check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Andrew Schwartz

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

The Castro Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms,1 Full Bath w/ 6 foot Jaccuzzi, Sleeps 4, Sitting Room

A pampered vacation in the Castro. It's a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom suite in a 1890's San Francisco Victorian with its own private entrance. It has a 6 foot jacuzzi tub, a shower, a sitting room, a full size refrigerator, a microwave, dining room table, 4 dining room chairs, 4 stuffed arm chairs, airport pick-up & drop-off, 24/7 full concierge service, free laundry, board games, free parking, free newspaper, free premium DirecTv w/ 100's of free movies, excellent nail parlor nearby, public transportation right outside your door, free sightseeing, bathroom full of skin care products from my store, day spa with indoor pool & massages available at another location,shopping district including historic Castro Theater 2 blocks away, San Francisco historic Trolley car line 4 blocks away, corner store less than 1 block. I've been living in San Francisco for 30 years and my partner is born and raised San Franciscan and we hope to make this your most memorable trip to San Francisco.

Recommended Web Sites: Free San Francisco walking tours - http://sfcityguides.org

1906 film camera mounted on the front of a cable c: An astonishing blend of horses, wagons and cars - no street lights but plenty of jay walkers. Amazing how dressed up most of the pedestrians are. This is fascinating.

This film was 'lost' for many years. It was the first 35mm film ever. It was taken by camera mounted on the front of a cable car. The amount of automobiles is staggering for 1906. Absolutely amazing! The clock tower at the end of Market Street at the Embarcadero wharf is still there. (I'm also wondering ... how many 'street cleaning' people were employed to pick up after the horses? Talk about going green!)

Great historical film worth watching.

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=NINOxRxze9k

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Andrew Schwartz (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Andrew-We want to thank you for welcoming us and making us feel comfortable. I appreciate all your efforts from sending us the map, to the tour, to the bath products. May god bless you and yours. If you are ever in Albuquerque and need directions, suggestions or a tour please feel free to call or email us.

The Haun(s)

We will definately recommend your place to others.
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
average rating of 4.7833333 based on 68 reviews
columbia,sc
5

Great host! Great spot!

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed at vrbo properties probably 8-10 times at this point, and-- hands down-- Andy has been the best host I've encountered. Not only did he pick us up at the airport, but he took us on a tour of his neighborhood and oriented us to the city at large. He took a genuine interest in his guests and was intent on making certain our stay was enjoyable.

Personally, I loved the location of this apartment. It's in a true historic neighborhood and not amongst all the tourists. I felt like a native San Franciscan for a few days, eating at neighborhood restaurants and taking the Muni everywhere. Just be forewarned that getting around San Francisco is not fast. If you want to hit the tourist spots, they are about 30-45 minutes away by streetcar.

The apartment itself was quite comfortable for the three of us. As noted, there is no stove, but there's a microwave, toaster, and a refrigerator/freezer which will probably be enough for most groups. It didn't matter to us, but the tv is small and not hi-def (but with all the necessary cable channels). Wifi was a bit spotty in the apartment but generally fine.

Overall, I was very pleased with our stay in San Francisco at Andy's apartment.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect stay for us

  • 5 of 5

While it's true that this property is rather small it worked out perfect for us. We don't spend a lot of time in our rooms on vacation. Andrew met us at the house when we arrived and showed us around the apartment and the city which was immensely helpful. The bus stop was only about 100 feet from the front door so we didn't really even drive our car once we arrived. All in all this was a great trip!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

More than we expected...

  • 5 of 5

We spent 4 days in Andy's flat and definitely very much appreciatred our stay. Andy picked us up at the airport, showed us the neighbourhood on our way to the apartment and later proposed to take us downtown when we had to take an early ferry to Alcatraz...

The apartment was good, there is no surprise in what you get as it is absolutely identical to the wabsite description. Everything was as clean as can be hoped for and we appreciated the bathroom.

All in all, even slightly better an experience than we expected so I would definitely recommend booking this place for a few days (the lack of stove might be an obstacle for a longer rental).

  • Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place, the neighborhood and apt are safe and clean. The apartment is close to all levels of transport, and a short walk down the street to the subway. If you need a quiet place to crash after a day of sightseeing and experiencing San Fran, this is the place. Andy is awesome host, he gives you a really nice tour of the area, and his knowledge of San Francisco is inciting, one wants learn more about the city. There plenty of restaurants/bistros close by, so we didn't need to cook. The apt is well equipped but doesn't have a stove. For what we paid for stay during Super Bowl weekend, it well worth it. I would recommend this place to my friends and family.

Cheers Bob

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

small very small

  • 3 of 5

Andy is a great host with that said it is a very small place

The microwave could be updated and the clutter on the table and on top of the fridge is not very neat.

The overstuffed chairs are not very over stuffed and the TV is small and located above the ''kitchen'' table

We enjoyed the location and the beds very comfortable again the bedroom were small and once luggage was place not much room

The bathroom was the best room and jacuzzi was nice touch but washing and brushing teeth in the same sink as dishes is some what disconcerting

The view in the ad is from a porch one level above the entrance to the ''apartment''

It was functional and we only needed to be there for sleep and did not rely on eating there .

On a whole was a little disappointed

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Most important to me is that you enjoy your stay. I am very very sorry you found your stay a little disappointing. Please accept my sincere apologizes. Although the space is small, it is what others call cozy, with two distinct bedrooms that are not even next to each other. I make it clear to everyone before they give me their reservation deposit that there is not a complete kitchen and get their ok before I charge their card. All of this said, to get a two bedroom apartment in a safe neighborhood in San Francisco, with two comfortable queen size beds, a living room, a six foot jacuzzi tub and a view (with two chairs and a table, although outside) for less than $175 a night, is unheard of. Remember, most important to me is that you enjoy your stay and with that in mind, if you are over 6 foot 3 inches tall this apartment is not for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and wonderful host!

  • 5 of 5

I booked Andy's place for a 3-day trip to SF with my mom and niece. I live less than 2-hours from SF and have stayed at plenty of hotels in all of the touristy areas of SF, so booking on Home Away in the Castro was a new experience for all of us. We had an awesome trip and I felt as if I was experiencing a whole new city by staying in a neighborhood away from the tourists.

Upon checking in Andy took us on a driving tour of the area and pointed out several features to help us, such as restaurants, coffee shops, stores, and public transportation. He is an excellent resource and really helped us get acclimated to the neighborhood. He even took us to Twin Peaks to experience the view!

We didn't spend a lot of time in the apartment since we were out and about for most of our three days but it was just perfect for us. The two bedrooms gave us the needed space to stay sane (got to love traveling with family!) and the living room/kitchenette was perfect for making breakfast and coffee in the morning and relaxing at night with a glass of wine. My niece (8 years old) LOVED the bath tub and had a great time exploring with all of the bath gel Andy leaves for his guests.

This was my first experience with Home Away so needless to say I was a bit nervous about the whole process but Andy was kind and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy.

Thanks Andy! It was great meeting you:)

Mel, Sandy, and Gwyn

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
SFO 20 minutes;OAK 40 minutes
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Ferry Building 10 minutes
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Train Station 10 minutes
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Bay Bridge; Golden Gate Bridge; Highway 1
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Car: not necessary

San Francisco has both bay and ocean exposure. It's a city of hills and of course views. It also has fog; layering clothing is advised. We have a great public transit system with cable cars acquired from around the world and beautifully restored. We have many incredible National Parks less than one hour away and we have street fairs where artists sell their work all summer long. And with 24/7 concierge service if it can done in or around San Francisco, I can make it happen.

Other Activities: Street Tours including EatingTour, Vampire Tour, and a Castro Street Tour

Photos

Rates & Availability

The Castro Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$199
$1,295
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

The Castro Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Budget
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , 6 foot tub
  • The 6 foot extra deep tub is great after long day of walking and especially nice when it is cold and foggy which can easily happen in the middle of the summer in San Francisco. My other business is selling skin care products, so you know your going to have a good time in the bathroom cause the bathroom is well stocked!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
I know places like Nob Hill Spa, for instance, where for an extra $35.00 Monday thru Thursday you can get a day pass to enjoy the indoor pool and if you reserve a 50 minute treatment with them they will waive the $35.00 fee. They have a great sundeck with a fantastic view as well. Or I know a brand new public indoor pool recently torn down and rebuilt brand new That costs $4.00 admission. As I mentioned earlier I have a list of street walking tours ranging from the macab to historic to stopping at every restaurant to sample their food. I'll take you to twin peaks, the highest place in San Francisco, for a birds eye view. We have over 100 restaurants in our neighborhood or I can arrange for a chef cook meals for you and leave them in the frig for you. We have two brand new museums in town one with a state of the art planetarium and one with tweeked, warped (you'll have to see it) skyscraper attached. Any way, we'll keep you busy.

Partner Offers