Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Front Villa with Down Island View - Priceless!

Bedrooms 1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

1 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 6

Enjoy morning coffee or have breakfast on one of the two balconies as you watch the sun rise over the BVI.

Afterwards, don your bathing suits and grab your beach towels to enjoy the two-level pool directly below your condo or spend the day under the sea grape trees that line the beach. Snorkel on the reef directly off the beach (you’ll see coral, topical fish and possibly a sea turtle or ray), or wind surf, kayak or paddle-boat.

Beach toys are available at the fully equipped dive shop on the beach. You can also enjoy a game of beach volleyball on the beach. And the beautiful Mahogany Run golf course is 20 minutes away. Wrap up your day back on the balcony sipping a beverage as you look out on the moon over the ocean.

The Unit: Your 900 sq. ft. two-story villa sleeps up to 6 comfortably, whether they be family or friends. It features a Caribbean decor in an open floor plan, with cathedral ceilings upstairs. The lower floor consists of a fully equipped kitchenette, dining area, and sitting area with a flat screen TV and queen size sofa/bed.

Upstairs there is a king size bed, TV, and another sitting area with a queen size sofa/bed. Both floors have a private balcony with a fabulous down-island view. There is a full bathroom on both floors.

A short walk to the marina at Sapphire Beach offers day cruises including snorkeling excursions, trips to the BVI, deep-sea fishing and scuba diving. Some boats are power, some are sail. You can also rent a jet ski or go parasailing.

Red Hook (small town 1/2 mile away): Breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed after a 5-minute taxi ride into Red Hook at one of the many restaurants. Menus range from burgers and fries to exotic Caribbean seafood dishes Molly Malone’s on the waterfront (it’s one of our favorites). There are also 2 modern supermarket (The Food Center and Moe's) where you can provision up if you prefer to eat at home. If you don't want to leave the beach, there is also a small refreshment stand between buildings B&C at Sapphire serving hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken sandwiches, soft drinks, beer and tropical drinks (hours: 11AM-PM).

Plan on taking the 20-minute ferry ride out of Red Hook to Cruz Bay. St. John’s main town, for shopping, a tour of the island or snorkeling in Trunk Bay with it’s underwater reef markers which describe the coral. The last time we took the ferry it was $7/person each way. You can also catch a ferry to Tortola or Virgin Gorda in the BVI from Red Hook (bring your passport, you will have to clear customs).

Charlotte Amalie (USVI Capital): The 20-minute taxi ride is well worth the trip to Charlotte Amalie to explore the narrow streets called allies or gades for even more eating and duty free shopping. For additional shopping, try the newly built upscale Yacht Harbor Grande or Havensight where the cruise ships dock. There is also a “vendors market” offering inexpensive t-shirts, handbags, island jewelry and artifacts and more. If shopping’s not your thing, explore the many historical landmark buildings through out Charlotte Amalie.

Other things to do include a trip to Mountain Top, the highest point on the island for one of their “world famous” banana daiquiris and spectacular views of Magen’s Bay and beyond, the Coral World aquarium (about 10 minute from Sapphire), a zip line through the jungle, and the Sky Ride gondola ride to Paradise Point above the cruise ship dock. Paradise Point offers panoramic views of Charlotte Amalie.

More Details

John Vicher
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2017

About John Vicher

My wife Jane and I grew up in the Midwest and first visited the Caribbean on our honeymoon over 30 years ago when we visited 5 islands in the course of a month. We traveled by ferryboat and small inter island airplanes from Granada in the south to St. Croix in the north. Since then we have traveled extensively through out the islands. In 1987 we decided to look for a “foot hold” in the Caribbean. After searching through out the Virgin Islands, both British and US, we decided on St. Thomas because of its combination of hustle and bustle cosmopolitanism and laid back solitude. We also considered the safety of US government ownership.

John Vicher purchased this condo in 1994

Why John Vicher chose East End

After looking at dozens of properties during several visits to St. Thomas we finally decided on Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina. We chose Sapphire because of it’s beautiful white sand beach with it’s gorgeous “down island” view of St. John and the BVI. We also liked the amenities on the property such as the two level swimming pool, beautifully landscaped grounds, convenient parking and marina offering day cruises. We also took into account the convenience of the dive shop on the property offering every kind of beach toy imaginable, the 2 reefs right off the beach for snorkeling and the short distance to the small town of Red Hook with shopping and a dozen restaurants.

What makes this condo unique

Sapphire Beach is tranquil, making it fantastic for just relaxing but it is still convenient to shopping, dining and all kinds of activities.


Estate Smith Bay Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Shower stall and 2 sink vanity downstairs. Bath tub with shower and single sink vanity upstairs. Toilet on each level.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sofa beds
  • King size bed on upper level.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 8 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Two queen-size sofa beds (one on the lower level and one on the upper level), ceiling fans, dining room furniture with 4 chairs, 2 large closets, sliding glass doors to balconies with One upstairs, one downstairs. Bar height table with 4 bar stools upstairs and bar height bar with 4 bar height stools downstairs. Perfect for viewing the scenery over the railing. Mid stay maid service provided. Additional maid service available for a fee.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Beach Front Villa with Down Island View - Priceless!
average rating of 4.878788 based on 33 reviews

Best STT has to offer!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed a week in this very comfortable, relaxing and clean condo, it was perfect! The condo itself is very well equipped. This unit has an upper and lower balcony which we spent a lot of time on, the views are everything you have dreamed of! We saw many other condos at Sapphire Resort and this unit has to have the best views by far. We chose not to rent a car so being close to the town of Redhook where all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc are was a big money saver in cab fare. The resort is wellknown and all taxis knew exactly where to bring us/pick us up. The concierge at the resort was always more than helpful from getting us fresh towels daily to calling us a cab at weird hours. The beach bar at Sapphire was fun. My husband and I are beginning snorkelers (we brought snorkle gear but used Johns flippers that were available to use at this unit-very helpful!) but had the best time snorkling around Sapphire Beach lots of stingrays and several turtles! Sapphire beach was my favorite out of the 10 we visited bw stt and stj so being able to walk right out your door and relax in the sun was awesome. Take my advise and stay here, John could not have been more accommodating. He made the booking and payment arrangements easy for me, kept me updated on everything, answered all my questions and even followed up with me once we got back home.

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jennifer for the glowing review!!! I am so glad you guys enjoyed our place. You're welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing stay

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at this condo back in 2014 and had an amazing time. John was extremely helpful and responded quickly. Spent 2 weeks there and the condo was in great shape with a million dollar view. The beach at the villas is great too. Wasn't over crowded when we were there in Oct unlike other beaches. Very relaxing and clean. Will defiantly be coming back in the future!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! You're always welcome back. It's very rare that our beach is ever "crowded" and the water is always crystal clear and warm. Please feel free to come back any time of year. Thank you, John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York


  • 5 of 5

Spent 8 nights there this August, as a developer of one of the finest resorts in Belize and a former owner at Sapphire Beach as well as having traveled the entire carribean I will say the following. There is no better view in my opinion anywhere! You are looking over St John as well as the British Virgin Islands. The water continually changes shades of blue as the sun moves overhead. Hands down building D is the supperior location on the property. You are literally 150 feet from the blue waters of the beach and overlooking the two tear pool. The unit is very comfortable with full bathrooms on each floor. If you like to cook, the kitchen leaves nothing out, it's all there. For fresh fish daily see Mat on the dock. He is captain on the Double Header. John has plenty of gear for snorkeling as the reef offers many tropical fish as well as turtles and stingrays. The first floor has a bar on the balcony which faces out to the Caribbean. (Great for breakfast or coffee). Beach chairs and beach towels are complimentary. The pool area is great for children as the upper tear is approx. three feet deep. The pool area had a bar and table area, however this area is closed at this time. There is a small grill on the property offering lunch and tropical drinks. Redhook is just a 5 minute cab ride and offers many restaurants as well as a market for groceries. John is excelent to work with and is always there to help out with any concerns. I have made well over 75 trips to St Thomas since 1987. Should you have any questions, please feel free to ask John for my email address. Have a great stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Joe, Thank you for the wonderful review of our unit and the property as a whole. I couldn't agree with you more. The view from our unit is stunning! Access to the pool is also quite convenient-literally in our front yard. I've gotten a lot of comments on the downstairs bar and I hope people will enjoy the new upstairs table as well. I have enjoyed working with you and you and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you, John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Providence, RI

Awesome view. Relaxing location Comfortable condo

  • 5 of 5

Spent 6 days at Sapphire in Johns unit. The pictures don't do it justice. John was very helpful and easy to work with. Cant wait to go back.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Keri, Thank you for the great review! You're welcome back anytime. Maybe the next time you can stay longer :). Regards, John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bettendorf Iowa

Donna C

  • 5 of 5

After many stays on STT we discovered Sapphire Beach and it is our happy place . We have stayed in many different units , mostly in Bldg C & D which are in a quieter area . For this trip we chose the 2 story unit to accommodate us and 2 Grandkids 13 & 17 , they have also been there many times and for this trip all we wanted was R & R ! This was a perfect place for us , we love the pool area and spend most of our time there so the location was perfect . We fell asleep every night to the sound of the waves , there was always a breeze so we never had the AC on . The condo was well equipped and has a great kitchen layout altho we didn't cook on this trip .

The beds were comfortable and after a call to "house keeping" we had plenty of first there was only 2 washcloths per bathroom . This location is in a quieter area , Bldgs A & B get a lot of beach traffic .

With the marina right there it is easy to get a day sail to the BVI's and also to get fresh fish from the fishermen when they come in .

Our previous stays were longer so it is nice to have the laundry trailer across the parking lot , very clean .

For the days you just can't leave your beach chair there is the snack bar for sandwiches or drinks , or do as we did , throw on a cover up and drive up the drive way to Off The Grid for some great BBQ . ( sorry my legs just couldn't make the walk )

We are already thinking about our next trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Island , the beautiful views , the beach & pool and the quiet area with the constant breezes can't be found anywhere else on the Island . ( at least not anywhere with a place to stay )

The best part of going to STT is being able to see the night sky and the beautiful stars above , we have so much light pollution in the states , that is a rare sight for us and that is so sad ! Every trip I tell my Grandkids to look up and remember the night sky and the beauty of the Island . Thank you to the Vicher's !

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Donna for taking the time to write this wonderful review. You captured the beauty and atmosphere of Sapphire Beach (and St. Thomas) perfectly in your description. The things you mentioned are exactly the reasons we've owned at Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina for 20 years. I couldn't have said it better! We hope you and your family will think of us the next time you are planning to visit St. Thomas. Thanks once again for staying with us! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rochester, NY

Our family of 5 loved the island location and the snorkeling was a treasure-trove of turtles & rays!

  • 4 of 5

Sapphire Beach was a lovely place to stay for our family. We snorkeled every day near the dive shop and saw sea turtles and sting rays to the left and a large variety of fish to the right and throughout the whole cove. We also loved looking down on the pool area and watching the birds fly by our balconies while sitting on the 3rd-floor deck. Renting from John was like renting from a friend; he was extremely helpful and responsive to every question I had. His snorkeling equipment is acceptable; the masks leaked some water, which might be frustrating for a younger child. I would rent this place again, but did have a few comments: His picture with the pool tables under the large gazebo is no longer an option; the shaded area of the pool is roped off and the tables and chairs are stacked and roped off also. That picture should be removed from the description of the amenities; it's misleading. If you are planning a family reunion like our family, your only option for shade is a few palm trees by the pool; first come, first served. The kitchen lacked a salad bowl, basket for bread, and a carrot peeler. Luckily for us our two other family condos had a well-stocked kitchen and we borrowed some things from them. Also, the upstairs bathroom sink was very slow in draining. I informed the concierge the first day and never heard from any maintenance people for the next eight days. John called me when we got back home to check on our stay and I have full confidence in John fixing the sink and stocking the kitchen better after speaking to him. He seems to truly care about his renters and I appreciate his professionalism.

One more thing about the write-up of the Sapphire Beach grounds: John mentions a 4-court tennis option. We are a family of tennis players, but chose not to bring our tennis racquets on this trip. The tennis courts are in extremely poor condition with weeds growing full force and a net that is kind of a net... In my opinion, tennis should not be listed as an option, unless you have really young children who just want to "pretend" to play tennis. I don't remember talking to John about the tennis courts, but am confident that he would have updated me over the phone about their condition. I think that the tennis courts should not be in the description of the complex; it's misleading.

Overall, Sapphire Beach is a lovely place to stay and I would rent from John again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pam for your honest review. I can only improve things when people are honest about what needs improving. The problems that you mentioned in my unit have already been taken care of and I will take tennis as an activity off my listings. Unfortunately not everthing at Sapphire Beach is under my control. The Condo Owners Association has been unsuccessful at changing certain aspects of Sapphire Beach (and, believe me, we've tried). It is, however, still one of the most beautiful places I've ever been and I am still quite proud of it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril E King Airport
Nearest Barpub
Sapphire Grill at Sapphire Village-up the hill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
To St. John & BVI-Red Hook
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mahogany Run
Nearest Restaurant
Sapphire Grill at Sapphire Village-up the hill
Nearest Beach
Sapphire Beach
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Casino (slot & video machines only-no tables) at Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort & Spa-10 mins. west on 38.


Rates & Availability

Estate Smith Bay Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
Apr 16 2017 - Sep 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Sep 3 2017 - Nov 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Winter 2017
Nov 5 2017 - Dec 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Holiday 2017
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 6 2018
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $85
Tax Rate 12.5%

Weekly rates include; Beach towels,loungers & snorkel gear.
Also included; One midstay room cleaning (maid service)for stays 5 days and longer and exit cleaning.
Not included; 12.5% Room Tax, $85 Flat Rate Booking Charge and $200 Refundable Security Deposit if required.
Credit cards accepted via PayPal (4% fee)
Please check calendar for availability-call for last minute booking discounts

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties