check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Great Southern Cottage with big front porch near beach! Only $125 per night!

20 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Gulfport House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

'The Cottage'

Historic old house(Katrina survivor) just off 2nd Street(actually a block closer to the beach than the wonderful 2nd street area).

This is an old-fashioned getaway where the main purpose is to relax. The house is located in the historic Second Street area.

There are several great restaurants in walking distance including Salute and Chimneys restaurant. The new "Shaggy's" is now open an just a block away across from the beach.

This house is perfect for morning walks, sipping coffee and cocktails at sunset.

The covered deck is a spacious 10 x 26 feet with 2 outdoor ceiling fans. This is the bottom floor unit of a 3 unit building. From the deck is an expansive view of the Mississippi Sound/Gulf of Mexico.

Easy pricing $125 per night plus the cleaning fee. Minimum 3 night stay in the Spring and Summer. Exception for Cruisin' the Coast.

Cruisin the Coast $150 per night with 3 night minimum. Event Sept 30th to Oct. 9th.

Ryan House is a very quiet and peaceful setting and beats the heck out of staying in a Motel!


Recent guest comment sent to us this summer:

I'm back at work today...sitting at my desk and wishing I was still sitting on the big front porch at Ryan House! Your home was perfect for our needs. It was cozy, but still felt spacious enough for our family of five to spread out a little bit. We had everything we needed to prepare several meals in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully appointed. Every detail, from the plantings outside to the paintings on the walls, was lovely! Thank you for allowing us to use your beautiful home!


Are you or a loved one looking for accomodations while on official orders and here TDY or TOD?

We offer those who are attending school at either Keesler AFB or NCBC Gulfport accommodations at Government GSA Per Diem Rate.

Keywords: House near beach

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

We have owned this property more than a decade---it's named after our first born daughter Ryan. Ryan House, has a lot of charm and history. The house was originally built in the 30's and has weathered the 2 worst Hurricanes in U.S. history, Camille and Katrina(Andrew for Florida folks). We have renovated the house twice---one time was planned and the second was following Katrina. We have saved a lot of the character of the structure and added modern amenities. The main feature we love is the porch and those endless breezes.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

Why The Owner chose Mississippi

The Gulf Coast is the best place to be. From New Orleans to Destin, there is always something to see and new discoveries to be made. This location is central to all of the exciting things on the coast. The casinos are fun-the beaches, boating and local cuisine can't be beat.

What makes this house unique

The main benefit of being on the coast is to relax. We are across the street from the beach. This means you are only a boat ride away from exploring Ship Island. Island View Casino is just a few minutes away offering a great buffet. We also like the outlet mall just up Highway 49.


based on 20 traveler reviews

Great Southern Cottage with big front porch near beach! Only $125 per night!
average rating of 4.8 based on 20 reviews
Stockville, MS

Relaxing Escape

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely time we had! The front porch was so relaxing with that gentle ocean breeze keeping us cool even though it was August in Mississippi! The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and we found the owners to be prompt, friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back. :)

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words that makes everyone's day much better!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved staying at the Ryan House

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I along with some friends loved staying at the Ryan House! Not only is a beautiful house, it is a great location. The ambiance of a beach getaway is enhanced by all of the beautiful plant life that has been cultivated on the property, and being only one block from the ocean, hearing the waves crashing on the shore! Mornings on the porch with a cup of coffee are peaceful, afternoons can be spent wandering the downtown area that is only a few blocks away, and access to main roads to any attractions you need to drive to are easy. The house was clean and well appointed, and we will definitely look to the Ryan House for any future stays in the Gulfport area.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Ryan House twice this year. Both times, I had to come to town for family reasons and this house made us feel like we were home. In fact as soon as I knew we had to come back the second time, my first thought was that I hoped the house was available! The owners have been excellent and got us in at the last minute. I have recommended the house to all of my family and friends and will definitely stay here any time we are in town.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our 2nd stay and hopefully more to come

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect jewel! It is roomy with comfy beds,a great kitchen with new appliances and granite countertops, and plenty of space and light in the bathroom. We were four adults for four nights and and had plenty of room. We loved sitting on the front porch with an afternoon cocktail. This is SO MUCh better than being in a hotel room. We love the location - easy to get to all the spots on the gulf coast. We were meeting friends in both Bay St. Louis and in Ocean Springs on different days of our trip and the location of this house is perfect for a trip that includes the entire Mississippi coast. Thanks again to Tom and Kristine for sharing your piece of paradise with us!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Serious Disappointment

  • 2 of 5

The positives about this property were the location--which was fabulous--and the really nice shower (although the tub you stood in was off-putting--discolored and moldy.) This nice space was marred by seriously poor upkeep. The kitchen equipment was marred, scarred, unsafe, unsanitary, and disgusting. I cooked with 3 ill-suited pans during our stay because the rest were appalling. No spatula? No saute pan? (Or, not one that I could use.) The sheets in my bed had hairs and ?mulch? and there was no way to be sure they had been laundered. The wash cloths were darkly stained. Paint was peeling. Multiple light bulbs were out, and at least one had dysfunctional wiring--it kept coming on and quitting at peculiar times (including the middle of the night. Scary!!!!) Yard workers began loud service at 6:40 in the morning!! When I went to use the shower, the handle controlling the water came off in my hand. We reported the problems on Sunday evening (finally too annoyed to wait until 'business hours') but no action was taken until mid-day Tuesday. It turned out that the nonfunctioning bedroom light fixture was filled with water from a leak from some weeks earlier. The dining chairs (too short for the table) were in poor condition, and I had to wash much of the china, hot pads, and mixing bowls before using them. In short, this property showed very little care--while outwardly attractive, it was in fact in poor and dirty condition. We reported the problems in detail (and our deposit was returned) but we could never recommend this rental even though the location was so nice. (The property has been for sale for quite some time. Good luck with that!) I notice that the positive reviews are from previous years. I'm sorry to say that the rental has not had vigilant owner supervision.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the profound Taylor Swift says "haters gonna hate". We've had hundreds of people stay with us with very few complaints. Nothing is perfect and on occasion light bulbs burn out or there is a smudge missed or paint needs to be touched up. This comes with any property. After receiving the concerns we had the items listed taken care of by our housekeeper and went in ourselves over the weekend to make sure the property is comfortable for guests. We spent the weekend there with our children to make sure we used the unit just as guests would to make sure everything was where it needed to be and worked properly. Much to our surprise the unit looked great---we did upgrade some kitchen items and changed out a mini-blind. As we have stated in the description this is an 80 year old plus historic house---this is not one of the new hi-rise modern condos on the beach. It will have a different vibe---kind of like visiting your grandparents beach house but with modern amenities. The bottom line is that all of the beds are comfortable and clean---the kitchen appliances are modern and clean and the location is great. While these folks were over the top and downright mean with their review we hope you realize the truth is usually somewhere in the middle. We continue to strive to make this a comfortable retreat for those looking to spend some time on the coast. The majority of folks who stay with us are return customers who have been staying at Ryan House the past 5 years. I don't think people would keep coming back if this assessment was accurate. We will continue to work hard and if you stay with us and something needs to be taken care we will make sure it is done. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Great Stop on Long Journey

  • 5 of 5


Close to everything, especially the gulf coast

SO much more room than a motel/hotel & more economical

Great vanity lighting & generous counter space in bathroom.

Large updated kitchen with a TV on the wall. AWESOME!

Comfy bed.

Great AC & quiet, ceiling fans everywhere

We very much enjoyed our stay. It was a great, short break in our long journey from AZ to meet family at Disney World & then travel on to Daytona Beach during our August vacation.

Your home was another gold star in our VRBO experiences.

Thanks so much,

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Gulfport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Year Round
Mar 10 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Deposit $50
Housekeeping Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gulfport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers