check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Toni

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, danish

Modern new beautiful quiet island cottage within private gated lagoon

17 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Waterlands Village Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, double sink granite bathroom with futon in living room, sleeps 3

Modern, recently built and fully equipped private detached cottage, centrally located - close to the ocean, airport, diving and restaurants.

This modern one bedroom home really has it all, with an open plan kitchen/living room that flows to the covered porch through an expansive triple, sliding glass door. The cottage was built to take advantage of the trade winds that will keep the place cool throughout the day. 2 split air conditioning units in the living room and bedroom + 2 ceiling fans are also standard.

Some of the other amenities include: New Smart TV in the living room, Cable TV, DVD player/TV in the bedroom, free/dedicated/secure wireless internet access - (just bring your laptop),110v and 220v electrical outlets, and a very large private outdoor fully enclosed shower that leads directly to the bedroom - shower under the stars in complete and total privacy, store your gear or just kick back under the sun....

THINGS WE LOOKED FOR:

Parking: Our deeded spot is directly in front of the cottage - no walking with gear to a lot somewhere outside of a hotel/condo on the strip, down a flight of stairs or into an elevator.... You will never have to look for a place to park --Just steps to the car and our private driveway.

Don't forget mosquito screens when booking. It can turn a great vacation into pure misery! Many places have nothing or only partial coverage to keep them out. ALL of our windows and doors are equipped with screens as well as a full door mosquito screen to cover the massive 3 sectional front slider.

Our detached private cottage is situated in a gated secure lagoon resort on a private peninsula that leads directly to the Caribbean Sea. Palm trees and tropical foliage surround the cottage providing privacy for those lazy evenings on the porch or in the outdoor shower. The surrounding lagoon also has 7 private docks that can be used for mooring a boat while on vacation with absolutely no dock fees. Rent a boat for a day or week and pull up to your own private dock within the property.

In the center of it all is a beautiful fresh water pool with waterfall and multi level lounge area that can be found empty many times during the day due to the small size of this private and unique gated resort....

THINGS TO REMEMBER TO ASK WHEN BOOKING:

-- Does the home have FULL mosquito screens throughout? Many places unfortunately do not and offer only partial coverage.

We have full mosquito screens on EVERY door and window....

-- What other fees are added to the cost that are NOT reflected in the original quote Ex - End Cleaning Fees, tourist tax fees per person, per day, electric/water use fees not reflected in the contract or rate, change-over date fees for simply coming in a little early or wanting to leave later due to an afternoon/midnight flight.

Electrical use is EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE on this small island. A very low rate without an electrical use allowance can turn into a financial disaster upon check-out....

We have all fees included in the price of the cottage. There are no hidden fees - What you see is what you get. Be sure to check the initial rate listed on the site and then the fine print fees which can turn that rate into something a lot more than what you bargained for. We also offer FREE early check-in and late check-out without the fee monster. (As long as no other guest is arriving or leaving the same day - feel free to stay longer at no extra charge)

-- Internet/cable: Is it high speed, included in the quote, wireless?

We have free high speed internet and cable included. You will not be stuck sitting in the lobby of a hotel or looking for a wifi hot spot somewhere on the island...

-- Does the place have private indoor and outdoor shower areas and is the outside shower FULLY enclosed or partially open to see from outside?

We have a beautiful, fully enclosed large private outside shower area with lockable mahogany doors for complete and total privacy... lock your gear away right next to the house, hang those wetsuits, take a shower - relax...

-- Parking: where is the parking in relation to the house?

Our parking is right next to the cottage for easy gear loading and unloading...

-- Security: Is the place a gated community or open to the public?

We are in a fully enclosed PRIVATE GATED COMMUNITY that has no public access. Most, if not all of the beach hotel/condos are public access and are along the main road with difficult parking. We also have an oversized safe that will accommodate large laptops and many oversized cameras (along with other valuables)...

--Pool: If you enjoy lounging by the pool after a long day, make sure 1 -That the place has one

-Is it a pool or is it more like an oversized hot-tub. Many locations have very little area devoted to pool space. Our large pool area is centrally located within the property, surrounded by palms and never crowded. Reserving pool chairs/space will never be a concern.

Location: Where will you be staying in relation to dive shops, restaurants, dive locations

We are Centrally located and close enough to walk to town as well as some great restaurants along the way. Being centrally located will also limit the gas burn when hitting the multiple shore entry dive locations - (gas on the island is very expensive when compared to the average cost per gallon in the US).

WE OFFER DISCOUNTS OFF THE LISTED RATES - PLEASE INQUIRE.........

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Toni (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, danish

Reviews

5
based on 17 traveler reviews

Modern new beautiful quiet island cottage within private gated lagoon
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
5

Perfect cottage for diving Bonaire

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here Jan 16-23, 2016 and loved it. When not diving or sleeping, we spent 90% of our time on the wonderful outdoor patio. This covered patio only gets direct sun in the very early morning which combined with the nice breeze make for a comfortable place to hang out all day. Only used AC in bedroom while sleeping at night. Cottage is great size for 2, but would be slightly cramped for 4. Rear shower/patio has locking door that opens next to parking spot, so easy to bring in dive gear as needed. Kitchen has full size refrigerator/freezer so we were able to get all our groceries for the week in one trip to the store. Kitchen was well-stocked with all dishes and utensils. Toni, the owner, was unbelievably responsive and helpful. Anytime I had a question as our trip approached she would usually respond to emails within an hour. She provided very helpful information regarding diving, car rentals, dining, and other island activities. Per Toni's advice, we kept our gear in a locked storage locker at a nearby dive shop, which was fantastic. After the final dive each day, we stopped at the shop, rinsed our gear in their rinse tanks, and locked it up- very easy and convenient. The lockers had 24 hour access so we could get our gear anytime we needed it. Finally, on site property managers were also very attentive and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Just Perfect, as described in the website. Clean, charming and stylish! Very nice and super close to the centre. The cottage was the perfect size for my husband and I. We had everything we need including beach towels. The kitchen is perfect furnished. The free WiFi was strong, A/C worked well which was nice for sleeping, and the shower had hot water. Everything was very comfortable. The pool area was great, we spent some relaxing evenings hanging out by the pool after the beach. The property is completed enclosed with high walls for privacy. I highly recommended this place, We will certainly book this again when back to Bonaire! Communication with the owner was excellent and the manager of the village was very helpful. Thank you

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect home base to explore Bonaire! The grounds were beautiful and lush and the cottage was clean, modern, and comfortable. We really enjoyed having the windows open with the nice breeze. Even though there are other cottages nearby, it felt completely private. We enjoyed lounging on the front porch and watching the butterflies fly by. Truly paradise! We hope to be able to return sometime.

Also, the owners are responsive and super helpful. We felt well taken care of! Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Simply amazing

  • 5 of 5

This place is amazing; the central location, gated community, privacy, modern amenities and the list goes on.

We loved the house, all of the comforts of home in a lush tropical setting. A real king-size bed versus two single beds put together. A great bathroom with twin sinks and granite, and a huge walk-in shower. Plus an outdoor shower completely enclosed with a 2meter tall concrete wall. Another nice feature is that all of the windows are screened. Once the sun sets, these screens are a life saver!

We felt extremely secure in the house and the grounds, which was nice due to our 2010 at another location.

This place is simply paradise, avoid hotels and resorts and you will not be disappointed.

Not only is the house amazing; but Toni is a great resource for vehicle rentals, dive shops and dinning recommendations. Planning this trip was effortless with Toni's assistance.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Secret Hidden Little Gem

  • 5 of 5

Secret Hidden Gem in Bonaire

What can I say…… PERFECT in every detail. The Villa is exceptionally cozy and comfortable. The Bonaire Caribbean Breeze that flows throughout the Villa is amazing. I believe Toni has the only Villa in the Waterlands with screens on every window and even the sliding doors.

Love the outdoor covered patio at the Villa. The outdoor shower was a luxury especially after dive/snorkeling trips. The pool was a refreshing retreat to cool off and relax. The weather (Jan 2014) was incredible in this pristine picture perfect vacation spot and the villa was always a pleasure to arrive home to!!!

The surrounding vegetation around the villa and Waterlands Village provides privacy as well as many tropical birds and butterflies everyday!!!

The kitchen is extremely well stocked with everything you may and may not need! It made our choices harder but with fabulous restaurants at Bonaire how could you not eat out. Owners provided incredible amounts of valuable information on restaurants and bars!!!!

The villa has amply supply of towels, which was wonderful! Well-stocked kitchen. Exceptionally great kitchen appliances. Free Wi-Fi Access. Remarkable DVD collection.

We will be back and will/would definitely recommend Toni's Villa to all!!!!

Don’t think twice…book it and you will love it too!!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Magical Trip to Bonaire!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and the community. It was absolutely perfect. The village was beautifully maintained and the neighbors were extremely friendly and helpful. The owner provided terrific referrals for everything from dining to rental cars.

I simply can't say enough good things about our trip and our stay in this home.

If you plan to dive, Tropical Divers was the best!

We really can't wait to go back to Bonaire and would definitely stay in this home again.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: recommended

Bonaire is a small friendly island located in the southern Dutch Caribbean. Together with Aruba and Curaçao it forms a group referred to as the 'ABC' islands. Bonaire is known for its pioneering role in the preservation of the marine environment which makes it one of the top scuba diving/snorkeling destinations in the world. 95% of the dive sites are accessible from shore with beautiful reefs and several wrecks worth visiting. Other water activities include: windsurfing, sailing/boating, fishing and kayaking in the mangroves. Just some of the on-island activities include: Shopping/visiting the quaint capitol of Kralendijk, Off-roading, hiking, mountain biking Washington/Slagbaai National Park, bird watching (Bonaire is known for their large flamingo population), horseback riding, visiting the donkey sanctuary and cave exploring. Finishing the day at one of the many world class restaurants while watching the sun set is what truly makes Bonaire the best kept secret of the Caribbean.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waterlands Village Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
May 15 2016 - Nov 14 2016
7 night minimum stay
$952
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Nov 15 2016 - May 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,092
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
Low Season
May 15 2017 - Nov 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$952
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Nov 15 2017 - May 14 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,092
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$136
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $300

low season-high season
$952 - $1092/week INCLUDES ALL TAXES/FEES FOR 2
SECURITY DEPOSIT: We ask for a $300 security which will be returned after your departure as per the rental agreement.
We accept checks, Paypal and direct online booking via the website. Checks are preferred due to the fee structure built into the other forms of payment, but either way is fine. If the deposit and/or payment is sent via paypal, any wire-bank/transaction or through this site, fees may apply and it will be returned the same way received minus the bank/site imposed fees. We do not charge anything for the service but Paypal/bank transfer companies/this site may, so your deposit/rental amount will be less upon return. If you do choose to send via Paypal or through another routing service/provider/this site, we suggest that you check their fee schedule for sending and receiving as well as their rules regarding refunds. International fees/exchanges may apply as well.

FULL PAYMENT IS DUE ON DAY OF BOOKING THROUGH WEBSITE. PLEASE INQUIRE ABOUT OTHER PARTIAL PAYMENT OPTIONS.

Any questions - feel free to call or email anytime (201) 852-1520

CANCELLATIONS/REFUNDS – When we receive your deposit, the reservation is confirmed. All other reservation requests will be turned away and blocked on the calendar for the time frame you reserved. Cancellations that are made: (90 - ninety) days or more prior to the arrival date will incur a $200.00 cancellation fee. Cancellations that are made:  (60 – 89) days prior to the arrival date = No refund of the “damage/reservation deposit” + cancellation fee;  (30 – 59) days prior to the arrival date = 50% Refund of the rental "payment" and no refund of the "damage/reservation deposit" + cancellation fee ;  (0 – 29) days prior to the arrival date = No refund of rental "payment" and no refund of the "damage/reservation deposit"+ cancellation fee. Early departure or a change in the arrival date does not warrant any partial refund of rent.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waterlands Village Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 957 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Exterior - outdoor shower
  • Modern granite bathroom equipped with double side by side sink and open walk-in shower + additional attached private outdoor shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Bedroom sleeps 2 in King size bed. Futon in living room opens up for one person very comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Cottage comes with an over-sized digital safe that will fit most lap tops and camera equipment. Cottage also has mosquito screens throughout (The only 1 bedroom cottage in the community equipped with an over-sized safe, Toaster oven, BBQ grill, complete mosquito netting, futon and private parking in front). Always check to see if the place you intend to stay at includes mosquito screeens - many unfortunately do not... The cottage is approximately (957 sq. ft.) Outside dimensions with private outdoor shower (1237.84 ft2). Bathroom was recently upgraded with full granite tops and mahogany cabinets..... We can also assist with finding the best deals on vehicle rentals and diving for your stay....

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties