reunions

The Main House at Silver Bay View Cottages offers grand and spectacular views of the lake and Smith Mountain in a quiet, private setting populated with beautiful Loblolly pines and sweeping lawns.

A private deep-water dock offers easy access for boating, swimming and sunbathing. The house is located on a point that marks the entry to Witcher Creek, one of the best fishing areas on the lake. The Main House is a large, modern home that can comfortably accommodate 10 people.

Two large public rooms and a large deck are designed for entertaining, making it the ideal gathering place for up to 24 people staying in the Silver Bay View Cottages properties. See listings for Cedar Cabin and Cabins 1 and 2.

* Ideal for Family Reunions

* Beautiful lake views from most rooms

* Harvest Dining Table seats 14

* Kitchen with modern conveniences

* Dishes for 24

* Spacious deck seating for 12

* Large Floating Dock

* Game room (Foosball, Air Hockey, Large TV)

* Fire Pit

* Hot Tub

* Wireless Inter

Swimming: There is nothing more enjoyable than to stretch out on the dock with a good book, and then dive into the clear, warm water for a refreshing swim. The lake is one of the cleanest in the East Coast, and as you swim or relax, you are looking across to undeveloped wilderness.

Boating: There may be no better lake in the Mid-Atlantic region for boating. The 20,000 acres of Smith Mountain Lake and its 40-mile length make it a perfect place for water skiing, speed boating, canoeing, kayaking or sailing. Power boats and wave runners can be rented at several locations on the lake, including: Bridgewater Plaza Marina (Boats can also be picked up at the State Park), Parrot Cove (Parrot Cove also rents Kayaks), Parkway Marina (formerly knows as Saunders Marina), Mitchell's Point Marina or Virgil Naff Sea Doo (wave runners only).

The closest boat launch and boat rental is Mitchell's Point Marina.

Fishing: Fishing opportunities at Silver Bay View Cottages are unbelievable. The properties are located on Witcher Creek where the stripers spawn every spring. The lake is regularly stocked with game fish, and contains striped bass, large and small mouth bass, muskies, northern pike, and an assortment of small game fish. Fishing guides are available to introduce you to the lake, including: Captain Bert's Fishin' Charters, Mike's Striper Guide Service, Rockfish Adventures.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
-
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals

Jim and Catriona Erler have been managing Silver Bay View Cottages since 1993. Helping visitors find the best way to enjoy the lake or helping them organize a great family reunion is what makes this business so enjoyable. When not helping visitors, Jim designs Arts & Crafts houses and Catriona is a garden photographer and author. She has written and provided photos for eight books and also writes for a local magazine on Smith Mountain Lake.

Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals purchased this house in 2002

Why Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals chose Smith Mountain Lake

We grew up in Southern California, vacationing on a lake in the nearby mountains. When we moved east, we searched for a lake with the same feel, and found that the eastern end of Smith Mountain Lake, with the mountains a trees, was just the right spot.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you for the opportunity to review our stay. I was hoping to edit my review because I had forgotten a couple aspects we had appreciated.



If you have access to that, this is what I was hoping to include:



The home is set up well for a large family, including a large kitchen table, large pots and pans, plenty of sleeping options, a large hot tub, and plenty of parking. The furniture is beautiful and inviting.



The location on the lake is wonderful, offering a pretty view from the table and living room. The stairs to the lake and decking around the house are well maintained. We rented a boat while we were there, and appreciated where the property was situated on the lake for that experience.



We were also impressed with the unique drive in. I wished I had brought my bicycle to take advantage of the beautiful rural area and excellent roads.



We were very pleased with our entire experience - from our initial contact with the warm and personable owner to the easy departure.



Thank you,

Michelle
May 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Main House at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
average rating of 4.375 based on 9 reviews
1

Would not rent again.

  • 1 of 5

I hesitate to write this review with the golden rule in mind, If you don't have anything nice to say; on the other hand we always read reviews before booking homes. Therefore I will only point out what seem to be the on going issues. We have elderly and disable family, we were told we could use a road taking us directly to a dock to use, problem is the house owner does not own said dock; this create awkward situations with the actual dock owner and his guest to the point of those family members not wanting to go boating us rest of us. The dock owner didn't want us using the dock and said he didn't know why the house owner keeps telling renters they can use the dock. We did use couple of times. We rent a pontoon boat for the week, this was our 4th year at SML. We rented this house plus the Cedar Cabin because each year we bring more family with us and this seem like the perfect solution to needing extra room with houses next to each other. We spend all our time on the lake. The whole dock situation was very disappointing and stressful. The Main house does have a dock , but on a very steep hill.

The ice maker was broken the entire week, house owner brought us a bag of ice from his freezer the 1st day and told us to buy bags and he would reimburse us. The owner said the repair guy couldn't figure out what was wrong when he is called out to work on it, so owner keeps bags of ice in his freezer, which he lives next to main house. Sewer system, they came to work on it beginning our stay; all week long strong smell of sewer in downstairs' bathroom. Apparently, on going issue since there was a tattered paper on lower bathroom door asking if you are not the renters of house to walk back to your cabin to use the facilities there. The owner has the main house plus 3 cabins. There was low water pressure at both house, not sure if that was an on going issue but happen all week long to the point where we couldn't shower or wash clothes at times.

Yes they have internet, what we didn't know was there is one connection that serves 5 houses (owner 's house included) he came to house to check one day since it was down, Main house had the modem. We were asked not to stream any videos or games during visit. One renter in past stream soccer games and owner ended up with extra charges. We did have family that needed to be online for work, it was an issue.

Good - They allow dogs which are family to us and a dinning room table large enough to seat 14 people .

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When I met with this particular guest during their stay, he was extremely angry that the two master bedrooms share a bathroom. To remedy this problem, he forced the occupants of the second master bedroom to use the lower level bathroom. He stated that no rental property should have shared bathrooms and advised me that I should not be offering the house for rent. While he did not mention this issue in the review, it explains why he gave the lowest possible rating to the two properties that his group rented. Dock for an elderly/disabled person: The community dock at our neighboring properties is not normally included with the rental of the Main House. However we do offer it to elderly or disabled individuals who need easier access to a dock. This guest ignored our directions and chose to repeatedly use a private dock in the neighboring community, even after the owner objected. He should have contacted us immediately. He did not. Stairs to the dock at the Main House: All properties on the lake have some steps down to the dock. Relative to other properties on the lake, ours is moderate. Please check out the photos on the web site and judge for yourself. Ice Maker: I let the guest know that I provided a full bag of ice in the freezer since the ice maker works intermittently, and that I had more bags of ice at my home should they run out. They never called and there was ice left in the original bag after they departed. Sewer Smell: The guest complained about a sewer smell in the downstairs bathroom. I immediately checked it and did not smell anything. The other guest in his party did not notice the smell either. This was not an issue. Low Water Pressure The guest never contacted us regarding water pressure. If they had it could have been resolved immediately. Internet The guest is confused. Our Internet connection does NOT serve five homes. However, while we have the fastest available, Internet is provided by a wireless (i.e. microwave) ISP that slows down during peak usage. To address this, the provider asks their customers to minimize streaming audio and video, and charges extra fees for excessive data usage. Most of the time download speeds are adequate for normal business use and even streaming. This guest was angry because we encourage guests not to stream video, and he needed to stream for work. I told him to feel free to use the Internet as he needed. It was not an issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and very spacious.

  • 5 of 5

The owner is extremely friendly, and the house is very accommodating for a large group.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house is a well maintained, older home. The furniture is beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

The home is set up well for a large family, including a large kitchen table, large pots and pans, plenty of sleeping options, a large hot tub, and plenty of parking. The furniture is beautiful and inviting.

The location on the lake is wonderful, offering a pretty view from the table and living room. The stairs to the lake and decking around the house are well maintained. We rented a boat while we were there, and appreciated where the property was situated on the lake for that experience.

We were also impressed with the unique drive in. I wished I had brought my bicycle to take advantage of the beautiful rural area and excellent roads.

We were very pleased with our entire experience - from our initial contact with the warm and personable owner to the easy departure.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful and relaxing week at the lake

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, the property and the service we got. We had a wonderful week. The property was well maintained and clean. There were a fewsmall drawbacks that our group noted. While the queen beds were very comfortable, the twin beds downstairs were not. The kitchen was very well stocked but there were parts of the blender missing. While we think the natural vegetation is beautiful, we were disappointed that we couldn't see the lake better. There is a large crepe myrtle completely blocking the view of the lake from one side of the porch. If the property were mine, I would probably cut down a couple of the large trees and open up the view a little. Also, the ladder off the dock was very slippery and probably needs to be cleaned often. Otherwise, we were so happy that we chose this house and would recommend it to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for alerting us to the soft twin beds. They have now been replaced with firmer mattresses. We recognize that comfortable beds are very important. Regarding the blender: in the future please let us know if something is missing or not working properly. We will do our best to correct the problem immediately. In this case, we have an extra blender on hand and would have been happy to bring it over. A working blender is now in the property. The crepe myrtle does need trimming, but being in full bloom we decided to wait and trim it this Fall. The other trees are a unique part of the beauty of our area that add perspective, enhancing the view of the lake. Given that we have a view that is over 180 degrees wide, there are plenty of wide windows out to the water (see the photograph of the view to the lake and mountain). Moss does grow on the ladder every day in the summer. At our home, I use the rough side of a kitchen sponge to clean it every time we go swimming and will add this suggestion to our web site. Thank you for mentioning it!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Richmond, VA
5

RELAXING, REFRESHING, WONDERFUL.

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a change of pace as we typically go to OBX every year. We wanted to come to a place that offered something a little different and wanted to make some memories with the kids that would last a life time. We found that at SML and were extremely pleased with the main house at Silver Bay View Cottages. Great game room for the kids downstairs when we weren't on the water. The views from the deck and hot tub were breathtaking. Surprisingly, we could sit on the deck and not get eaten by mosquitoes. Many hours on the dock, in and out of the water. Lots of tubing, wake boarding, knee boarding, rope swinging, and hanging out on a few little beaches that we found. Also, we rented a boat from Mitchell's Point Marina and the staff was very friendly and they certainly took care of us during our stay. You probably won't spend much time in the house but we had a great experience in there as well. Very clean, lots of space and beds. The owner was wonderful and we enjoyed meeting him. There was even a problem with one of the beds and he fixed it for us within an hour. You can't beat that. All in all, a very memorable vacation and wonderful house. If you're looking to entertain a bunch of kids and their friends, the memories that you'll make here are hard to beat.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairfax,VA
5

Words can not describe the serenity of this place

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for a weekend for a get together with friends and their families. The house is well equipped, well maintained, providing wonderful views and lots of activities for every ones. Owner had been very gracious through out the rental and responded swiftly to any request we had. View from the deck, hot tub and yard is absolutely gorgeous. Location of the house is terrific; close to amenities and marinas. Boat traffic infront of the house is minimal so no noise at all. Fishing was good from the small dock. Early morning over looking the lake and fishing was unforgettable experience. There was only one problem... it ended so soon. I will definitely come back to Silver bay and rent the small cabin just for me and my wife... ;)

Owners are very cooperative, courteous and helpful. I called them to ask about fishing and they guided me with great details and their website provides great deal of information and covers minute details..

Over all, 100/10.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Grand and spectacular views of the lake and Smith Mountain in a quiet, private setting populated with beautiful Loblolly pines and sweeping lawns. Private deep-water dock offers easy access for boating, swimming, sunbathing and world class fishing.

Ideal for Family Reunions

The house is located on a point that marks the entry to Witcher Creek, one of the best fishing areas on the lake. The Main House is a large, modern home that can comfortably accommodate 10 people.

Two large public rooms and a large deck are designed for entertaining, making it the ideal gathering place for up to 24 people staying in the Silver Bay View Cottages properties.

* Beautiful lake views

* Hot Tub

* Harvest Dining Table seats up to 14

* Kitchen with all the modern conveniences

* Dishes for 24 place settings

* Spacious deck with seating for 12

* Large Floating Dock

* Game room (Foosball, Air Hockey, Large TV)

* High Speed Wireless Internet

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huddleston House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016/Spring 2017
Sep 5 2016 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$410
$2,460
 
 
Early Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$550
$3,300
 
 
Mid Summer 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$550
$3,300
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$410
$2,460
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$410
$2,460
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Housekeeping/Hot Tub $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.3%

Optional linen fee: $150
Damage Deposit is due 30 days before your arrival date. We accept payments only by credit card through HomeAway.com.

NOTE: Shorter stays are possible in Mid Summer if a property is not booked 2 weeks in advance. Nightly rate is $575. There is a three night minimum over major holiday weekends.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , en suite for Master 1 and 2
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master 1 with lake views
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Master 2 with lake views
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Red Room on main level
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 child bed , Lake views, private bath
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Call us for any special needs or vacation planing. A fire pit is available. Bring newspapers to help start it. Firewood is available nearby. What to Bring * Sheets and pillow cases* * Towels and wash cloths* * Bath soap and shampoo * Laundry Soap * Flashlight * Paper towels * Charcoal, lighter fluid * Condiments Note: *Bed linens and towels are available for an additional fee. What not to bring: Worries and stress! What you'll wish you had brought: Camera, film, DVDs, water toys, sun block, fishing gear.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties