Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'

Sleeps23
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 20-24)

'The Real McCoy House' is the perfect place to spend your vacation. I have a breath taking view of Lewis Smith lake no matter which way you look. Walk out onto the 12'X 50' porch upstairs or down. Walk off the porch on a deck that connects to a 4 person tram car and rides down to a deck which connects the ramp onto your floating covered boat dock with a swim deck. Fishing is great. Bring your Seadoos and boats. You have a 6-8 person hot tub for your relaxation under the stars.

This wonderful vacation retreat is private and set up for a large family or business getaway. This lake house was new in 2008 and has hardwood floors upstairs and tile downstairs. You are about a mile out of the city limits of Arley. It's a small town and has most anything you need. Arley is approximately 30 minutes from Jasper or Culman and not far from Birmingham. There is a gourmet kitchen that has all stainless steel appliances with all granite counter tops and a bar downstairs. You have gas fireplaces upstairs and down for that perfect evening. Downstairs you have a big screen TV great for those ball games, or catching your favorite TV shows.

3rd cleanest lake in North America.

Keywords: Lake House

More Details

Owner
Linda McCoy
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Linda McCoy

I own Mortgage Team 1 in Mobile Alabama and I am President Elect for the Alabama Mortgage Brokers Association. I have been in the mortgage business since 1993. I have 2 children and 3 grandchildren. This lakehouse is a wonderful place to bring a family and enjoy lake life. I own Dream Catcher Pointe which is right across the water. I have 19 lake lots for sale, 12 are on deep water. They have approved floating boat dock permits, the road and utilities already put in so you are ready to build your new lake home.

Linda McCoy purchased this house in 2008

Why Linda McCoy chose Alabama

I live in Mobile and after Katrina, I decided to find a place far enough from the Gulf Coast to find refuge from the yearly storms. I know many others who felt the same way so I looked for a place to start a community to bring a huge family when they wanted and needed to get away. I wanted luxury while away from our homes. When I found Smith Lake, it was like a little peice of heaven and the best kept secret. I named our subdivion Dream Catcher Pointe.

Amenities

Arley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 23
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Town ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Dialup Access
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master Bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Masters are ceramic walk-in open showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 23
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 7 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • We need to know the number in your party so that we can supply bedding and bath linens appropriately
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Let us know how many is in your party so we can provide enough linens. Starter toiletries provided only.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
average rating of 4.48 based on 25 reviews
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

One of the nicest family friendly places I have stay. The tram was a life saver. Wonderful accommodations with room for everyone

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for staying at our house. We appreciate the good word and excellent renter.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and easy access

  • 5 of 5

House was very spacious and lasted out perfectly. Tram was truly a perfect addition to lake access. House has fire pits gas grill two fireplaces gorgeous kitchen. It was clean and well maintained

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Blanchester, Ohio
4

The Real McCoy

  • 4 of 5

The house was great! The tram was very useful We rented a boat and and went tubing. The swim deck was great we all swam or floated in the lake 3 children learned how to swim we could not stop them we're in love with lake Maybe in the future a second frig we cook so we loaded the frig we had Great place to stay great for kids and adults. Thank you so much for opportunity to stay this wonderful place Debbie Bauer

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We so appreciate such excellent renters. When we built the house the vision was as you describe "a place for family and fun" We will look into another frig that is a very good idea.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The McCoy house is great!

  • 5 of 5

We spent the 2nd week of July 2017 at the McCoy house. We had 10 adults and 11 children. I was concerned that it would be large enough to comfortably house all of us - it was more than adequate. The furnishings were in excellent condition and were more than sufficient.

The house was just as the pictures showed and it was so nice that the adults could stay up stairs while downstairs all the children played games, watched TV, and just had fun!

I was initially concerned about everyone using the "Tram". It was a waste of mental energy! The Tram was the hit of the week. It made traveling to and from the dock for swimming and fishing so easy. We contemplated renting a boat to use for the week. However, it was not necessary. We brought a few large floats that everyone enjoyed using. The swimming and fishing were also great.

We had a couple of items that required repair, but they were taken care of quickly. For example, the ice cube maker did not work, so the maintenance person brought us bags of ice. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Would we rent the McCoy house again? Absolutely!

Bob Hansen

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We value great renters and appreciate such good feed back. The parts were ordered for the icemaker and will be installed shortly. We always try to go the extra mile and JB is such a major reason we get such good reviews. Thank you for the review and we are looking forward to your next stay..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The lake was great......

  • 2 of 5

But everything else, not so much. Upon entering, we were greeted with an unpleasant smell and abundance of flies and fruit flies inside the house. We immediately had to dispatch someone to a grocery store for trash bags (there were none) and fly swatters. The back door was open, as the hardware did not line up with the door frame (this was corrected by a workman after we reported it). The trash cans (kitchen and bathrooms) were filthy, stuck-on debris, hair, etc. in the bottoms. The refrigerator was empty, but had not been wiped out. The stove and oven were dirty. The lazy susan under the cabinet was dirty with some spill or something that had never been cleaned. Dirty cooking utensils were found in a kitchen drawer. The two bathrooms that have shower curtains - the liners had black mildew and gunk at the bottoms. The large round coffee table in the main level living room was unstable (would tip if leaned on), so we had to keep children away from it. The door to the downstairs opens OUT over the stairs, and there is no landing. My 5 yr old grandson was ascending the stairs when an adult opened the door to go down, and he was knocked down the steps. The carpet on the stairs is very dirty and stained. The banister was grimy and dirty. After my initial complaint about the lack of cleanliness, a cleaning person was sent and she did clean the banister, as well as the trash cans and bathrooms. That's all we had her do because it was too chaotic to have her trying to clean everything that needed it, with 20 people milling around the house. My daughter's bedding had to be washed before she could sleep on it due to a spot on the sheet and some substance on the pillow sham. The downstairs master shower had worms living in the corner of it. Yes, that is not a typo. The bunk bed room downstairs had mold on the wall and baseboard, and a portion of the floor was covered with about 1/2 inch of rain water when a storm came through. One of the flagstones on the edge of the front step was loose and tipped when stepped on. I had to put a piece of tape on it so that everyone would know which to avoid. The front porch/planter area smelled of cat urine. The highchair was filthy, so we cleaned and sanitized it before using. These were the major issues. The tram did work for us without fail, and my family enjoyed the lake. With a GOOD and thorough cleaning an minor repairs, it COULD be perfection. For photos, email grandmahulme@aol.com.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Take this review with a LARGE grain of salt. The immediately previous renters and renters immediately after had no issues. AND this review is from a group who lost a portion of their damage deposit because they left a large wet area of urine in one of the beds. We had to discard the mattress topper and thoroughly disinfect the mattress and bed spread. Thankfully we had barriers on the beds. It has been over a year since any damage deposit has been withheld. We are sorry they had such a horrible time. Any time we hear of an issue with our house we immediately address what ever is considered wrong. In this case we dispatched the cleaners as soon as we heard with instructions to make anything the renter was unhappy with right. The renter pointed out to the cleaners only a couple of minor issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Very relaxing and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just right

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Good guests are a blessing. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
20 Miles
Cullman
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Cullman
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
State Hwy 77
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Arley Cafe
Car: necessary

You are within minutes from the Bankhead National Forest

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning fee $200

Memorial Day, Jul 4th, Labor Day

Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Yrs. $400/night or $2400/week (4 night min)
Additional costs
Cleaning fee 15 guests or less $175, or 16 plus is $275
CONTACT BY EMAIL for instructions, security codes, and keys.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties